Bonnet guard - Big mistake

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
antlo69
Town: Pretoria North
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D-4D, leveling kit, 17" with A/T BFg's, sadly stil some Tupperware, wish list growing by the day

Post by antlo69 »

So I read over the weekend a older post regarding the use of Bonnet guard and that its a big no go for diesel models.......

Two months ago I upgraded my Lux and one of the items on the shopping list was a clear bonnet guard "Original Toyota product from Toyota", and I thought it look nice and will add extra protection. So I installed it.

The same time I have upgraded to set of Fortuner 17" with 275/65/17 BFG's. My fuel consumption and performance were very bad all of a suden.

I do 8,000km to 12,000km a month, so the consuption was severely impcting my travel budgets.

The past weekend I removed the guard and did a quick 600km on Saturday.....guess what, my old snappy performance was back, fuel consuption bck where it should be.

So a simple piece of plastic caused me to have verry poor performance and fuel consumption.

The point I want to make is, now even more so than before I realize the importance of propper airflow to the intercooler and the effect it will have on performance/consumption.

I thought I'd share this will my fellow Lux'ers.
Akasia-20130314-00838.jpg
Akasia-20130314-00838.jpg (30.09 KiB) Viewed 29853 times
"Must be a Toyota, must be a diesel and must run on BFG's"
Gideonvanzyl
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7 D/C 4x4

Re: Bonnet guard - Big mistake

Post by Gideonvanzyl »

Antonie, I will test your theory on my 2.7 when I do my next roadtrip.
Toyota Hilux 2.7 Legend 35 (Bullnose) 2003 d/cab 4x4 with Cooper Discoverer AT 3's on with unichip and Powerflow exhaust. Name: Blouwillebees
louis fourie
Vehicle: 2003 Hilux Raider Facelift D/C 3.0 KZTE
Club VHF Licence: X101

Post by louis fourie »

Gideonvanzyl wrote:Antonie, I will test your theory on my 2.7 when I do my next roadtrip.
Gideon

Onthou die D4D se intercooler scoop sit bo-op die bonnet. Glo nie dit gaan jou veel help nie.
Sebata
Town: Cosmo City
Vehicle: '06 Hilux 4.0l V6 auto 4x4, Iron-Man front bumper, Ali3n Rock-sliders, Old man Suspention, Snokel, 31" Pireli Scorpion Muds
Club VHF Licence: X125

Post by Sebata »

If u want to get rid of that guard, I'm here :thumbup:
Tau Sello
Sebata, Lion enjoys hunting with Hynas...
JJBotes
Town: Witbank
Vehicle: KZ-TE

Post by JJBotes »

Is that becausre of less air to the intercooler ? or is there air going in under the bonnet ?
antlo69
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D-4D, leveling kit, 17" with A/T BFg's, sadly stil some Tupperware, wish list growing by the day

Post by antlo69 »

My theory is that with a intercooler, you need a constant supply of cool air into the scoop in order for the intercooler to work as it should. With the bonnet guard and the aerodynamics of the airflow affected, the intercooler does not get the required cool air flow. Nd we know that hot air is not good.

Cooler air = denser = more oxygen for combustion.

Well thata what the clever guys are telling me.
antlo69

Post by antlo69 »

So based on the above, any offers for a slightly used clear hilux bonnet guard??? Lol

Sebata wrote:If u want to get rid of that guard, I'm here :thumbup:
Speak to da Lion
Kaaskrul
Vehicle: 2018 Hilux X-Cab 4x4 Dakar

Post by Kaaskrul »

As said above.

I just shake my head when I see a D4D with Intercooler, and a bonnet guard.

Isuzu had a letter sent out to all Dealers, saying that the clients must remove the Bonnet guards on the 300TDI with scoop on bonnet. They had a few Intercoolers that actually cracked.

If you fit a bonnet guard, you can actually just use duct tape and close off the scoop, same thing.
JEEPIE
Vehicle: Official hilux 4x4 club recovery vehicle
Club VHF Licence: X 43

Post by JEEPIE »

the bonnet guard is cosmetic
it does however reduce your vehicle performance ( on a inter cooler / diesel)
it projects the air higher over the bonnet
so decreases air flow to inter cooler
less air flow / reduced performance / increased fuel consumption
OFFICIAL HILUX 4x4 RECOVERY VEHICLE

if you want to change this to recovered , first recover me - and have a relevant picture / foto to prove it !
ADVANCED 4x4 DRIVER COURSES DONE : US 254135 / US 254154
(STILL AWAITING SO-CALLED TETA CERTIFICATION VIA THE SERVICE PROVIDER AFRICAN OFF-ROAD ACADEMY - WHAT A JOKE)
subok
Town: Jhb - Somerset West
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4 D/C - Kitted for overlanding
Club VHF Licence: HC152

Post by subok »

I think I will remove mine and test the effect.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
WayneSchalk
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Post by WayneSchalk »

Now for the BIG one :think:

the older D4D has a smaller scoop than the new model..........

I can only think of one obvious reason why, I wonder how big of a mod it is :think:
Sebata
Town: Cosmo City
Vehicle: '06 Hilux 4.0l V6 auto 4x4, Iron-Man front bumper, Ali3n Rock-sliders, Old man Suspention, Snokel, 31" Pireli Scorpion Muds
Club VHF Licence: X125

Post by Sebata »

george wrote:
Sebata wrote:If u want to get rid of that guard, I'm here :thumbup:
Speak to da Lion
PM sent
Tau Sello
Sebata, Lion enjoys hunting with Hynas...
Quadmyster
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D-4D

Post by Quadmyster »

One would never think that it would make that big a difference.

When i installed mine i thought about this same dilema, i know the cooler the air the engine takes in the better. And the intercooler will cool the hot air from the turbo and that will be your gain in performance.

Now how can one protect your bonnet without the guard helping out. The guard saved my bonnet and window from some nasty rock in the past.

A proper test would be nice. Someone with a airflow meter out there?

Good topic this, makes me think alot about my guard that on.
JEEPIE
Vehicle: Official hilux 4x4 club recovery vehicle
Club VHF Licence: X 43

Post by JEEPIE »

Quadmyster wrote:One would never think that it would make that big a difference.

When i installed mine i thought about this same dilema, i know the cooler the air the engine takes in the better. And the intercooler will cool the hot air from the turbo and that will be your gain in performance.

Now how can one protect your bonnet without the guard helping out.
easy , its not a quad race , stop driving so close up peoples behind
The guard saved my bonnet and window from some nasty rock in the past.

OFFICIAL HILUX 4x4 RECOVERY VEHICLE

if you want to change this to recovered , first recover me - and have a relevant picture / foto to prove it !
ADVANCED 4x4 DRIVER COURSES DONE : US 254135 / US 254154
(STILL AWAITING SO-CALLED TETA CERTIFICATION VIA THE SERVICE PROVIDER AFRICAN OFF-ROAD ACADEMY - WHAT A JOKE)
Quadmyster

Post by Quadmyster »

Jeepie i know where your factory is. Bwhahahaha.

You must see the new skid i built for the quad. should crush rock. ha ha.
smokintyres
Town: Windhoek
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6, relatively standard; for now...

Post by smokintyres »

Quadmyster wrote:One would never think that it would make that big a difference.

Now how can one protect your bonnet without the guard helping out. The guard saved my bonnet and window from some nasty rock in the past.

I have seen a couple of D4D Vigos (specifically the imports) with a gap in the guard to allow airflow into the scoop. Couldn't locate a picture unfortunately...
Quadmyster

Post by Quadmyster »

Would be nice to see one and maybe mod the existing one. Mmmmmm
Ali3n
Vehicle: Jeep Commander 3.0 Limited
Club VHF Licence: B338

Post by Ali3n »

This is the bonnet guard you guys need. :thumbup:
P1120100_resize.JPG
P1120100_resize.JPG (105.83 KiB) Viewed 29606 times
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
ImageImageImage Link BrokenImageImage Link Broken
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of
Cell: 076 122 3744 E-Mail: fpanaino@gmail.com
Bear Grylls calls it "Ultimate Survival", overlanders call it "Camping"

Butt ugly Mr Coffee... and that thing is going to channel sand, stones and rocks right into the scoop.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

ThysdJ wrote:Butt ugly Mr Coffee... and that thing is going to channel sand, stones and rocks right into the scoop.. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Now now... I would have shared my coffee with you but not anymore... :disgust: :naah:

They didn't ask for a good looking solution, I just gave them a solution... :twisted:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
Custom built Rock Sliders, Bumpers, Belly protection.... Anything you can think of

Granted you posted as solution, but only a partial solution... The center part of the bonnet is exposed.

