D4D auto what size exhaust when chiped? 76mm?

Discuss modifications on your new shape Hilux here. 2005 till current. Also called the Vigo in other countries.
Hilmar
Town: Vereeniging
Vehicle: Hilux D4D DC Auto

D4D auto what size exhaust when chiped? 76mm?

Post by Hilmar »

:twisted:

Re: D4D auto what size exhaust when chiped? 76mm?

Bigger is better?

I would go far a 76 with just one freeflow box.

Quadmyster
Town: Alberton
Vehicle: Hilux 3.0 D-4D

Post by Quadmyster »

Also looking into this topic of the exhaust for the d4d.

Spoke to a well know tuning company and they change the exhaust to a 76mm until you get to the first flange and then 63mm from there on thru the free flow box and out with the 63mm. And cat is completely removed.

Why i don't know. Is there maybe a loss in power if you do a full 76mm right thru?
Normally the better the flow on the outlet side of a turbo vehicle the better the gains.....
Can some of the big Lux Guru's maybe help out with the setup?

I want to build my own system because i got some access to an engineering shop. But need some proper info on the system before i do so.

Do they build it 76mm from the turbo itself or from the first joint by the turbo?
What freeflow box do the use and someone got a part number on this box?

I read thru the forum and couldn't find a real help full topic regarding this matter.
Quadmyster

Post by Quadmyster »

Bump?
andrevt
Town: sasolburg
Vehicle: raider d4d

Post by andrevt »

i have done both my D4d's ,chipped and 76 pipe and cat removed my double cab is like this since 2008 talk to henk at SAC vdblpark 0832344808
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
Quadmyster

Post by Quadmyster »

So is it a 76 straight from start to finish?
Hilmar
Town: Vereeniging
Vehicle: Hilux D4D DC Auto

Post by Hilmar »

Thanks guys, the Aussies on their forums recon 76 front to back.
A Toyota workshop manager-real windgat himself dragging a 4x4 corolla- recons 76 to a big free flow box, then 63 as it does not rev like a petrol engine and will never be restricted in that set up.
Amtech in Vtown fitted the unichip & dynoed it, haven’t got the figures anymore, but it went much better and got better fuel consumption.
Always quoting about the same driving style
From 12l/100 to about 11l/100
I then removed the cat – drilled & chopped it out- and what a big improvement. I immediately managed to get 10l/100km.
With each mod I got better performance.
Amtech invited me to get it dynode again before I change the exhaust. I’ll definitely do this and post the changes.

BUT It’s still not as strong as our old d4d manual with 390k on the clock, and with the stock exhaust.
I’ll try to figure out how to attach the dynosheet later.
138 to 168 hp
504 to 661 Nm
Now that’s a lekker bakkie to drive, and it gets 9.5 l/100 ---if u behave yourself, which my son amazingly manages to do quite often.
cheers for now.
Mars
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux Dakar 2.8 GD-6 DC 4X4

Post by Mars »

Did you find that the bakkie smokes more now that the particulate filter (cat) is removed? - Blackening of the bumper?

Return to “Late 2005 - 2016 Hilux (Gen 6 aka Vigo-shape)”