KZTE vs 2.7i

Here we discuss Hiluxes in general. Your view of the Hilux. For other general discussions please see "open Discussions" under the "Around the Campfire" heading.
Jaco
Town: Somerset-West
Vehicle: 2.2P Hilux DC 4x4

KZTE vs 2.7i

Post by Jaco »

Please forgive me if this topic was raised before somewhere else. If so, please direct me to it as am new on this forum.
I am considering the option to buy a newer Hilux. (currently '94 2.2 DC)
What is the expected fuel consumption of the 2.7 and the KZTE at, say 120km/h? Is the addiational money spend on the KZTE wortwhile? Apart from the odd 4x4 ride, my bakkie is mainly my "family" vehicle and is the preferred way of transport. (Met twee klein seuntjies doen die D/C die ding vir naweek weggaan + fietse+speelgoed! )
What would you suggest if "confronted" with both models and the KZTE +R30 000?

Regards
Marius Murray
Vehicle: Nissan Patrol

Re: KZTE vs 2.7i

Post by Marius Murray »

Both these vehicles are very reliable and capable. The 2700i is rather thirsty. Expect 6km/l.
The KZ on the other hand loves towing and expect 1.5 km/l better consumption. But towing capability is just superior on the KZ. I'd buy the KZ........

That motor is used for the last ten years in the Prado. That says it all.

By the way i've been working at Toyota Automark since 2002. Sold plenty of these already :mrgreen:
Marius Murray
SOLD PAMPOEN.

marius safari wrote:Both these vehicles are very reliable and capable. The 2700i is rather thirsty. Expect 6km/l.
The KZ on the other hand loves towing and expect 1.5 km/l better consumption. But towing capability is just superior on the KZ. I'd buy the KZ........
Agreed, I swapped from 2.7 (4x2) to KZ (4X4) and was a bit worried myself but not disapointed with the switch.
marius safari wrote:That motor is used for the last ten years in the Prado. That says it all.
Marius, The Prado's have an intercooler as standard and the KZ not or do I have it wrong :?:

So KZ for me,
Good KZ's = hens teeth (their owners don't sell easily - waited 10 months for mine).
Last edited by Niel on Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

It appears that the 'pre-face lift' 2.7i's give better consumption figures than the newer models. Some minor engine changes were made, Marius could probably fill you in more on this.

I average about 7,5Km to the litre with my '99 Hilux (and it's not even run in yet!), better than I get with the 4Y in my SFA!

Marius Murray
Vehicle: Nissan Patrol

Post by Marius Murray »

the higher the mileage the lower the consumption!!! LEKKER LOS!

The other day we had a guy in our workshop with a very used high km 2700i Hilux with a noise when starting. He said its the gearbox. So we remove the gearbox and checked it. Nothing wrong. Start the engine without the box. Same noise. Opened and removed the motor. What do we find? A broken crank between #2and #3 cylinder. MORSAF! And he drove it for several hundred k's like that! Now thats never say die! :lol:
Marius Murray
SOLD PAMPOEN.

the higher the mileage the lower the consumption!!! LEKKER LOS!
So I should then get better consumption as the engine runs in! :D

The Hilux has only some 44,500Kms on it since I bought it new!

FD, plan a trip or I will drive it for you to get it "lekker los" :?: :D :lol:

Niel wrote:FD, plan a trip or I will drive it for you to get it "lekker los" :?: :D :lol:
I took the 2.7 to Berakkah, and it just idled up the steep inclines, no problem! (Thanks, Difflock!). The SFA battled a bit with steep ascents because I gunned the engine to get momentum up similar inclines, and then the Weber carb let me down :(

I have ordered a Detroit diff-lock from Riceburner, should arrive any day now, and the next thing to look at is an EFI conversion for the 4Y.

Much as I love the 2.7i, it's not as much fun as the SFA!

Jacques KZ
Vehicle: '12 Jeep Wrangler 3.6 Unlimited

Post by Jacques KZ »

Jaco wrote:What is the expected fuel consumption of the 2.7 and the KZTE at, say 120km/h? Is the addiational money spend on the KZTE wortwhile?
What would you suggest if "confronted" with both models and the KZTE +R30 000?

Regards

Jaco,

I got 8.5 km/l on my KZ on a trip down to Southern Drakensberg, with a RTT on the roof and the speed on 125km/h (GPS speed). Improved to 10 km/l on a trip to Kruger last month, without the RTT at 115km/h (GPS speed). :mrgreen:
It tends to fall back a bit at the very steep inclines.

I just love the Torque of the KZ motor. I can't speak for the IFS 2.7i, but the Vigo 2.7 is a huge frustration. You need to chase the revs into the red for it to get going. :roll:

Let us know what you decide on and enjoy the search.

Cheers,
Jacques
2012 Jeep Wrangler 3.6 Unlimited (Rooies)
2011 Kia Sportage 2.0 (die platkar)
Miellie
Vehicle: Toyota

Post by Miellie »

Howzit guys.
I'm struggling with the same choice. Looking at a 2001/2002 model, but not sure what to go for.
Some guys said that the KZTE has problems with the Turbo and then it's expensive to get fixed, anyone had the problem or heard of someone that had a problem like that?
:?:
Miellie

Miellie wrote:Some guys said that the KZTE has problems with the Turbo and then it's expensive to get fixed, anyone had the problem or heard of someone that had a problem like that?
Miellie, welcome to the forum and I am sure you will enjoy it here.

I have been informed the same of the KZ when they swapped from the 3000 TD to the KZ. Can't remember the exact details but the problem was resolved shortly thereafter. I have not heard of any problems as of late. But that is just me, no problems to date.

I will still go KZ.
Jaco

Post by Jaco »

Neil,
Hoe lyk dit, kan ons nie 'n transaksie aanmekaarslaan met jou KZTE en my SFA D/C?
Groete :D
Miellie
Vehicle: Toyota

Post by Miellie »

Thanx Niel
I'm sure I can learn alot from you guys.
Now I just have to get my hands on a good KZTE that I can afford.
Know of any good places to search?
2.7 D/Cs are easy to find, but not so much the KZ.

Jaco wrote:Hoe lyk dit, kan ons nie 'n transaksie aanmekaarslaan met jou KZTE en my SFA D/C?
Jaco, daar is nie genoeg geld nie :lol: Ek wil nog my bakkie kom kyk :D Laat weet net wanneer (Ek kan gou weg glip more)

Are you guys joining us for drinks on Friday :?:
Miellie wrote:Now I just have to get my hands on a good KZTE that I can afford.
This is the difficult part but looking for a good SFA that is affordable (ek skimp Jaco) puts us in the same boat.
windy67
Town: Pietermaritzburg
Vehicle: 2003 Hilux 2.7i 4X4 D/C

Post by windy67 »

It would be nice if Marius could let us know what changed with the face lift model and whether they are reversable.

Windy67
Family_Dog wrote:It appears that the 'pre-face lift' 2.7i's give better consumption figures than the newer models. Some minor engine changes were made, Marius could probably fill you in more on this.

I average about 7,5Km to the litre with my '99 Hilux (and it's not even run in yet!), better than I get with the 4Y in my SFA!

The differences is in the intake post configuration (8 ports on the odd vs 4 ports on the new) which makes it more reliable but less "economical" and the EFI system chnaged as well. The old system used a MAF (Mass Air Flow) sensor and the new one a MAP (Manifold Absolute Pressure) sensor as reference input to the ECU which was again done for the sake of reliability as the MAF sensors are not that reliable and are very expensive to replace.

Read this thread on the community forum where we discussed this topic.

http://www.4x4community.co.za/forum/sho ... #post66602
Jacques KZ
Vehicle: '12 Jeep Wrangler 3.6 Unlimited

Post by Jacques KZ »

benhur wrote:...reliability...
What a beautiful word!! :mrgreen:
That's why we drive them Toyotas... :lol:

Cheers,
Jacques
2012 Jeep Wrangler 3.6 Unlimited (Rooies)
2011 Kia Sportage 2.0 (die platkar)
Jaco

Post by Jaco »

Hi there,
Still on the look out for a low km's KZTE or 2.7i

Your comments on the following please
With a price difference of say R25-30 between the above, which one would you choose and why?
Where can I find kW and T-curves for these motors?
Apart from purchasing price, is the KZTE "cheaper" to keep on road? The fuel consumption on the 2.7 is a real bother, but maintenance on the KZTE should should be higher, or is it?
Your valued commente please!
Regards
JAco
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

Hi hier is `n paar Double Cab 4X4 KZTE`s onder R150 000 op die mark:

1) Image
Make : Toyota Model : Hilux
Toyota Hilux 3.0 KZ-TE Raider D/C 4x4 excellent condition
Price: R 139 900,00
Year: 2002
Dealer: Snyman Motors
Contact Number: 011-6730717
Address: 12 MainRD, Newlands

2) Image
Toyota Hilux 3.0 KZ-TE DC 4x4
Price: R 139 950,00
Year: 2001
Dealer: The Car king Boksburg
Contact Number: 011 918 6127
Address: 80 Trichardt RD Boksburg
E-mail: info@carkingdirect.co.za

3) Image
Toyota Hilux Raider 3.0 KZ-TE 4x4 D/Cab
Price: R 129 999,00
Year: 2002
Dealer: Commercial Auto Trading
Contact Number: 011-493 7010
Address: 5 Edgar road, Elandsfontien, (N12 Kraft RD Off Ramp)

4) Image
2001 TOYOTA RAIDER KZTE 3.0 4x4. E/w, f/CD, a/c, p/s, c/l, canopy.
R 129 950
Prima Inspectacar Wonderboom
Gauteng

Tel: 012 361 2206
Price: R 129 950

5) Image
2002 Toyota Hilux KZTE 4x4 137 000 km, Diesel, Manual, ONE OF A KIND VEHICLE and YES we do care!!!!!!!!!! ask for Shane (the only internet salesman)
R 154 995
Wingfield Motors 3
Western Cape

Tel: 082 877 3431
Price: R 154 995

6) Image
2002 TOYOTA HILUX 3.0KZTE RAIDER DC White 74 785 km, Diesel, 4x4, 4 Doors, Immaculate Condition, Alarm, Full Service History, Air Conditioning, CD Player, Power Steering, Tow Bar, Immobiliser, Central Locking, Electric Windows, Alloys.Canopy,New Tyres,S.A.C.conversion,EMU Shocks,Front runner long range tank(150L),rubberised.

North West

Tel: 082 8044 840 or 018 290 7934
Price: R 159 000 ono
Jaco

Post by Jaco »

Jaws, Thanks for the information.
I did phone around, and the lower priced ones have lots of km's. The last one looks the best, but I am "versigtig" for a vehichle with a performance conversion done to it!

Would your call be to go for the KZTE rather that petrol?
Regards
Jaws
Town: Sharonlea
Vehicle: 2009 D4D 4x4

Post by Jaws »

Personnaly I am also on the lookout for a KZTE hence the information that I posted. The only reason that I am looking for a KZTE is the fact that if driven with a light right foot cosumption figures of 9.5 km/l can be achieved and on a off-road route one can leave the bakkie to idle over most obsticales which makes thing easier. If I do get diesel I will have to get used to the fact that my robot to robot race days are over. Services are going to be more expensive and if engine damage does occure it is going to be more expensive to repair than the petrol engine, and most people I know agree that the petrol engine will outlast the diesel engine.

My one friend toured Africa for about 3 months in a 2.7 DC 4x4 and he recons that I should buy pertrol bakkie. But after joining a friend from work in his KZTE two weekends ago on the Hennops trail I was amased at the low down torque of the diesel in 4x4.

But yes you are correct to be "versigtig" for the high km Turbo Diesels where I would feel more comfertable in a high km pertrol engine.

So far I have not found a DC 4X4 KZTE that I thought was worth the asking price. So am also now thinking I might do better getting a 2.7

I have driven both and given the choice I will go KZTE for reasons mentioned already. The "big" service on the KZTE is every 40 000km and the 2.7 every 90 000km so yes more expensive in n that regard. I took mine to SAC's and had them do some checks on the motor (and other things) before I bought it and it cost me around R 430. R430 = piece of mind.
TopHilux Hilton
Vehicle: '91 Hilux DC 4x4 3.0L KZTE Eng.

Post by TopHilux Hilton »

Prado KZTE (Aliminium head & different Turbo) [Never mind the intercooler]
Hilux KZTE (Cast Iron head)

Power figures for:

Prado KZTE
85KW
343NM

Hilux KZTE
85KW
315NM

My fuel consumption in the region of 7.5 - 8.5 l/km @ 120km/h @ 2750rpm
1991 Hilux D/Cab 4x4 3.0L KZTE Eng
TopHilux Hilton
Vehicle: '91 Hilux DC 4x4 3.0L KZTE Eng.

Post by TopHilux Hilton »

By the way....for an Intercooler you can add about 20% more power on top of those figures.
1991 Hilux D/Cab 4x4 3.0L KZTE Eng
JBurger
Town: ......
Vehicle: .....

Post by JBurger »

Just looked at my kz's figures again - 12844 km and 1298l diesel = 9.895 km/l. See has 98448km on the clock and has the intercooler fitted. I like the power when towing and on the open road, as well as on a steep incline (idling) and if I have to, she giddyup's and jumps when pushed at the robot too... As you may deduct from my quoted consumption figures, I do not drive her to destruction and hope that the engine will last for the next 300 000 km. Maybe that is what you should try to do, get some consumtion figures from the previous owner - it should give you an idea on how the vehicle was driven normally - check for engine bashing??
Image ImageImage

Return to “General Hilux Discussions”