Long term storage of my bakkie - A GOOD IDEA??

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
YNK
Town: Somerset West CPT
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0D 4x4 Auto

Long term storage of my bakkie - A GOOD IDEA??

Post by YNK »

Hello,

I have a dilemma... :shock2:

A recent decision may mean that my new Hilux bakkie will need be stored for periods of 3-6months. I have tried a search on this forum about advice regarding long-term storage, but alas nothing seems to pop up.

I may be able to rope in a younger boet (always handy) and force him to race it around a bit on a monthly basis, but not sure if that is the best idea, who knows where he will take it?

So, does anyone have any advice about storing a bakkie? Do I simply place it on bricks, and remove the battery leads? Or is it not that simple? If it proves to be a hassle, I may have to sell it..... and get another when we get back home.

I may try Toyota HQ also, but I would obviously prefer to have any decent advice from the forum.

Yianni

Re: Long term storage of my bakkie - A GOOD IDEA??

A possible option is to research your area for a storage depot which rents out containers in a secure area with controlled access.Park your hilux inside it with the battery disconnected and lift the vehicle onto stands. A new battery(should the battery become faulty) is far cheaper than having to return to a hilux which has possibly been abused and kilos added to the clock.

Ja for six months only you do not have to worry about oil and seals getting hard, etc, 6 months ain't that long.

Like Tony said, jack it up, put on trestle stands and disconnect the battery.
If you disconnect your battery I doubt that it will run flat in 6 months time.

Just make sure the place you store it is rat free, you can also invest in a box of those blue rat pills and put that in the engine bay as well, just in case.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Borntofish
Vehicle: Hilux 86

Post by Borntofish »

Remembered reading an article in popular mechanics..

http://www.popularmechanics.com/cars/ho ... 5/1272486/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
YNK

Post by YNK »

Thanks for info!
However, it may be longer than six months I have discovered. So seeing that I have already underestimated the initial time period, it looks likely that my bakkie might be stored for up to 2 years. Not a pretty thought knowing its just sittin'. there........
My head aches with making a decision, especially since I bought new it less than 3months ago.

I may have answered my own question: I think I should pass it onto a new owner. He will even have a new snorkel gratis, just needs to install it.

Yianni

Ah man, sorry to hear you have to sell :blackeye: :blackeye:
YNK

Post by YNK »

Ja me too!! But I will make sure I check out all possibilities to hold onto my bakkie.
Obelix4eva
Town: Swellendam
Vehicle: 1998 Toyota Hilux 2.4 LTD

Post by Obelix4eva »

I regularly store my hilux for 6 mounth intervals. All you do is to disconnect the battery and put the wheels in the air. Also fill up your diesel tank all the way to the top when storing it Otherwise it will rust inside due to condensation in the tank. 2 years is a whle new ballgame. I would consider storing it for 6 mounths at a time and then ask someone to do a lekker long trip every 6 mounths just to get all the seals wet and so on. Then of corse the tric is to store in a cool dry place. I baught a dehumidifier to keep in the garage.
Adventures4Christ
Vehicle: Hilux d4d 3

Post by Adventures4Christ »

I'll gladly store it for you, with the odd trip into Africa :cooldude:
Won't even charge you for it :blushing:
Blessings - Adventures4Christ - Dewald - http://shop.adventures4christ.com/
Gal 6:9 "So let's not get tired of doing what is good. . ."
Rom 10:15 "How beautiful are the feet of messengers who bring good news (Gospel and Salvation)!"
YNK

Post by YNK »

Haha! I'm sure you would love to store it for me Dewald!
At least it would be used for a good cause in A4Christ.
But seriously, as an update, I am still trying to get it stored and get it driven around Cape town. However, thanks to the Saudis and the Yemenites, I may not be here for too long! Its safer to leave the Ishmaelites to bliksem themselves. End times or what?
YNK

Post by YNK »

I see. I didn't think that bliksem was a naughty word.
Adventures4Christ
Vehicle: Hilux d4d 3

Post by Adventures4Christ »

Hmmmm CPT bit far ;-)
Offer stands :cooldude:
Blessings - Adventures4Christ - Dewald - http://shop.adventures4christ.com/
Gal 6:9 "So let's not get tired of doing what is good. . ."
Rom 10:15 "How beautiful are the feet of messengers who bring good news (Gospel and Salvation)!"

Don't know what storage cost in CPT but at the Boat Yard at Mykonos in Langebaan it is about R800 per month.
I will gladly drive it a couple of Km each month for you.
Think Mykonos' boat yard is probably the safest place in the country to store it.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
YNK

Post by YNK »

Hi Pieter. Noted. If it comes to using the Boatyard, which sounds like its a plan, I'll be sure to drop you a line and say thanks.

That sounds like a nice idea, hope you come rite :thumbup: :thumbup:
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

why don't you use the self storage garages here in tokia.dont know what the monthly rental is,They in white road Retreat,next to Tellumat building. :thumbup:put her on blocks and someone can always start her up so now and then.
YNK

Post by YNK »

Hi Deon, thanks, lock up garage seems to be the way forward at the moment. We have one of those storage places near us that could be used also, but will compare prices with the one in Retreat. The Mykonos one recommended by Pieter sounds very good too. And being Greek myself should make Mykonos the obvious choice!
Wurmscooby
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Post by Wurmscooby »

no problem ,glad I could help. :thumbup:

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”