BIO DIESEL

Here we discuss various alternative energy solutions. From converting your car to electricity to converting your home to be off the grid.
Tinman
LR 4WD Rear Locker
LR 4WD Rear Locker
Town: perth
Vehicle: 1991 hilux surf with 31" kuhmo kl71's

BIO DIESEL

Post by Tinman »

has any one got any insight on bio diesel because i just swaped the old petrol hilux for a newer diesel one and i have an unlimited supply of chip fat oil, and im a student so cheap fuel would be nice.
ToyX4
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Town: Ottosdal
Vehicle: Rocky's

Re: BIO DIESEL

Post by ToyX4 »

Hi Stuart

Have a look at this forum. http://biodiesel.nanoelf.co.za/forum/
It is South African based, but I'm sure most of the threads are in english anyway.
ImageImage
Diezel Weazel
Town: Hemel Hempstead
Vehicle: Toyota KZN130

Post by Diezel Weazel »

There's a day called catch em !! One day ..... One Day .....
dalkill
LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

hey tinman.

I wanted to make my own as well, the only problme was the supply of old fish oil in Cape Town.
Some of the guys on nanoelf forum reported his sales rep being intimidated mafia style for the fish oil.

So if you have a good , cheap supply, it's definately worth it.
Only thing you have to check if you fuel system rubber components are synthetic. BD will erode natural rubber, including rubber in you pump.

Toyota could not give me a straight answer on this when I was in the market for a 2000 model 3000D.
All they said some of their client are running it for a while now. last I heard is that toyota will only guarentee a 5% BD mix. all that trouble for 5% it's not worht it though.

BD also has about 10% less power, but it's viscocity is much higher. Apprently it's also has higher octane if I recal correctly.
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)