2008 Toyota Hilux SRX 2.5 D4D D/C 4x4 - Lift, suspension, wheels, etc.

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
Uysster
Town: Windhoek
Vehicle: 2008 Toyota Hilux 2.5 TD 4x4 D/C

2008 Toyota Hilux SRX 2.5 D4D D/C 4x4 - Lift, suspension, wheels, etc.

Post by Uysster »

[Namibia]
Good afternoon, Everyone.

I am in dire need of your help, guidance and assistance wherever and however possible.
To make matters worse, it’s on a topic that has been discussed over-and-over.

I am so confused and flabbergasted about all the information, topics, options and prices. So much so that I almost want to forget about all my ideas.
But here I go… For the last year I have been thinking about either selling off my vehicle, modding it, or like I mentioned above, just forget about any and all of my ideas.
I drive a ‘stock standard’, ex-rental. I do enjoy this vehicle very much – It has taken me places I would have only thought and dreamt about in recent years, with no issues or breakages whatsoever.
It is a 2008 Toyota Hilux 2.5 D4D SRX 4x4 with 16” steel rims, running 245/70/R16 Velocity Raptors for the last 30K km. The tyres could probably still go another +/-15K.
I have fitted either 20 or 25mm pvc spacers infront to eliminate the ‘driking-horse’ look – A wrap-around bulbar – Towbar, etc.
This vehicle is obviously painstakingly slow, but it has saved me quite a bit on speeding fines. I have now been driving it for about 3 years and I should settle the last 40K by next year at the bank – Dependant on future decisions.
I have recently thought about doing all / some of the below, but there’s so many opinions and information available that I do not know whom to trust anymore, whom to believe or what to do.

With the below in mind, I want and I like, GROUND CLEARANCE!
- New Alloy Rims, 15” or 16” (I hear and read things about offsets..?)
- New tyres (A whole can of worms on its own – Strictly M/T’s, but if I REALLY-REALLY have to, I might opt for A/T’s.)
- Higher aluminium spacers upfront (30 / 35mm ?)
- Rear-shackles
- New shocks (Another can of worms..?)
- “Arctic” Fender flares (But these things are ridiculously expensive and they are almost paper-thin, I refuse to pay this much for a cheap plastic as such.)

I do not necessarily use this vehicle as my daily runner since I currently benefit from a company “plat kar”.
But when I do use it, I almost misuse it. I like to be in the bush – on trails – flexing whatever there is to flex and looking for roads/paths where I have to use low range / the difflock. 

Starting at wheels what sizes and offsets and inches, ‘pieppietjies’ and what-have-you-not, do I look at?
What other mods do I have to consider along with my intentions? (Wheels scraping somewhere?)
Is it worthwhile to invest in such mods?
Do I sell the vehicle?

PLEASE HELP ME, I’M GOING CRAZY!!!
Questions are more than welcome.
(And responses in Afrikaans are also more than welcome!)
Namboyz

Re: 2008 Toyota Hilux SRX 2.5 D4D D/C 4x4 - Lift, suspension, wheels, etc.

If you're happy with it, keep it! Ground clearance is easy to fix, go for Mikem, OME or Ironman suspension front to back. I's stay away from extended shackles and the like. Don't see why you need more than 50mm lift anyway.
Stick to 16" rims, depending on he "dish" of the rim you might need spacers to correct the offset.
Tyres...well, horses for courses...are you doing mostly tar or mostly decent gravel? Then AT's. MT's are noisy and vibrate like hell when they get worn in my experience...currently running Velocity on my SFA and they're perfect all-rounders.

Maybe an Alu canopy if you don't have anything at the moment. Try and get the Raider fender flares rather than those Arctic ones, they look funny with non-arctic tyres
Uysster

Post by Uysster »

Stef wrote:If you're happy with it, keep it! Ground clearance is easy to fix, go for Mikem, OME or Ironman suspension front to back. I's stay away from extended shackles and the like. Don't see why you need more than 50mm lift anyway.
Stick to 16" rims, depending on he "dish" of the rim you might need spacers to correct the offset.
Tyres...well, horses for courses...are you doing mostly tar or mostly decent gravel? Then AT's. MT's are noisy and vibrate like hell when they get worn in my experience...currently running Velocity on my SFA and they're perfect all-rounders.

Maybe an Alu canopy if you don't have anything at the moment. Try and get the Raider fender flares rather than those Arctic ones, they look funny with non-arctic tyres
Thanks for taking the time to reply.
For what reason do you imply to stick with 16" rims as opposed to 15"? (What is your opinion on tyre size? Will 31"x10.5 R15 work without scratching or binding?)

I'm still very confused on the offset "specification". Too many numbers for my head already.

I do however get your gesture of arctic fender flares without "arctic tyres". :mocking:
Namboyz
Uysster

Post by Uysster »

If I had to guesstimate, I use the vehicle;

45-60% tarred/paved road
25-35% gravel roads / neat trails
15-30% slight-to-heavy off-roading
Namboyz
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

I had 31 x 10.5 x 15s on my 3lt D4D with standard aluminium rims it comes with and it does not bind or cause any issues. The 15 inch rim gives you a slight edge when running deflated tyres on sand. I cannot see why the chassis and suspension on the SRX and the Raider should differ? Get the guys at the tyre places to check what offset works.
The best vehicle to own is one that is paid for. If it is doing everything for you that you need then why sell and put yourself in debt. Perhaps you should keep the standard wheels as they are the least likely to get damaged off-road and rather spend some money on an intercooler which will already help to improve performance.
Uysster

Post by Uysster »

And guess what I found late last night crawling around under the vehicle, looking at the suspension, wheel arches, taking a few measurements, etc... A leaking water pump! :oops:
Namboyz
Uysster

Post by Uysster »

Mars wrote:I had 31 x 10.5 x 15s on my 3lt D4D with standard aluminium rims it comes with and it does not bind or cause any issues. The 15 inch rim gives you a slight edge when running deflated tyres on sand. I cannot see why the chassis and suspension on the SRX and the Raider should differ? Get the guys at the tyre places to check what offset works.
The best vehicle to own is one that is paid for. If it is doing everything for you that you need then why sell and put yourself in debt. Perhaps you should keep the standard wheels as they are the least likely to get damaged off-road and rather spend some money on an intercooler which will already help to improve performance.
That is good news ont he 31's!

I had a look last night under the vehicle and "why does it look to me" like a 15" rim is not going to fit as it will bind with the brake caliper? Is this at all possible? While reading up on the web, it looked like my vehicle is supposed to come out with 15's by default, but I bought it with the 16's.
Namboyz

Uysster wrote:
Thanks for taking the time to reply.
For what reason do you imply to stick with 16" rims as opposed to 15"? (What is your opinion on tyre size? Will 31"x10.5 R15 work without scratching or binding?)

I'm still very confused on the offset "specification". Too many numbers for my head already.
It's about the outer diameter, you don't want to go smaller on the OD otherwise the engine would rev higher.
The early D4D's came with 15" rims, later models with 16" & 17"....not sure if Toyota changed the gearing somewhat to match or whether they just played with with the profiles to keep the OD the same (which would be easier me thinks..)

15" tyres are a lot cheaper so if it is possible I'd go for it; have a look here for tyre sizes/profiles: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=41945&p=492519&hili ... ze#p492297

+1 on the inter-cooler & chip
salmonj
Town: Hoedspruit
Vehicle: Landcruiser Prado,Rav, Hilux. 1995 Toyota Hilux d/c SFA, 2008 To Hilux SRX D/C

Post by salmonj »

I have a 2008 SRX. I did a SAC chip and intercooler which made a big difference in drive ability and was a worthwhile conversion. Have done 40k since conversion
salmonj
Town: Hoedspruit
Vehicle: Landcruiser Prado,Rav, Hilux. 1995 Toyota Hilux d/c SFA, 2008 To Hilux SRX D/C

Post by salmonj »

I have a 2008 SRX. I did a SAC chip and intercooler which made a big difference in drive ability and was a worthwhile conversion. Have done 40k since conversion
Racing snake
Town: Randburg
Vehicle: Fortuner

Post by Racing snake »

Eish George, been through the same dilemma. Use the bakkie every day as a work vehicle and yes, it is by far the slowest vehicle between robots. However when off road the motor comes into it's own. Been to Chobe, Moremi, Mabua, Hwange and many more. Standard 16" wheels and 245/70/16 AT tyres and never been stuck. We normally take a 3,0 D04d Fortuner aswell and the vehicle of choice is always the SRX. Maybe because it's a single cab and one does not have to put up with driver assistance. ( From the back seats) This is from an overlander perspective and not serious off road trails.
Uysster

Post by Uysster »

Sold my boy 3 days ago... Got myself a 2012 Toyota Hilux Raider 4.0V6 A/T D/C. (It's a, "she" this time.)

Let's see how it goes...
17884127_1263485647021007_4654661513705357396_n.jpg
17884127_1263485647021007_4654661513705357396_n.jpg (33.67 KiB) Viewed 4763 times
Namboyz
Farmerbrown
Town: Mooi River KZN
Vehicle: 96 SFA D/C 4x4 2.4

Post by Farmerbrown »

Hi Goerge .

I had a S/C 2.5 d-4d . I put on 15 inch toyota rims . 31inch tyres , And an Amada Extreme suspension with extended shackles. It gave me a 60mm lift at front and 35 mm in the back . 'They were very affordable and were very comfortable . The only issue I had . I had to get the wheel alignment done a couple of times to get it right . due to the lift .
2.4 1996 SFA D/C
2.5 2015 hardbody 4x4 S/C
2013 Everest 4x2
2.5 2012 AWD Kuga(SOLD)
yz250 2 stroke
tw 200 farm bike
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

Uysster wrote: Sat Apr 29, 2017 3:08 pm Sold my boy 3 days ago... Got myself a 2012 Toyota Hilux Raider 4.0V6 A/T D/C. (It's a, "she" this time.)

Let's see how it goes...

17884127_1263485647021007_4654661513705357396_n.jpg
Very neat! Congrats! :thumbup:

Congrats on the new baby !!!

due to the altitude in Windhoek the 2,5 is extra lazy up there .... this new "lady" will smile nicely for the cameras .... :)

ENJOY
Ou vale1
Town: Heidelberg
Vehicle: Hilux 2.5 D4D

Post by Ou vale1 »

Ek het 'n SRX, 20mm spacers met extended schacles, 17" 265/65/17's, Racechip Pro en intercooler, no problem.Het nog nooit 'n band teen die bakwerk geskuur nie (Moegatle, Baboons Pass ens) en ek cruise 130 gemaklik.
lukestoyzx
Town: Griffith
Vehicle: 07 Hilux SR5

Post by lukestoyzx »

Not the dreaded spacers!!

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

Uysster

Post by Uysster »

:drool: :drool: STILL GETTING A "HILUXERECTION" EVERYTIME I WALK INTO THE GARAGE. :drool: :drool:
18342618_10155268155326953_9185032891166884729_n.jpg
18342042_10155268167231953_325424026875043698_n.jpg
18221901_10155268168341953_6913462060459675860_n.jpg
18221650_10155268138371953_151012444529479444_n.jpg
18199476_10155268154806953_7185923171900426462_n.jpg
18199073_10155268158801953_723666213507979592_n.jpg
Namboyz
coetzer94
Town: Pretoorsdorp
Vehicle: Silver Hilux DC 2.8 GD-6 2016

Post by coetzer94 »

Netjies, in rooi lyk SY sommer na n duine masjien!!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Working on my bucket list only makes it longer
Uysster

Post by Uysster »

Gaaf, baie dankie vir die kompliment.
Namboyz

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”