Sound from axle/diff

Die$eL
Town: Midrand
Vehicle: 06' Hilux 3.0 D4D 4X4

Sound from axle/diff

Post by Die$eL »

I get a sound from the diff/axle as it locks in.

This happens as i leave the clutch on gear. As soon as there is drive going to the wheels there is a "clunk" as the diff engages. However it doesnt always happen.

A friend says this is normal but it irritates the h@#ll out of me.

is it normal? What can i do to fix it?
Real drivers use three pedals

Re: Sound from axle/diff

Die$eL wrote:I get a sound from the diff/axle as it locks in.

This happens as i leave the clutch on gear. As soon as there is drive going to the wheels there is a "clunk" as the diff engages. However it doesnt always happen.

A friend says this is normal but it irritates the h@#ll out of me.

is it normal? What can i do to fix it?
Have the same. It's the play (backlash) on the pinion and ring gear (crown wheel)
TOKKELOS 1
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: TOYOTA

Post by TOKKELOS 1 »

One of two things phone me and I will explain :dance1:
ImageImageImageImagehoekom?WANT EK KAN!!!

B-CON 4X4 Accessories - Bumpers, snorkels, rock sliders
Tel: 0734378215 or www.bcon4x4.co.za
Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

@ CasKru: Is it a problem?
will it cause other issues?

@Tokkelos - I dont have your number... :blushing:
TOKKELOS 1
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: TOYOTA

Post by TOKKELOS 1 »

Die$eL wrote:@ CasKru: Is it a problem?

Cell 0734378215 :blushing:
ImageImageImageImagehoekom?WANT EK KAN!!!

B-CON 4X4 Accessories - Bumpers, snorkels, rock sliders
Tel: 0734378215 or www.bcon4x4.co.za

Die$eL wrote:@ CasKru: Is it a problem?

When you've spoken to Regard, Please post his answer here so we can see :thumbup: :thumbup:
Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

I spoke to Richard

he says it could be: (forgive me if i get this wrong)
- worn splines on the front flange going to the diff
- worn centre bearing
- the rear flange

the bakkie is going in for service next week or so and also to sort the leak on the tranfser box. Will get them to check it and post an update.

Thanks for the info guys and Richard please forgive me if i got anything wrong above... :)

Die$eL wrote:I spoke to Richard

he says it could be: (forgive me if i get this wrong)
- worn splines on the front flange going to the diff
- worn centre bearing
- the rear flange

the bakkie is going in for service next week or so and also to sort the leak on the tranfser box. Will get them to check it and post an update.

Thanks for the info guys and Richard please forgive me if i got anything wrong above... :)
:wth: :wth:

So it seems I will have to check mine out then too... if I have to take a wild guess on my side it will be the centre bearing
Rebel 4x4
Vehicle: 2020 Toyota Fortuner GD-6 4x4 Auto

Post by Rebel 4x4 »

I see you've got a locker, reason why I mentioned it, its because if you've got a lock-rite locker or something of that sorts, you'll here that sound on occasions. I've got the same sound sometimes, it makes a horrable sound suddenly, like someone has shot you with a shotgun. Everybody that got a lock-rite locker has told me that........
Sent from my iPhone

I have a gearmax locker....
Shamrock
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 1998 Hilux 2.4 4x4

Post by Shamrock »

Cassie, ek was nie vir lank nie op die site nie :oops: , klink jou diff nou beter nadat jy die bearings geruil het?
Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

So the bakkie is currently at the Mac

he called me now and says that the U-Joint is stuffed.
He didnt give me a price yet. What should i be expecting to pay?

also, i am going to need to do the brakes front and back and skim the front discs. Any idea on prices for that?
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Nishan on the discs the prices will be dictated by who does the work, but expect an average price of R900-00 (you only have discs front). Just be certain the mechie is not up-selling the service on the brakes. He will probably get an outside service provider and then as franchised dealer add something like 45% mark-up.

Astrobrake does on car skimming at R200-00.

Know what you don't know.

Shamrock wrote:Cassie, ek was nie vir lank nie op die site nie :oops: , klink jou diff nou beter nadat jy die bearings geruil het?
Louis at 4x4Megaworld did the complete inner part of the back diff... bearings (pinion and carier), crown wheel, pinion and it is running very quite now :)
Traveler

Post by Traveler »

Other advice would have been pro-nutro or banana's, they also make a diff run smooth (for a while).

Traveler wrote:Other advice would have been pro-nutro or banana's, they also make a diff run smooth (for a while).
Jy was seker 'n LR machie op 'n tyd.. :twisted: :twisted:
Traveler

Post by Traveler »

CasKru wrote:
Traveler wrote:Other advice would have been pro-nutro or banana's, they also make a diff run smooth (for a while).
Jy was seker 'n LR machie op 'n tyd.. :twisted: :twisted:
Nee, daai het ons sommer gehardloop op molasse.....

Die$eL

Post by Die$eL »

So i had the U-Joint replaced. Cost R750 with labour
What a difference!!!! :!: :!:

Bakkie is smooth between gear changes and the vibration/shudder that was there around 120km/h is gone.
Feels like a different bakkie :!:

However, he tested the battery and its on its way out.
Anyone can get batteries at a good price :?: