Mechanics in Cape Town you would recomend?

Limey

Mechanics in Cape Town you would recomend?

Post by Limey »

Any mechanics in Cape Town who you would recomend to work on my motor? I want a full service as well as re-setup ie carb etc.

Re: Mechanics in Cape Town you would recomend?

Johan comes to mind, but I cannot recall his surname nor his Business name. He specialises in 4x4s, and as far as I know, mainly Toyota.

He comes from the Klerksdorp area (Hartbeesfontein), so he has to be good :mrgreen:

Someone else will have to fill you in with details. Does JB (or J & B) Auto ring a bell, or am I getting confused again?

SuidWes
Vehicle: Prado 120 VX
Club VHF Licence: B35

Post by SuidWes »

Hi Limey,

Try 4xTech, excellent service and they know Hiluxes...

http://www.4xtech.co.za/ or speak to Wessel - 021 982 8232
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away - George Carlin
Doctor V
Vehicle: Land Cruiser FJ62 3F

Post by Doctor V »

Snyman 4X4 in Brackenfell - Speak to Joubert

http://www.snyman4x4.co.za
'07 D4D Fortuner 4X4, OME with BF AT's

Doctor V
Is Snyman4x4 not a Cruiser shop? I was not aware that they worked on Hiluxes and other bakkies.

Niel,

I took a peek at their website...
We, SNYMAN 4X4, are a family business who aim to provide excellent service and produce work of the highest standard on all makes of vehicles.
Although he does seem to specialise in Cruisers. Not that I have one :cry:

FD

I only know Cruiser owners that go to them. I have never heard of other vehicles that go there for mechanical repairs. I would rather go to a specialist that knows my vehicle.

I wonder if there is a shop that specialise in Hiluxes in Cape Town or surrounds. This will exclude Toyota dealerships

This will exclude Toyota dealerships
I quite like that remark! :lol: :lol:

Niel, do you not know of Johan, I cannot recall the name of his place of business, might be J & B Auto or J & B 4x4 or similar. He was a member of the old 4xForum and used to give excellent and valued advice to the forum members, who all seemed to swear by him.

I am not referring to Johan Tyre, but to the 4x4 specialist.

FD

Are you referring to Johan from (now at least, not sure where from before) R&D Off-road. The owner of R&D (Chris) has his own column in the SA 4x4 mag.

Hi Niel,

Not sure, I thought Johan had his own business. Will try find out for you from some of the old 4xforum members. But Chris sounds a good bet as well, I enjoy reading his column? Now, I wonder who "Cotter" is in CAR magazine :)

Niel & Limey.

This is the person I was referring to.

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=467

Thanks FD. I will look out for him and let you know.

I think his place is accross the Adult Wharehouse factory in Parow :wink: .Dont ask me how I know it.

The only person I know is Wessel. I know he is very good with conversions and I think he does services as well. His business name is 4xtech. See http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/4xtech.php He knwos Hiluxes very well.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Scotty
Vehicle: An SFA is in my future

Post by Scotty »

Is Snyman4x4 not a Cruiser shop? I was not aware that they worked on Hiluxes and other bakkies.
I visited Joubert at Snymans last Monday.

He was helpful and said that he would build up the existing nudge bar on the Hilux as well as reinforce our existing jacking points.

The place was surrounded by mean looking Cruisers but he seemed very willing to work on the Hilux. :D
2009 X-Trail (great car, but not an SFA)
1997 Defender 90 2.8i (great vehicle, but not an SFA)

Lekker and good to know. have alook at your bakkie year model.
Scotty
Vehicle: An SFA is in my future

Post by Scotty »

have alook at your bakkie year model.
Thanks! ( My profile read 1897 Hilux 2.2)

But let's be realistic, if there was a 1897 Toyota Hilux, it would still be running today - wouldn't it?!! :wink:

Scotty
2009 X-Trail (great car, but not an SFA)
1997 Defender 90 2.8i (great vehicle, but not an SFA)

fully agreed
Doctor V
Vehicle: Land Cruiser FJ62 3F

Post by Doctor V »

Although Snyman 4X4 specializes in Cruisers, they know Hiluxes as well. Benefit of using them is that they seem to have a contact for parts at Toyota SA's plant, and it gets couriered to them asap. And they have a good working relationship with http://www.goeiehooponderdele.co.za/ since they sit next to each other.
'07 D4D Fortuner 4X4, OME with BF AT's

I added both their details to my info page.
See http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/offroad_accessories.php
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Ok I'm a little late here...

Another option is Alan from AEV, he and Wessel(4xTech) were together for a while. He has often worked on my Hilux and he knows a Hilux back to front. There premises is in the Everite business park in Brackenfell, tel: 072 129 1160. To date I have had excellent service from them, in fact I wish I had given my 4Y rebuild job to him!

Bretton

Thanx Snipes, that is the kind of feedback I want to get from our members. I also added his details to http://www.hilux4x4.co.za/offroad_accessories.php
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Post by Papa Joe »

Hi Piet & all,

For the past 10 years, back in CT, I would like to think that I have managed to find a good
bunch of guy's that I regard as excellent "in their own fields of expertise", and I have NO DOUBT
that the forum can also benefit from their "no bullsh1t" attitude. Hulle praat die taal ... en hulle speel
almal persoonlik met Toyota's. (except maybe for Roddy?)

I have personally only used these guy's over the last 9-10 years (5 x Toyota 4x4's)
... I can vouch for their integrity (and I DON'T do that often !)

Motor, Gearbox & Diff Mechanics - JB Auto Clinic - Johann Meyer - (021) 933-4247
Tyres & Suspensions - 1st Wheel Alignment Centre - Johann Viljoen - (021) 949-5041
4x4 Fitment, suspensions, bodywork & "you name it" - Burnco 4x4 Manufacturing - Hein Burnett - (021) 949-4930
Exhaust systems - Powerflow - Roddy Newsham - (021) 930-7717

They are all Northern suburb's based & they also all support each other. A very nice circle to have.

I hope you all get the good service & solid advice I have received.

Cheers,
44444-WP
Papa Joe

I sent Hein a PM from the Cruiser forum last week, as well as an email from his web site... guess he doesn't reply to "up-country" types...<sigh!>

Family_Dog wrote:I sent Hein a PM from the Cruiser forum last week, as well as an email from his web site... guess he doesn't reply to "up-country" types...<sigh!>

Hah! And Hein has indeed replied :) The rock sliders I am interested in seem to be very nice, does anybody have any experiences with Burnco's workmanship? I have only read good thjings about Hein, but obviously I can not quickly pop in to assess them myself.

And... is anybody from CT coming up to JHB at any time soon, if I buy them from Hein, I need to get them up here in Klerksdorp somehow or other.
Burnco Rock Sliders LS.jpg
Burnco Rock Sliders RS.jpg

I have had my Hilux in for some repairs at Snyman4x4, that Toyota itself could not find or fix. Although they have charged me for other work.

I must say from my personal experience in dealing with Snyman4x4, they really go out their way to fix the vehicle. They are also not that expensive compared to other places like SAC workshops ect.

I will highly reccommend that you give them a try.

I am saving for mine to go in for a full (nip and tuck) restoration,respray and customization next year at their panel shop.

Hi F_D,

For the record, Burnco has an excellent reputation in Cape Town, they may be a bit pricey compared to some of the competition, but quality and workmanship is always first class. Just come visit us in CT, it would be a good test for the chinese 4Y, and you can have the rock sliders fitted :-)

Bretton
Papa Joe
Town: CT - North of the Boerewors curtain
Vehicle: LEGEND 35 - 2004 2.7 D/C Hilux 4x4

Post by Papa Joe »

Eric, you have this on 2 threads, .. sorry ...see PM.

Cheers,
44444-WP
Papa Joe

snipes wrote:Hi F_D,

For the record, Burnco has an excellent reputation in Cape Town, they may be a bit pricey compared to some of the competition, but quality and workmanship is always first class. Just come visit us in CT, it would be a good test for the chinese 4Y, and you can have the rock sliders fitted :-)

Bretton
Thanks for the heads-up on Burnco, confirms everything else I have heard about Hein. That alone sounds like a good reason to drive through to CT... although, I think my 2.7 would be, oh, just a tad more comfy than the SFA :mrgreen:

I have not been to CT since late '70s (Damn! nearly gave my age away here...) and all I remember about it was the traffic - yep! even then! - and the wind, which was so strong it "inverted" my roof lining on the car I was driving at the time.

One of these days... :P

basto
Town: cape town
Vehicle: 98 hilux 2.8 d

Post by basto »

Yup , i also racommend Johan at j b motors he has mantained my lux even before i got it and he relly knows what hes talking about... 8)