ToyX4, my new, old Hilux

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.

ToyX4, my new, old Hilux

I got my first 4x4 today

Hilux 2.5 D4D SRX 4x4 Single cab
RV replacement front and rear bumpers
Snorkel
16" TSW wheels with Cooper Discoverers S/T 245/75R16, brand new.

No I need to learn so I can get started.

Here's a few pics

IMG_0718.JPG
IMG_0717.JPG
IMG_0716.JPG
IMG_0715.JPG
IMG_0685.JPG
Last edited by ToyX4 on Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:08 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Re: ToyX4, my new, old Hilux

Beautiful! Think how she'll look like soon, full of dust & mud :mrgreen:

Heartiest congratulations on your new set of wheels, now we just need to punch a hole for a 2-way and glue a GPS to the windcreen :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Cool enjoy her

I wonder does anyone know these RV bumpers? I saw a Fortuner with one the other day as well. It looks very similar to my Pajero's ARB bulbar.

Dankie.

Lyk my ek kan maar afrikaans tik. Gewoonte om engels te wees as ek voor die rekenaar inskyf.

Ek glo ek gaan haar geniet.

Ek ken nie veel van offraod dinge nie, maar die RV bumper lyk nogal goed, en lyk of dit darem
goeie kwalitet is.

Kan iemand my dalk se watse terrein die Cooper bande is wat my Toy op het? Cooper discoverer S/T.
Weet nie wat beteken S/T nie

Dankie

Toy,

Take a look here:

http://www.dunlop.co.za/readonly/pdf/Di ... r%20ST.pdf

"Although designed for off-road applications, this on-road
/ off-road tyre, provides long, even wear in highway
applications. The deep tread and scalloped shoulder
maximises traction on soft surfaces. While the bevelled
tread block edges fight irregular wear and improves selfcleaning
capabilities."

More info here:

http://www.dunlop.co.za/cooper_tyres.aspx?rangeid=5

Baie geluk met daardie Hilux, sy lyk baie goed.
Die ST staan vir "Sure Track" wat dit ookal mag beteken.
Gaan loer na Cooper se eie web site by http://www.coopertires.com.au/tyres/st.htm daar is so paar verslae ook by.

Is baie goeie bande, moenie met hulle lol nie.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Hay ToyX4

Very nice looking van :mrgreen: I am sure you are going to get years of pleasure from her.
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

Dankie vir die link, Pietpetoors. Baie interesant.
Ek kan dit seker self google, dink nie altyd so ver nie.

Thx cookie monster. I'm sure I'll enjoy her.

ToyX4 wrote:Dankie.

Lyk my ek kan maar afrikaans tik.
Ja hier mix ons maar die languages so bietjie. Most of us here are bise...I mean lingual and sometimes if a member does not understand something in Afrikaans, sal een van die members hier dit maar na die rooitaal to translate ook :wink:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
xuliH

Post by xuliH »

Baie mooi!

Do you know if the previous owner did anything with the front suspension before fitting the RV bullbar?

No. Should he have done something?

Why do you ask?

you have the same bakkie, don't you? are you happy? how's your consumption?
xuliH

Post by xuliH »

Yes, we have the same bakkie.

I am still very happy with mine.

The reason I am asking about the suspension is that when you put a heavy bull bar on, the front might sag.

Consumption:
Town driving : 12 km/l
Open road : 10 / 11 km/l
5000km trip with load : 9 km/l average

The consumption is obviously dependant on driving style.

O.k. That makes sense. Thanks very much.
I'll definitely enquire about that. But it dont look as if it is sagging.

I dont race when driving, not in my bakkie anyway. So I hope to get good consumption.
My 2.7 VVti S/C gave me 6.2km/l town driving and 6.9km/l cruising at 130km/h.
If I towed a trailer and bakkie loaded, combined load weight of just over 2 tons, I got 4.5km/l

So anything better than that will be a bonus to me
Rite1

Post by Rite1 »

hi guys

nice to see the new hilux's here!!!

i had the problem of the front sag when i installed my wicnh. the guys at halfway toyota , park rynie ( kzn south coast ) fitted spaces above the front coils. it has done the job. only snag is that now the lights need to be refocused. the best part is that safari centre quoted me R5k to do a suspension lift (front only) and halfway did the job for R1300.00 , that was back in 2005.

i hope that this will help.

enjoy the new hilux!!!
EX :05 2.7VVT-i SRX S/C , 29MHZ Radio , Warn M8000 , Hella Dynaview Spots , National Luna Dual Battery & Contoller , BFGMT 16" , Garmin Quest

08 3.0D4D TUNA, 29MHZ RADIO (P21), Warn M8000, Hella Rally Spots, National Luna Dual Battery & Controller, Full Iron Man Suspension, Engel 40lt, 500w & 150w Inverter, Garmin Quest & Nuvi 500, Ipod Prep

Hi

Thanks. I enjouy her already. But havent done anything serious yet. Only climbed my dam wall on the farm( its very dry)

I bought mine from halfway as well, in Fourways, Jo'burg. They fitted the Bullbar, so I'll find out if they did this to my Hilux as well.

How'd the 2.7 with the precious juice? My 4x2 2.7 was thirsty, dont wanna have to pay your fuel bill.

iHilux
Town: Bloemfontein
Vehicle: 2007 Toyota Land Cruiser 76 SW

Post by iHilux »

Congrats on the Hilux.

Mine is one the way..... only in the double cab format.

What is the performance like with the 245/75/16"? Do they touch anywhere?

xuliH..... you have 31" if I'm not mistake. Performance wise, how do differ from the 205's?

Toyx4, I'd appreciate some more pics of you bumper. Especially one from the side. Them some of the towbar / bumper replacement would also be great..... if you can.

Well done!

Anybody some protection plate / sump guards fitted?
2007 Toyota Land Cruiser 76 SW

Thank you very much.

I dunno if they will touch anywhere, as I have not done serious obstacle or loaded anything yet.
Will have to wait and see.But it don't look like they will touch anyway. But thats a wild guess!

On the performance I can't reaaly comment, as I have not driven a 2.5 4x4 with standard issue wheel size.
But it feels a bit lazy to me. Maybe because I'm used to my ex 2.7 4x2. But I'm sure the bigger diameter of the tyres do
actually have a slight influence.
But I think I'm gonna buy a plug n play chip. Ups the power to about 90 - 92 Kw and torque to about 305 - 315 NM.
Standard: 75Kw/260NM
I fitted one of these PnP chips to my wifes Polo 1.9 tdi, and WOW, what a difference!
And you can take it off before you take the vehicle in for a service, and no one will know. I wanted to fit an intercooler to my Hilux,
but that will expire the warranty.

I'll take the photos and post them in my thread in the members rides section, tonight.

Only the standard protection plate, but that looks a bit soft to my liking, and it is already bent. Will fit something else soon!

Hope you get your Lux soon!!!

xuliH

Post by xuliH »

The 205s have a much smoother ride and is very quiet.

Performance wise there is a slight difference, but is worth it in terms of ground clearance.

Hein, from Burnco in Brackenfell makes sump guards.
I think he incroporates it into the replacement bull bar but he is always willing to help out. And his work is very good.

ToyX4 - The cipping for the new Hilux is apparently not a case of plug and unplug as with different vehicles.
But it can't hurt to find out.

I prefer keeping mine standard and think the 2.5 is de-tuned. It would be possible to get a lot more out of it, but that affects reliability.

Thanks xuliH

Will find out aout the chipping.

I also think the 2.5 is detuned.
The Ford/Mazda 2.5 dt with mechanical injection AND intercooler(correct me if I'm wrong), delivers similar outpurs.
Would like a bit more torque for towing though.
Rite1

Post by Rite1 »

i got a set of 17" x 10j rims with 265/60/17 conti's for everyday use and the performance and handling is lekker. she pick ups speed very very quickly , also the snorkel with a k&n airfilter does a small plus for the performance , i am talking about speed and power. i was at kosi bay a few months ago and Disco2 could not keep up on the sand tracks. BUT the fuel consumption is something else. EISH SHEEZ HEAVY!!! Town driving +/- 5.07km/ltr

I also have a set of BFGD MT'S for my trips to the transkei. these are 235/85/16 on the original rim ( 16" x 6jj). it takes some getting used to to drive. i would not drive above 130km/h with these tyres on. fuel consumption is more heavier on these tyres. i have not worked the exact figure but i have noticed the difference. much more noisy as well.

