Thanks Froll! :)
mariuscoetzer
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux

Re: Welcome to all the new members

Post by mariuscoetzer »

Family_Dog wrote:Hi Joe,

Welcome to the Hilux forum :)
I am also a member of the LCCSA, but after recently selling my Cruiser and buying a Hilux AGAIN (4th one now),
I started doing some "surfing" for a Hilux site and ... wallah !
Hmm... I bet that went down well with the guys there :mrgreen:
Still trying to find my way around the site. (It is similar to LCCSA.)
Naah... We're a much more laid back bunch here, we know we have the best 4x4 Vehicle ever built, so we have no need to boast about it :P

Will chat soon & eventually meet.

(Friendly_Dog)
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome aboard, Marius! :thumbup: :thumbup:

piet petrol
Town: ceres
Vehicle: 2001 2x4 Toyota kzte

Post by piet petrol »

Hi all.
I'm a newbie to the site but must admit I have read a lot of posts on the site since I recently purchased a 2001 kzte. She's a beut. Got her at a bargain aswell. I'm looking forward to being part of the community.
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Welcome aboard, Petrus! :thumbup: :thumbup:

BushMad
Vehicle: '01 Hilux 2700i D/C 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC130

Post by BushMad »

Howzit and welcome Petrus! :wave: Trust you will enjoy it here :thumbup:

Welcome Petrus :wave:

piet petrol

Post by piet petrol »

Thanks. Feel welcome already.
piet petrol

Post by piet petrol »

my baby
toyota.JPG
toyota (2).JPG

:thumbup: :thumbup: IFS,very cool :thumbup: :thumbup:

Welcome Petrus, nice bakkie :thumbup: :thumbup:

Welcome Petrus, hope you enjoy it here on the forum. :thumbup: :thumbup:
piet petrol

Post by piet petrol »

Looks good!! :thumbup:

johanvb
Town: Welgelegen Cape Town
Vehicle: Toyota Legend 45

Post by johanvb »

Good afternoon all

So Saturday 21 Mar I am off to Barloworld Toyota Stellenbosch, and walked out with a new Legend 45 DC D4D 4x4...

Very very happy chap!!!

I have been in the 4x4 fraternity for a while and also an active member on http://www.4x4community.co.za.." onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;.

Yes have many questions to ask regarding the vehicle...

So thank you in advance for the assistance I shall get from all of you.

Regards

Johan

Welkom by ons Johan

Baie geluk met jou Legend 45 :thumbup: :thumbup:
Trinilux
Town: Freeport
Vehicle: Ln106 hilux

Post by Trinilux »

What's up guys? New to the site! I'm from Trinidad last island down in the Caribbean ! Got 2 lux's and a surf yeah I luv my yotas! Reading up some interesting information here! Looking forward to learn and share info with you'll!

Welcome Rossi! :thumbup: :thumbup:

You're gonna be asked to post pics, so why not get a head-start and post some! :lol:

OOPS! I see you have already!

( viewtopic.php?f=136&t=8657&p=460682&sid ... 72#p460682" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; )

Well done! ..... (for a start) ............ :D:

VENESSA
Town: CAPE TOWN
Vehicle: 2002 KZTE DIESEL

KZTE RESERVOIR TANK FILLING UP

Post by VENESSA »

Hi guys,
I am new to this forum, as I can read you guys are one happy 4x4 family.
I don't know if im posting this on the right thread or highjacking someone, please forgive.

I drive a 2002 Toyota 3L kzte turbo diesel. If there is someone who could please give me some advice on my vehicle.
Ok lets start, The kz has 119000 on clock and while driving from Langebaan my temp guage jump just before the red line. drove it slowly to Fish Hoek, opened hood and o no no water in radiator or reservoir bottle, while idling filled her up and drove over mountain. When I got home waterwas bubling in reservoir.Took it to Sivertons radiator, after testing rad cap leakingand radiator building up pressure, they presume its a head gasket, or cracked head. Took head off and off I went to Mr Cillinder head, pressure tested no signs of cracks, had it skimmed valves lapped, new valve stem seals, put head back with new head gasket, torque 39 nm and 90 90 with new thermostat 82, new viscous fan, radiator flushed,50/50 distilled water and coolant ,new rad hoses, 7000 later. Ok all excited lets start this beast, one turn of the key and it started, I noticed same problem reservoir bubbling when rad cap is on. I first thought it was air in the system but I don't think so, because the vehicle was idling for about 2 hours rad cap off , thermo opened bottom rad hose hot, what a freaking hell must one person do.If anyone could assist me with advice in any way it would be highly appreciated
Obelix and Dogmatix
Town: ROODEPOORT
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

Re: KZTE RESERVOIR TANK FILLING UP

Post by Obelix and Dogmatix »

VENESSA wrote:Hi guys,
I am new to this forum, as I can read you guys are one happy 4x4 family.
I don't know if im posting this on the right thread or highjacking someone, please forgive.

I drive a 2002 Toyota 3L kzte turbo diesel. If there is someone who could please give me some advice on my vehicle.
Ok lets start, The kz has 119000 on clock and while driving from Langebaan my temp guage jump just before the red line. drove it slowly to Fish Hoek, opened hood and o no no water in radiator or reservoir bottle, while idling filled her up and drove over mountain. When I got home waterwas bubling in reservoir.Took it to Sivertons radiator, after testing rad cap leakingand radiator building up pressure, they presume its a head gasket, or cracked head. Took head off and off I went to Mr Cillinder head, pressure tested no signs of cracks, had it skimmed valves lapped, new valve stem seals, put head back with new head gasket, torque 39 nm and 90 90 with new thermostat 82, new viscous fan, radiator flushed,50/50 distilled water and coolant ,new rad hoses, 7000 later. Ok all excited lets start this beast, one turn of the key and it started, I noticed same problem reservoir bubbling when rad cap is on. I first thought it was air in the system but I don't think so, because the vehicle was idling for about 2 hours rad cap off , thermo opened bottom rad hose hot, what a freaking hell must one person do.If anyone could assist me with advice in any way it would be highly appreciated
WELCOME

And do you still have the thermostat in? If that goes and and does not open you will have no flow in the radiator hence the bubbling.

or get hold of George he is in Langiebaan and also drive a KZTE if I am not mistaken, he should be able to help.

Goodluck

PS have a bosun for me at Pearly's
Rules are there to make you think before you break them!!!
God made man before
woman so as to give him time
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!

Welcome Marius.

Welcome Marius! :thumbup: :thumbup:

If it was idling away happily without any issues for a while with the rad cap off without bubbling the water out, to me it means that the cooling system is working perfectly. But here's where it gets strange - with the cap on it bubbles water out the reservoir, which to me means that the system is being pressurised by something other than heat expansion - like as you suspected a gasket or head fault. Did you not notice any bubbles rising from the radiator when you had the cap off?

I'm assuming you replaced the old radiator cap. If there was an air lock somewhere, it would produce steam that would bubble the water out quite violently, especially with the cap off. Same applies if the pump was gravitating.

Maybe it's the block that has a crack or the head has a crack that only opens with heat so the pressure test didn't pick it up. Is the gasket surface on the block good? No corrosion between a cylinder and water jacket? :think:

VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Hi Andy
Thanks for your reply

Yes when rad cap was off while idling there were a bubble every 5 seconds.
Old radiator cap was replaced with new one. The only thing which I can think of is maybe the radiator is blocked, I took out radiator and Silvertons here I come, will get results on Monday. I also removed the new thermostat and found it was in the opening position when cold,put it in boiling water to see if anything happens nothing, cooled it down in fridge too see if something happens, nada, is it maybe a possible cause of the bubbling
Im praying that its not the block or head. Silvertons also told me today they are not happy with the temp on bottom rad house it was to cold for their liking,and that triggered a possible blocked rad
But anyway thanks for your input
Marius
O and OBELIX yes I will most definitely have a bosun on you at Pearly's
VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Good evening guys,

Ok, i got radiator from Silvertons, no leaks or blockage, where do i go from now, everything possible was done as i mentioned in previous post.Can anyone guide me to who is the best diesel mach on kzte's in Fish Hoek and saroundings, as i am gatvol after spending so much money and time on this Lux, maybe a new engine, new truck, what do you guys suggest.
Please help, i cant go another week-end without her

Cheers

Marius

VENESSA wrote:Hi Andy
Thanks for your reply

Yes when rad cap was off while idling there were a bubble every 5 seconds.
Old radiator cap was replaced with new one. The only thing which I can think of is maybe the radiator is blocked, I took out radiator and Silvertons here I come, will get results on Monday. I also removed the new thermostat and found it was in the opening position when cold,put it in boiling water to see if anything happens nothing, cooled it down in fridge too see if something happens, nada, is it maybe a possible cause of the bubbling
Im praying that its not the block or head. Silvertons also told me today they are not happy with the temp on bottom rad house it was to cold for their liking,and that triggered a possible blocked rad
But anyway thanks for your input
Marius
O and OBELIX yes I will most definitely have a bosun on you at Pearly's
This is not a good sign! :eh: :( .... and you will have to replace that thermostat even though it's not the cause of your immediate problem.

VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

O well, will have to visit my bank manager for another 15k for new head or 35k for engine, or 380k for new truck.
cheers guys and thanks for taking me through all the possible steps.
:( :( :( :
Marius

Don't assume the worst right yet. You need to know where the fault is before you can decide a plan of action. The mileage on that motor isn't high, so maybe it's not too serious unless it has overheated and / or cold water was added to a hot engine without it running. Perhaps it's just a gasket issue.

First go back to Silverton and ask them to do a carbon test - they probably won't even charge you for that. This will confirm or eliminate exhaust gasses in the cooling system. I suspect the test will be positive, but at least you'll be certain.

If it is, from your first description it sounds as if you can use the vehicle for short trips and perhaps some slightly longer ones if you carry spare water with you for topping up the radiator at intervals. Tedious to do this I know, but maybe you should for a while so that when you do pull the head again it might make it easier to find the spot that's leaking. )Also might give you a bit of a breather to get some funds stashed aside).

Those motors build up enormous compression when the turbo kicks in. If it is luckily just a gasket fault, get OEM quality or better replacement. If it's the head, replace with AMC head and quality gasket.

If it's the block, then look at a motor replacement, maybe KZTE or even the WL (Mazda / Ford 2.5 diesel). Lexus might even be an option.

;-)

VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Hi Andy,
Thanks once again for reply, the temp guage only went up to 3/4, it was late at night and I parked the vehicle, only to find out the next morning that the rad needed water and the expansion tank was empty. The rad took about 2 litres and I filled expansion tank to the full mark when vehicle was cold. Drove up and down mountain temp stays just under 1/2.

Before the head gasket was done I took it to Silverton's and they said the carbon test are only for petrol engins.

So they did a pressure test to see, and yes the test did show on the guage that pressure is building up in rad when revs are at 3500 rpm so was told its gasket, head or block.

Got home while she was hot, brother came with pressure test kit and pumped rad to 1.1 and let it stood overnight and pressure was the next morning still 1.1, wont it loose pressure if head or block is cracked especially when hot.

I don't mind buying a new AMC head and gasket, what do I do if there is still a problem.

Marius

The rad pressure test in your case really only confirms that rad, seals and hoses are good - cylinder pressures are much, much higher and the 'leak' may only be active at those high pressures.

Don't throw money at it just yet.This is why I say carry on driving it a bit longer if possible with regular water top ups whenever required. It might help to pin-point the problem or make it more apparent to the eye when you open the motor again. If you can establish exactly where it is, then you can make an informed decision.

I really hope that it's just a gasket issue. Was the head re-torqued after 1000 kilos with the new gasket?

VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Thanks Andy
I understand the rad pressure test, it makes sense. The head wasn't talked again as I only drove the vehicle for 27 km so far, and as my understanding you shouldn't need to talk a head if it has stretched bolts, and it was replaced with new ones.
There were no difference before and after the head was done, pressurising rad and overflowing reservoir.

We still believe its the head that wasn't pressure tested properly at MCH, now another thing that bothers me, you know on the exhaust valve seats there were looks like cracks on all 4 and was all in line with each other, I actually put a ruler on it, you can actually feel it with your nail, we thought it was normal, but on the other hand how can a valve seal on that.

Engineering shop also said it was a first time for them seeing that, although they said the pressure test were fine.
I am pulling the head off again today and have it checked again.

Can I use the same valves or must I buy new, because the valve seats were re-faced and valves were lapped

Thanks Andy
VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Hi Guys,
I can smile and sleep again, after many sleepless nights.
My Luxies rad bubbled and emptied exp tank, took head of after replacing, viscous fan, hoses, water pump, thermostat, radiator.
Presure test at engineering in Tokai, no leaks. Put head back on, same problem, took head off again. Took it for 2nd test at another engineering shop, Bastics in Saltriver, once again no leaks pressurising it under 4,5 bar.
Bought another head and gasket, and voila problem solved.

I must mention and will recognise Mr Mc Farlane at Bastics, he is a real gentleman, the service was something out of the books, he told me before he tested the head, that he had one previously and did not show any signs of cracks.

Then the guy brought it back for another test and then it showed the crack behind the exhaust valve sleeves.

He told me to buy another head because he could almost guarantee me its the head although they couldn't pick it up, he also said that its very seldom that the blocks crack or warp. Also its cheaper to start from the top.
So yes im a happy chappy and taking my lux to Langebaan this weekend to see how she goes.

So guys im just sharing this with u :clap: :clap: :clap:

Anyone wants to buy a kzte head its been pressure tested twice.(as is) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Glad you got sorted.
Come and pop in our shop when you in Langebaan. Behind the Caltex garage next to the mall.

:thumbup: Glad you got sorted! Suspected that it was the head. ;-)

VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Thanks guys, I must say you guys are great, took me through all possible steps for what the problem could be, now I now what to look for next time.
George, the name of your shop,i will pop in during Saturday morning.
I also have a shop at Langebaan Lagoon(Neptunes Cave)

Cheers for now

VENESSA wrote:Thanks guys, I must say you guys are great, took me through all possible steps for what the problem could be, now I now what to look for next time.
George, the name of your shop,i will pop in during Saturday morning.
I also have a shop at Langebaan Lagoon(Neptunes Cave)

Cheers for now
4x4Direct. Next to PG Glass,Next to Laguna mall :thumbup: You will see the white KZ
VENESSA

Post by VENESSA »

Hi George, sorry ,could not make it on Saturday, had to limp back home to Fish Hoek from Melkbos with my KZ on Friday night. don't know what the problem is, orange engine light came on and vehicle went in safe mode.
After 2 hours got home swithed vehicle off, start again and she was fine, while driving home engine light went off, but still no power. I will have to take it in for diagnostic test, or if someone can guide me in the right direction what the possible reason could be, thanks guys your advice is always appreciated
Marius
corrie
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4x4 4.0 V6

Post by corrie »

Hi everyone
Thank you for the acceptance on the forum. I am following you guys for a long time and decided to join and be part of it all.

Welcome, create a thread and post some pics of your ride.

VENESSA wrote:Hi George, sorry ,could not make it on Saturday, had to limp back home to Fish Hoek from Melkbos with my KZ on Friday night. don't know what the problem is, orange engine light came on and vehicle went in safe mode.
After 2 hours got home swithed vehicle off, start again and she was fine, while driving home engine light went off, but still no power. I will have to take it in for diagnostic test, or if someone can guide me in the right direction what the possible reason could be, thanks guys your advice is always appreciated
Marius
Have you tried cleaning the EGT sensor? Just a thought.

corrie wrote:Hi everyone
Thank you for the acceptance on the forum. I am following you guys for a long time and decided to join and be part of it all.
Welcome aboard, Cornelius! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Riff Raff
Town: Charleville
Vehicle: toyota hilux 89

Post by Riff Raff »

Hi all new here, just saying hi

Welcome Dallas, :wave:

Welcome aboard, Dallas!! :thumbup: :thumbup:

white fang
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Raider DC 4x4

Post by white fang »

Goeie môre

My naam is Anton. Ek was lank 'n lid hier alhoewel ek nie baie gepos het nie het ek baie inligting gekry. Op daardie stadium het ek 'n Toyota Hilux Raider 2.4 4x4 DC gery. Soos julle weet is 22R maar dors. Ek het hom verkoop en toe 'n GWM Steed 2.5 4x4 vir amper 4 jaar gery. Ek is egter nou die trotse eienaar van 'n Hilux 2.5 D4D DC 4x4 SRX. Ek is bly ek is terug want nou kan ek weer saam gesels .

