Klerksdorp's secret 4x4 trail - discovered at last!

Tell us about your favorite 4x4 trail. Tell us how easy or difficult it was, is there escape routes for the faint hearted? Please add some photographs if you can.

Klerksdorp's secret 4x4 trail - discovered at last!

When I took Bulldog to Warthog 4x4 to sort out some suspension noises during this last week, Johnny mentioned the little 4x4 track just behind the shop. So, this afternoon, returning from an outing at the Vaal River, I went and looked for it. And there it was: hidden in an old quarry that I never even knew existed. The track is short, probably only one or two kilometres in length, but it had everything, inclines, water, rocks, logs. So we tried it out! No problem, first attempt at an incline in 4L in second gear bombed out, no difflock, but then 1st L worked fine, although I cheated a little and used the D/L, which I was keen to test. Never tried the water/marsh area as we had no recovery gear on board, but I don't think it would have been a problem.

We watched another Hilux SFA performing and it was a pretty mean machine, with 32" MT fitted. But the engine beat interested me, the car never seemed to go above an idle. We waited for them to catch up to us and then spoke to the driver, Coen, and he showed us the reason why - a beautiful Lexus V8 engine! Expertly fitted, and using a KZTE radiator with one massive electric fan, the vehicle suffered no overheating problems. Coen explained that he has elected to use the standard drive train although he has the Lexus Auto-box at home. I don't know the EMS he used, I think he mentioned the name as T-Bone (or something to do with a "T" :mrgreen: ), apparently also a local development.

Nobody seems to know whose land this is, probably Municipal, and no one knows who built the track - it was a very well-kept secret! But it is worth a visit and best thing is, it's only three kilometres from my home :) It is an ideal training track for newbies, but there is one spot where one can lose it if not careful. The V8-powered Hilux managed to tear off its rear bumper on the trail as well, when Coen's better half took the wheel, in spite of the enhanced body-lift it had.

Re: Klerksdorp's secret 4x4 trail - discovered at last!

Glad you've found a lekker local Playground Eric, got any pics :!: :?: :?:

R
Rampie
Vehicle: '10 Pajero Sport

Post by Rampie »

Eric
Directions?
Rampie

Rich, pics next time, it was an unplanned visit.

Andre, From Platam, cross over the N12 into the road leading to Cargo Motors, but drive past Cargo then turn right and follow the track. After a while, you will see the Quad Bike trail on your left - carry on straight. The 4x4 trail is about 500m or so past this. There are little blue arrows painted on the rocks to indicate the direction you should go. Don't tell anybody, but I was going the wrong way :shock: . But as there were only two other 4x4s there, it was no sweat, the other Hilux was also going in the wrong direction and I think the Wrangler driver just gave up and went home again.

Toybox
Vehicle: Hilex
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by Toybox »

Hmmm,

I want to come through that way to visit Oom Blom, who has kindly offered to take a look at my rear bumper...

Perhaps we should have a mini GTG on the secret trail....

Better still, I will also accompany you to Oom Blom, I want to replace my rear bumper as well! I also want provision for fitting a spare wheel on it :) Oom Blom lives about an hour and a quarter from me, in the village of Landrovia, also famous for its Noddy cars.

I will also show you Klerksdorp Rocky Trail, also about four or five Kms from home in the opposite direction. This is a very short trail, but very interesting, nevertheless!

You can comfortably do both trails in under an hour :mrgreen:

Toybox
Vehicle: Hilex
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by Toybox »

Super, well lets set a day for a meet at the darkside, the village of Landrovia... :twisted:

To be honest I'm not sure i can afford to replace the entire bumper completely :oops: , but I need the mounting brackets cut and repositioned. Having said that with any luck Oom Blom can wangle a way to get a spare wheel swingarm on too! :wink:

Let me know what, when, where and who!

Eish Madala. I've been there twice already.
I even gave directions to it, but I think I gave it to Andre on the community forum, but I might have mentioned it to you too, on this very forum :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Anyway, glad you discovered it. It is a lekke plek to scratch the itch.

I've been through the water, first walked it, no problemo.

I even tried some of the bike ramps. But some of the break over angles are not for bakkies :mrgreen:

I'll give you a ring when I'm there again, the we can do it together, and you can sommer show me the Rocky trail as well.
If Andre is in the country he can join us

ToyX4 wrote:
I even tried some of the bike ramps. But some of the break over angles are not for bakkies :mrgreen:
That only means you have to go over it a little bit faster :twisted: :twisted:

Family_BullDog wrote:Better still, I will also accompany you to Oom Blom, I want to replace my rear bumper as well! I also want provision for fitting a spare wheel on it :) Oom Blom lives about an hour and a quarter from me, in the village of Landrovia, also famous for its Noddy cars.

Hey, Madalla and Jonathan. Ekke eerste... :mrgreen:
1988 Hilex D/C 4x4 (Import spec), Lexus V8; Marlin Crawler; Custom Suspension: front and new 4 link in the rear; Disc Brake conversion rear; 35" Cooper STT tyres; Xenon lights; Custom bullbar;Next? Aircon; new front seats, redo the whole interior in nice soft leather, Respray, Double Lockers
duppa
Vehicle: '96 hilux dbl cab

Post by duppa »

hi there is a farmer in hartbeesfontein who has a nice trail, nobody knows about it caus he doesnt realy adverize it. pm me and i will give you his cell#

Hi duppa, and welcome to the forum!

I have only today learned of another 'secret trail' just past Klerksdorp Dam. But there is scope in Hartbeesfontein for some good trails, I will PM you now.

C'mon Uncle, do tell, lets not keep it a secret :D:

Riaan, the one trail is temporarily closed now while they're hunting on the farm. Still have to confirm the second trail!

Return to “Trail Reports”