Page 2 of 3

Re: Tell Us How Did You Get to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:32 am
by BenHur
Hey guys how can you soil our great forum by going off topic and talking such a lot of bush? Did you realise that if you trace the meaning of the word bush it is made up out of two latin words bull-itius shyt-ius?

Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:36 am
by BenHur
Back to the topic at hand - Welcome to new our international members. :wink:

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:46 am
by Spikevz
Searched Hilux 4x4 on yahoo

Posted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:34 pm
by 2.8 d/cab SFA
Searched on google,
hooked since then, only other lekker site is overseas

Posted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 4:14 pm
by ben_haynes
i voted other because i was refered here by one of your members on another forum he is a member of, the referee was Silverpigeon aka Tony on http://www.elite4x4.co.uk

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 8:58 pm
by Mauro
A friend had a Nissan and found the Nissan thread, I thought that there MUST be a Hilux forum... :twisted: glad i found it! :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:25 pm
by Liaan
Riaan (Toyx4) het my geinvite!

Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:21 pm
by WayneSchalk
I was invited here by another member. :thumbup: Riceburner/

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:39 pm
by Erdvark
My oorlede swaer , John Sulivan (Feb 2009) van Potch ,het my vertel van die forum.

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 4:48 pm
by Arno
Ek het begin Mei my Hilux DC SFA 2.8DT gekoop en wou ( wil steeds ) Alucab canopy koop toe sit ek Alucab in op Google en toe kom die site op. Ek dink dit was 'n artikel van een van die lede wat sy eie gebou het. Van toe af kyk ek heeltemal te veel hierna.

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 6:58 pm
by Mud Dog
I used to be a member of a Hilux forum some years ago that was linked to a 4x4 site, I think it was http://www.4xforum.com/ but not sure. Pieter was involved there IIRC and then something changed and we all had to re-register because of lost data ... my memory is a bit vague on the issue. I was'nt too enthusistic at that time and left it for a long time before actually doing "the dirty" just over a year ago and starting as a 'newbie' again. :D:

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:45 pm
by Family_Dog
Andy, the lack of nicotine seems to be getting to you... :D:

The original http://www.4xforum.co.za was administered by Andrew St. Pieere White, as a means of introducing his Info-Maps, Books & DVDs to us as members. Initially, the forum was a huge success and ran for a few years but then fell to pieces as its membership expanded due to lack of moderation and some extremely bad mud-slinging took place. Numerous attempts to get the Administrator to intervene and restore sanity were fruitless and the forum began to die. The database became corrupted before finally drifting off into cyberspace, never to be seen again.

At about this time, Dirk Erasmus decided to start a fresh 4x4 forum and apply the lessons learnt from the mistakes made in the past as guidelines to the new forum, and so the Community Forum was born. At the time, Pieter was under some negative influence and drove a П!$$@П before he finally saw the light of day and sold the П!$$@П in favour of a real 4x4 :twisted: .

In a desire to learn more about this magnificent newly acquired vehicle, Pieter turned to the Internet and was horrified :o: to find Hilux sites & forums all over the world...... except in the Republic of South Africa. Realising that this was a fatal flaw in the History of Mankind, Pieter, with great foresight and wisdom, established this forum.

The rest is History...

Oh, the original 4xforum is no more, after some characters of a very dubious & devious nature took over, advertising their wares, all of which were totally unacceptable to decent members of the human race.

Capiche?

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:48 pm
by Dadz Toy BFI
One minute I was on Google looking for a good absorbent facial tissue, the next......... :confused:

R :wink:

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:56 pm
by Mud Dog
Thanks for clearing it up Eric ... as I said I was'nt too enthralled by the site, and that whole saga is more than a litlle fuzzy in my memory. :D:

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:17 pm
by Hoppy
I've got this neighbour with a hilux......

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 9:20 pm
by Family_Dog
Hoppy wrote:I've got this neighbour with a hilux......
And you realised you were not making a living out of repairing his Hilux because it never, ever, broke down! :twisted: So you no doubt joined to probe the secrets of the "Great Hilux Brotherhood"... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:02 pm
by OOOOMS
Went camping at Madikwe 2007 and met my neighbour who drove a single cab 2,8 Hilux. We got chatting as he had a neatly modified canopy. Not sure what his name is however, something he had on the back of his vehicle canopy was a map of southern africa. He had drawn all his route's travelled on it and was a great point of discussion.

He told me about the Hilux4x4 Forum. Not sure if anyone know's him and his wife?

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:40 pm
by Mr_B
Family_Dog wrote:
And you realised you were not making a living out of repairing his Hilux because it never, ever, broke down!...
Now we know you not talking about neighbour Thys's KasPaas... :twisted:

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:44 pm
by BenHur
I think I know your neighbour cause I also know a guy with a hilux that is a neighbour to a guy working his hilux

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:56 am
by OOOOMS
Ja nee, but does he have a map on the back of his van?

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:47 pm
by jsrossouw
Ek het "Hilux Forum" gegoogle.

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:59 pm
by Pumba
Ons was op 'n 4x4 dag in Atlantis en daar het ek die web adres op iemand anders se Lux se bonnet gesien en toe die week daarna dit gaan opkyk.

Wat kan ek se, hooked... :D:

Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:13 pm
by cmcg
Found it on the Land Cruiser Forum i belong too :thumbup:

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 10:30 pm
by warthog
Ek't by 'n bil gehoor van die Cruiser forum, en toe gaan google ek Fortuner forum, en siedaar!!
Baie, baie sleg vir produktiwiteit

Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:53 am
by Spartan
Ek het weer soos normaal gekrap rondom Hilux en alu canopies toe ek op Piet se DIY afkom en daar val ek ook toe van die bus af :twisted: :lol:

Posted: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:24 pm
by pietpetoors
I searched for a Hilux forum and could not find one, so I started one.

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:28 am
by Scooter
SWAMBO just called and said I have to pay her royalties, due to the fact that so many guys in their Hiluxs' ride up her butt so they can take down the address of the forum from the small sticker I put on the back of her Getz.

I wonder how many have actually joined from seeing the stickers on other luxs?

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 7:32 am
by CasKru
Scooter wrote:SWAMBO just called and said I have to pay her royalties, due to the fact that so many guys in their Hiluxs' ride up her butt so they can take down the address of the forum from the small sticker I put on the back of her Getz.

I have a total of 6 stickers with the forum address on my bakkie :D:

Posted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:46 pm
by Family_Dog
CasKru wrote:
Scooter wrote:SWAMBO just called and said I have to pay her royalties, due to the fact that so many guys in their Hiluxs' ride up her butt so they can take down the address of the forum from the small sticker I put on the back of her Getz.

I have a total of 6 stickers with the forum address on my bakkie :D:

Plus one advertising for a Panel Beater... :twisted: :twisted:

Posted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 9:40 pm
by 000MSS
OOOOMS refered me... A.K.A My dad... 4x4 Fanatic!!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:07 pm
by andrevt
shucks die site kan maak dat jy minder bier drink

Posted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:43 pm
by cockroach9999
Google

Can't remember the terms I used, but found the article on the Hilux history, and from there found the forum.

Was one of those Guests, A.K.A. lurkers, for a while, until my decision to purchase.

Jason

Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 1:26 pm
by Asterix
Ek het bietjie op Google gesoek vir info oor Hilux 4x4's en hier is alles en nog meer!
Dankie vir 'n great forum :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:41 pm
by kfxnando
months and months ago, when I started with the Lexus V8 storry a ''friend'' who is dead set against the idea of this conversion, found this site and said go have a look, most those guys who do the conversions end up selling the vehicle couz they are not happy, and these conversions dont work out and cost 65k!!

looked and read and eventually joined!!!
good atmosphere here
great people willing to help here!! thanx to all those that have given me info so far!!

might as well add this
when we were looking for a 4x4, was actually looking for a Hilux with a Ford V6, at the time found none
so we settled for the Courier, and have no regrets, just need a little more woma!!
and hence the Lexus V8 idea

have looked at the Ford and Chevy V8s, been a long story of doing homework on plenty options, still have many questions on the lexus V8s, however looks like this is the way to go for my towing needs!!

:twisted: :twisted:

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:27 pm
by Vla-Wa
:thumbup: Ek het ook net Hilux info en fotos op die web gesoek en siedaar, ek moes net join om al die waardevolle inligting oor Hiluxes te bekom.

Re: Tell Us How Did You Get to Know About This Great Hilux F

Posted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 4:26 pm
by Traveler
Ek het gelees van die Community Forum vs. Hilux Forum event en hier is ek nou.

Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:33 pm
by yotaman
I followed a link from some other Micky Mouse forum and landed up here. This in my view is the best on line forum @ present. But then again, it's for the fans & owners of the best 4x4 ever build. Well done Pietpetoors!

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:32 pm
by ChrisF
Toe ek my Hilux aangeskaf het, het Family Dog my uitgenooi na die forum.

Posted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:09 pm
by Numbnut
Het een aand laat by die werk bietjie op die internet rondgespeel, het toe op een van Pieter se sites afgekom nl. http://www.pietpetoors.com nadat
ek "Laatson" geGOOGLE het. Het gehoor by n vriend van die plek en sy watervalle, nadat ek Pieter se Trip Report gelees het, het ons besluit om
te gaan kamp daar vir n naweek.

Het toe vanaf daardie site die Hilux Forum ontdek, and the rest is history as they say!!!

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:44 pm
by ragges
C.R.A.F.T (cant remember a friggin thing) disease - but i think I searched hi-lux forum on google and waded thru some sites till i found this one - great forum...

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 3:51 pm
by Bijl
I was looking for info on my Lux and found the forum. Very glad I did!

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 4:12 pm
by Die$eL
Think i found it on Google

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:47 pm
by Family_Dog
Chuck Norris told me about it... :mrgreen:

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:13 am
by Doom
Het op die Net gesoek na info oor "Hilux 4x4" en whalla!

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 10:00 am
by krazy_kameleon
Google - typed 'Hilux 4X4' and selected 'pages from South Africa'

Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:23 pm
by cheetah
Google it, search sfa hilux and was linked to this hilux forum.

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:37 pm
by luckyhit
Google, hilux srvice manual ingetik

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
by DustyDre
Invited by another member :thumbup: , whom isn't a member anymore seemingly , sad loss for him anyway :thumbdown:

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:09 pm
by ChrisF
In 2009 I "recovered" a Land Rover with my Suzuki Jimny.

By the next day some photo's were on this forum about this ..... JIP, Landy and Suzuki makes it on the Hilux forum in record time. :)

I just HAD TO log on to see what all the fuss was about.

A few months later I got my Hilux and Family-Dog "ensured" that I log on here again. :)

Thanks FD

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:16 pm
by Blaps
:lol: Die internet..... dis maklik :lol:

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:19 pm
by Blaps
:thumbup: Ok, Ok SA4x4 het ek iets gelees van die forum en toe sommer gejoin :thumbup:

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:29 pm
by mikama
Goole na hilux 4x4,da rond gekyk toe gaan ek na Toyota Hilux and Fortuner 4x4 vehicle information
Dankie daarvoor

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:35 pm
by Dan the Man
Hilux01 het my hierna verwys! Thx

Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:34 pm
by Witblits
An Isuzu friend promised me a Namibia safari if I acquire a 4x4 vehicle. Searched the Internet. Browsed many forums. This forum's amazing members had me persuaded to buy a Hilux. Then joined the forum and have only being richer for the experience.

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:23 pm
by mleroux
Ôk maar Google...

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:11 pm
by 519franco
Heres my story
When i got my exuasts done i was riding with my fezz and saw a lux with it bonnet open so i stoped
and see if i could help so he followed me home and i help to replace his master cylinder for his clutch,
while doing this he told me that he had bumbed another car becase of his clutch,,,
he told me about this forum.

here the wierd part afta he left i went to my Girlfriends house and the person that guy bumbed was my Girlfriends Father

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 10:27 pm
by TheoF
I heard it through the grapevine :lol:

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:06 pm
by MOFASA
Google

Was looking for a workshop manual on my Lux and it threw up a post with the manual.... :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

So glad i found this forum............ :yahoo: :yahoo: :yahoo:

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 7:10 pm
by Wegbreek
From the Overland forum. Someone was looking for advise on his Hilux and the return answer was "check out http://www.hilux4x4.co.za" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;". So naturally I did. Glad I did though as I found my new vehicle on the site and of course have loads of fun checking the site daily.

Re: Tell Us How You Got to Know About This Great Hilux Forum

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:34 pm
by Blackadder
I was looking for some info on my Fortuner. Google pointed me to a post on this Forum. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: