2700i......Not just a Pretty Face, jou YSTER!!

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
petri oosthuizen
Town: bethlehem
Vehicle: 98 Nissan Patrol GRX, 1996 Hilux 2,4 D S/Cab SFA, 2007 Merc CL 500

2700i......Not just a Pretty Face, jou YSTER!!

Post by petri oosthuizen »

I sold an old rusted 60 Series Cruiser to a client in Bloem some time ago. Having to be in Bloem yesterday, I decided to sommer rent a trailer, and take the car down to get it out of my way.
The Cruiser Pickup's tyres are dubious, so I sommer decided to take the 2700i DC.
That 60 Series weighs more than 2 tonnes, and I towed it with a heavy trailer.

Well well well........what can I say. The Lux towed in 3d/4th gear the whole time, at speeds of between 70 and 90 km/hour. I just could'nt believe how stable it was with that Fat Mamma behind it. Torque was lekker between 2000 and 3000 RPM. :cooldude:

Have'nt tested consumption yet, but after 606 km the fuel gauge shows just above half tank (that's with a 40 litre longrange tank)........so, I'm in for yet another very pleasant surprise here again, will report back if I fill up. :dance1:

What a damn nice vehicle a 2700i Hilux 8-port is........I am SO SO glad I did not sell this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
" Fear?? Looking over at Joe Louis' Corner, and knowing Joe wants to go home early tonight"...….Max Baer
GRWLR ZN
Town: Richards Bay
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux - Lexus V8

Re: 2700i......Not just a Pretty Face, jou YSTER!!

Post by GRWLR ZN »

Everything's right, keeps going right.........TOYOTA!! :thumbup:
:mrgreen:

Moet nou nie my bakkie deur jou alie trek nie!!

petri oosthuizen
Town: bethlehem
Vehicle: 98 Nissan Patrol GRX, 1996 Hilux 2,4 D S/Cab SFA, 2007 Merc CL 500

Post by petri oosthuizen »

The Proof, as they say, is in the Pictures........

BTW - I just filled up. 622 km, of which 122 was town driving, 250 with a 2 tonne + Cruiser aan sy gat, and the other with a damn heavy car trailer on my way back home yesterday.

90.7 litres of fuel used...........6,9 km per litre :o:

'king unbelievable, in my books anyway.
P1080871.JPG
P1080870.JPG
" Fear?? Looking over at Joe Louis' Corner, and knowing Joe wants to go home early tonight"...….Max Baer
jmouton
Town: Windhoek
Vehicle: 3.0 d4d D/C Hilux

Post by jmouton »

:thumbup: :thumbup:

Daai cruiser het al beter dae gesien, maar die 62 hier is Nam( Untag Cruiser) was my eerste cruiser, daai outjies le na aan my hart :cooldude:
swifty
Town: Sutherland
Vehicle: Hilux 2.7 SC

Post by swifty »

About 2 years ago I bought a John Deere 4400 tractor from a farmer in Gansbaai. Got quotes for transport to Sutherland and decided to fetch the tractor with a 2 ton car trailer and my 2.7 Hilux. Googled the JD 4400 to establish what it weighs, I stumbled across a overseas site (think it was Tractordata.com or something like that). It gave the "dry weight" as 1700 kg. Got to Gansbaai and nearly had a heart attack when I saw the beast. Acc to the serial number plate, this thing weighed in at 4.5 tons! It was wider than the trailer, but the old farmer decided that this tractor is going to Sutherland! He deflated the rear tires in order to squeeze the tractor onto the trailer. The rims of the rear tires were protruding over the sides of the trailer. Had to go up Hexriver Pass in low range. Same with Verlatenkloof pass. But the 2.7 never missed a beat! In hindsight it was a bit reckless, don't try this at home!
SAM_1765.JPG
2003 HILUX 2.7i SRX S/C; Solid front axle conversion with Cruiser coil springs, 4.88:1 diff ratios, Iron Man rear suspension with extended greasable shackles, Gearmax diff lock, 150 liter feul tank, NudgeM bumper with recovery shackles, BF Goodridge Baja 33x10.5x15 tyres
louis fourie
Vehicle: 2003 Hilux Raider Facelift D/C 3.0 KZTE
Club VHF Licence: X101

Re: RE: Re: 2700i......Not just a Pretty Face, jou YSTER!!

Post by louis fourie »

swifty wrote:About 2 years ago I bought a John Deere 4400 tractor from a farmer in Gansbaai. Got quotes for transport to Sutherland and decided to fetch the tractor with a 2 ton car trailer and my 2.7 Hilux. Googled the JD 4400 to establish what it weighs, I stumbled across a overseas site (think it was Tractordata.com or something like that). It gave the "dry weight" as 1700 kg. Got to Gansbaai and nearly had a heart attack when I saw the beast. Acc to the serial number plate, this thing weighed in at 4.5 tons! It was wider than the trailer, but the old farmer decided that this tractor is going to Sutherland! He deflated the rear tires in order to squeeze the tractor onto the trailer. The rims of the rear tires were protruding over the sides of the trailer. Had to go up Hexriver Pass in low range. Same with Verlatenkloof pass. But the 2.7 never missed a beat! In hindsight it was a bit reckless, don't try this at home!
SAM_1765.JPG
Nice tractor
dalkill
Town: Cape TOwn
Vehicle: 2.4 GD6 SR D/C 4x4

Post by dalkill »

eish swifty, that takes some brass ones hey
2016 2.4GD6 SR D/C 4x4 (Oct 2022 - current) (Buraaq VI)
2007 d4d 3.0 D/C 4x4 (Mar 2016 - July 2022) (Buraaq V)
2003 Isuzu KB300 D/C 4x4 (May 2015 - Feb 2016) aka Buraaq IV
2000 hilux DC 2.7 4x4 (Jul 2011 - Sep 2012) aka Buraaq III
1999 RXI 20v (Nov 2009 - Jul 2011) aka Quicksilver
1990 hilux DC 2.2 4x4 (Jun 2008 - Jul 2011) aka Buraaq II
1997 corolla 160i GLE (Feb 2007 - Sep 2009) aka Green Goblin
1990 GLI twincam (still my fav rolla) (Oct 2005 - Mar 2007) aka Wit Blitz
Golf GTI 2.0 (temp insanity for 2months) (Jun 2005 - Aug 2005) aka A mistake
1993 hilux SC 2.2 4x4 (April 2003 - Sept 2005) aka Buraaq

TOYOTA IS MY LEWE

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”