Best Generator for residential house?

Umpalumpa
Town: Jacobsbay
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D-4D DC, 4x4=16
Club VHF Licence: HC305

Best Generator for residential house?

Post by Umpalumpa »

What would be the best generator to buy for our EKSDOM blackouts.
I am already on gas cooking, so that is sorted.
What would be the best gennie to get? 5kva? Diesel? Petrol?
Maintenance pro's and con's?

There are so many options out there, and it seems every Tom, Dick and Harry now starts selling gennies.
Any forum members that I can support, before supporting the BIG Companies?
Just a guy with a passion for 4x4.....
Agteros
Vehicle: Toyota FJ Cruiser

Re: Best Generator for residential house?

Post by Agteros »

I have ordered a Honda EG6500CXS (5.5kVa). Very expensive but I am now gatvol to be at the mercy of EKSDOM. I hope I made he correct choice.
2020 FJ Cruiser
1986 Hilux DC 4x4. Sold to the Boss :cooldude:

WHAT do YOU expect the genny to do ?

the "right" genny will be totally different for each home.

stove - NO, rather go gas

geyser - HECK NO !! rather go solar

dish washer .... hope not.

washing machine - NO - with the combination of motors and electronics I would rather not use a cheap genny on these.

home aircon .... hope not

pool pump ..... hope not

kettle - heat water on the gas stove

microwave .... uhm rather not

Lights - minimal power needed from the genny

Fridges and freezers - these can easily weather a 2 hour load shed .... though THIS is most certainly THEE best reason to buy a genny IF you are one of the areas where "load shedding" lasts 10 hours at a time :(

only thing that remains - TV's, computers, and all the electronics that define our modern lives - these DONT like the bad wave forms of cheap gennies !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thus, depending what YOU want to power - somewhere between 2,5 and 5kVA should do the job - IF it can give a decent sine wave.

now for the BIG question - HOW do you want to use it ?

- manually run a lead and connect the fridge and tv to the genny ??

- get a serious installation that does an auto switchover .... this will require some serious thought about the size of the genny, and a DUAL DB board to split the essential and non-essential circuits ..... NOU PRAAT JY GELD !!
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

ChrisF wrote:WHAT do YOU expect the genny to do ?

washing machine - NO - with the combination of motors and electronics I would rather not use a cheap genny on these.

pool pump ..... hope not

Fridges and freezers - these can easily weather a 2 hour load shed .... though THIS is most certainly THEE best reason to buy a genny IF you are one of the areas where "load shedding" lasts 10 hours at a time :(

only thing that remains - TV's, computers, and all the electronics that define our modern lives - these DONT like the bad wave forms of cheap gennies !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

thus, depending what YOU want to power - somewhere between 2,5 and 5kVA should do the job - IF it can give a decent sine wave.

- get a serious installation that does an auto switchover .... this will require some serious thought about the size of the genny, and a DUAL DB board to split the essential and non-essential circuits ..... NOU PRAAT JY GELD !!
:shock2: :shock2: :shock2:
Ek wil net water kook...... :slap:

Cooking I am fine. Gas installed.
I would ideally like it to be incorporated into the house wiring.
Fridge and Freezers are my biggest concerns, as EKSDOM is hinting towards longer periods of blackouts.
I suppose I would want something that would have the least disruptions on SWAMBO and the kids daily life.
And then off course, communication with laptops and charging of all comms.
Geaser already sorted with solar.
Kykdaar
Vehicle: Hilux V6

Post by Kykdaar »

pool pump ..... hope not

Great realistic post. :thumbup:

Many people are going to storm out and buy a genny. They will do well to be realistic and consider the points made here
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

That is why I come to the professionals for help.
It does help driving a Lux though :yahoo: :yahoo:

Umpalumpa wrote:

pool pump ..... hope not

:shock2: :shock2: :shock2:
Ek wil net water kook...... :slap:

Cooking I am fine. Gas installed.
I would ideally like it to be incorporated into the house wiring.
Fridge and Freezers are my biggest concerns, as EKSDOM is hinting towards longer periods of blackouts.
I suppose I would want something that would have the least disruptions on SWAMBO and the kids daily life.
And then off course, communication with laptops and charging of all comms.
Geaser already sorted with solar.

well you are then half way there :)

get a solar hot water geyser, as this will DRASTICALLY reduce your "needs"

the only NEEDS remaining are lights and fridges.
the tv and computers are WANTS .... maar ja, om mammie gelukkig te hou is seker DIE belangrikste :tease: :siffler: :surrender:

jokes aside - you have just described THEE most expensive requirement out there !!!!!!!!!!!! :shock2:

Basically you want power in virtually every room, thus business as usual - THIS will require :

- a generator with automatic switchover
- your WHOLE house on the generator !

FIRSTLY - please ensure you get a "proper" generator with a good quality output sine wave.

SECONDLY - what capacity ?

A normal house has a 60A single phase connection, thus maximum 13kVA

We worked on a house were the guy used underfloor heating and and and ... and still expected his generator to carry EVERYTHING :slap:

more realistically - you have already removed you stove from the loads list. Do the same with your geyser and your load comes down a lot. Now a 5kVA generator SHOULD be able to cope with most of your load.

lest say you have 1 fridge, 1 freezer, tv's and computers running, lights on, then the genny may just start to strain if you want to use the kettle as well.

certainly should do the job for MOST people - but YOU need to sit with your sparky and go through the list of stuff YOU want to run off the genny.

for what you want - whole house system - you REALLY SHOULD get a sparky in to do a professional change over system.
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

Thanks Chris,
That really helps me a lot.
Now, is there any sparky on here that could provide that advice for me.
If so, then please get in touch with me. I am serious in getting this done professionally and off course needs to be compliant with the law and insurace requirements.
JamesC
Town: Potchefstroom
Vehicle: SRX 2.5 4x4 D/C

Post by JamesC »

HONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDAHONDA
James Cameron
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

Ok. Yamaha it is :lmao: :lmao:
Last edited by Umpalumpa on Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
dd6
Vehicle: 1995 SFA

Post by dd6 »

Just bought myself a secondhand Suzuki for next to nothing. Needs one or two things then it should run nicely! Not very big though....
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

OK as said I have the Honda on order...
Does this produce the right sine wave? Chris?
Is the Yamaha better? Who sells Yamaha here this side of the Boerwors curtain?
2020 FJ Cruiser

Just to show just how wide a field this is -

I did the pool heating, walk in fridge, 1000 liter hot water on demand system for this house.

My counter part did the split DB board and genny :
IMG_5390 (Large).jpg
NOT your standard "honda" .... :shock2: :siffler:
IMG_5391 (Large).jpg
still the board was split to supply only the essential loads, as it is NOT big enough to supply the complete load for this 4 bedroom house !
IMG_5395.jpg
IMG_5394.jpg

CLEARLY not everybody has a 2 000 m2 holiday house !
CLEARLY not everybody needs a genny this size

HOPEFULLY your local sparky can help you find the correct size genny .....

A sparky that I can recommend: Albert Gravett -082 879 0494

Just to add my 5c... a 6.5Kva gennie will give you more or less 5000w of power.
4x4Maniac
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited (JKU) 3.8 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X120

Post by 4x4Maniac »

CHRIS, If I may hijack the thread. What if you just want the LED downlights, fridges and freezers and laptop connected with a manual switchover and batteries no Genny. What would such a system cost and how would you connect it?
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
AKA Epsilon on 4x4Community
(2011 JKUR)
Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 3.8 Auto Unlimited

Rugged Ridge Front & Rear Bumpers
Rugged Ridge Light Guards
KC Spotlights
Previous:
2003 Toyota Hilux DC KZTE 3.0 4x4
2001 Toyota Hilux DC 2700i 4x4

If you want to tap the gennie into the wiring, you get an additional main switch. You then install it upside down next to your existing main switch on the DB board. You then connect the two levers with a small rod. So when you then link your gennie to the house power, you automatically stop the feed from going out into the grid and also protect your gennie from when the Eskom feed come back on line
Pote
Town: Hartbeespoort
Vehicle: Fortuner D4d 4x4 & VW Passat
Club VHF Licence: X228

Post by Pote »

Very interesting stuff on this thread.. :clap: :clap:

I have a 15KVA generator.. Is this enough for a standard 3 bedroom house?? (Geysers not on Solar YET)
Rianc
Vehicle: 2.8GD6 Double CabHilux 4X4

Post by Rianc »

I have a 5.5Kva genie (petrol), electric start, connected to the house network. When running, I don't bother switching off the geyser or other appliances. This weekend I still watched the golf with the 12000btu aircon running, along with boiling water in the kettle and two fridges running. I bought it a few years back when Eskom started with loadshedding, best investment ever.
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

Thabogrobler wrote:A sparky that I can recommend: Albert Gravett -082 879 0494
Sal hom bel. Dankie Thabo
Kaspaas
Vehicle: 1998 Land Cruiser 105series GX

Post by Kaspaas »

Very informative write-up Chris, Thanks!

I have a 5.5KVa Miller Generator, but its just the Gennie.
It had a Diesel Petter engine pulling it in the past.
My brother used the engine on another 10KVAa Gennie he build.

Now I need a Diesel engine to pull the Miller for my needs. (Just lights and freezers & fridges)

The old Petter you had to wind up with rope for a pull-start,
Im looking for a more modern Diesel engin, with a push starter?? Any advice?

The Miller is allready on wheels with slides and so forth.

On the other end, I love old Listers, but the old 6hp Slow speed will be to heavy for the frame, and also the issue with the push starter for SWAMBO.

:subscribed:

Also, If I have time I will take pics of the 1000KVa (Turbocharged 16 cilinder Cummins) and 500KVA (Turbocahrged 10 cilinder Cummins) that is used at our concentration plant.
Man, cant wait for the power to cut, just to hear those to badboys powerup! :twisted:
1998 Toyota land Cruiser 105 series. 4.2 D

"I am human, I make mistakes, and that is okay, I have my own permission."
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

Thabogrobler wrote:A sparky that I can recommend: Albert Gravett -082 879 0494
Thx Thabo - I have contacted Albert.
2020 FJ Cruiser
Hangover
Town: Deneysville
Vehicle: '76 FJ45 , '13 3.0 D4D Hilux

Post by Hangover »

4x4Maniac wrote:CHRIS, If I may hijack the thread. What if you just want the LED downlights, fridges and freezers and laptop connected with a manual switchover and batteries no Genny. What would such a system cost and how would you connect it?
3-5KVA pure sine inverter with a number of batteries to suit you current draw for the time you want to draw should do the trick... This is at the moment waaaayyyy more expensive than a generator... The batteries also have to get charged in some way... Solar or charger from mains...
Hangover(A.K.A die speelding)
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
2013 3.0D-4D 4x4 Hilux Dakar
Hangover

Post by Hangover »

Pote wrote:Very interesting stuff on this thread.. :clap: :clap:

I have a 15KVA generator.. Is this enough for a standard 3 bedroom house?? (Geysers not on Solar YET)
15KVA is plenty... Jy kan jy n 3 slaapkamer huis met sy geysers en de lot trek... Jy sal die stoof ook kan loop maar n gennie hou nie baie van elemente(geyser,stoof,keetel) nie so mens ontwerp om dit die klein sisteme... Maar bygese jy het klaar die ding, connect hom en eskom is nie meer n probleem nie...
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
Hangover

Post by Hangover »

CasKru wrote:If you want to tap the gennie into the wiring, you get an additional main switch. You then install it upside down next to your existing main switch on the DB board. You then connect the two levers with a small rod. So when you then link your gennie to the house power, you automatically stop the feed from going out into the grid and also protect your gennie from when the Eskom feed come back on line
Jy kan net n manual change over gebruik... As mens dit wil automate werk n dood gewone 4pool contactor met 2NO en 2NC contacts ook baie maklik... Hy switch sommer self terug na eishkom as die krag weer aangan... Dit is nou vir enkelfase connections...
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
Hunter26
Vehicle: Isuzu

Post by Hunter26 »

CasKru wrote:If you want to tap the gennie into the wiring, you get an additional main switch. You then install it upside down next to your existing main switch on the DB board. You then connect the two levers with a small rod. So when you then link your gennie to the house power, you automatically stop the feed from going out into the grid and also protect your gennie from when the Eskom feed come back on line
Sorry, I'm new here so let this be my first rant post.

This has to be the most stupid,idiotic suggestion to post as there are many non electrical people who will try this method of yours and thus kill,mame,injure or burn a house down ,usually kids are the ones to suffer.

Rather spend a few Rand/Rant and buy a change over switch,have it fitted by a registered electrician who will issue you with a COC. Thus insurance will cover you.

Apologies if I offended but working in the Municipal elect field and seeing kids/people injured due to " I think I know what I am doing" elect connections burns my exhaust pipe. Yes I am a qualified sparky and drive an Isuzu......with diff lock......2x4 :D

Craig
Isuzu 250D 4x2 with diffy lock
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
I don't live in Africa, Africa lives in me - Kyle my son.
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

Hunter26 wrote:

This has to be the most stupid,idiotic suggestion to post as there are many non electrical people who will try this method of yours and thus kill,mame,injure or burn a house down ,usually kids are the ones to suffer.

Rather spend a few Rand/Rant and buy a change over switch,have it fitted by a registered electrician who will issue you with a COC. Thus insurance will cover you.

Apologies if I offended but working in the Municipal elect field and seeing kids/people injured due to " I think I know what I am doing" elect connections burns my exhaust pipe. Yes I am a qualified sparky and drive an Isuzu......with diff lock......2x4 :D

Craig
Welcome to the forum.
Nice way of introduction...... :surrender: :surrender:

Umpalumpa wrote:
Hunter26 wrote:

Craig
Welcome to the forum.
Nice way of introduction...... :surrender: :surrender:
Craig actually DID do a PROPER introduction the other day ... or did he ... NO, no pichas so he still owes us !!!!!!

Sadly Craig is CORRECT !!

I wonder if we will hear half to horror stories of people that rushed out to buy "gennies" ... :shock2:

it truly is NOT recommended to play with these things if you know as much about electricity as a Suzie owner does of 4x4 ... :mocking: :tease:
Dweetster
Town: Piet Retief
Vehicle: Prado

Post by Dweetster »

Ek het n lp gas gen 4.5 kv vir my verjaarsdag gekry :surrender: dit was nie n goeie vejaarsdag nie. Die ding gebruik meer gas in rand waarde in 3ure as wat die ding seker gekos het. Ek wil nie my vrou in die gesig vat nie, nou sal ek maar skelm vir my self n ander een moet koop.
So ek is ook ene ooe op die link.
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

The best I recommend to be safe is plug what ever you want direct into the generator ,providing you don't over load the genny.

Apologies for my previous post but If I can save a life ,,please delete if it offended .Thanks

Craig
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

Hunter26 wrote:The best I recommend to be safe is plug what ever you want direct into the generator ,providing you don't over load the genny.

Apologies for my previous post but If I can save a life ,,please delete if it offended .Thanks

Craig
Not offended at all. :tease:
Ons is maar dik in die vel vir dit.
I have seen and treated various Izinyoka's in my career.
I know exactly waht you mean sir!!
Umpalumpa

Post by Umpalumpa »

As a follow up:
I got these numbers from a gennie supplier.
It is a diesel gennie. I prefer diesel
Delivery is 8 weeks when I place the order.
Do these numbers mean anything to you guys?
Is it worthwhile?

BP5S SPECIFICATIONS
Prime kVA: 5.0
Standby kVA: 5.5
Frequency (Hz): 50
Volts (V): 230
RPM: 3000
Engine Brand: FAW
Alternator Brand: Stamford
DIMENSIONS
Length (mm): 920
Width (mm): 545
Height (mm): 650
Weight (kg): 171
Tank (l): 13

All of this for R15 390-00 (Not incl delivery)
I would then have to get a sparky to "blend" it into my house as well. Not sure what the going rate is as well.
Am I on the right track or is this a bit over priced?
Tenk
Town: Hilux Country
Vehicle: 07 hilux dc 4L v6 manuel, alu canopy, rock/s, full ome sport, Hoppy s/s custom exhaust, 33 grabber muds, compressor, exstra 80L f/t, dual battery,body lift,redpepper bumper,custom sound with sub,afternarket touchscreen entertain unit, dynoteck chip 188kw

Post by Tenk »

Waar in die kaap kan ek nog n gennie kry, vir n redelike prys lyk alles is uitverkoop.
yahya
Town: johannesburg
Vehicle: toyota fortuner

Post by yahya »

Hello gents,

Is it possible to connect two 5KVA inverters to a three phase supply home. I require to run the inverters for only two phases. I need to be able to use
Fridge X2
Freezer X2
Lights 10
Modem
Computer
TV
DSTV unit
Stove

Yahy

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I would say no, as the phases won't be in sync. But let's wait for someone more knowledgeable to reply.

Hangover

Post by Hangover »

Hunter26 wrote:The best I recommend to be safe is plug what ever you want direct into the generator ,providing you don't over load the genny.

Craig
No EL protection so its not really safe... Best is a changeover behind the EL...
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
Hangover

Post by Hangover »

Umpalumpa wrote:As a follow up:
I got these numbers from a gennie supplier.
It is a diesel gennie. I prefer diesel
Delivery is 8 weeks when I place the order.
Do these numbers mean anything to you guys?
Is it worthwhile?

BP5S SPECIFICATIONS
Prime kVA: 5.0
Standby kVA: 5.5
Frequency (Hz): 50
Volts (V): 230
RPM: 3000
Engine Brand: FAW
Alternator Brand: Stamford
DIMENSIONS
Length (mm): 920
Width (mm): 545
Height (mm): 650
Weight (kg): 171
Tank (l): 13

All of this for R15 390-00 (Not incl delivery)
I would then have to get a sparky to "blend" it into my house as well. Not sure what the going rate is as well.
Am I on the right track or is this a bit over priced?
Seems fine... You can get the china models for about 12k at adendorf and they have stock... The perkins, yanmar etc etc equivalent go for about 22k+ depending on autostart, auto changeover etc...
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

yahya wrote:Hello gents,

Is it possible to connect two 5KVA inverters to a three phase supply home. I require to run the inverters for only two phases. I need to be able to use
Fridge X2
Freezer X2
Lights 10
Modem
Computer
TV
DSTV unit
Stove

Yahy

Why would you want to run everything off an inverter when you have electricity. I know an inverter takes 12v DC up to 220v AC. Just asking for clarity to help out if possible.

Craig
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Hunter26

Post by Hunter26 »

Hangover wrote:

Craig
No EL protection so its not really safe... Best is a changeover behind the EL...
Big debate about this on the 4x4 Community Forum :D

Craig
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
Agteros

Post by Agteros »

The Honda Genny I ordered never materialised. I can now get an 8 kVA Briggs&Stratton for R25571 including the Trolley wheelset (R2000). It is more powerful than the Honda. What you guys think?
2020 FJ Cruiser
Hangover

Post by Hangover »

yahya wrote:Hello gents,

Fridge X2
Freezer X2
Lights 10
Modem
Computer
TV
DSTV unit
Stove

Yahy

In no way will this be even remotely legal or safe but seeing that you dont have any 3 phase equipment it shouldnt be a problem... You can see it as 2 single phase feeds not dependant...
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
JamesC
Town: Potchefstroom
Vehicle: SRX 2.5 4x4 D/C

Post by JamesC »

I have a 5.5kva Honda. Profesionally wired into the house DB.
I have solar geyser
I have gas oven and top

The 5.5. runs everything for hours on end and has done so now for almost ten years. (excluding aircon, kettle, but including all other appliances like washing machine three fridges, pressure pump, pc x 2 and printers, tv, dstv, lights etc).

Looking at perhaps importing some. Landed cost will be R8500 (Honda)
James Cameron

Family_Dog wrote:I would say no, as the phases won't be in sync. But let's wait for someone more knowledgeable to reply.

Indeed, they need to be 120 dregrees apart.

In terms of txfer switches....this is what I've used at work:
17112010222R.jpg
17112010222R.jpg (56.12 KiB) Viewed 3685 times
17112010223R.jpg
17112010223R.jpg (60.51 KiB) Viewed 3685 times

important thing is that it switches through Zero, main reason why Cassie's suggestion is not 100% safe.
KOBUSL
Town: WOLSELEY
Vehicle: '96 HILUX 2.8 HILUX DC 3i BMW 540 RANCHERO UTE 4 Li

Post by KOBUSL »

Het gister die grid tied inverter aangeskakel.

Dis wat hy 12 uur vanmiddag gegee het.

En die meter loop terug.
WATTS15.jpg
Word te vinnig oud en te stadig wys.
dcsmax
Town: Pietersburg
Vehicle: JKU Rubicon & 2 x SJ410 Suzuki's

Post by dcsmax »

Stef wrote:
Family_Dog wrote:I would say no, as the phases won't be in sync. But let's wait for someone more knowledgeable to reply.

17112010222R.jpg
17112010223R.jpg

important thing is that it switches through Zero, main reason why Cassie's suggestion is not 100% safe.
Where did you buy the switch and how much?

Deon
Mylux
Vehicle: 4.0L V6 Vigo 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC249

Post by Mylux »

This is my solution to the Eksdom issue........5.5kva generator and din rail changeover switch from ACDC Express for 273 bucks.......works for me. Just keep the pool pump & geyser switched off while running the gennie.
0232015185745.jpg
0232015185745.jpg (35.02 KiB) Viewed 3666 times
023201518597.jpg
023201518597.jpg (27.92 KiB) Viewed 3666 times
023201519051.jpg
023201519051.jpg (27.79 KiB) Viewed 3666 times

dcsmax wrote:
Stef wrote:

17112010222R.jpg
17112010223R.jpg

Where did you buy the switch and how much?

Deon

Deon, IIRC we bought from Paragon in Pta, but you should be able to get get them from any reputable electrical dealer. They were around R300 at the time