Kaspaas has arrived

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.
Tristan
Town: Kidds Beach
Vehicle: 97 Hilux D/C 2.4l 4x4

Re: Kaspaas has arrived

Post by Tristan »

Thanks Thys :wink:

What is the bar lower down for :?: I first thought maybe winche provision but Im guessing it is most likely to take the blows from things that are lower than the bull bar... rocks, tree stumps etc.... :? :confused:

Tristan, you mean this bar?
bullbar_cuts2.jpg
That was there to protect the old radiator what hung out the bottom by about 2000000 miles... that has been removed since I had the BMW328 radiator fitted... :o: :twisted:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Thats the one :wink:

Were are your recovery points :?: Okay now you gonna tell me Kaspaas never needs to be recovered :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:
So lets say were will the recovery points be in case you need to reverse pull somebody out :mrgreen:

Tristan wrote:Okay now you gonna tell me Kaspaas never needs to be recovered :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:
I would never be so bold as to say that :twisted: After I removed that bar, I dont have recovery points on the front any more, BUT I have a good recovery hook at home that needs top be sprayed red and bolted on.... All in good time.. :twisted: :twisted:

Tell me Thys

What motor did Kaspaas have in when you bought her :?:

What mods have you done to Kaspaas :?:

How 'mod'd'was Kaspaas by her previous owner :?:

Dadz Toy wrote:Tell me Thys What motor did Kaspaas have in when you bought her :?:
Richard. First of all... Kaspaas is not a her, it is a him.. Kaspaas was fitted with a 7MGE motor when I purchased him. :twisted:
Dadz Toy wrote:What mods have you done to Kaspaas :?:
I took the OME suspension, 33" wheels, bull-bar, spotlights and long range fuel tanks off my previous Hilux and fitted it to Kaspaas. :twisted:
Dadz Toy wrote:How 'mod'd'was Kaspaas by her previous owner :?:
NL dual battery system,
Toyota Celica seats,
7MGE motor with branch, gas-flowed head etc,
As a 1990 model it was not standard Raider spec, the previous owner added ALL the Raider bits to bring him up to full Raider spec. :shock: :D:

After that I built a canopy, spare wheel carrier, truck slide, and some other stuffs... I also sorted out the radiator that was a problem, and the air-con, installed a 2.7 clutch kit, and had a steel/copper head gasket fitted as well as 2000 0000 0000 000 frikkin pirate oil seals that were psssssssing oil all over the show. :roll: :twisted:

For the rest I installed about 20 000 km in long trips exploring the "outback" of our beautiful country... been to Atlantis Dunes about 5 times, and did some of the nice/scary/scenic trails on offer, although according to Simon they don't compare to ANY of the trails in and around Queenstown... :evil: :evil: :evil:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Kaspaas wrote:For the rest I installed about 20 000 km in long trips exploring the "outback" of our beautiful country... been to Atlantis Dunes about 5 times, and did some of the nice/scary/scenic trails on offer, although according to Simon they don't compare to ANY of the trails in and around Queenstown... :evil: :evil: :evil:
I think this is by far the best mod that you have done :wink:

And I cant say for sure but I think Simon is probably right... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
I might be doing some work down in the WC sometime so hopefully I will get a chance to try out some trails and compare :D: :D: :mrgreen:

I will then and only then deliver the official verdict Image

Here is Kaspaas's predecessor... His name was Boggom.. :ugeek: :D: :twisted:

small_B_IMG_0985.jpg

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

You seem to have lost a few spot lights :confused: :?

Tristan wrote:You seem to have lost a few spot lights :confused: :?
Had to... to improve air-flow thru the original sucky radiator of the 7MGE.. :evil: :twisted: :twisted: I can put them back now.. :D: :D:

Bogom looked equally capable hey, she/he was the one that started out 4Y then was Ford V6 powered, yeh :?: :?: :shock: :D

I still see quite a few SFA's in the Original "twin stripe" costume; Bogom's Stripes is that Original Lux :?

Would you ever consider "moving down" ed: (you mean down Rich - moving to a LC is down - you do not want the wrath of Hilux4x4 to fall on you!! - the Honourable Custodians of Hilux4x4) to a LC one day :o: :?: :?:

Thanks for the feedback and Pics - VERY INTERESTING to see how an experienced 4x4-er progresses :wink: :D:

Rich

One day Richard, when I am thru playing and wanting to chill and just do the overlanding thing, I will move to a Cruiser. For now I prefer to play with Kaspaas, it is cheaper to mod than a Cruiser. And apparently I still need to go experience real trails like the ones from Queenstown, so I will hang on to Kaspaas for a while... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Thys, to drive the trails around Queenstown, you will need a few things: More balls apparently, or bigger balls, and only ONE hilux, which you can get if you deposit R130000 or R140000 into the owner's bank account.
Two normal sized balls and any other Hilux won't make it to the gate :twisted: :twisted:

ToyX4 wrote:Thys, to drive the trails around Queenstown, you will need a few things: More balls apparently, or bigger balls, and only ONE hilux, which you can get if you deposit R130000 or R140000 into the owner's bank account.
Two normal sized balls and any other Hilux won't make it to the gate :twisted: :twisted:
To the gate that will be open, but must be kept closed at all times... :!: :!:

Dêmn!! Seems like I will have to miss out on REAL trails then.. Plus the fotos are also too big to upload, apparently they consume the entire bandwidth-allotment for the greater Eastern Cape Province.. I will have to dream on... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Eish!!!! it is clear evidence that you guys spend waaaay!! to much time on the forum when you have memorised other peoples posts :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thys what have you done about indicators with your modified bull bar :?:

MET Eisssssh :shock: :shock:

What was the Name of your first Machine Thys :?: :?:

Is that:

B O G O M or F O L K O M :?: :?: :? :? :?

Rich

You modify your parking lights to start blinking... :wink:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Tristan wrote:Thys what have you done about indicators with your modified bull bar :?:
I installed amber indicator bulbs in the clear park-light lenses on the outside of each headlamp.
indicators.jpg

Kaspaas wrote:
Tristan wrote:Thys what have you done about indicators with your modified bull bar :?:
I installed amber indicator bulbs in the clear park-light lenses on the outside of each headlamp.
indicators.jpg
[*]

What did I say? :roll:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Dadz Toy wrote: B O G O M or F O L K O M :?: :?: :? :? :?

Rich
BOGOM translated means "Upper-Glue".... :twisted: :twisted:
BOGGOM is the sound a baboon makes... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: I hear Niel make that sound regularly.. :twisted: :twisted:

Scorpion wrote:What did I say? :roll:
Sorry Johann... :oops:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

so how exactly do you make them flicker :?:
Is it as simple as just crossing over the wiring :shock: :?:

Tristan wrote:so how exactly do you make them flicker :?:
Is it as simple as just crossing over the wiring :shock: :?:
Extend the wiring from the original plug that fits into the indicator on the original bumper and fit a new globe-holder to the end of the extentions... In other words you wire the new amber globes into the existing wiring for the indicators that were in the bumper... :D: :D: I dont have a picture of this, but I will take one some time... :twisted: :twisted:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Thanks Thys it sounds pretty straight forward, Ill just have to make sure to get the positive and negative the correct way round :lol: :lol: :D:

Tristan wrote:Thanks Thys it sounds pretty straight forward, Ill just have to make sure to get the positive and negative the correct way round :lol: :lol: :D:
Easy as pie.. use a red and a black wire... :shock: :shock: :twisted:

Dont worry its a globe it is not polarity sensitive.

Thys what size glodes did you use. The 21W ones is too big to fit into the hole and the smaler ones (8w - me thinks) is not very bright and may not be aduaquately bright to be legal :? :?

I used the big ones Bennie, and a hole saw to cut open the hole at the back of the lens so the bulb can fit through. Then sealed it with silicon sealer. It is effectively now a "sealed beam" indicator. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

BenHur wrote:Dont worry its a globe it is not polarity sensitive.

Thys what size glodes did you use. The 21W ones is too big to fit into the hole and the smaler ones (8w - me thinks) is not very bright and may not be aduaquately bright to be legal :? :?
Bennie is this also the case with spot lights :?:
The reason I ask is I have always been under the impression that as you say the globe is not polarity sensitive.
However if you can recall I was having a problem with my spots popping the fuse every time it was turned on.
Then when Simon was out here one day he had a look and said that the neg/pos was the wrong way round at the light :o: So we swapped them around and hey presto!! it all worked fine :mrgreen:

:( :cry: Except now they are disconnected because they promptly killed my battery :confused: :? (and no I didn't leave them on)

Tristan wrote:Bennie is this also the case with spot lights :?:
The reason I ask is I have always been under the impression that as you say the globe is not polarity sensitive.
However if you can recall I was having a problem with my spots popping the fuse every time it was turned on.
Then when Simon was out here one day he had a look and said that the neg/pos was the wrong way round at the light :o: So we swapped them around and hey presto!! it all worked fine :mrgreen:

:( :cry: Except now they are disconnected because they promptly killed my battery :confused: :? (and no I didn't leave them on)
This is NOT the case with spotlights... Spotlights will earth on the body of the vehicle and is definitely polarity sensitive. That is why it popped fuses, you were creating a dead short circuit. The indicator bulb does not earth on the body at all, it is totally surrounded by plastic, therefore no short circuit will be created. :!: :!:

Do your spotlights work on a relay or on a separate toggle switch? :?: :?:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Toggle switch :wink:

Then there must be some other reason why your battery gets drained. Maybe it is still creating a short circuit somewhere.. :twisted: :?: :?: Ask Smon to wire them on a relay so they work with your brights. I am sure he knows how to do that. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Believe or not these spots are not on the front of my van :o:
Not sure how bright your reverse lights are :?: but mine just shine a dim light down on the ground somewhere that I cant even see while in the cab :?
I dont want to wire them to the reverse lights incase I end up using the vehicle in town for some or other reason. Dont think others will appreciate been blinded while Im getting in and out of parking spaces :lol: :lol:
reverse spots.jpg

okay, that will be silly to wire them up with your brights then... All you have to do is to retrace the wiring for the lights and make sure there are no short circuits. Also check the switch.

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

:o: :o: :shock: Did I mention that I fed the wires through the chassis :|
Took me ages but I wanted them out of the way.
So now I have 2 questions (please excuse my ignorance but Im totally dof when it comes to these things :oops: :oops: :oops: )

1. How do I check for a short circuit :?:

2. Will the lights still work if there is a short circuit somewhere :?:

Sorry :oops: actually 3 questions what must I check on the switch :?:

Hey! just realised your thred is being taken over, aha!!! revenge revenge :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Tristan wrote::o: :o: :shock: Did I mention that I fed the wires through the chassis :|
Took me ages but I wanted them out of the way.
So now I have 2 questions (please excuse my ignorance but Im totally dof when it comes to these things :oops: :oops: :oops: )

1. How do I check for a short circuit :?:

2. Will the lights still work if there is a short circuit somewhere :?:

Sorry :oops: actually 3 questions what must I check on the switch :?:
You have to make sure that the live (+) wire is not touching the body of the bakkie or the body of the spotlight. Insulate all the contacts on the switch and in the spotlight itself. There is no need to run a long neg wire from the front to the rear. The spotlight will earth itself on the body and close the circuit that way. In the case of a plastic casing on the spotlight attach the black wire to the bumper to earth it.

Make sure your toggle switch is on the live (+) wire and not the neg wire.
Tristan wrote:Hey! just realised your thred is being taken over, aha!!! revenge revenge :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
No worries, it is ME who took MY thread over.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: and I can delete it again...

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

:roll: :? You forgot about question no. 2
If this was an exam you would of just lost 30% :ugeek:
:D: :lol: :lol:

Tristan wrote::roll: :? You forgot about question no. 2
I never "forget" I choose not to answer... :ugeek: :ugeek:
yes and no depending on the circumstances... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: Go check your wiring now and stop asking all these difficult questions :twisted: :roll: :roll: :twisted:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Switch is definitely on the + wire, here is a rather bad drawing of how it is wired.
The reason for question 2 is because if I hook it up it does actually work :D: Im just afraid of killing my brand new battery :o:
I wonder if it is somehow still drawing current while it is switched of :confused: See Im not asking more difficult questions just thinking out loud... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

I guess there is always a chance that my previous battery was almost done and the extra lights just finished the job :roll: :? :confused:

Except for spelling Battery totally wrong, there is nothing wrong with that wiring diagram. maybe your previous battery was just vrek anyway. As long as the toggle switch is in the OFF position no current will flow. :roll: :twisted: :roll:

Tristan

Post by Tristan »

Just like you chose not to answer question 2 I choose to sometimes spell incorrectly just to make sure that you and FD (our resident forum spell checkers) are keeping up to scratch.. :twisted: :twisted:
Job well done!! :wink: :mrgreen:

You are testing my patience young man.. now go and check that wiring.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Tristan,

I am counting your spelling mistakes!! :twisted:

Now, why don't you guys just click the link at top here ^^^^^^^^^^ entitled "Member's Articles" and see what we have in store for you!

Try this one for size:

http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/wire_spotlights/index.php

Viola!

Some Pics I've just dug out the Archives :P
Video Tape Operator
Sand spray!
Sand spray!

Looks like I'm smoking a fat joint there Rich... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Kaspaas wrote:Looks like I'm smoking a fat joint there Rich... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Naaar, it was Christiaan's Fire WaterImage

Return to “Members' Vehicles”