Alternators and elektrickery

Discuss modifications on your 1979 to late 1998 SFA 4x4 Hilux here.
mushroom
Town: krugersdorp
Vehicle: '16 Legend 45 DC 4x4M

Alternators and elektrickery

Post by mushroom »

Hi Peoples,

Excuse my ignorance - I dont know elektrickery :wth: :wth: :wth: but I had a thought. I have an aftermarket air con installed on the 'bongi, and it doesnt work, I wouldnt ever use it anyway. So heres my question to the wise men. Can I strip it out and then put a second alternator in to charge the DCB in the back ?? :?: :?:

Obviously it would suck more power (and more juice), but would something like this be possible ???

Comments/suggestions ???
Q20 if its stuck, duct tape if it moves :shock2: :shock2: :shock2:

Re: Alternators and elektrickery

Yes it would
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Eish Cassie - cryptic..... :lol: :lol: :lol:
CasKru wrote:Yes it would
= work, eat more juice, charge the battery or all of the above !!! :lol: :lol:

All of the above!

Why not just fit a higher amp alt, then you can modify the aircon pump and use it to inflate your tyres quick after play time!

lol... all of the above.

It will chow more kW's but not noticeable according to me. It will be able to charge a second battery or run some other 12v circuit. Just make sure it is properly fused.

Wanted to do something like this on my van but don't have the space :(
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Hey Mr B,
Had that discussion with an auto elektrickeren (at Motolek, Kdorp), and he said that having a higher Amp rated alternator didnt make any noticeable difference to the charge rate of the DCB, as the fridge was pulling less than the alternator was supplying. :?: :?: :?:

Now, my alt is 45A, and this bloke reckons beefing it up is not good for the alternator, it reduces its life span and makes it unreliable. I then asked why the guys beef them up to which he responded that if one has a ORRA type radio and other gadgetry sucking charge while driving, then it becomes necessary.

Me stoopid wif elektrickery - need help..... :blushing: :blushing:

The more bells and whistles... the bigger the alternator you need.

If you have a second alti which you dedicate to the DCB, it will charge quicker in the sense that your original alti charges the cranking battery and the car electrics while driving while your second alti will give all it's attention to the DCB
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

I wouldn't worry about it either unless you have a lot of extras that run simultaneously. Standard, the alt size in the vehicle should be able to rum all the electrical gadgets simultaneously and still have enough output to charge the battery with some amps to spare. If the only extra you have is the DCB, it should still cope 95° of the time. ;-)

James... are you still running carburettor or have you also done Efi?

The reason for asking is if you did your Alternator needs to be upgraded as you are running very close to the max if you are driving at night when raining
Bugzy
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 2015 Hilux S/C 4X4 Dakar1996 2.8D s/c 4x4 Hilux with 3CT Toyota motor
Club VHF Licence: X56

Post by Bugzy »

What amp Altentor do I need if I got a winch,duel battery system with 60l fridge, Orra radio, thermo cooler and GPS?

Bugzy wrote:What amp Altentor do I need if I got a winch,duel battery system with 60l fridge, Orra radio, thermo cooler and GPS?
I would say about 70Amp at least

Bugzy wrote:What amp Altentor do I need if I got a winch,duel battery system with 60l fridge, Orra radio, thermo cooler and GPS?
What wrong with the standard one.I almost got the same setup and no probs

george wrote:
What wrong with the standard one.I almost got the same setup and no probs
George ek dink jou bakkie het standaard met 'n 65A alti uit gekom (ek praat onder korreksie)
Bugzy
Town: Rustenburg
Vehicle: 2015 Hilux S/C 4X4 Dakar1996 2.8D s/c 4x4 Hilux with 3CT Toyota motor
Club VHF Licence: X56

Post by Bugzy »

Thanks, ek het eers gister die winch by Mark gekoop en moet nog die radio koop - het gewonder of ek sal moet upgrade
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Cassie, I have a carb (weber 38D) setup. Currently have the fong kong alt that came with the new 4Y Korean engine (buggered the old alt up when stripping the old engine off.....dont ask :laugh2: :laugh2: )

The Bosch that came off was a 45A, but I find at 0 deg C the fridge turns off if the cab is parked for more than 1.5 days...seems a bit quick to me

CasKru wrote:George ek dink jou bakkie het standaard met 'n 65A alti uit gekom (ek praat onder korreksie)
Dit maak dan sin :thumbup:

Cas moet ons nie dalk 'n paar somme maak nie.
Hoeveel amps gemiddeld gebruik die motor as hy hardloop?
Ekstra toerusting ens.

george wrote:
CasKru wrote:George ek dink jou bakkie het standaard met 'n 65A alti uit gekom (ek praat onder korreksie)

Ekstra toerusting ens.
Ek het ook in daai lyn gedink.

Headlights (55W) 4.6A per light (dims)
Headlights (60W) 5A per light (bright)
Spot lights (100w) 8.4A per light
ECU guessing about 2 to 3 amps
Ignitor guessing 5 to 10A
Fridge/freezer between 4 and 8A
Interior lamps and lights and sigarette lighter 12A
Wipers guessing 7A
Battery charging current 4 to 8A
Winch guessing about 25A

CasKru wrote:
george wrote:

Ekstra toerusting ens.
Ek het ook in daai lyn gedink.

Headlights (55W) 4.6A per light (dims)
Headlights (60W) 5A per light (bright)
Spot lights (100w) 8.4A per light
ECU guessing about 2 to 3 amps
Ignitor guessing 5 to 10A
Fridge/freezer between 4 and 8A
Interior lamps and lights and sigarette lighter 12A
Wipers guessing 7A
Battery charging current 4 to 8A
Winch guessing about 25A
Los maar die winch.Hy kan tot 400amps trek :blackeye:
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Jeez Cassie - that means with my little 45A alt- if I'm driving at night, listening to the radio, charging my torch, and I decide to light up a Styvie, my beers might start getting warm cos theres no charge going to the fridge... :?: :?: :?:

ouch..... :blink: :blink:

mushroom wrote:Jeez Cassie - that means with my little 45A alt- if I'm driving at night, listening to the radio, charging my torch, and I decide to light up a Styvie, my beers might start getting warm cos theres no charge going to the fridge... :?: :?: :?:

ouch..... :blink: :blink:
Jip

Then there is:
ORRA Radio - between 2A and 8A depending on receiving or transmitting
indicator lights +- 1.5A per side
brake lights and parking lights - +- 2A

Then the following stuff also uses power:
Airconditioner
ABS
Cleaner
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 4l V6 4x4 Auto
Club VHF Licence: X31

Post by Cleaner »

Sounds like adding a generator in to supply power would solve the problem :yahoo:
"Every loaf of bread is tragic story of grains that could've become beer, but didn't. - Walter Thornburgh"
"The best cure for Sea Sickness, is to sit under a tree. - Spike Milligan"
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Okay, so I have settled on getting my old alt beefed up to around 90A - done by Bosch service dude. Brushes, bearings and the beefup all for R 650 !!! :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

I will post his details for the Gautengelengers, once I receive the finished goods and ensure they are working and I dont get ripped off...

Now the next project is solar on the vehicle - to power a small house alarm battery, from which I will run a couple of LED strips and a LED spot - so, if theres any solar boffs out there - please dont be shy to share some gaff with me ...pleeeeez :beg: :beg: :beg:
kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

yes the two alternates has been done before

self been there done that
however I had 7 yes seven batteries in the boot to power the sound system

maybe have a read here
http://www.kfxnando.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=93" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

have posted it here before just not sure where, and me not very good at finding old posts

hope this helps
:cooldude:
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
mushroom

Post by mushroom »

Heres a lekka link for us dof okes - its out of a Toyota electrical training manual by the looks of it:...use or dont...
http://www.autoshop101.com/forms/elec11.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

and then :

http://www.scribd.com/doc/18736611/Basi ... cal-Course" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Stubs
Town: Onrusrivier Hermanus
Vehicle: 89, Hilux D/cab 3.0L V6 Ford !!

Post by Stubs »

I have just put in one big Bosch alternator able to push out 1550 W's....runs all my six x 100 w spots, fridge, fogs, 2 x radios, dual batteries, invertor and run all my headlighhts/high beam at the same tim.....been working perfect for over 2 years now...

Return to “1979 to early 1998 Hilux (Gen 3&4 aka SFA 4x4)”