My Legend 40

If you drive a 4x2 Hilux, do NOT think you are not welcome. Post your questions here
Stuart Baak
Town: Douglasdale
Vehicle: Hilux Legend 40 RB DC auto
Club VHF Licence: H61

My Legend 40

Post by Stuart Baak »

Well, After a number of years and a couple of Platcars, I decided that enough is enough, I want a functional, long lasting reliable vehicle that will suit my needs.

Let me explain, I am a 27yr old guy, I have always had a keen interest in offroad, adventure, camping and the general outdoors (Oh, And I love flyfishing). My old man had a 2005 LC 105 4.5EFI and wow what a capable vehicle. Beautiful to drive, just not so beautiful to fill up. Sadly he passed away a year later in a motor vehicle accident (Not in the cruiser or he would probably still be around – this was my 1st car, a 1987 Toyota Corolla 1.8GLS Auto) From there the Cruiser was sold and my Mum bought a Prado. Also, what a vehicle. It was at this point in our lives that the family halted most of the camping, adventuring etc as my old man was the driving force and organiser for all of these trips. So, almost 10 years on, and I am slowly but surely getting back into it! (Man this lifestyle can be expensive! Haha)

I have had dealings with other forums and their members (Some of you I see on here), and being jealous and excited about the developments that you guys make to your vehicles, the places you see and the stories you tell! At a couple of gatherings of the LCCSA and 4x4 Comm I saw some of your vehicles and drooled. My X’s father also has a significant collection of LC’s kitted out to the T, this also did not help my salivation issue! And my passion for this kind of thing grew, however, the bank balance didn’t get the memo and did not grow in conjunction. ;)

So, Last week Friday, I finally took delivery of a Pristine 2011, Hilux Legend 40 3.0D4D RB DC Auto. They gave me a *a* price for my Elantra (Man those things depreciate fast) and I just bit the bullet and R290k Later, I am driving away with a smile from ear to ear in my new Bakkie! I did get them to fit a light bar, and two “Bike Spots” on my nudge bar where the bash plate was removed, just to fill the gap.

My Review of the Bakkie in the last week
- Turning circle is similar to that of an A380
- Engine doesn’t purr, it Roars!
- My complex-life parking space does not quite accommodate the length of this vehicle! (And my neighbours have to make a 23-point-turn just to fit in next to me (I make about a 58-point-turn just to get into mine, so they got it easy!)
- Shopping Complexes just got more complex to navigate
- If I fit a roof rack, I will not be able to park at work (Good excuse not to come in!)
- My Girlfriend “Loves” the height (Note: sarcasm is off the charts) – Nah, sensationalism, she doesn’t mind it too much, I open the door for her at least.
- The audio system sucks – Maybe I can find some help on here!!? :D
- Why is the steering wheel’s max adjustable height still too low???? (and the front seats don’t adjust lower???)
- I have no clue where my car starts and ends as I cannot see either (See 3rd Point...)
- I feel like a vindg@t when I park on sand, Sjoe the torque and the RWD...
- Turbo Lag – Read up on the chips, Think it might be std for a while still...
- Getting my bike (trials motorcycle) in the back requires a crane
- Where do I put my shopping when there are more than 2 people in the back, Experimented with that yesterday, DO NOT put Pick n Pay Shopping in the Back if you have even the slightest turn on your way home.... Turned into a treasure hunt when I got home...
- Drum brakes on the rear? Huh? I thought we had progressed...
- Overtaking is not too lekker.
- 4 speed box in 2nd sounds like it never ends...will take some getting used to
- People move out of my way on the highway! :D :D :D
- I can park almost anywhere (Except in normal parking bays, see point 3...)

So that’s basically my views so far, But I do LOVE the way it drives, I love the feeling I get climbing into a car that I WANT to drive! I love looking at it and seeing where I can Personalise it.

This is what I want to do to the vehicle in the next 6-9 months (Cashflow)
- Replace window tint (Booked in for Monday! :D) R1368
- Replace Radio (Guys, please if you have one of those touch screen OEM radio’s lying around because you fitted something else, please let me know) R????
- Fit a Roof Console for the next point (ONCS Sells for R4k+ L)
- Fit a Mobile VHF (I only have 2 portables atm) R3500.00
- Replace Speakers R1500
- Get a decent GPS (Anyone wanna throw away their 276C? :P ) – R????
- Get seat and Dash Covers (Caracal – Armaand) - Hmmm???

So I am in the JHB North area, if anyone has advice on places, people, bargains, Please let me know, I will appreciate it immensely!!!!

Kind Regards

Stuart Baak
Stuart Baak

Re: My Legend 40

Post by Stuart Baak »

I love writing essays! Haha :P
Obelix and Dogmatix
Town: ROODEPOORT
Vehicle: HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix, donated to some clown, HILUX 4.0 V6 4x4 named Obelix II Onca front and rear Amade extreme Suspension and under water breathing apparatus

Post by Obelix and Dogmatix »

Speak to Thunder02 (Neil) re the seat covers.
Rules are there to make you think before you break them!!!
God made man before
woman so as to give him time
to think of an answer
for her first question
COMMON SENCE IS NOT A GIFT, IT IS A PUNISHMENT!! BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERYONE WHO DOES NOT HAVE IT!!!

Obelix and Dogmatix wrote:Speak to Thunder02 (Neil) re the seat covers.
You called :?:

Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Neil Guthrie?

Hehe speaking now, what would a set of seat covers and dash organiser cost for the DC hilux? ;)

Thanks,

Stuart Baak wrote:Neil Guthrie?

Hehe speaking now, what would a set of seat covers and dash organiser cost for the DC hilux? ;)

Thanks,
I have sent you a PM :thumbup:

Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Oh, here are some Sexy pics hehe
DSC_0194_2.jpg
DSC_0222.jpg
DSC_0221.jpg
(44.91 KiB) Downloaded 616 times
DSC_0191_2.jpg
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

A couple of more pics with what this bakkie has been used for the last 7 days
DSC_0214.jpg
DSC_0230.jpg
DSC_0006.jpg
DSC_0273.jpg
(69.25 KiB) Downloaded 595 times
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Okay so the tint has been Redone, Motorsonic in Edenvale did it for me for R1254.00 incl stripping of The old rubbish tint. Originally had it booked in at "Fourways car security" but they messed me around. So called Motorsonic, they could accommodate me immediately, great service and cheaper than others I priced.
DSC_0059.jpg
DSC_0057.jpg
4x4Maniac
Vehicle: 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited (JKU) 3.8 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X120

Post by 4x4Maniac »

Nice looking truck there Stuart, and welcome here. I'll perhaps add a good set of offroad tyres to your already long list of things to get if I were you... Hope you have many happy mileages [SMILING FACE WITH SMILING EYES]
ORRA CALLSIGN X120
AKA Epsilon on 4x4Community
(2011 JKUR)
Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 3.8 Auto Unlimited

Rugged Ridge Front & Rear Bumpers
Rugged Ridge Light Guards
KC Spotlights
Previous:
2003 Toyota Hilux DC KZTE 3.0 4x4
2001 Toyota Hilux DC 2700i 4x4
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Thanks a mil! Yes a new set of shoes will be in the pipeline but that is long term. Still Alot of tread left on the current boots! :P
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

4x4Maniac wrote:Nice looking truck there Stuart, and welcome here. I'll perhaps add a good set of offroad tyres to your already long list of things to get if I were you... Hope you have many happy mileages [SMILING FACE WITH SMILING EYES]
So... New shoes [tick] :lol:
DSC_0876-2.jpg
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Okay now I know nobody really reads the 4x2 forums but it's nice for me to document stuffs.

I have now found a bargain mobile radio, which should be arriving in the next week or so. Notified ORRA etc etc. So, now it seems I need some place to put it. Have mailed Thunder02 enquiring about his project for the Vigo, hopefully the waiting list is not too long... :lol:

Soon I hope, I will have a mobile radio hanging in my bakkie. Much excitement. :twisted:

Looking good Stuart :thumbup: :thumbup:
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Dankie dankie!

I know it's just a 4x2,but it's MY 4x2 and I Love it!!!

I read somewhere on the forum or FB page that the 4x2's are quite capable in the right hands.

Something in the line of 2 4x4's getting stuck when they tried to do a recovery. Then a 4x2
came to the rescue and pulled them out one after the other. All vehicles were Hilux's.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

4x4BEES wrote:I read somewhere on the forum or FB page that the 4x2's are quite capable in the right hands.

Something in the line of 2 4x4's getting stuck when they tried to do a recovery. Then a 4x2
came to the rescue and pulled them out one after the other. All vehicles were Hilux's.
I would say that could make sense if it were a manual 4x2. But my auto... Hmm it either goes or it doesn't. Not much feel for the wheel grip. I am very keen to go on a 4x4 trip with the guys from this club and see how it performs. Was sad to miss the last one at Heidelberg. Need some 4x4s to help should I find myself in the dwang :roll: :lol:

Your time will come young grasshopper :lmao: :lmao: :lmao:

Ask enough times and they will join you for a trip.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Haha thanks Kevin. I won't ask, I'll just join... :lol:

Stuart Baak wrote:Okay now I know nobody really reads the 4x2 forums but it's nice for me to document stuffs.

I have now found a bargain mobile radio, which should be arriving in the next week or so. Notified ORRA etc etc. So, now it seems I need some place to put it. Have mailed Thunder02 enquiring about his project for the Vigo, hopefully the waiting list is not too long... :lol:

Soon I hope, I will have a mobile radio hanging in my bakkie. Much excitement. :twisted:
Stuart, you still need the Hilux Channel - only for Hilux Club members, no charge! ;)

rigardt
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: 2012 DC Hilux D4D
Club VHF Licence: HC348

Post by rigardt »

hi Stuart
1st of all take that nudge bar off. it really limits the approach angle. i left mine on for a while. eventually damaged the bumper and pushed the bumper so far back that i took it off. its lying in the garage ready to be donated to anybody who wants it.
2nd tell us more about the red scooby in the drive way !! been my most favoured car since i was about 10 !!
when i'm big and old or old and big depends which comes 1st then ...................
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

Rigardt saw that scooby about 30secs before me....
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.
rigardt

Post by rigardt »

haha you know it Mickey !!
bugger the corsa and merc and mini in the driveway.
nice hilux Stuart but the Scooby now that is 4X4 and you do know this is a 4X4 forum..... so obviously we want to know more !!!!!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Haha that Scrooby wrx 4x4 is my best mates car... Done the skid pan, what a beast! Jealous much! But he can't take speed bumps for s##t! Haha
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Okay so due to public request, here is my mates Scoobie :lol:
DSC_0073.jpg
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Okay so next step after the vhf radio will be the front spacers to level the truck's nose. Will book it in with Darrell next week hopefully if I get some time off.
rigardt

Post by rigardt »

cool !!
thanks for the pic ! damn that Scooby looks nice !
you actually don't see a lot of red ones around.
okay okay back to your hilux. let us know what that spacers and job costs. I would really like to do that to mine as well. I don't know why some noses are lower than others. my boss got a 2011 2x4 single cab 2.5 d4d and it sits level compared to mine which also sags at the front.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Well Mickem said about R1400 incl vat. A 40 min job to level the lux. :D ya apparently only 7 of those scoobs in SA. Ya mine sags quite a bit. But the levelling kit should make it much better! I don't want the nose in the air when laiden, but I don't want the rhino digging up the grass when it's not...
rigardt

Post by rigardt »

don't forget the before and after pics ! and maybe some in between as well.
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Haha will do! I wanna install my own Vhf as well, so will post of that too. Radio arriving tomorrow. :excited: :lol:
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

So, today was eventful, went to a radio dude in Wynberg, to sort out my trimming on my antenna and check my installation (everything was perfect :lol:), then went to mikem and did my front raise and rear extended shackles with rear bilstein shocks! A big THANK YOU to Darren, wow what service and awesome guy! Before and after pics below: :excited:
Before
Before
After
After
IISARGE
Town: brackenhurst ext2
Vehicle: 2700i 4x2 hilux

Post by IISARGE »

welcome stuart to the hilux club :thumbup: i also drive a4x2 yes i have shown sum people that a 4x2 is like you said in the right hands it can go just about any welcome again :thumbup: :cooldude:
Piece of Cake...!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Sooo, light upgrade. Got replacement spots for my light bar that kept cracking from the supplier. (no real cost)

Pencil beams led spots. Looks very cool
DSC_0037_20150320_094553.jpg
DSC_0038_20150320_094603.jpg

:drool: :drool: :drool: :drool:
Very pragtig :thumbup: :thumbup:
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Ya blinding time!
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

So yesterday I took my legend to Toyota and sold it.

Sad to see it go, but buying an Fj instead!

:shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

An FJ is awesome, congrats boet :clap: :clap: :thumbup:
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Thanks boet! I'm gonna miss the lux but I'm sick and tired of 2x4. Should have bought a 4x4 in the first place. At least now I can participate in gatherings! Basically a straight swap for my lux. R10k difference between what I got and what I paid for the FJ!

That does not sound bad at all.

So, when is the delivery date?
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Hopefully tomorrow afternoon :D
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

So had my cruiser almost a week now. She is thirsty, powerful and a downright dream to drive!

Now just to save for mods and fuel :blackeye:

Alot I want to still do! :yahoo:
Stuart Baak

Post by Stuart Baak »

Pic!