Hunter26
Vehicle: Isuzu

New Traitor here

Post by Hunter26 »

Hi All
I belong to the 4x4Community Forum and was introduced to the Hilux Forum by Family Dog ( Don't shoot him please :D: ). I drive an Isuzu 250D with diff lock 2x4 or 4x2 depending if you are a plank or not :D: :D: I believe that some of you don't mind having a traitor ( different brand ) driving with you on outings. Yip I can take a lot of abuse and give back in a joking way so am sort of known as a bit of a clown on the 4x4 community forum. I live in King Williams town ( near East London), am married with 2 lovely teenagers ( Girl and boy ). I am looking to upgrade to a 4x4 some time and will be asking many questions if that is alright. If my joining ( being a non Toyota owner) does upset the true pure masters then please delete my membership ,no offense will be taken.

hoping for an enjoyable time here.Thanks
Isuzu 250D 4x2 with diffy lock
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
I don't live in Africa, Africa lives in me - Kyle my son.
Masekind
Town: Lichtenburg
Vehicle: 2005 Hilux 4x4 v6, LR tank, ARB Bumper. (iJzer)

Re: New Traitor here

Post by Masekind »

Jy is baie welkom ons weet jy sal nog reg kom :twisted: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:
If you don’t build your dreams someone else will hire you to build there’s

Welcome :thumbup: Contrary to popular believe we actually have a sense of humour. :lol:
The only rule is you have to show pics of your Rig
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

Thanks all for the welcome, baie dankie ( okay my Taal is bad :D: :D: )
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers

About time Craig.Howzit and welcome to THE forum.Hopefully you'll also join the hilux club.We don,t mind other vehicle type drivers joining us and who knows,maybe they will also see the light.Just joking Craig,you are more than welcome :thumbup: :thumbup:
antlo69
Town: Pretoria North
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D-4D, leveling kit, 17" with A/T BFg's, sadly stil some Tupperware, wish list growing by the day

Post by antlo69 »

Welcom Hunter......soon you will driving a Hilux. Show us your 4x2

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
"Must be a Toyota, must be a diesel and must run on BFG's"
legend35
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i
Club VHF Licence: HC262

Post by legend35 »

Welcome Craig. Ask as many questions as you want.Some clever people on this forum :thumbup:
2004 Hilux 2700i 4x4 Legend 35
Cowley branch and freeflow,long range tank,dual battery system,home made front and rear bumpers.

Craig good to see you on THIS forum :)

I actually LEARNT to drive in an Isuzu, diesel lang bak nogal.

took some time, but now do own the best. so there is hope for you yet ... :tease: :lmao:

Hunter26 wrote: am married with 2 lovely teenagers ( Girl and boy )
Errrrrrrrrrrrr......that is worring!!! Most guys on this side is married to a wife, you know...

Anyway, welcome!

Welcome, those road tractors are not bad, it's the Jeep guys we don't like.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Your reputation (as a joker) precedes you .... there's always a couple in every deck, so no problem there. :D:

Welcome aboard, Craig! :thumbup:

Good to have you here, Craig! :thumbup:

FIRSTGEER wrote:About time Craig.Howzit and welcome to THE forum.Hopefully you'll also join the hilux club.We don,t mind other vehicle type drivers joining us and who knows,maybe they will also see the light.Just joking Craig,you are more than welcome :thumbup: :thumbup:
See now - in one foul swoop we have a 100% increase in membership from KWT... :D:

Welcome Craig, hope you enjoy it here on the forum. :thumbup: :thumbup:
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

Welcome Craig!
The Kezoes is fine, those 2.5's are great, just NOISY.
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.

Welcome aboard Craig :thumbup:

Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Family_Dog wrote:Good to have you here, Craig! :thumbup:

FIRSTGEER wrote:About time Craig.Howzit and welcome to THE forum.Hopefully you'll also join the hilux club.We don,t mind other vehicle type drivers joining us and who knows,maybe they will also see the light.Just joking Craig,you are more than welcome :thumbup: :thumbup:
See now - in one foul swoop we have a 100% increase in membership from KWT... :D:

Not quite ... we previously have 4 members there (3 of them club members as well - Tony, Edge & Wade, although Wade is currently working in Stutterheim). :D:

Welcome boet :thumbup:
Hope you enjoy it here.

Welcome Craig. Don't worry about the Kazoes, we all made mistakes before. :cooldude:
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
ROOFER
Town: grassy park cape town
Vehicle: 99 s/c hilux 4x4 2.7i long range tank & dual battery; 2003 nissan x-TRAIL (4X4)

Post by ROOFER »

Welcome Craig :!: :!: :!:
Bugzy
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 2015 Hilux S/C 4X4 Dakar1996 2.8D s/c 4x4 Hilux with 3CT Toyota motor
Club VHF Licence: X56

Post by Bugzy »

Welkom Craig. Moet nie worry nie....koop net 'n Hilux en jou lewe sal verander :thumbup: :thumbup:

Not quite ... we previously have 4 members there (3 of them club members as well - Tony, Edge & Wade, although Wade is currently working in Stutterheim). :D:
So a 20% increase in one day is still something!

Now I just have to figure out just where KWT is - somewhere down South, I believe ;)

Do they have electricity there?

Hangover
Town: Deneysville
Vehicle: '76 FJ45 , '13 3.0 D4D Hilux

Post by Hangover »

Welcome! Im sure it wont be long before you WILL convert... Has it started working yet?
Hangover(A.K.A die speelding)
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
2013 3.0D-4D 4x4 Hilux Dakar
Cleaner
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4l V6 4x4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X31

Post by Cleaner »

Welcome Craig!

No worries about driving an Izoos - We here welcome all sorts and are not Brand biased, besides, we like to see other people struggle and get stuck as well! :laugh2:

Enjoy the forum and hope you influence more people to join from your area!
"Every loaf of bread is tragic story of grains that could've become beer, but didn't. - Walter Thornburgh"
"The best cure for Sea Sickness, is to sit under a tree. - Spike Milligan"
Baasvark
Town: Virginia
Vehicle: '97 D/C with all the trimmings & 2011 Troopy

Post by Baasvark »

Seems my post got lost in translation.

Welcome Craig. This is a good forum but we like to see photo's..... So don't be shy (or are you :twisted: )

Sooner or later you'll see the light :twisted:
Aint it ironic that "Common Sense" aint so common after all...
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

Wow, so many welcomes. Thanks all,it looks like this is the family to belong to. Just asking from the EL side ,do you Toy boys have outings where 4x2s can also join in, and do you lot ever camp as a group. Thanks

Craig
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

welcome boet.you had me with the topic. :laugh2: :thumbup:

Hunter26 wrote:Wow, so many welcomes. Thanks all,it looks like this is the family to belong to. Just asking from the EL side ,do you Toy boys have outings where 4x2s can also join in, and do you lot ever camp as a group. Thanks

Craig
Craig, most of the stuff we do is family oriented so your 2x4 with difflock should be able to cope with most of it (ground clearance dependent at times), and if necessary, someone can winch/tow you out/over/through.

We can keep you informed of outings and you'd be welcome to join ..... have a look here at our last excursion.
;-)

Pote
Town: Hartbeespoort
Vehicle: Fortuner D4d 4x4 & VW Passat
Club VHF Licence: X228

Post by Pote »

Welcome here... :clap: :clap:
Hilux 1
Vehicle: 2011 Raider 4x4 Double cab 4.0 V6
Club VHF Licence: HC137

Post by Hilux 1 »

welcome welcome, great side of the world that KWT. have not been there since 1991 or was it 1992. damn long ago. you will enjoy it here.

There is always people camping and braaing together or something, just keep your eye locked here on the forum.
AND
:ttwwp: :subscribed: :subscribed: :subscribed:

Welcome Craig from King William's Town...

Welcome Craig! Isn't Simoan also from that side of the world? :shh:

Must say I've learnt to respect the old gen Isuzu's. A few years ago we built a "Toyota" obstacle at the local interclub 4x4 challenge. We tested it, and it was pretty difficult... as was proved on the day of the event... with many a vehicle not getting up the entrance axle twister, but alas one of the organisers, a lady, with an old standard looking Isuzu literally idled over obstacle... while the Jeep crowd were wheel spinning and creating haymen! So ja... pick one another man vehicle brand at your peril!

Mr B :thumbup: :thumbup:

Howzit Mr B.Simoan does hail from this part of the world.He is in Queenstown which is about 150 km inland from us.
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Welcome, as long as your head is screwed on right you'll fit in, make of car not important.

Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

Thanks Donkey,much appreciated. At the moment my head is spinning and I feel like a prostitute on a round about.....different brand owners are suggesting I buy their vehicle brand makes :D:D

Craig
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

Come on Craig, you know you want to.....
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

I know nothing about Toyotas,what does. SFA ,d. IFS mean. I see it a lot when discussing vehicles here.

Craig
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

SFA = Solid Front Axle

IFS = Independant front suspension.

the older box shape luxes have the SFA. From around 2000 the IFS came into play.

If you look on the home page you will find an article that discusses this as well as the merits of both... :thumbup:
dcsmax
Town: Pietersburg
Vehicle: JKU Rubicon & 2 x SJ410 Suzuki's

Post by dcsmax »

Sfa. Superior front axle. Only real 4x4's have these.
Ifs. Inferior front suspension.

The sfa does not nearly have the on road holding that an ifs has.
When offroading you clearly see the difference.

Deon
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

dcsmax wrote:Sfa. Superior front axle. Only real 4x4's have these.

Deon
Eish Deon you might pick up a bit of flack here for those strong statements :?

Either way, there is a full write up about this on the main page.

I don't think the offroad capabilities are that different between the two - even though I myself drive an SFA...... :cooldude:
dcsmax
Town: Pietersburg
Vehicle: JKU Rubicon & 2 x SJ410 Suzuki's

Post by dcsmax »

Deon

All (tic) Baasvark.

Wouldn't want to rock the proverbial boat. ha ha.
hansman
Town: pretoria
Vehicle: hilux sfa

Post by hansman »

Hello Graig
Welcome to the forum I am glad you joined it makes the competision
much easier with the Zuzu
Hansman&Vaaltyn :celebrate:
Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Hunter26 wrote:Thanks Donkey,much appreciated. At the moment my head is spinning and I feel like a prostitute on a round about.....different brand owners are suggesting I buy their vehicle brand makes :D:D

Craig
We all have our brands of choice, end of the day it's the nut behind the wheel that counts. That said we have Jeeps, Landies, Fords, Mazdas, mountain bikes on this forum. It's the people that matter to me - family.

Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

dcsmax wrote:

Deon

All (tic) Baasvark.

Wouldn't want to rock the proverbial boat. ha ha.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

Donkey wrote:
Hunter26 wrote:Thanks Donkey,much appreciated. At the moment my head is spinning and I feel like a prostitute on a round about.....different brand owners are suggesting I buy their vehicle brand makes :D:D

Craig
We all have our brands of choice, end of the day it's the nut behind the wheel that counts. That said we have Jeeps, Landies, Fords, Mazdas, mountain bikes on this forum. It's the people that matter to me - family.
Every group has a standard and mother nature abhors an excessively high standard - therefore we need the other brands to bring ours down a bit..... :surrender: :surrender: :surrender: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Baasvark wrote:
Donkey wrote:

Craig
Every group has a standard and mother nature abhors an excessively high standard - therefore we need the other brands to bring ours down a bit..... :surrender: :surrender: :surrender: :lol: :lol: :lol:
spent some time in the new Ranger 2,2.

Toyota has nothing in the price range that comes close ! :shock2: :slap:

NOT a ford fan, but this new Ranger certainly has raised the bar !!
Baasvark

Post by Baasvark »

ChrisF wrote:
Baasvark wrote:
Donkey wrote:

Craig

That is a very sad truth! :evil:
The rangers are good vehicles. Tend to have gearbox problems but otherwise good!
Hope Toyota pulls finger and gives us something good in the near future! They have fallen behind a bit. :evil:

Baasvark wrote:
ChrisF wrote:
Baasvark wrote:
Donkey wrote:

Craig

That is a very sad truth! :evil:
The rangers are good vehicles. Tend to have gearbox problems but otherwise good!
Hope Toyota pulls finger and gives us something good in the near future! They have fallen behind a bit. :evil:

on the up side - their next release will be something EXCELLENT if it beats the current competition !

Return to “Meet the People”