Welkom terug, Anton! :thumbup:

beast 21
Town: brakpan
Vehicle: toyota 4.0 v6

the new members

Post by beast 21 »

Hi all I'm new here
TASSIES
Vehicle: 2006 Toyota Prado Petrol

Post by TASSIES »

Hi Guys
First time poster.
I am a long-time Hilux admirer but only drive a wee '06 Prado 4l after a SWB Landy TD5 and a Sani long before that. I am in the process of helping my 25 years young son explore an investment in a 'yours truly'. The Prado is one animal and the Hilux quite another so we'll need to do our homework. He's a recently graduated engineer now earning some loot so a '95 or thereabouts should test his skills and provide some fun under the bonnet. It'll be used for trips into the wilds north of us. We are all so very fortunate.

Welcome aboard Gregory and Jerry!! :thumbup: :thumbup:

edwardo
Town: manjimup
Vehicle: hilux

Re: WAR Machine checking in...

Post by edwardo »

Hello people's, new to the forum, new to owning the venerable hilux, had a bit to do with them, damn good bus! Loving It!

Welcome Edwardo! :thumbup:

Welcome Edward
quintinr
Vehicle: Toyota hilux 3000d

Post by quintinr »

Hey,

I recently got my first 4x4, Toyota Hilux 1999 3000D. Went on my first 4x4 trip and it was excellent!
The donkey was unstoppable!

Anyway, reason I joined hilux4x4.co.za is that i cant find any help with my issue...

My lighter and Clock is not working. my first thought were fuse... ( Checked all fuses below steering wheel and in the bonnet ) but all still perfectly. Tested even with a multi meter. So, maybe bad connection. Pulled all my fuses and even replaced all of them with new fuses. But still... no power on my lighter and clock?

Some say its on the tail gate fuse... but my tail lights and number plate light still works??

Any suggestions? Where i can find possible solutions?
I can't charge my phone while on the road! :(

Hope someone can help.

Regards
Tommeetippee
Town: Cambridge
Vehicle: Hilux D4D

Post by Tommeetippee »

Hi everyone
My name is Tom, im from N.Z. I have an 2006 Hilux, currently has a 3.0l D4D engine but I am planning on swapping it for a 1UZ-FE which I have just purchased. Would post a photo but not sure how.

Welcome Tom. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Welcome Tom
Namibian Legend45
Town: Gobabis
Vehicle: White Legend 45 D/C D4D 4x4

Post by Namibian Legend45 »

Hallo Almal

I'm from Namibia and I just bought my very first Hilux. Since there are all these nice specials on I could not the opportunity pass me by. So, I bought the Legend 45 D4D 4x4 D/C! I already had it on its first camping trip to the Spitzkoppe before clocking 1000Km.

I had a question that I can not seem to get an answer to (googled it) regarding my new bakkie, thus joining this forum.
I will post the question in the appropriate threat, hopefully I can get a answer from the community.

BTW, how does one upload a photo?

Anyway, nice being here
Namibian Legend45 (AKA Danie) :celebrate:
Toyota Hilux Legend45 3L D4D 4x4 D/C White 2015

Welcome aboard, Danie! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Yeah, you will have to get the photo upload thing mastered quickly - the guys will be asking for pics very soon! :D:

When in the "Post a reply" window, look down below the text box where you see "Options / Attachments" - click on "attachments" and then "Add files". A small explorer window opens - find / select your file to upload and double click on it. You can then leave it for the image to appear below any text or you can place your cursor within your text body where you want the image to appear and use the "Place in line" function. Note that images must be resized beforehand (600x800 pixels). ;-)

Return to “Meet the People”