But these vehicles are a pleasure to drive on road and off -road.
EX :05 2.7VVT-i SRX S/C , 29MHZ Radio , Warn M8000 , Hella Dynaview Spots , National Luna Dual Battery & Contoller , BFGMT 16" , Garmin Quest

08 3.0D4D TUNA, 29MHZ RADIO (P21), Warn M8000, Hella Rally Spots, National Luna Dual Battery & Controller, Full Iron Man Suspension, Engel 40lt, 500w & 150w Inverter, Garmin Quest & Nuvi 500, Ipod Prep

Sjoe, thats a bit too thirsty for my liking!
So it is more than 1 Rand per kilometre only for petrol! Thats why I sold my 2.7 VVTi, 99cents per km!

iHilux
I'm busy uoloading the photos you requested.
Go to top of the page to my original post and photos later.

I LOVE MY HILUX!!! :lol: :lol: :D :D

Here more pic's
IMG_0721.JPG
IMG_0720.JPG
IMG_0719.JPG
iHilux

Post by iHilux »

ToyX4 wrote: iHilux
I'm busy uoloading the photos you requested.
Go to top of the page to my original post and photos later.

I LOVE MY HILUX!!! :lol: :lol: :D :D
Hell Yes!!!

Toyx4, thanks for the pics. really appreciate it.

I certainly want to upgrade my Hilux when I get it.

On the cards

1) Cooper STT 245/75/16"
2) Spacer above the front struts
3) Replacement towbar
4) Some sort of side protecion - rock slider
5) Some sort of replacement bumper.

I've seen a couple of aftermarket bumpers..... ARB, ONCO and really don't think they're too asthetic. Just can't make up my mind.

I have been in contact with BURNCO, and we're chatting.

Comments on their products
New Image.JPG
New Image 4.JPG
New Image 3.JPG

Hi iHilux

I also wanna fit rock sliders, when the budget allows me to.

I cannot comment on other products, as I am new to this, and also I bought my Toy with these fitted.

The bumpers on the pic's you posted looks quite nice.

But it takes some getting used to, as none of these replacement bumpers really fits with the overall design of this shape Hilux.

BTW, mine also has spacer fitted according to the dealer. Will check it out tomorrow.

Do you know what is the cost of the rock sliders?

Hey guys

Don't you think these bumpers will fit the vehicle much better it the top section is colour coded. Excuse my Paint Shop Pro attempt at it but You can get an idea of what I mean :wink:
New Image 5.JPG
New Image1.JPG
iHilux

Post by iHilux »

Bennie,

The only problem with the colour coding, is that on the 2.5D, the grill is also black, so may just look better being all black. Could you photoshop the original pic, to include a black grill, with the black bumper. This will give us a true indication.

Rocksliders.

ONCO do a set. R3157.90
portrait_h06_rs.jpg
portrait_h05_rs.jpg

But spray the grill then as well.

I just checked. Spacers are indeed fitted above the coil springs on my Hilux.
Yipee for that.

I have been in contact with BURNCO, and we're chatting.

Comments on their products
Hi.I have a burnco replacemnt bumber.
bb1 (Medium).JPG
I was happy with the whole process.I am just a bit worried if it will survive a serious snatch.
Will have to wait and see

Hi George,

It certainly looks good, and does look strong. Have you tried jacking it up yet to see if it takes strain?

Hi George

The Van looks good hope mine looks as good after fitting my home made replacement bumper I am working on :mrgreen:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

Hi Eric

I have used the Farm Jack a couple of times and it feels strong,but I have used my pull rope and it feels like there is a little bit of movement when force is being applied.It is very small,maybe only in my imagination. :wink: Hein assured me it is strong and if it comes loose I will take it back.

Return to “Members' Vehicles”