ford essex v6 motor problems

chrisv6
Vehicle: v6 essex

ford essex v6 motor problems

Post by chrisv6 »

Hi guys I have a ford essex 3.0 v6 in my bakkie and I'm having problems. The thing won't fire over. Its got spark, has fuel. I just don't know. Has anybody got a manual ? Maybe that could help me find where I'm going wrong with this thing
Hilux 1
Vehicle: 2011 Raider 4x4 Double cab 4.0 V6
Club VHF Licence: HC137

Re: ford essex v6 motor problems

Post by Hilux 1 »

here is a manual i found :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :surrender: :surrender:
lion.jpg
lion.jpg (8.29 KiB) Viewed 9027 times
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

Haha hilux1 at this point I feel like doing that. But I really need to get this thing starting
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/sho ... hp?t=29784" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
try here. maybe it is what your looking for
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B-xms7F ... edit?pli=1" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://op.filesareworldy.asia/eb3/?q=Fo ... hop+Manual" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

Hilux 1 wrote:here is a manual i found :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :surrender: :surrender:
:lmao: ag nee man.help the brother
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

Thanks so much. Let's hope its all I need to find the problem. Thanks again
KALAHARI SEUN
Town: LANGS DIE ORANJE RIVIER
Vehicle: 1994 2.2 Hilux

Post by KALAHARI SEUN »

Baie dankie. Ek soek ook al baie lank vir n manual.
AM Racing
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic V8

Post by AM Racing »

Check your valve timing. They have a nasty habit of stripping the fiber timing gear
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

The fibre gear is still in great condition. I had the motor open. The cam fibre gear and crank gear wear put in correctly with the marks lining up. The motor swings nicly. She has spark. Had the carb tested its working fine. I see on the manual it says the exhuast valve should be 0.51mm I had it on 0.40mm. So I'm busy correcting that. So if its not the exhuast valve spacing that is causing it not to start then I do not know
Vlak vark
Town: Phalaborwa
Vehicle: 1995 hilux D/c 4x4 Legend 25 Kzt with top mounted intercooler. long range tank. hankook dynapro duel battery system

Post by Vlak vark »

chrisv6 wrote:The fibre gear is still in great condition. I had the motor open. The cam fibre gear and crank gear wear put in correctly with the marks lining up. The motor swings nicly. She has spark. Had the carb tested its working fine. I see on the manual it says the exhuast valve should be 0.51mm I had it on 0.40mm. So I'm busy correcting that. So if its not the exhuast valve spacing that is causing it not to start then I do not know
n happy tappet is a loose tappet. if the valves are too tight u will loose compression. those motors are low compression motors. also do a compression test. ;-)
One life, one dream, one toyota

There is two marks on the one timing gear, did you use the correct one? It's easy to check, if cyl no 1 rocks and both valves are open evenly, that piston should be on top.
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

I only saw one mark on each timing gear. And I lined those two up
Vlak vark
Vehicle: 1995 hilux D/c 4x4 Legend 25 Kzt with top mounted intercooler. long range tank. hankook dynapro duel battery system

Post by Vlak vark »

hi Chris, also have a look when no.1 piston is on rock, make sure that the spark is on no.1 and not on a nother piston. they are prune to either strip the shaft between the distributor and the oil pump or the pump.
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

On rock. That would be compression stroke correct? If it is that is when the rotar is at the number one plug point so it would be firing at the right place right?
Vlak vark

Post by Vlak vark »

that would be correct.
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

Ok cool then its right. Actualy I'm sure we can put money on the carb being the problem. If I give the accelerator a few pumps before swinging the ignition it will ignite the fuel I pumped in but if I keep pumping while I crank it doesn't continue to fire over
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Is the fuel pump delivering as it should? Obstruction in the fuel pipes / filter / needle & seat valve? If the mechanics are sound and correctly set then its fuel or electrical.

chrisv6 wrote:On rock. That would be compression stroke correct? If it is that is when the rotar is at the number one plug point so it would be firing at the right place right?
Wrong, this is the fault, your timing is 180 deg out. "rock" is the only time in the 4 cycles when both valves are slightly open at the same time, between the exhaust and inlet stroke, exactly the opposite of the compression stroke.

Here is an easy way to start any engine even if you have no reference marks;

1. Remove no 1 spark plug
2. Put your finger on the spark plug hole and turn the engine by hand until it blows
3. Insert a long screwdriver into the hole and gently turn the engine until that piston reaches the top
4. Get the piston to the exact TDC and make your own timing marks if those doesn't line up
5. That spark plug lead must go where the rotor points.
6. Make sure of your distributor rotation (clockwise on the v6)
7. Start from that point and follow the firing order
8. If you are not sure what your firing order or cylinder layout is, do the same with each cylinder

A few common Ford V6 mistakes;

1. If it has a brown distributor cap, the points gap is 0.4mm, 0.6 mm for the black one
2. Cyl no 1 is driver side front, 2 & 3 on the same side, no 4 is passenger side front with 5 & 6 behind it
3. The firing order is 142536, that means pistons 1&5 4&3 2&6 will reach the top together, so if 1 rocks, adjust 5.
Vlak vark

Post by Vlak vark »

Sorry for using the wrong terminology. What Allen wrote is what I meant.
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

Ok well iv just set the valve spaces. The timing is like a 10mm off the mark. Iv just put that in place. Let's see what happens
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

And??? whats the verdict
chrisv6

Post by chrisv6 »

ts aliiiive! The problem was the carb. The one diaphrame had a crack and all the carb settings where out. Thanks for all the help from everybody! I can finaly get my bakkie moving again
Hilux 1

Post by Hilux 1 »

nie te danke te betale :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

dis wat dit so lekker maak hier. :thumbup: :thumbup:
rayv
Town: Empangeni
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4x4 98 SFA DC

Post by rayv »

chrisv6 wrote:ts aliiiive! The problem was the carb. The one diaphrame had a crack and all the carb settings where out. Thanks for all the help from everybody! I can finaly get my bakkie moving again
I was about to ask......Is there feul in the tank... Good stuff Glad you solved the problem. If you have the Weber 38 series it will be worth it to purchase a complete weber kid and replace all the kid offers.