I have joined the casscrew

Tarquin
Town: Plettenberg Bay
Vehicle: Toyota 2.8D D/C 4x4 & Toyota 2.4D single 4x2

I have joined the casscrew

Post by Tarquin »

so today we planned a fun day at southern comfort(Plettenberg Bay). it was me in my SFA, and 2 other friends, one with a 06 vigo and the other a v6 colt.
everything was going so smoothly and everyone was having fun
IMG_7236.JPG
IMG_7236.JPG (88.62 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
IMG_7221.JPG
IMG_7221.JPG (108.1 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
first the vigo tried "cliff hanger" which is the toughest hill on the course, its very steep with big bumps in it:
IMG_7286.JPG
IMG_7286.JPG (69.35 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
IMG_7290.JPG
IMG_7290.JPG (80.03 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
He didn't quiet make it up so i gave it a shot:
IMG_7315.JPG
IMG_7315.JPG (82.55 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
looking good so far until:
IMG_7319.JPG
IMG_7319.JPG (105.99 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
it mas me and a friend in the lux and neither of us got a scratch, we were very lucky, if it wasn't for the gomad canopy and my bull bar in the front we would have rolled down the hill!!
next they secured they secured it by my winch to a tree so we could climb out
IMG_7317.JPG
IMG_7317.JPG (88.02 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
IMG_7317.JPG
IMG_7317.JPG (88.02 KiB) Viewed 3683 times
next we kept tension with the winch to prevent it from sliding down the hill and slowly winched it back onto its wheels with 2 hi-lift jacks working together for extra safety.
we only had one cable and some ropes which stretched a lot so it took 1H 30min to get it upright

Re: I have joined the casscrew

Ag no man, that is not good. What is wrong with you guys? Seems like Hiluxes now roll easier than Fortuners

Good luck, hope you get it fixed quickly
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

IMG_7346.JPG
IMG_7346.JPG (116.56 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
IMG_7377.JPG
IMG_7377.JPG (121.5 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
IMG_7389.JPG
IMG_7389.JPG (114.05 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
IMG_7412.JPG
IMG_7412.JPG (113.27 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
IMG_7423.JPG
IMG_7423.JPG (106.27 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
IMG_7463.JPG
IMG_7463.JPG (101.5 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
IMG_7554.JPG
IMG_7554.JPG (78.06 KiB) Viewed 3677 times
in the end all is well!!
my only damage is: right side mirror, fender, parklight, bullbar andan engine mounting tore off, small cratch on the driver door and small dent in load bin!! there's a tiny scratch on the Gomad canopy otherwise it is still new! in it wasn't for that canopy i think i would be in bad shape at the bottom of cliff hanger! Thank you Gomad team for making such a solid canopy!! was just thinking what would have happened if i still had my fibre glass one :scared:
the winch was also a life saver, without it there was not was of getting out there, they would have never been able to tow me!
in the last pic i'm the guy with the black shirt which ironically has i do my ouwn stunts written on it :blushing: :blushing: and as you can see i'm still a lighty! this is the first time iv'e put a vehicle on its side and i hope not to do it again for a long time :tease:
Last edited by Tarquin on Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

pietpetoors wrote:Ag no man, that is not good. What is wrong with you guys? Seems like Hiluxes now roll easier than Fortuners

Good luck, hope you get it fixed quickly
thanks
in my case it was driver error not the vehicle :oops:

Not nice.Glad everyone is OK
Hi-Hilux
Town: Tsumeb
Vehicle: 1991 Hilux2.2 ---1987 Hilux D/C Hella 1000, Rancho RS9000XL shocks, Good Year M/TR, Warn Winch, STK bullbar, Extended shacles, Kenwood VHF-SOLD

Post by Hi-Hilux »

Bly niemand het seer gekry nie! Lyk my dit raak nou mode om jou lux om te dop....:-)
Is gebed jou spaarwiel of jou stuurwiel?
'Life is a coin. You can spend it anyway you wish, but you can only spend it ONCE'

Sorry to see, glad no one was hurt. :thumbup:

Lyk my 2013 was nie die jaar vir die Hi-Luxes nie.Bly niemand is beseer nie. :thumbup: Hoop jou Hi-Lux word spoedig herstel.

Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear

Reading this with a very heavy heart, but glad no one was hurt. All the best.

Happy to hear that there were no injuries. May the lux be speedily repaired.

Shame man :(

At least no one got hurt.
Very cool of you to admit driver error :boss:

Hope the repair job goes off without a hitch :thumbup:
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

Thanks for all the best wishes :smile:
the body isn't much to fix, i just a bit worried about the engine, because the key fell out and it died by itself after like 5 sec, but we'll see how it looks when i get some time :thumbup:

Tyre pressure guys, tyre pressure!

It seems way too hard for the terrain you traveled on

Eish Tarquin... Sorry to hear about your damage. It happens so fast.

Looking at that pictures, as you say, you are extremely lucky in that you did not end up at the bottom of the hill and as you say, that canopy made the difference.

Glad you guys are all fine (except maybe for the soiled pants.. hehe).
mcw
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: Prado 90 V6 3.4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by mcw »

Glad to hear everyone is alright 2013 been a upside down year
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

[quote="CasKru"]
Glad you guys are all fine (except maybe for the soiled pants.. hehe).[/quote

hehe
i was lucky on that side as well :surrender:
my tyres were at 2 bar, do you think that is too hard for that terrain?

Sorry about your misshap.Great that nobody was injured only abit to your ego.Also shows how tough those sfa's are.Good luck with your repairs.
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

lucky nobody got hurt,once again hiluxes is indestructible.not nice to have your van rolled at this time of the year.goodluck with the repairs,looks minor.Your tyres was definitely hard .

Wow.. Nr 4 for the year that we know of... Luckily the year is almost over.. :wth: :wth:

Now you have learned a valuable lesson.. not to look over your shoulder when reversing down anything..

GOMAD canopies are now "roll-over" tested as well... :twisted: :twisted:

We must design a new Hilux club sticker for our elite group.

"I've been upside down in a HIlux"

and then the logo must be upside down!

Eish!! I'm certainly gonna walk obstacles twice from now on!!

That corner there doesn't look so bad, maybe the pics are a bit desceptive..but a right turn with a donga on the left can be troublesome. Will certainly thinks twice about my lines from now on as well...
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

Hoppy wrote:We must design a new Hilux club sticker for our elite group.

"I've been upside down in a HIlux"

and then the logo must be upside down!
:lol: :lol: :lol: i like that idea :thumbup:
Stef wrote:Eish!! I'm certainly gonna walk obstacles twice from now on!!

That corner there doesn't look so bad, maybe the pics are a bit desceptive..but a right turn with a donga on the left can be troublesome. Will certainly thinks twice about my lines from now on as well...
i made it up 2 weeks ago with no problem, i just look the wrong line.
the pics don't do it any justice, where the bakkie is on its side you can't stand there, you'll just slide down on the gravel
Dingo
Vehicle: 95 4x4 DC Hilux, 7MG engine, EFS suspension, Home made custom off-road canopy.

Post by Dingo »

Eish Tarquin, never nice to see one's pride and joy looking like that. Glad the damage is minimal and nobody got hurt.

Just my observations, could be wrong!!!!

Your tyres were way tooo hard, you could easily have gone down to 1,2 - 1,4 bar on that terrain, especially with those MT's.
Looks like you lost traction and momentum in that dip on the left and you rolled back onto that bank and that's what tipped you.

I'm sure you've played this over and over in your mind as to what happened and hopefully figured out what went wrong.

Just some advice from my side, when your wheels are up and running again, go and find a safe obstacle and play on it with different tyre pressures, you'll be surprised as to the difference in traction that the correct tyre pressure makes.
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

Dingo wrote:Eish Tarquin, never nice to see one's pride and joy looking like that. Glad the damage is minimal and nobody got hurt.

Just my observations, could be wrong!!!!

Your tyres were way tooo hard, you could easily have gone down to 1,2 - 1,4 bar on that terrain, especially with those MT's.
Looks like you lost traction and momentum in that dip on the left and you rolled back onto that bank and that's what tipped you.

I'm sure you've played this over and over in your mind as to what happened and hopefully figured out what went wrong.

Just some advice from my side, when your wheels are up and running again, go and find a safe obstacle and play on it with different tyre pressures, you'll be surprised as to the difference in traction that the correct tyre pressure makes.
you sumed it up perfectly.
am going to try that when i'm on my wheels again :thumbup:

Sulke stickers kan werk
roll me over.jpg
roll me over.jpg (7.95 KiB) Viewed 3488 times
problem.jpg
problem.jpg (4.79 KiB) Viewed 3488 times
oh shit.jpg
oh shit.jpg (8.74 KiB) Viewed 3488 times
if you can read this.jpg
if you can read this.jpg (8.8 KiB) Viewed 3488 times

Outch. Glad it turned out so Good!!!

Engine should be fine.

Just do the following.

1.Disconnect Battery. Check Battery water levels.
2. See if battery is not leaking.(Cracked)
3. Go through all the Battery connections. Double check for shorts of broken wires.(You broke a engine mount)
4. Take out all sparkplugs.
5. Check for Radiator water leaks and also check all water hoses.
6. Wait for at least a half hour or even longer for all the oil and water to return where it suppose to be.
7. Check for Any fuel leaks. Also take off the air intake from carb. Double check for fuel LEAKS!!!
8. If there is no electrical shorts, connect the battery.
9. Now STILL WITH THE SPARKPLUGS OUT, ALSO DISTRIBUTER CAB OFF TURN THE ENGINE WITH THE STARTER FOR ABOUT 10-20 SECONDS.
This is to get rid of most oil, water or fuel on top of the pistons.

10. Fit the sparkplugs, ensure when you put on the distributer cab the firing is correct.
11. All connected you should start the engine quite easy. Just note it will smoke a bit of the small amount of oil etc that is still on top of the pistons. This will disappear in moments.

And the Engine will be fine. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Louis,
Tarquin se bakkie is n 2.8 diesel,so daar is nie plugs wat uitgedraai moet word nie.

Dan die Glowplugs
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

Thank you Louis :thumbup:
going to check it this weekend, got the engine mounts already :dance1:
will let you all know if there are any complications
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

Kevin where can i get that last sticker :?:

Tarquin wrote:Kevin where can i get that last sticker :?:

I found the templates on an Australian website. Maybe Cassie can create something in that line for us.

Sorry to read about your misfortune :cry: :cry: :cry: ..... but happy there was no injuries to any passengers....
Sifu-Lux
Town: Mount Vernon Illinois
Vehicle: GMC Sierra SLT Z71 (Used to drive a '91 SFA Hilux YN67R 4x4 ,Full OME, ARB lockers front and rear, Ford 3L V6, 35mm axle move, 33" General Grabber X3's and dual transfer cases....... Keep her safe Mud Dog!

Post by Sifu-Lux »

Ag no man, after all that work! Glad you all ok, I've done it myself 3 weeks after I bought my Hilux... I have a fender if you are interested, must just chech the condition when I am back home, it's somewhere in my garage.
Sifu-Lux....I will miss you
grobbepj
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Hilux legend 35 4x4 3.0kzte D/C

Post by grobbepj »

4x4BEES wrote:Sulke stickers kan werk
Grapgatte!!
Sterke met die regmaak... Dis maar niks lekker nie. Ten minste het mens n storie om te vertel.

grobbepj wrote:
4x4BEES wrote:Sulke stickers kan werk
Grapgatte!!
Sterke met die regmaak... Dis maar niks lekker nie. Ten minste het mens n storie om te vertel.

:laugh2: :lmao: :celebrate: :lmao: :laugh2:

Kyk, ek het al 'n paar platkarre gerol teen spoed, dis glad nie lekker nie!
Ek vrees vir die dag as dit met BEES gebeur :alvarin:
Tarquin

Post by Tarquin »

thanks for all the best wishes.
Sifu-Lux wrote:Ag no man, after all that work! Glad you all ok, I've done it myself 3 weeks after I bought my Hilux... I have a fender if you are interested, must just chech the condition when I am back home, it's somewhere in my garage.
that would be great :thumbup: am in no major rush, can drive it without a fender, atleast i can see exactly where my wheel is now :lol:
i'm also looking for a right corner lamp and side mirror :thumbup: