Leeuwenboschfontein 14/03/2009

Tell us about your favorite 4x4 trail. Tell us how easy or difficult it was, is there escape routes for the faint hearted? Please add some photographs if you can.

Leeuwenboschfontein 14/03/2009

We decided to check out our camping equipment and to see if we need to add stuff to out "camping checklist". So, between Coenie and myself, we organised a little camping weekend for our families
at Leeuwenboschfontein (http://www.leeuwenboschfontein.co.za" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;) and seeing as it was in Hentey's back yard we decided to invite him along for the trail. :thumbup:

Arrival
We arrived on Friday at about 6pm and pitched camp. Coenie and family stayed in a very nice little cottage next to the campsite. We stayed in the campsite and slept in the RTT. We had an early-ish night in anticipation of the trail on Saturday. :clap: :clap:

Sandbags
Saturday morning we had a nice breakfast, bacon eggs and the likes made in a skottelskaar and Hentey arrived with the news that Hilux bakkies must report to Reception to load the compulsory 6 sandbags. Apparently this is to aid with traction as Hilux bakkies are prone to erode the trail on the uphills due to excessive wheelspin from the rear wheels. We though he was joking.... we reported to reception.. he was not joking... These guys were serious. 6 sandbags. We asked if this was compulsory for all vehicles, but found out it was only for Hilux bakkies, as Jeeps, L/R and other SUV's and bakkies have more weight on the rear wheels. Hentey and I convinced them that our respective canopies and equipment and in my case the RTT weighs more than their compulsory 6 sandbags, but Coenie was stuck with the handicap, as he only had a tonneau cover on the back of his Hilux. As we have vowed to abide by the rules of the trail owner Coenie humored them and took the sandbag on board. :shock: :crazy: :crazy:

Uphill "Klipmatte"
The trail runs all along the top of a ridge until it rounds a hill and then the fun starts, as there is a really long 200m + climb of almost 30 degrees, where the trail owners packed rocks inside huge diamond mesh wire "bags" to form what they call "klipmatte". This is done to avoid erosion, as the uphill would get severely rutted and washed out in no time if the surface was not protected in this way. The klipmatte also provide ample traction to get up the steep hill. Very eco-friendly. :thumbup: :thumbup:

The Lapa
The long climb ends at a lapa on top of the mountain with 360 degree views of the surrounding hills and valleys. It is really an awesome sight. The lapa has toilet facilities in the form of a long-drop, and a huge braai inside the glass fronted lapa. There is also a nice deck where we sat to take in the views. We spent an hour or so up at the lapa having lunch and a cold drink before we made our way down again. 8 ) 8 )

Gr4 Roundabout
We had to go down that long incline again and halfway down it branches off to a Gr4 section. We decided to go along that route. After a few tight twists and turns we ended up at a spot where the trail splits in 2. To the right a drop of 30-40 degrees and to the left the escape route. After the first look at the downhill it was decision time. I asked who was going to join me in taking the escape route.... We walked the trail almost all the way down and Hentey decided the chances of damage to his vehicle was too much, as the Excaliburs and the front bumper was definitely going to get snagged on some of the rocks. I decided to go down after all, and see if it is really as scary as it looks. It looked like there would have been enough traction, despite the steepness, as most of the loose rocks were encased in klipmatte. It was as scary as it looked. Coenie also decided that he was not going to go down there with his kids in the car and also took the escape route. :thumbup: :thumbup:

http://s235.photobucket.com/albums/ee26 ... V03207.flv

Seperated
Seeing as the other 2 drivers decided to take the escape route we were on our won on a very nice part of the trail. Lots of really tight twists and turns in and out of a dry riverbed. Quite a few times I had to make 3-point turns to get around some of the turns, with very little room to maneuver. After about half an hour we joined up with the rest of our group. From that point it was plain sailing all the way back to the camp.

Aftermath
After dropping off Coenies 6 sandbag penalty, and loading 3 bags of firewood we headed back to the camp. Hentey and family stuck around for a cold one and a lekker chat and after-trail debriefing and then packed up and left for Woester along the Ouberg road to Montagu. We were all quite tired and sunburnt after a hot day out so a lekker braai, a few ice cold beers went down well. Thanks Hentey, we had heaps of fun. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Back home
Sunday morning we woke up and straight off we could feel that this was going to be a scorcher. So we packed up camp and tried to get away before it got too hot. We also took the Ouberg road to Montagu. Very beautiful part of the country that. In Montagu we inflated our tyres again to tar-road pressures and headed home ASAP to try and beat the heat... mistake.. you cannot outrun the sun.. :shock: :shock:

Overall Impressions
Leeuwenboschfontein is a really nice place to camp. The facilities are all tidy and clean and well maintained. The trail is also in a very good condition and the trail owners are doing their best to conserve nature and protect the environment. The "Sandbag" rule is a bit silly, but hey, it's his farm and I guess he can make the rules. The people who runs the establishment are friendly and helpful. Although there was no grass in the campsite, the gravel was neatly raked and clean.

Lessons Learned
Our camping list is almost complete.
Being out in the sun with a "shavathon" hairstyle and no hat is just plain daft.
Trying to catapult your steak into your mouth means you end up with salad on you top... Coenie??
A Hilux does need a working aircon.
An SFA Hilux is still the nicest vehicle to drive on a dirt road at 80km/h with 33" tyres deflated to 1 bar. :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
Will do this again, tomorrow, and the day after...

Re: Leeuwenboschfontein 14/03/2009

Sounds lekka Thys.
Load some pics now man.I want to see the steak trick

george wrote:Sounds lekka Thys.
Load some pics now man.I want to see the steak trick
I will load some pics this afternoon at home.

You will have to use your imagination with the steak trick... the shutter speed was wayyy to slow to capture it in the dark.. :shock: :shock: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

King Rat

Post by King Rat »

Man, the brandy made me REALLY hungry and I thought by catapulting the steak into my mouth I'll be done eating quicker, because I started to get thirsty again, but the salad threw a curveball and landed on my lap. No aerodynamic efficiency in salad that is a fact (citation needed). The steak was nice and crunchy but edible enough after hitting me on the forehead region. And the polisie koffie did hide my embarrassment well enough.
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius

Some Pics:
Coenie's idea of "Roughing It"... :shock:
IMG_1088.jpg
Our idea of "Roughing It"... :twisted:
IMG_1090.jpg
Breakfast :thumbup:
IMG_1093.jpg
The Rat:
IMG_1095.jpg
The Kaspaas:
IMG_1099.jpg
The Underdog:
IMG_1106.jpg
A Rat on a Klipmat:
IMG_1112.jpg
Underdog doing the same:
IMG_1119.jpg

Some More Pics:
The Lapa at the top:
IMG_1122.jpg
The view from the Lapa:
IMG_1124.jpg
The campsite:
IMG_1126.jpg
More Views:
IMG_1130.jpg
Trusty Steeds:
IMG_1132.jpg
Relaxing in the sun:
IMG_1136.jpg
More Relaxing:
IMG_1143.jpg
Pretty??
IMG_1146.jpg

Lyk lekker.
Slaap julle nou apart dat daar 2 tente is :?: :lol:

george wrote:Lyk lekker.
Slaap julle nou apart dat daar 2 tente is :?: :lol:
Kombuistent... en ons het baie rooiwyn saamgevat.. dan raak die leer steil (Gr5 obstacle).. Kannie sonder winch daar op nie.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Great pics & report, het al vergeet hoe mooi dit daar is!
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Thanks for the TR and the pics. Beautiful area, .... although I live on the coast, I'm essentially a mountain man. Evidence of some massive tectonic subduction in those ranges .... just beautiful. :thumbup:

Mud Dog wrote:....... massive tectonic subduction in those ranges ....
Coenie had too many baked beans that morning.. :o:

Thys, baie nice trail report......Dit lyk baie mooi daarso en ek is seker julle kan seker die volgene WC outing daar gaan hou......... :twisted: :twisted: :thumbup:

JohanM wrote:Thys, baie nice trail report......Dit lyk baie mooi daarso en ek is seker julle kan seker die volgene WC outing daar gaan hou......... :twisted: :twisted: :thumbup:
Nee wat Johan, die WC se ouens wil nie sommer so ver ry vir 'n roete nie... Hulle wil dan nie eers n outing organise nie.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

:thumbup: very nice, awesome views, checked the vid, photos and vid never show how bad a hill really is. :lol:

Thys, ek sien hulle het n artikel oor Leeuwenboschfontein (hulle moes n korter naam gekry het) roete ... in die May 09, SA 4X4. Hulle gee nice inligting met n klein kaart aan en syunning pics :thumbup:

Niel wrote:Thys, ek sien hulle het n artikel oor Leeuwenboschfontein (hulle moes n korter naam gekry het) roete ... in die May 09, SA 4X4. Hulle gee nice inligting met n klein kaart aan en syunning pics :thumbup:
Yes Niel I also read the article, but it was the syunning pics that made it special... It really is a nice trail, go do it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Arno
Town: Durbanville CT
Vehicle: 1997 Hilux DC

Post by Arno »

Lekker storie Thys dankie. Wie het juou canopy gebou ? Jy het dit seker al geskryf maar ek is 'n "newbie" . Ek is in die mark vir canopy en kyk rond. My Lux het 'n Andy Cab op. Dis sterk maar lelik .... canopy lyk groter as die Lux. Alucab is duur.

Self gebou Arno. Sodra ek orders het vir 7 dan begin ek hulle vir ander ouens ook bou. Die materiaal was about so R3500 gewees. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Kaspaas wrote:syunning pics
kom van laat aande
Kaspaas wrote:It really is a nice trail, go do it.
Definatief iewers in die volgende somer :thumbup:

Jy moet in die winter gaan Niel, dit sneeu daar... :twisted: :twisted:

Return to “Trail Reports”