You can always stick clear vinyl over the front edge of the bonnet. It wont prevent the big stone-chips but it will help prevent the sand-blasting effect. Actually it should prevent the paint from being chipped..

Plus it is pretty cheap, you can re-apply when required.. :thumbup: :thumbup:

antlo69

Post by antlo69 »

This will be my solution, a clear film (3M product I think) to protect the bonnet.

I'm now on day 4 without my bonnet guard and trust me, a HUGE difference.

And to think I almost wanted to get rid of my 17" nd BFG's. They were NOT the culprits here.

Secondly, I do huge mileage a day, if there's someone that will notice a difference its me in my Lux I have done close to 300,000km the last 3 years.
Hennie2
Town: Krugersdorp - Featherbrooke Estate
Vehicle: 2013 Hilux D4D

Post by Hennie2 »

You can apply VPS on the front edge of the bonnet, lights and bumper. Provides very good protection even for some of the bigger stones.
Tsa
Vehicle: 2010 Toyota Fortuner 4x4

Post by Tsa »

@antlo69: When you say HUGE difference. What are you referring to? More power felt, drop in fuel consumption?

I have been looking for an excuse to remove mine from Tuna, but just knew the minute I remove it something will hit the bonnet! LOL

This experiment will at least justify it! :)
antlo69

Post by antlo69 »

In my situation I work on milege per tank since I fill up almost every second day.

With bonnet guard I would get between 690km - 720km on a tank and my higher end rev band feels dead, sluggish. Under powered.

Low speed, town driving power were about the same, but 100km/h plus I moticed a drop in performance.

Without my bonnet guard, my consumption went up on my two last tanks since Saturday (790km and last one 810km)

The above re in the same routes, same driving conditions.

In my eyes this is a testament of how big a impact the airflow had on my performance by just looking at my fuel consumption.
Tsa

Post by Tsa »

Thanks for that! Wow big difference! I have been noticing the exact same "under powered" feeling in the on my last 2 long drive trips (200 - 300kms).
Everything else seemed fine, except that.

690 - 720km originally is already a lot in my books, I'm lucky if I get 660 and then the fuel light has already gone on.
Oubaas
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 2008 Toyota Hilux Raider 3.0 D-4D D/Cab

Post by Oubaas »

Thanks for the advice guys.
Took my bonnet guard off yesterday and sold it already.
What to do with the extra R100 now? :think:

Oh, too late, spent it already on a Lee reloading kit for my .308 :thumbup: , had to pay in a few bucks on the kit, but oh well...
Every little boy wants a toy truck...
When the boy grows up it's only natural to want the TOY truck!

All I ask is the chance to prove that money can't make me happy.
Tsa

Post by Tsa »

Oubaas wrote:Thanks for the advice guys.
Took my bonnet guard off yesterday and sold it already.
What to do with the extra R100 now? :think:

Oh, too late, spent it already on a Lee reloading kit for my .308 :thumbup: , had to pay in a few bucks on the kit, but oh well...
Sounds like a good swop to me! :)
Quadmyster

Post by Quadmyster »

So I did some thinking and some work. What you guy's think about this?

Klong se Pa
Vehicle: 1995 Isuzu KB280LE 4x4 d/c

Post by Klong se Pa »

That looks quite the bit, Chris. I actually think it looks better now than before!
Digger
Town: nelspruit
Vehicle: d4d d/c

Post by Digger »

why then does toy sa sell them as accessories??????would like to know if all vehicles fitted with them have the same problem?Is this maybe why the newer models have the bigger air intake :confused:
Klong se Pa
Vehicle: 1995 Isuzu KB280LE 4x4 d/c

Post by Klong se Pa »

Before the poopoo hit the fan, I bought a brand new d/c 3,0 D-4D 4x2 in '06, which I traded in April '08 for a 4x4. I fitted the carbon fibre-look guard as well as the headlamp shields to the first one, then changed them over when I got the 4x4.

Both had excellent performance and consumption. Never drove either of them without the guard, but can't say that I had any problems with the guard in place. My cruising speed was always over 140, and both had to pull the Exclusive caravan which we had at the time. Never could feel any lack in power, over heating or any difficulties whatsoever.

But yes, the argument makes logical scense, so would like to know what Toyota SA says about an approved accessory sold by their dealers.
Bacchus
Vehicle: Hilux D/C, 3.0 D-4D, 4x4

Post by Bacchus »

When I bought my D4D in 2008, I've been told by the dealer not to put this guard on again - had it on my previous bakkie (petrol). I was told that it has an influence of about 25% on the air flow.
michelyn
Town: Hermanus
Vehicle: 2014 Fortuner 3.0 D-4D

Post by michelyn »

Hi Guys, I am new to this page and hope I get my first time right. Well I started doing some research on this bonnet shield/protector after spotting one on a Hilux. This specific one really made the Hilux look smart so I thought I would get one for my Fortuner, along with the headlight shields, obviously in carbon fibre look. I will try and get the pic uploaded for viewing. I must add that I became concerned after reading the reports about the negative effects of the bonnet shield. However, the Hilux I spotted was the later model with the larger intercooler scoop, same as my Fortuner. I have asked Toyota SA for some input & recommendations regarding this accessory supplied by them and awaiting a reply. I can inform you that my fuel consumption drops considerably when the temperature is cooler. I would however like to think that the larger "scoop" will be an improvement for the air intake. I would not like to add something that has the potential to cause future detrimental effects so will keep you informed with the comments from Toyota SA. Hopefully we will get some positive feedback soon. Let me know your views on the latest version . . Gen 3 series Fortuner/Hilux . . . Would be great to fit this and protect ones ride. Does anybody know who the manufacturer of this specific set is or is this the genuine Toyota kit ???? Have a great weekend.
This is a photo of the latest version Hilux/Fortuner. There is an obvious increase insize and I would like to think that sufficient air flow will be achieved here.
This is the photo of the Hilux I spotted . . . Can't argue that it does look good !! Look at the size of the "scoop" on the 3rd gen Toy's. This scoop is also more centralised and makes the appearance more appealing . . .
michelyn
Town: Hermanus
Vehicle: 2014 Fortuner 3.0 D-4D

Post by michelyn »

Well Guys, just a quick note on this topic. :celebrate: If you have one of the new models with the bigger intake . . . . as I have on my Fortuner, leave it on. I have just received confirmation from TSA that the bonnet shield will not influence my performance or fuel consumption. :yahoo: So needles to say . . . I am over the moon and will be getting my shield this week . . . :thumbup: Took me some time to get te reply from them but luckily no chips to date. Pity for you folks with the smaller "scoop" Probably not too difficult to fit the larger one !!! Will keep you posted if I do notice any issues and TSA will be at the top of the list
Hangover
Town: Deneysville
Vehicle: '76 FJ45 , '13 3.0 D4D Hilux

Post by Hangover »

TSA se mense is klomp ape... Lees nou maar net wat se die mense hier en luister... Ek het ook dieselfde F-OP met my bonnet guard gehad... Dit werk NIE... Die wind gan nogsteeds meer as helfde bo-oor... Soos die slim mense se: as jy nie wil hoor nie moet jy maar voel...
Hangover(A.K.A die speelding)
1976 FJ45 4x4
1UZ-FE 4.0vvti
2" OME Suspension lift
1.5" Shackle lift
35" Geo MT's
Custom Bullbar
Lockright Locked rear
York OBA
20" LED bar
Nighthawk 100W spots

Dakar
2013 3.0D-4D 4x4 Hilux Dakar
Pumba
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC112

Post by Pumba »

Ek hou van wat jy gedoen het Chris :thumbup: :thumbup: Moet se ek ondervind niks van die probleme wat hierbo genoem word nie.

Hier is wat ek gedoen het toe ek van moontlike probleme hehoor het
20140528_164158 small.jpg
20140528_164158 small.jpg (50.93 KiB) Viewed 26045 times
3 x 6mm gate net om die lugvloei te versteur... ry al 2 of 3 maande so en was al op die langpad ook gewees sonder probleme - hoop dis ok in die lang duur :beg:
Jesus was blunt: "No chance at all if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you let God do it." Mark 10:27(Message)

Ali3n

Post by Ali3n »

I personally would not listen to what TSA have to say in this regard. I would listen to others who have experience as well as think logically about it.

Logic tells me that the guard will deflect most of the cool air away from the scoop and in turn the intercooler.

Why would TSA admit to a problem with the bonnet guard on the D4D which they supply? :think:
PRESENTLY DISADVANTAGED
rood
Town: Polokwane
Vehicle: 4LT V6 Prado 120, 3L Extra cab D4d 4x4, Suzuki SJ413

Post by rood »

Ek het my bonnet protector afgehaal en n Carbom Fibre sticker laat maak om dit te vervang, dit is n dik vinel sticker. Aangeheg is n foto, sal een in die dag ook neem en oplaai.
photo 2.JPG
photo 2.JPG (115.13 KiB) Viewed 26039 times
TOYOMOZ
Town: Chimoio
Vehicle: Hi Lux Surf 3.0 kzte Toyota Granvia 3400 V6 4x4

Post by TOYOMOZ »

Naanse manne, hier in Moz. het al die ingevoerde Vigos daai scoop met die oop gat, is mos eenvoudig as jy die deflector opsit is dit wat hy doen met die lug na jou Intercooler toe! Nog nie eenhier gesien wat takke,klippe of stof of enige roadkill deur daai gap gesluk het nie...net my opinie! :?: :?:
Alex2539
Town: Walvis Bay
Vehicle: HILUX LEGEND 45 V6 4.0 4X4

Post by Alex2539 »

Hi guys

I have a bonnet guard on my 3.0 d4d Legend 40 (small scoop) for 3 months now and i haven't noticed any difference in consumption or perfomance so i have mixed feelings about this
Bonded to Yotas :cooldude:
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

eish i bought my suzie with bonnet guard... guess it will have to go
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

dalkill wrote:eish i bought my suzie with bonnet guard... guess it will have to go
I read all the comments here smiling. Don't believe everything your read on the Internet . One guy even callings they poor guys working at Toyota a bunch of apes.

TSA did a proper test with the bonnet guards, they did record a slight increase in under bonnet temps but nothing that would cause a drastic reduction in performance .

I'm on my phone but I'm sure I'll find the article with a quick Google search
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

The Toyota engineers did not design either of the two scoops with that bonnet guard in place. It has to disturb the inflow of air into the scoop. It works with positive pressure i.e. there has to be positive pressure on the scoop for the air to be forced through the intercooler. There is nothing underneath which facilitates the sucking of the air through the scoop. The interference will happen regardless of whether it has the wide or narrow scoop. The mere fact that an increase in under bonnet temperature was measured is enough reason not to fit it already. Heat is the enemy of any engine and anything that contributes to a greater heat load is completely out in my books. It would be interesting to see what impact the scoop has on cylinder head temperatures and Exhaust Gas Temperature. From where I sit I can see you are hit doubly in the sense that the intake air is hotter and less dense with the guard in place, potentially robbing the engine of some horsepower and you have reduced airflow under the bonnet increasing the temperature in there. So as far as I am concerned I would not fit it to my bakkie. Maybe the one with the slot in which case one can stick VPS there as stated above. I was fortunate not to have had any large stones hitting the bonnet in 10 years and 275000 ks. Obviously there was some chipping but when I had to have my right door fixed due to an attempted theft I had the bonnet redone as well.
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

Testing shows that the influence of the bonnet guard makes almost no noticeable difference on engine performance.
4.JPG
3.JPG
2.JPG
1.JPG
jgriesel
Vehicle: 3.0 D-4D DC 4x4

Post by jgriesel »

Jaws wrote: Fri Jan 29, 2016 10:56 am Testing shows that the influence of the bonnet guard makes almost no noticeable difference on engine performance.
Numbers don't lie - but after seeing the above post where removing guard made such a noticeable difference, I wonder. Was in the market form a bonnet guard until i found this thread.

This also got me thinking, could a aftermarket bullbar with nudge-bar have the same effect. I fitted 265/75/16 BFg's around the same time i did the billbar ( had clearance issues with bigger tyres ). Its definitely more sluggish but I assumed it was the tyres ... or could it be the bullbar ?
IMG_4997.jpg
Slow and Serious
Nick S
Town: Bedfordview
Vehicle: 3L Legend 45 D4D 4x4 DC/AT. RSI Canopy, Snorkel and Radio
Club VHF Licence: HC219

Post by Nick S »

Not the first time that I have heard this
To build bridges, you need to go to where the rivers are.
lukestoyzx
Town: Griffith
Vehicle: 07 Hilux SR5

Post by lukestoyzx »

All the other mods we do to our rigs would have a lot more of an impact on performance than a bonner guard. Doesn't matter to me anyway I have a fan on mine

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

RiyadhFortuner
Town: Lansdowne
Vehicle: 2015 Ford Ranger T6

Post by RiyadhFortuner »

interesting stuff. I didnt bother with one cause of performance concerns. Also Glad I dont have one.

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”