96-Luxi 4x4
Vehicle: 1996 Toyota Hilux 4x4 DC Almost Lexus V8

Re: Luxi is getting the Lexus 1UZ VVTi

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Cool, Thanks Mark!

Wanted to ask, they say these Lexus V8's has a hydraulic pump on the engine, that they normally bypass or something. What was this for? (Suspension on the cars?)

And, what can we use it for? :think:

I'll let you know about that shifter, that guy never phoned back!
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

So the shifter was for the 4 speed diesel, not the 5 speed petrol. Dammm :evil:

Back to looking for one. :beg:

This is what it looked like, not bad condition, juts the wrong one!
IMG_4381.jpg
IMG_3813.jpg
mark watson
Town: gauteng
Vehicle: hilux

Post by mark watson »

the pump was used for a hydraulic fan motor on the radiator , we remove this piece and have a flange and bearing unit that replaces it.
if the guy doesnt want to take the shifter back ill take it as that will work on the 4 speed normal lexus box.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

No he just sent me pics, I never bought it cause i knew it was wrong.

If you want his details let me know. Now Im trying to find the right one for mine, but struggling. :disgust:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

:yahoo: :yahoo:

Found one!

Wie soek sal vind se hulle.
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

magic , give me a buzz tomorrow
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Cool

Got some other good news also, found another one even cheaper, just waiting for a pic.

If you want Ill get the others for you for stock for other projects.

Excited!
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Saw Mark on Friday, dropped off the shifter, and decided that Luxi will hit his shop Friday this week.

Then the big fun starts.

keep us update with info and Pics please Mark!

Agteros
Vehicle: Toyota FJ Cruiser

Post by Agteros »

Hi Naas

Net vir interessantheid - wat gaan jy met die ou 2.4 enjin en ratkas doen? Wonder sommer of daar 'n mark vir die goed is?
2020 FJ Cruiser
1986 Hilux DC 4x4. Sold to the Boss :cooldude:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

My Plan is om te verkoop ja. Eks seker daars iemand wat sal belangstel, en my engine is nog 100%.

Die ratkas gaan ons n stuk afhaal om die mounting bracket / housing te bou van die nuwe auto box na die transfercase, so hy gaan nie kompleet wees nie.

Maar daar is n paar goed wat gaan verkoop:
Engine
het n spaar Carburettor
Aircon Pomp
Powersteering Pomp
Exhaust manifold + Exhaust
Het nog Branches iewers ook dink ek
Radiator
As ons nie die original condensor gebruik nie, hy ook.
80% van Ratkas

Daar sal n paar goedtjies wees, manne moet maar solank hulle name opsit met offers dink ek :think:

D Dag is More!! :boss:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

:lol: Jip, more Gaan luxi in om die operasie te begin!

Mark, any foties of that Engine? :beg:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

So Luxi went in today :shifty:

In good time he will be a monster!

Some pics of the motor! Getting there! :yahoo:

See Mark still has a few bolts to sort out :shh:

:thumbup: :thumbup:
09032012(003).jpg
09032012(002).jpg
09032012.jpg
09032012(001).jpg
scout
Town: White River
Vehicle: 91 Hilux dc -pro comp , arb bb , winch , 33'' muds

Post by scout »

any news
" Yes I know we are lost , but we are making good time "
Luxy
Town: Secunda
Vehicle: Hilux Raider 2.4 DC

Post by Luxy »

Hi daar. Ons wag in spanning!!!! lol :boss:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

:clap: Ek Ok, ma gaan nog n rukkie vat. :thumbup:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Visited Mark yesterday, shame the man is very popular now, very busy so no time to post pics yet!!

here is a pic of Luxi, engine n gearbox is out, so there is no turning back!

have a few bits n pieces that will be for sale soon. Mark seems to have a buyer for the engine already.

Mark, thanks for the good work so far, and goodluck with the wiring!
21032012.jpg
TheoM
Vehicle: UZJ 42 LX

Post by TheoM »

Good to see you are on your way, Naas. What radiator are you 2 planning on running ?
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

:twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: its alright theo adolfs 62 is running , now just to get it out of him ( what do you suggest - dark room was a bit harsh ) your rad is perfect for the mod ( conversion - milton is going to be your big bud after this ) , for the lux is a custom ally rad , like i said ive got thermostat housings so i can direct it where i want it :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:
TheoM

Post by TheoM »

mark watson wrote::twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: its alright theo adolfs 62 is running ,
:lol: Take your time and finish Dolfie and the V12 first. We don't want any distractions or interruptions :twisted:

:yahoo:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Then mine soon after please :lol:
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

did try buzz you last night naas , but the phone was off about 5.30 , got a complete vvt harness that was not molested as the gearbox was still on. so we will fit that , the dummy motor is in will have mounts done by friday and then drop the vvt in over the weekend , got the transfer adaptor machined finished , thanks skoonpa , making up 2 sets of mountings so the other can be used on jims, then the dummy will be waiting for theos olive.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Thanks Mark, seems to be moving now.

