Introduce yourself and Meet the rest of the crowd
hilux hilife
Town: gauteng
Vehicle: '97 hilux D/C 2.7i 3RZ

Hilux Hilife here

Post by hilux hilife »

Howzit all you freindly Toyota people I've only recently bought my first toyota but before I did I spent some time lurking on this site for more information on the hilux and I eventully went for a 95 SFA 2.4 with omu suspension. I've since spent some money on sorting the vehicle out by recon the brakes, new front seats, dyno tune and a cam from SAC.
It had branches and a Brospeed exhaust otherwise it is quite standard. I'm busy with some general mods like: RTT, Water and extra fuel tank, Roof rack and draw system. and I would appreciate any good advice on these items.

Oh my name is Mike and I live in East rand and apart from my hilux I also own a number of bikes and a T4 Syncro kombi
cheers for now :)

Re: Hilux Hilife here

Hiya Mike... welcome here to our forum.. We hope you will find all the info you need and have some great times here.. Now.. please bro.. pictures is what we need and crave.. how'z about you put some up of your Hilux?? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Hi Mike. Welcome to the forum... Hope you enjoy it here.

Post some pics of your ride Image
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

I will gladly put some pictures but how do I go about doing that ? I'm rather doff you know :oops:
Bushwacker
Town: Vryheid Natal
Vehicle: 2003 HILEX, 35" maxxis. 2009 Prado 120 VX

Post by Bushwacker »

Hi Mike and welcome, You can't be that doff if you bought a HiLUX :lol: :lol: :lol:
Click brouse
1.go to where your pics are
2.choose one
3.add file
4.preview, or submit
done
brouse.jpg
choose.jpg
preview.jpg

WELCOME MIKE

TO

THE BEST 4x4 FORUM BY FAR :D: :D:

You'll find some lekker vehicles here driven/loved/cherished by LEKKER Folk 8) 8)

Post some Photos so that we can get Up Close and Personal :o:

Rich

Welcome Mike

Can't wait to see the pic's. We can never see too much pic's of Hilux's.

Rich, did you notice that when typing fol(k), it appears as folk .

So we are not boggers, but folks :D:

ToyX4 wrote:
Rich, did you notice that when typing fol(k), it appears as bogger .

And I thought Rich forgot to take his magic smarties again... :twisted:

Anyway, welcome here Mike! Great vehicle you have there :mrgreen: Nou post us a foudie or 2... :wink:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Hi Mike, and welcome here!

Just remember to resize your pics to either 640 x 480 or 800 x 600, and limit their size to around 100kb. Most of us use irfanview for that, but here is another program to play around with too: http://www.faststone.org/FSResizerDetail.htm

Scorpion wrote:
Rich, did you notice that when typing fol(k), it appears as bogger .

And I thought Rich forgot to take his magic smarties again... :twisted:

Never Noticed :o: :o: :o: :o:

Yes you are all fine F O L K :D: :D: :D: (not boggers)
Tristan
Town: Kidds Beach
Vehicle: 97 Hilux D/C 2.4l 4x4

Post by Tristan »

Hi Mike :wink:
Just like the rest I look forward to seeing some pics :D:
welcome to the hilux family :mrgreen:

Mike, welcome to the forum and enjoy :D
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Gents I must appologise for the lack of pictures but I have been trying to upload pics and floowing the instructions by bushwakker and it just won;t work - my pics are JPEG and less than 100Kb. When I try to load them it times out.
I would like nothing more than to put pics of the drive along the escarpment a few weeks ago. I know a little known route along the Free state KZN border with spectacular views of Natal.

Mike,

If you are using Vista I know that there is problems with the uploading of pictures. Maybe ask Cassie to assist you with the upload of it.
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

No I'm using windows XP with SP 2

Mike's pics. :lol: :twisted:
IMGP0736.jpg
IMGP0757.jpg
IMGP0760.jpg

Mike,

Baie mooi HIlux wat jy daar het!!! Hou van jou spaarwiel agter op!!!

Mike, try loading them onto http://www.photobucket.com and then select the "image" url and then post that here. The pictures look great, but a tad small for tired old eyes like mine ;)

Is the rear bumper a Burco?

Ek like daai bakkie Mike... En daai surroundings op die foto is net so mooi! :)
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

hi Gents
Ek sal in engles antwoord want my Afrikaans taal is erg and my spelling is bollie.
Thanks for the tip Family bulldog I'll give the Photobucket a try.

The area where these pictures were taken is on the edge of the escaarpment near Memel in the Free state overlooking Newcastle and Chelmsford dam, pity the day was cloudy because the view is spectacular. I inherited a small cotage in memel and as a family we go often, Vir 'n ou soutie like me it is one of my favorite areas in the country. We often go down there to ride motorbikes in the area, that way I've got to know the area reasonably well. With the addition of this marvelous bakkie I've added a second string to my bow which give my wife the opportunity to get out more.
In the future I will arrange a weekend trip in the area for the forum okes that are interested.

The rear bumber was home made by the previous owner, he said that he coppied what he liked from the many of those bumbers that are available on the market. He also extended the chassis to the end of the Bak to give it more support as I understand that this is a common weak point with the hilux.

Return to “Meet the People”