7MGE blown top gasket

Duwayne
Town: Strand
Vehicle: 89 Toyota Hilux D/C 4x4 - 3Y & '92 Hilux D/Cab 4x4 2.7i

7MGE blown top gasket

Post by Duwayne »

hi guys,
A little advise please. There is a guy who is selling his D/C 7MGE conversion for R40K. Looks stunning vehicle, snorkel ARB-is look alike bullbar, etc. conversion was done professionally in JHB in Dec 08, had head skimmed as well, but failed to put in a metal head gasket, which has resulted in it blowing. Besides purchasing a new engine, what would the costs and amount of work be to repair current engine regarding top gasket? for R40K even to buy another engine seems worthwhile to me. would have to sell my lux quick to get this one, however someone is looking at it at lunchtime so hoping he passes. If anyone on the site beats me to it, in the words of Agmed the dead terrorist - I kill you :twisted: haha. let me know, as i dont want to buy a problem. thanks! D

Re: 7MGE blown top gasket

Duwayne. In my experience when the Kaspaas head gasket went it was R2000 damage for machining the head and the new metal gasket. The repair was done 2 years ago, and no problems so far, even after a long Namibia trip as well as several excursions into the Kalahari/Karoo/Namakwaland.. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Duwayne wrote:hi guys,
A little advise please. There is a guy who is selling his D/C 7MGE conversion for R40K.

i dont want to buy a problem. thanks! D
Unfortunately buying anything other than a "stock standard" hilux is a gamble nê :think:

Can you learn more about its history and the conversion house :?:

Best of luck :thumbup:
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

hi guys, thanks for the replies. Guy said he pulled his 950kg caravan with it and not probs with overheating etc. has alluminium radiator etc. Best to tos the engine and get replacement then i think, +R2000 repair costs compared to R4000 replacement sounds better, although i would want a metal gasket then. Will try find out more. here is a pic of it, perhaps someone knows it?
7mge2.jpg
7mge1.jpg
7mge.jpg

Duwayne, looking at the pictures, you can do a whole lot worse for R40K... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Thanks Thys,
I agree. will see what i can do. Gonna be a big diff compared to my 3Y :shock:

Good luck Duwayne, let us know about your progress. And once you got her, come ride with us. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

That sounds good, at least i will be able to keep up then, haha.
With my 1.5 year old boy as the co-pilot sounds good.
been asking a lot of questions about the 7MGE, want to experience it for myself now!
D
King Rat

Post by King Rat »

Duwayne wrote: If anyone on the site beats me to it, in the words of Agmed the dead terrorist - I kill you :twisted: haha. let me know, as i dont want to buy a problem. thanks! D
Address where the vehicle is please :twisted: :twisted:
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

EK IS NIE SUINIG, HAHA, NO IDEAD YET, JUST KNOW IN PAARL.
Bosvark
Vehicle: Hilux 2200 D/C AUS specs

Post by Bosvark »

Amper gedink dit is kaspaas wat geblaas het,sterkte Duwayne
n vark bly maar n vark

Bosvark wrote:Amper gedink dit is kaspaas wat geblaas het,sterkte Duwayne
omdat jy agter die deur staan moenie my daar soek nie... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Kaspaas wrote:
Bosvark wrote:Amper gedink dit is kaspaas wat geblaas het,sterkte Duwayne
omdat jy agter die deur staan moenie my daar soek nie... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Sal hy inpas agter die deur??? :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted:

Duwayne

Koop eerder 'n ander engine check die head boute en as daar ene is wat reeds los was reeds vervang dadelik die Head Gasket voor die Head en Block skade kry. Andersins re -torgue hulle na ongeveer 100nm

Op 'n N/A engine het jy nie 'n metaal gasket nodig as jou kompressie ratio reg is nie.

Die groot probleem met die mouters soos volg. Hulle factory spec torgue setting is ongeveer 25% te min. Hulle reken dat jy moet die head boute minimum 100nm torque ipv die factory spec 75nmM. Die 2de probleem is met 'n geschemde head en standard gasket is jou kompessie te hoog en het jy iets soos 103 oktaan nodig om die ping uit te kry. Dis vir daardie rede dat ouens oor die R 2K betaal om opgeboude metaal head gaskets te koop

As die Head Gasket te vore geblaas was is die kanse goed dat die blok ook ge-scheme moes word. Dit word gewoonlik nie gedoen nie. So nou sit jy met 'n block buite die normale toleransie, te hoe kompressie wat die engine laat ping en dan gaan hy weer HG blaas al is dit 'n staal een wat nie dikker is nie.

Ek het my mouter laat oordoen na die HG die 2de keer gegaan het, omdat hy ook nie die eerste keer behoorlik gedoen was nie. Ek hom hierdie keer behoorlik laat masjineer. Die Head en Block is oordentlik gescheme en toe is die kompressie ratio uitgewerk en bepaal hoeveel moes afgehaal word van die piston se hoogte om die kompressie af te bring. Die piston is toe afgewerk bo- op en die res van die afmeeting was verkry deur die conrods te line-bore sodat hulle effe korter is (gemeet tussen die center van die big end en small end bearings), wat die piston se top nog laer maak en terug bring to op standard kompressie.

My jobbie saam met nuwe kompleet gasket set, water en olie pomp nuwe ringe arbied en mashien werk het onder R 10K gedraai, maar agterna het ek ook besef 'n ander engine sou beter 'n beter opsie gewees het want dis goedkoper en dan het jy 'n spaar intake sisteem alternator ens.

Rich listen to this

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/6t-Gn3oA7Oc

Ohh gives me goosebumps. One of these days boys... one of these days... 2 more EFis to complete the its my bakkies turn.
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Thanks Benhur for the info. Also was thinking of replacing the engine.
Was still available last night, already tried to contact the guy to go look today, didnt get chance yesterday. Asked him what happened - did it overheat, said no just a bad gasket he recons, not sure how bad if it is still running. if i can go look today i will let you all know the outcome. like picking a daisy hey, buy it - dont buy it, but it, dont buy it, just afriad of the unexpected costs but he has used the vehicle and even towed caravan with it, so system should be sorted out. cheers

BenHur wrote:Rich listen to this

http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/6t-Gn3oA7Oc

Ohh gives me goosebumps. One of these days boys... one of these days... 2 more EFis to complete the its my bakkies turn.
Sweet Music....., sweet music :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :!:

Maybe one day when DadzToy becomes a play car not my everyday workhorse

(but I still prefer the 5VZ-FE) :wink:

5VZ-FE is nice... I driven one at Allan workshop, I was a bit rough(pre-dyno), but still had loads of power!

I have been thinking lately of what I would consider as an engine conversion for my lux, the 5VZ is a big engine, and I was thinking more along the line of a 3VZ-FE, read the wikipedia data:

3VZ-FE
The 3VZ-FE came to life when Toyota recognized that it needed a larger V6 engine to suit the then-upcoming 3rd generation Camry platform. Its basic design incorporates an updated version of the last revision of the 3VZ-E's iron block (a truck motor), mated with aluminum DOHC 24-valve heads and Toyota's most advanced OBD-I control system. The upper aluminum intake plenum is of the split chamber design with Toyota's ACIS variable intake system feeding three sets of runners for both heads.

Because of the truck roots, the 3VZ-FE happens to be a physically tall motor (may correlate with the great torque exhibited). In fact, it is so tall that when used in the Camry it is impossible to fit it within the small package of the Camry's front end. However, in lieu of going back to the drawing board to create a shorter motor, Toyota instead canted the motor towards the firewall. This "tilt" is so severe (~15 degrees) that reaching the rear bank of cylinders is nearly impossible without first removing the intake plenum. Fortunately, using platinum plugs means that spark plugs are seldom replaced. The inconvenience of plug replacement is offset by the low rpm torque output of the motor.

Parts-wise, the 3VZ-FE shares very little with previous engines, including the 3VZ-E, and 2VZ-FE. The few parts shared with the 3VZ-E that are interchangeable are the main bearings; little else is the same. In a surprising twist, no electronics from other Toyota (Denso) parts are swappable.

It is a smooth running engine that was used as the 3.0 L V6 engine on the Camry platform between 1992 and 1997.5 depending on the market: North America saw the engine only in 1992 and 1993 while Australia and New Zealand had it from 1992 through 1996. The engine was available in some parts of Asia and in the JDM Toyota Windom through 1997.5.

The 1992-1993 engine has 185 hp (138 kW) at 5800 rpm and 189 ft·lbf (256 N·m) at 4600 rpm. 1994+ have 200 hp (149 kW) at 5800 rpm and 204 ft·lbf (277 N·m) at 4600 rpm. There is no mechanical difference in the engine. In an embarrassing move, Toyota inadvertently created an engine competing with the more performance oriented 7M-GE (200 hp) and 2JZ-GE (225 hp) installed in sportier, more luxurious cars of the time. Because of this, both stock ignition timing, and fuel tuning were set more conservatively than normal capping power output.

The power spread of the 3VZ-FE is wide, having 100% torque between 2500–4600 rpm, with power trailing off by 6000 rpm. Stock redline is 6600 rpm, and the ECU's fuel/ignition cut is 7200 rpm. The valvetrain was designed for no float over the stock programmed operational range.

Though harder to find in good used condition in North America (unless imported), the 3VZ-FE is a fairly common V6 in most parts of the world, after having a good lifespan in popular models. They are cheap, simple, have few problems, and have become a semi-popular subject for engine swaps (particularly into the mid-engine MR2).

The 3VZ-FE also started Toyota's trend of severely overbuilding their production V6 engines. Having a larger forged steel crankshaft and large cast rods, they can handle double the stock power output. A few nitrous and turbocharged examples match or exceed 450 hp (336 kW) on both the stock engine and stock engine management with a piggyback/interceptor controlling fuel/ignition.

Applications:

1992–1997 Toyota Camry

I like....

snipes wrote:
3VZ-FE
I like....

Google it and you'll come across many unhappy 4Runner owners as it appears that like the 7MGE it's floored by a poor headgasket. There's a lot of Toyota okes out there who've thrown out their 3VZ-FE's and fitted FVZ-FE's apparantly the latter is much more reliable and powerful; better suited to off-roading :Geek:
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Morning Guys who are watching this topic. all i can say is that i went to look at the bakkie last night and i could not sleep last night. In my eyes it is a WOW bakkie. No OME but in good nik. GP vehicle so no rust except 2 spots on bonnet and bit of paint coming off below rear right door, otherwise looks almost new to me :)
Only thing now is to decide if i am ready to take the risk mechanically. Looks like a good conversion, all radiator, just no BIG fan on the engine side like Kaspaas though, but said only time engine got warm was over Sir Lowrys pass towing caravan gauge went to 3/4 then came down when hit the down hill....
I want to phone Alan later today to ask him worst case what costs could i look at (best guestimate) Owner said he spent r7k on the motor last year, crank, head etc. wonder why he does not take it back to the guy who did the head in Dec then???
My concern is that I do not have lots of bucks if anythign else is wrong besides repair / replace the engine.
the management system is a funny name like busy bee or something funny cant remember.
So can get the vehicle for under R40K, then costs to repair. Hoping not more than R10K MAX.

Duwayne, is it possible for you to make an appointment with Allan and take the vehicle to him to have a look at it? He would be able to tell you if it is worth it or not... Plus, he might see other things that could make up your mind. :?: :?:

Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Hi Thys, was alos thinking that. The vehicle is in Paarl so would have to ask him to go there. let me 1st speak to him. Unfortunately i would need to sell mine 1st, so would have to act quick.
thanks for the interest.D

No worries mate, I wish you good luck... :thumbup: :thumbup:

Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Thys,
Last question: this bakkie would be for everyday use, mainly my wife using it to work 10km from home each day. owner said he used it regularily as well. would you recommend these conversion for everyday use? Besides petrol. He said +/- 6km/L, you get better than that? assume Dyno tuning will help?

I cant see why not, i know people who use theirs for daily drives with no problems... Fuel consumption is related to the weight of the right foot, so it can be improved. :twisted: :twisted:

Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Sorry Thys, Kaspaas has the big fan infront of the radiator not behind, where was my head :confused:

Duwayne wrote:where was my head :confused:
behind the radiator? :twisted:

Duwayne wrote:...............this bakkie would be for everyday use, mainly my wife using it to work 10km from home each day.
I pulled out of doing a 7MGE conversion at the 11th hour as all my research pointed to the unsuitabiity of this performance motor in a Hilux as an everyday runner.

Is a 7M devotee gonna give you a balanced critique :?:

There have been numerous Threads on this Forum about the 7M, have a look at the following:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4486

R40K for the vehicle is an awesome price, most guys would pay that for this vehicle with an empty engine bay, but be prepared to spend a bit to get it "reliable" nê :wth:
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:43 am, edited 3 times in total.

Charmaine used mine as a daily runner for quite a long time and I still maintain if it was not for the prang I had with her and the engine coming back from the panel beater stuffed it would still have been running fine. If Alan fix it properly it should really not be an issue to use it as a daily runner especially when its is used over such a short distance. Even after my HG issue when I started picking up cooling issues it was always during highway driving when towing or using the AC. If the aircon were mounted where Kaspaas' is that would not have been a problem. My problem with towing was The Isuzu 280DT radiator was too small it needed a bigger capacity one like a BMW.

So If Allan thinks its a good buy you can rest assured

Bennie, have you since got hold of a BMW radiator?

Rich, it seems that Kaspaas is pretty reliable?

(The vehicle, not necessarily the person... :twisted: :) )

Naaahhhh Eric.. Kaspaas is very unreliable... he spends his days in Allans workshop then? Dont you know he's the sole reason Allan is still in business? Where can I get hold of a good second hand chonky-wonky-knock-off Korean 4Y to install?? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

-- dont be so negative Richie.. 7mge's are really great motors...

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

7M conversions are great for trail vehicle's, even daily runners in town if you need that much power in traffic...... :shock: The only thing about them is that as an extended overlanding vehicle to travel into southern africa, doing very remote travelling, i would say that if any conversion is done on any type of vehicle, you need to make sure it is 110 % relaible before venturing into africa.

That was the reasoning behind the carb to EFI conversion on my hilux and not changing the engine as it is still standard, and I have been learning a lot from MR EFI, Bennie about how it works in detail. :thumbup:

THe idea was to improve on a reliable vehicle to enhance fuel economy. I am confident that the quality of the EFI installation is equal if not better that some standard fitments in newer 4x4's. :thumbup:

Thus it boils down to each man for himself regarding engine conversions. I like the 4Y engine as they are reliable and easy to maintain, with relative cheap parts to fix them with. :wave:

Kaspaas wrote:dont be so negative Richie.. 7mge's are really great motors...
My sincere apologies Thysy, I didn't mean to dis your mouter bru :oops: :angel:

I love the sweet music Kaspaas makes :thumbup:

Duwayne - there is lots of 1st class info on this site on mods that can make considering the purchasing a 7M much easier. :wink:
Unfortunately the info is pretty well spread out over many Threads posted over the last year and a half. :(

I think it would be great if one of the Mods could find some time to collate it all to give people like yourself the 1st Class intell' that you need. :wink: :idea:
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Hi Guys,
Left a message for Alan to call me.
Also went to look at a 97 model with a 2.7 3RZ conversion in the strand at a dealer. Lovely bakkie, just not running. Apparently something wrong with the management system. OME, Winch, drawer system, roof rack etc. looks great. originally on gumtree for R98K, then dropped to R79K. Dealer said the owner should be neg to sort out the management system, etc.
In Strand Main road, next to tony's used goods if anyone is interested. dealer is Access Auto if anyone is interested. dealer said if you can get it for R65k will be a great price. wonder if it is a member vehicle?

Duwayne wrote:dealer said if you can get it for R65k will be a great price. wonder if it is a member vehicle?
That is still too much for a converted hilux that does not run... especially if it is management system related. Also make sure of the history of the vehicle... make sure it runs properly first then pay him R60K.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Allan will only be available again tomorrow (Tuesday).. I know because Kaspaas needs to go boost the income side of AEW's balance statement again. (and destroy mine).. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

HI THYS,
Does sound like Kaspaas is in the GYM a lot hey, but reap the rewards later hey :wink:
also thought its a lot of bucks for something not running, i am passing that one by although for the right price might be good for someone. that is the same worry i have with the other 7MGE conversion.

Kaspaas wrote:Allan will only be available again tomorrow (Tuesday).. I know because Kaspaas needs to go boost the income side of AEW's balance statement again. (and destroy mine).. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Shoooo Thys, she hasn't even been used since she was last at Allan! What gives? :wth:

B :eh:

You guys must remember one thing... Kaspaas spends weeks on end at AEW without anything being done, because you Bretton, Bosvark and who all else comes in with "urgent" jobs and stuff, then Kaspaas gets parked, because he's not a daily runner.. :thumbdown: :thumbdown:

The last time he was there for a wiring job (tidy up nip and tuck the messy wiring) and replace air-con pump that somehow got a crack in the housing and was leaking gas... I know the wiring took long because Johan did a very thorough job, there is not a loose wire to be seen in the engine bay.and he moved my aux battery from the load-bin to the engine bay, into the spot previously occupied by the bum air-cleaner. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Now normally that whole job should take say, 2 days?? In actual fact it took no less than oh about I would say 2 weeks... In between Bosvark had his green bakkie's head gasket replaced in a day and Britney was hanging around the shop sussing out cold-air systems, and keeping Allan away from his work.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Duwayne wrote:Hi Guys,
Left a message for Alan to call me.
Also went to look at a 97 model with a 2.7 3RZ conversion in the strand at a dealer. Lovely bakkie, just not running. Apparently something wrong with the management system. OME, Winch, drawer system, roof rack etc. looks great. originally on gumtree for R98K, then dropped to R79K. Dealer said the owner should be neg to sort out the management system, etc.
In Strand Main road, next to tony's used goods if anyone is interested. dealer is Access Auto if anyone is interested. dealer said if you can get it for R65k will be a great price. wonder if it is a member vehicle?
Did you take a note of it's licence plate number Duwayne :?:

I ask cos' Allan may be familiar with the vehicle, it may have been converted by his previous outfit 4xTech; he may be able to shed some light on it nê. :idea: If it is just a case of a dodgy aftermarket ECU then it would be a very quick and cheap repair to get it running again. :idea:

It seems strange that a dealer would try and move it when it's a non-starter :? :confused:
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

hi, yes the dealer actually asked the owner to come collect coz its embarrassing for them.
I am not interested in it just letting you guys know for interest.
thx

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:It seems strange that a dealer would try and move it when it's a non-starter :? :confused:

Well, my father-in-law was in second-hand car sales for 20+ years, last year he had to give it up, cause the market had slowed down so much. I reckon the second hand car dealers will sell you anything to make a buck at the mo...

So Duwayne did you buy her then?

Have a lookie here
Retorque of the headbolts.pdf
(112.61 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Hi Benhur, Sorry for late reply. Unfortunately the owner traded in the vehicle at a dealer in Paarl. I contacted them now but it has already been sold and they would not give any further details. PITY :( But sure there is something else out there to tickle me when i am financially ready. cheers

Duwayne wrote:Hi Benhur, Sorry for late reply. Unfortunately the owner traded in the vehicle at a dealer in Paarl. I contacted them now but it has already been sold and they would not give any further details. PITY :( But sure there is something else out there to tickle me when i am financially ready. cheers
Duwayne

Wori nie, could be a blessing. :silent:

On the upside it's a 'buyer's market' right now, just look at the discounted SFA's on this Forum :shock: :wink:
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

hi, yes buyers market that is for sure. seen soem really good bargains. i think i must just stay calm for a while. started fixing my rusty 89 tailgate, so that will give me something to do on my lux for a bit :)

Wat van die monster? :D:

TOYOTA HILUX 4X4 DC 1989, Chev V8 with dart heads, roller cam, TPI fuel injection, 700R4 auto box, Dana 300 transfer, OME susp, landcruiser diffs, ARB air lockers, duel petrol tanks, duel battery, onboard compressor, Warn winch, 3 spare wheels, 325x65x15 tyres 7 off, leather interior, canopy, Al roofrack, RB, TB, CD, PS, all mods done by professional. R 85 000

ToyX4 wrote:Wat van die monster? :D:

TOYOTA HILUX 4X4 DC 1989, Chev V8 with dart heads, roller cam, TPI fuel injection, 700R4 auto box, Dana 300 transfer, OME susp, landcruiser diffs, ARB air lockers, duel petrol tanks, duel battery, onboard compressor, Warn winch, 3 spare wheels, 325x65x15 tyres 7 off, leather interior, canopy, Al roofrack, RB, TB, CD, PS, all mods done by professional. R 85 000
Oooooooow :shock:

Tasty :mrgreen:

Wyk Satan!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Waar? WAAR??? Waar's die ad, fodies, enige iets!!!!!!!!!!!!! :oops:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers

Scorpion wrote:

Waar? WAAR??? Waar's die ad, fodies, enige iets!!!!!!!!!!!!! :oops:
Johan, searck op autotrader, daar is n foto, hy is wynrooi met so chrome replacement bumper.
Hier is die enigste nommer op die ad. 0184841427

Ek dink dis hier by Klerksdorp of Stilfontein iewers, as jy wil he ek moet vir jou n oog gaan gooi, se net, dan kyk ek. Dit is nie te ver van my af nie.

Stilfontein.
Red Hilux Chev V8.jpg

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
Duwayne

Post by Duwayne »

Hi guys,
it is a small world indeed. This bakkie that i was after last year is up for sale now, repaired of the blown top gasket. funny it is just aroudn the corner form my home :)
Also see on gumtree - http://capetown.gumtree.co.za/c-Cars-Ve ... Z170980369

Maybe its a sign