My first hilux 4x4

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.
Hiluxbakkie
Town: MOSSELBAAI
Vehicle: Asia Rocsta 2.2 HILUX 4Y ENGINE

My first hilux 4x4

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Hi

After searching for a 4x4 for 2 long years I got my first Hilux(first 4x4) I had two Isuzu's before, KB200 and KB280D.

What would be best dual purpose tyres? for offroad and tar road?

Casper
newones0155.jpg
newones0099.jpg
newones0011.jpg
Numbnut
Town: Vredenburg
Vehicle: '03 Colt 2.8TDI DC 4x4; Wilderness Offroad Camping Trailer

Re: My first hilux 4x4

Post by Numbnut »

Hi Casper and Welcome to the best Forum where you will find answers to ALL your qeustions!! :clap: :thumbup:

Getting back to your qeustion, it depends on your budget and how much Tar & Gravel you plan on doing?? :think:
Everything Works Better When It Is Properly Lubricated...!!!

Hi Casper, and welcome to the best Forum!

BF all terrain and Bridgestone all terrain tyres are very popular. There are however a lot of other makes available.

Tell us more about your stunning vehicle! km, motor, price, model and extra's and your plans for the future.

Regards
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Would prefer to do more offroad, but in the real world I would spend 60% on tar and 40% offroad maybe less! :cry:
It has pitbull retreads on at the moment, it is already splitting on side walls! I want to good tyres witout breaking the bank.

For the last 7 years I have beeb working in Ireland(Truck Driver). Was at home in Oudtshoorn last week, when I spotted this hilux in George, I traded my wife's car for the hilux. :lol:

Got the hilux Friday, had only one day of fun! :thumbup: Saturday I had to fly back to Dublin. :(

Anyway it has 250000km on the clock, ome suspension (not 100% sure) Extra fuel tank, etc.

I am very happy

Casper
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Also looking for a canapy for my hilux! Is the canapies for the hilux from 1990 - 1998 all the same size?

Casper
Numbnut

Post by Numbnut »

Hi Casper

I also have the Pitbulls on my bakkie, but have never had any problems! Seeing you are earning some big out of
country currency, you should go for the Coopers ST or STT. They are a bit costly but damn good rubber for
your Lux! :thumbup:

When will you be back in Sunny SA??
Numbnut

Post by Numbnut »

O, I am also very jealous over your new baby!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I am still searching for my Hilux, but I will know which one is right for me when I see her! It'l be love at first sight! :D
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Hoping to be back December for good! Can't wait to do a trip or 10 and see what she can do!! :!:

In the meantime try to get her fitted out with all the good stuff!

Casper

Welkom Casper :thumbup: :P

Well done on your latest acquisition, here starteth a looooong Lux love affair :roll: :wink:

Firestone ATX my man; best by far :P

Congrats again, she's a beaut :wink:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome Casper! :thumbup:

If you decide on Coopers, then get the ST's not the STT's. The STT's are for predominantly off road use, and won't give you the same mileage as the ST's, which by the way are no slouches off-road either.
M2CW. :wink:

lukestrugnell
Vehicle: Fortuner
Club VHF Licence: M18

Post by lukestrugnell »

Im also a huge fan of Firestone ATX, having tested them on a trip to Tanzania without one puncture. You get good milage, not too expensive.

Overall a great tyre (except on wet tar) but they not as sexy as the coopers or BFG muds!

Would put them on my bakkie if they made them in 16 inch :thumbdown:
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

The ATX's give good mileage, but as mentioned, not so good in the wet. This is because the compound is fairly hard. Also the tread patern has no grooves leading off to the sides causing road water to be tread bound. This makes the ATX's prone to aquaplaning, particularly if they're worn. On the other hand, the harder compound, flat tread shoulders and strengthened sidewalls make them far less prone to punctures and sidewall damage since there is very little sidewall bulge.

A fair all round tyre overall, and competitively priced.

Bosfebok
Town: Roodekrans
Vehicle: 1995 Hilux Raider 2.2
Club VHF Licence: X248

Post by Bosfebok »

My experience with the Firestone ATX's is the same. They give good km's and have never had a puncture. As said, they're not good in the wet, and my experience is also that the footprint does not enlarge that much when you deflate the tyre. This makes soft sand driving also more challenging than with other makes.

For the price you find them for out there, I reckon it's the best value for money. :thumbup:
Otto X248
1995 Hilux Raider 2.2 EFI Turbo DC
Alucab Canopy with Kitchen and Recovery sections
National Luna Split Charge system and Dual Battery
80W solar panel and MPPT controller
20.5" LED BAR
5ton tow bar with recovery points
Nudge-M front bumper
80l Long Range Fuel Tank
90l Water Tank
Slide Drawer System
Safari Snorkel
Double Lockers - Toyota Electric selectable
Diff breathers
The worst anti hi-jack alarm system ever, SANJI!!

A bad day out is still better than a good day in!!

nice :thumbup: luv the new mags, I have BFG muds, not as noisy as people tell you, only just done 10 000km not hassles, will appreciate off road, hilux used to have ATX, no puntures, but don't know how many km, but were on the marker when changed.
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Hi

Since my last post I managed to put on set of new tires, canopy and spots.
The tires is Bridge-stone dueler A/T 265X75X15, thanks for all the advice on the tires :clap:
Got the spots Midas for R299 looks great but when switched on looks like 2 burning candles sticks very weak! stronger bulbs?

Did my first 4x4 trail near Oudtshoorn called 'Min water' eco 4x4 trail! Was great the hilux was doing everything I just had to hold on, as if the hilux was saying to me as that the best you can do! :o:

While I was away swambo used my bakkie :evil: to tow minibus on a trailer from oudtshoorn to cape town!
It was a breeze but only used R1700 of petrol there and back :evil: :evil:

Easter I did the Tolbos 4x4 route at Patensie part of Baviaanskloof was great! :thumbup:

By this time I have worked out my fuel consumtion! 4.5km/l :thumbdown: :evil:
I gone through the forum not much I can do, except go for the diesel sfa?
Few small mods will only make a small difference! I can see why some guys go for larger engines will get same consumption with more power?
Love my bakkie :thumbup: the only downside is fuel consumption :thumbdown:
If anyone has solved this problem please let me know!

Casper

Casper, your bakkie looks great!

Those Midas spots will probably leak water and more than likely have questionable globes inside. I bought a pair of Bosch Spots that look very similar to Hella Comets, which is what I was actually after, but the chaps at Diesel Electric pointed out that the Bosch Spots were on a special and were selling at half the price of the Comets. They come complete with good quality Halogen bulbs and a wiring harness. At night, I can see half way to the Moon! ;)

I took these pics a few minutes ago, it was dark outside but you get the idea...
P1020614_1.jpg
P1020617_1.jpg

Windgat
Vehicle: 1997 Toyota Hilux 2.8TD 4x4 DC

Post by Windgat »

Casper,
Ek was nog altyd 'n ou vir 'n wit bakkie.
Ek moet se joune lyk be#$%.....
Ek wens net ek kan hom nou kllar kry sodat hy kan begol berge klim....
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Nice spotlights Family Dog! At least you can see them! Will get Hella spotlights or something likewise.! Have to move spotlights anyway for winch(still hunting for a winch).
Ek verkies ook wit bakkie, het al oorweeg om myne wit te maak, die son in oudtshoorn brand alles klaar!
Sien ek Eng/Afr deurmekaar!!

Casper
Windgat

Post by Windgat »

Gaam kyk by Renovating a 1997 bakkie. Dan sal jy myne sien.
Ek moet bedrading uitsort en dan turbo en dan clutch kit insit.
Wil more gou die bedrading doen en die turbo afhaal.
Hopelik laat weet die mechanic hy kan die clutch die week doen.
Windgat

Post by Windgat »

Ek het vergeet om te se. Ek wil more kyk of ek die stickers ook kan plak. Wil vir hom die Toyota op die klap plak. En die 2.8D en Hilux 4x4. Dan wil ek graag soos jou sticker op die kant my eie een design. As dit op is sal ek weer 'n pic post.
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

My snorkel word opgesit vandag, uiteindelik! :mrgreen: Kan nie wag nie! :lmao:

Sodra ek hom terug kry gaan ek my as vorentoe skyf(Dit gaan tyd vat :shock: ) Sodat my 33" tyres nie meer skaaf nie! My voorste bladvere le baie plat, sal seker nog 'n veer of 2 moet bysit?

Gaan maar 4 wheel spacers opsit, goedkoper as 4 nuwe rims! :evil:

Sodra dit klaar is moet my winch opsit, en nuwe bumper/bullbar vervaardig :mrgreen:

Sal foto post met my vordering!
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Niemand in Oudtshoorn kan 'n snorkel vir my opsit nie :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

My snorkel darem op nou! Het nie presies gepas, moes modifikasies doen!

Morne in Oudtshoorn mooi job gedoen!

Very happy :cooldude:

Volgende:

Voorste vere vervang met extended shackle en 4 wheel adapters opsit, dan die winch en bullbar

Casper
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Casper, hy lyk vreeslik mooi.

Know what you don't know.
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Dankie! jy het ook baie mooi bakkie!
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Hi Casper

Welcome to the forum and I hope you'll enjoy it here. :clap: :lol: Your truck is gorgeous to say the least, hope you enjoy him. I have had the opportunity to use both Bosch and Hella spotlights and in my opinion the Hellas are far better, I find the Bosch gives a much wider beam and don't shine as far (both using the same size lamp, ie 55W), the mount on the Bosch is also a lot thinner which makes it to mis-align often, you would have to tighten that 10mm nut at almost break point, yoh! :shock: :blink:
Hellas work for me as I refuse to pay over two grands for spots.

Have a blessed day!

Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Thanks, I have 4 spots(Ring sports line 110w), the plan is to put them on top of the roof? Still thinking about that. Hella very good but pricey
! Before I bought 2 spots at midas for R299, what a waste of time! Candles give off more light than them.
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Besig om winch op te sit! :cooldude:

Eers 2 nuwe bladvere by gesit, aan elke kant voor en voorste shackle verleng om die winch se gewig te akkomodeer! :yahoo:

Winch (warn 8000) kom op more :dance1:

Sal fotos post sodra klaar is.....
Stubs
Town: Onrusrivier Hermanus
Vehicle: 89, Hilux D/cab 3.0L V6 Ford !!

Post by Stubs »

Hiluxbakkie wrote:Nice spotlights Family Dog! At least you can see them! Will get Hella spotlights or something likewise.! Have to move spotlights anyway for winch(still hunting for a winch).
Ek verkies ook wit bakkie, het al oorweeg om myne wit te maak, die son in oudtshoorn brand alles klaar!
Sien ek Eng/Afr deurmekaar!!

Casper
Great bakkie Casper !! if you are after decent spots then go for KC Hi-lites, american made, 100w bulbs, I have got 6 on mine, good aftersales service, price well yes they are expensive but you pay for what you get, wired them up myself, simple job, they have a huge range but are really powerfull at night...look forward to some more pics with further upgrades, cheers Stubs
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Thanks for the advice!, but I have already bought 4 Ring sports line spots(110w) think the are UK made? :thumbup: , thinking of putting them on the roof? :aggresive: Still thinking about that? The 2 older spots which I bought at Midas will face backwards?

Got the winch(warn 8000) on, still have to connect to battery. Could not afford ARB BULLBAR! :twisted: Made my own version, still in progress? :mrgreen:

Do not know where to fit electrical box of winch? any ideas? They usually are fitted on top of winch but how?

The front little bit higher than the back, need to put block in to lift a few inches? I gambled that the winch would push down the front, but I was wrong!

Photos...

Stubs

Post by Stubs »

Hiluxbakkie wrote:Thanks for the advice!, but I have already bought 4 Ring sports line spots(110w) think the are UK made? :thumbup: , thinking of putting them on the roof? :aggresive: Still thinking about that? The 2 older spots which I bought at Midas will face backwards?

Got the winch(warn 8000) on, still have to connect to battery. Could not afford ARB BULLBAR! :twisted: Made my own version, still in progress? :mrgreen:

Do not know where to fit electrical box of winch? any ideas? They usually are fitted on top of winch but how?

The front little bit higher than the back, need to put block in to lift a few inches? I gambled that the winch would push down the front, but I was wrong!

Photos...

I have four mounted on the roof on a frontrunner load bars, these are nice tough roof bars, mount the spots at the back otherwise you quite a bit of glare in the cab reflecting off the bonnet, excellent for night driving, I have attached a photo showing where mine are mounted, I dont have a winch but if I do get one I will just get it all done for me, not exactly clued up on these things LOL.....but ya truck is looking mean man !!! nice...
Stubs

Post by Stubs »

4 spots on roof and two on bullbar...
IMG_2.JPG
IMG_2.JPG (31.31 KiB) Viewed 4095 times
IMG_1.JPG
IMG_1.JPG (31.99 KiB) Viewed 4095 times
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Very impressive truck you got there! When my ship comes in I will get some decent stuff, but for now I am happy enough!
Thanks for the tip! Will mount my spots the same place.
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Almost finished with winch installation! was painting the house for swambo! :evil: Sorted my spot lights, all it needed was that relay much better now! :thumbup: My version of a bumper needs more brackets, to hold the 3500 kg winch :evil:

Spots needs to be lined up better, still in progress. Mods on SFA never stops :D:

Starting to look very nice :thumbup: Just make sure that winch is bolted on properly, they tend to get stolen easily.....sad!
swartvark
Vehicle: SFA HiLEX V8; Suzuki GSF1200s Bandit

Post by swartvark »

Very nice. How do you find those Bighorns?
MUD........GLORIOUS MUD!!!!!

Your friendly VW salesperson......(with a passion for SFA Hiluxes)

NEED A CAR?
talk2tiaan@gmail.com
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Thanks, do you get lockable bolts? or just weld them?

The bighorns is very nice :thumbup: :cool: , mostly I have been on the road and dirt roads and Bighorns have a good grip. Have not been in the rain yet! not much rain in my parts-Oudtshoorn. Normally mud tires very slippery on wet tar roads? Cannot wait for a muddy situation :twisted:
I am doing the Vleesbaai route in Mosselbay, will see how they do in sand?
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Was die naweek by vleesbaai, lekker :D:
Paar fotos en video

Die video die lang duin op, net cam gestop halfpad op :evil:

GooseMan
Vehicle: Toyotal Hilux '96 Brospeed Branch and freeflow exhaust.Long range fuel tank.A Line Digger rims. 31 BF Goodrich All Terrain.

Post by GooseMan »

Dit lyk baie lekker. Ek is sommer jaloers. Hier is nie sulke duine in Pretoria nie!
Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Dan moet jy draai kom maak in Vleesbaai :D:
Gaan more 4 wheel spacers op sit vir my van 30mm elk, sover lyk dit nog of gaan wegkom sonder die axle move! Het al alles geprobeer tyres raak nie aan bodywerk nie, net op full lock raak dit die vere, met spacers probleem opgelos :D:

Casper, you can set your steering stops .... they are adjustable. You might find that the tyres touch the rear of the wheel arch inside at full lock once you have fitted the spacers. At the front and back of each swivel hub on the inner face there are bolts that have locknuts, these are the adjustments for full lock either way. Jack up the front (wheels off the ground) when you set it up. ;-)

Looking very good with all that you have done. :thumbup:

Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

Thanks, will see after spacers are on, to set those wheel stops. :thumbup:

It's always the back half of the leaf pack where the wheels will touch on full lock if it hasn't been set up. Set it so that you have at least about 10 / 12 mm between the tyre and the spring pack. ;-)

Hiluxbakkie

Post by Hiluxbakkie »

My latest edition, had these spots since last year! Ring spots, got them in Ireland.
Just wanted to see what it will look like?
110watts not connected yet! :mrgreen:
What do you think to big? :evil:
I am going to put extra alumnuim bar over roofrack bar for extra support.
Extra fuel consumption! :cry:
Illegal for sure ( I have covers for them, yes I know still illegal) :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Looks insane! :yahoo:
Reason for roof racks is my Highlift Jack.

Return to “Members' Vehicles”