Shit I cannot wait, the friends all ask me when is it done. I tell them we dont rush a good thing :boss: The master is at work! :thumbup:

Think there is going to be alot of guys soon with V8 monsters, and one luckt fish with a V12 :yahoo:

Thanks again, keep us posted! :thumbup:
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

mark watson

Post by mark watson »

new mountings in

mark watson

Post by mark watson »

96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Thanks Mark

Looks cool!! Now it makes me very excited!! :thumbup: :thumbup:
Hiluxfan_111
Town: Muscat and Midrand
Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux 4x4

Post by Hiluxfan_111 »

Good job Mark! This is going to be some machine!!!!
Hannes Meyer
Town: Aranos Namibia
Vehicle: Hilux V6 4.L d/c 4x4 Automatic 2014 , Land Cruiser pick-up 2012, L/Cruiser Pick up 2023

Post by Hannes Meyer »

It looks good :thumbup:
TheoM

Post by TheoM »

That engine looks very good in that bay !
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

yours is going to look exactly the same theo. jims as well as he has now decided on the same colour.
TheoM

Post by TheoM »

Perfect Mark ! :thumbup:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Thanks Mark. Post more pics as it goes on please!

Thanks man!
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

naas , im pulling my hair out with this ecu story , phoned lextreme but i tell you not very helpfull and also doubtfull , when i asked about speed sensors and the like even for theos olive with manual it was like ugh there is a way around it , now ive heard horror stories of guys paying upwards of 30k for allsorts to get the ecu running properly and they still are not happy , will do some more investigating but if its going to be this route then im seriously going to look at the spit route.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Hi Mark.

I understand, seems like its an issue, you and I need to discusss that NZ option, or get the spit guys to get that 5 speed working. I gues if i have the cable and program on my laptop i can play around with it. Would like have it work, but also dont wanna wait to long and pay another 30k lol

Lets talk. Call me when you can talk
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Mark how is the other stuf coming? Radiator, gearbox and prop shafts, power steering, fans, oil cooler, sump etc?

Is Jan's black lux out yet?
Janna
Town: Parys
Vehicle: 2007 Hilux V6 4x4

Post by Janna »

NO !!

I haven't spoken to Mark himself but understand some issues with the ECU!

Only Mark can update us?
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

naas the sump flange is on , when i put it on the lift ( hopefully tommorow ) i will carry on with the sump , powers steering pipes are done , heater pipes are done , fuel pipes are done ,
jan i understand your frustration , i know you want to go on holiday with it , but as for 9 weeks come on , the insurance which you were well aware off had to check the vehicle before we could tackle it - that was only done on the 25 march and go ahead given on the 27 , on my quote was 5 week delivery , we still then had to remove the gearbox and fix the pump that was destroyed so yes there has been hiccups which does happen , but i am not prepaired to give you a vehicle that is not 100% , whats the use of going somewhere and something happens and you dont even make it. everything is done bar the aircon as the motor must be running for that , just have to sort with spitronics and we will be away .
my apologies for this - as i said i will put it on the forum so i am not hiding anything and i stand by what i say.
at the end of the day i will rather be late and have a quality job than rush and make a mess and get it to you at the time you want it. you will always calm down but a hash of a job is still a hash.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Hi Mark

Thanks for the update. I'm feeling 2 emotions -

Worry - Worried that we will not solve this ECU / Electronics issue. I'm prepared to look at the Spittronics route, but I want the 5 speed, not the 4. Can we use the original computer for the gearbox and the Spittronics for the engine? Or how far are the guys with sorting out the shifting issue with the 5 speed?, Surely they must be close, or is there some other brand for the gearbox? I want that nice shifter I Bought for the 5 speed in, and the 5 speed box is nicer I think. What are our options Mark?

2nd Emotion is excitement - Im excited to see it done and drive it and listen to that V8, like a kid waiting for XMas morning to open presents :yahoo:

You and I have spoke before and as I said and you know, I'm not pushing, but still cant wait to get Luxi back. He has never been away from home this long...so I just mis going out, and want to go do some 4x4ing soon. This coming long weekend we have our trip to serendipity, but Luxi is missing out. I'm going but only camping now, and driving the track with a friend. