Page 1 of 1

Blowing off steam

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:20 pm
by kfxnando
on TV there are constant reminders to save power

before this crisis I had already changed all my lights to energy savers

then due to the way that the Ekurhuleni conducts their accounts and does credit control we decided to do things different and not depend on the grid totally

so as the energy savers blew we changed to LED lights witch range between 1 -2 watts
even the kitchen fluorescent tubes have been changed to LED tubes
even most of my outside lights are LED

the geyser went out and a 200l Solar geyser went in done with the Eishkom incentives and registered with Eishkom
so our power consumption went down by more then half
gas stove not fitted yet, as are the solar panels, they are there just not connected yet

so what comes next from the Ekurhuleni municipality???? :evil: :evil:

they send someone to come and inspect my meter!!! :o:
the guy across the road has a similar setup, just that his gas stove is already fitted, so his meter was inspected

so when we save we come under suspicion!!! and am saving for myself not for any other reason!!

cant imagine when we get to the point where we are only using their free units every month????

did not let them inspect my meter, as they had no identification, unmarked vehicle and a different vehicle from the ones that did the inspection across the road
and in the JHB area people have been held up under these pretences
however their paper work looked sort of OK!!
and felt "stuff" that, I save and they want to inspect!! when the power consumption was more they were quiet happy to collect!!

:cooldude:
no one else gets inspected, only those who have taken big steps to make a difference

EKURHULENI

Re: Blowing off steam

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:31 pm
by Thabogrobler
Ja Boet,

One day they might try to outlaw solar panel and gas stoves, ala USA...and ban vegetable gardens!

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:45 am
by Toppie4x4
Went the same route but installed a pre paid electrical meter, consumption +- R20 per day. Gas stove helps a lot.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 8:50 am
by Obelix and Dogmatix
went prepaid yesterday as I have had enough of JHB stuffing up my account!!from battling a R75k electricity bill and winning with a R16k credit to my account to stuffing it up again with the same amount ie now I owe the R55k. but the prepaids are in!!

Just a word of advice for those on prepaid - do not buy more than R500 vouchers at a time the chap that installed mine said when you do this it throws you into a high usage bracket and you get charged more. Not sure how true but worth a try.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:36 am
by ChrisF
Fernando STOP !!

PLEASE get with the program !!!!!!

DONT use power !

DONT put the grid under extra stress !

BUT, DONT stop paying !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:13 pm
by Die$eL
i suppose they are suspicious coz your usage dropped drastically

As for billing errors, is there anything run by Govt where there are no billing errors?

Anyways, to my question. Installing a gas stove means your home insurance goes up. Any idea by how much? Does it offset the savings or is it still cheaper to run gas?

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:12 pm
by ChrisF
Die$eL wrote:i suppose they are suspicious coz your usage dropped drastically

As for billing errors, is there anything run by Govt where there are no billing errors?

Anyways, to my question. Installing a gas stove means your home insurance goes up. Any idea by how much? Does it offset the savings or is it still cheaper to run gas?
nope !

BIL did it last year, got the gas certificate and submitted to his insurance - no change in premium

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 1:27 pm
by Die$eL
ChrisF wrote:
Die$eL wrote:i suppose they are suspicious coz your usage dropped drastically

nope !

BIL did it last year, got the gas certificate and submitted to his insurance - no change in premium
Blerry hell! My body corporate said they will raise my levy coz the building insurance goes up! @#$!$!@#$!@#~%%

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:49 pm
by kfxnando
ChrisF wrote:Fernando STOP !!

PLEASE get with the program !!!!!!

DONT use power !

DONT put the grid under extra stress !

BUT, DONT stop paying !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yep can believe that that is what is expected

as for the gas stove and insurance, just spoke to the wife, she works for the yellow umbrella people
if done properly and certified properly, no change in insurance premium

doing the gas stove self and then getting someone to do the inspection and certify it

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:53 pm
by zepplin
I went gas two years ago and no increase in premium. Cost savings on lectrick were definitely noticeable but now off set by running a BIG bar fridge......I'm happy.

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:43 pm
by Family_Dog
zepplin wrote:running a BIG bar fridge......I'm happy.

Next GTG at Zepplin's home... :lol: :lol:

Posted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:29 pm
by Mud Dog
Made up my own solar hot water panel to assist my geyser .... kids left home so a lot less hot water required, cooking for two people is also a saving, especially if one prepares in one hit and deep-freezes for later. Municipality thought there was a fault with my meter even though I explained the above, and replaced the meter with a digital unit ..... my consumption figures are now a little less than before, so it looks like the old analogue meter was over-reading! :D:

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:10 am
by Die$eL
cool. thanks all. i'm going to start investigating gas again.
any suggestions for installers?

I need to have the gas bottle in that metal cage thingy rite?

Sorry for thread-jacking Fernando

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 2:33 pm
by kfxnando
Die$eL wrote:cool. thanks all. i'm going to start investigating gas again.
any suggestions for installers?

I need to have the gas bottle in that metal cage thingy rite?

Sorry for thread-jacking Fernando
No issue go for it

yep gas bottles has to be in a locked cage from my understanding

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:01 pm
by WayneSchalk
Gas is the way, in my house it is just my wife and I, we used a 9kg for 12 months!!! Now I am on a big 19KG and I am 6 months in and sure I have a good 18 or more months :thumbup:

Next up is the geyser, Currently I have the electric one on a timer running 8 out of 24 hrs with a blanket on but not good enough.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:36 pm
by vanthev8man
if you install gas hob-go for a kettle also and throw the electric one away!

...huge difference!

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 4:17 pm
by Obelix and Dogmatix
Okay since it seems like this thread has changed gas stoves, lets indicate where we buy our gas from and at what prices as it seems to have crept over R200 mark all over the show.

The best place on the west rand the last time I checked was at the Total garage behind the Weltevreden spar. Last bottle I bought there was sub R200

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:47 pm
by kfxnando
Gas bottles

well sometimes a trip somewhere come with benefits

wife has family that has places in 3 different part of the country
and they informed me that gas was much cheaper near one of their places in Winkelspruit, KZN
so when we visited we got gas twice, think it's 19kg bottle will go double check what they are
the one bottle just just fitted into the boot of the Aygo, it was a big laugh
aperantly they were also easier with the paper work to aquire the actual gas bottle

yep 19kg gas bottle

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 7:36 pm
by Thabogrobler
I sommer put my 2 plate camping stove on our electric stove about 2 years ago when the power was off one day and today it still stands on top of the stove!

19Kg lasts about 4-6 months and we tossed the electric kettle aswell!

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:47 am
by Die$eL
I always wanted a gas stove at home and you guys have convinced me now.

Any suggestions on a supplier/installer? I'm in the Midrand area

Gas, last i paid around R100 for 4.5KG from Afrox in Midrand

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:00 am
by Pote
I also went the gas route two years ago. What a difforance. I used a 48kg bottle that lasted for just over 10 months.
At R1000.00 to fill it up it cost's me about R100.00 a month.

Also use it for boilong the kettle.

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:22 am
by Hoppy
Kos sonder krag.jpg

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2014 11:00 pm
by Woerman
Eish, mens kannie wen nie

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:18 pm
by 4x4BEES
:slap:

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 7:07 am
by Toppie4x4
What is the difference between a portable gas heater and a gas stove? When I bought my gas stove went to the gas company and asks for installation stuff. They informed me that if my bottle is not further than 1 meter I do not need an installation. My gas bottle is inside my walk in cupboard for more than three years, no issues with body corporate or insurance.

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:31 am
by Obelix and Dogmatix
Toppie4x4 wrote:What is the difference between a portable gas heater and a gas stove? When I bought my gas stove went to the gas company and asks for installation stuff. They informed me that if my bottle is not further than 1 meter I do not need an installation. My gas bottle is inside my walk in cupboard for more than three years, no issues with body corporate or insurance.
As far as I understand as long as your bottle is no more than 9 kg's it can be indoors. but if you go larger then you have to do the cage thing outside.

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:34 am
by Toppie4x4
yes its a 9kg also last for +- 9 months just went to fill both bottles this morning cost me R450.00 not bad for 18 months cooking??!!

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 11:37 am
by Pora
[attachment=-1]uploadfromtaptalk1394703413615.jpg[/attachment]

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk

Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:36 pm
by 4x4BEES
Isn't it supposed to be "sh*tting"?
:lmao: :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2014 7:29 am
by Donkey
I think oom Stuis is a gas installer, speak to him, if I remember correctly :thumbup: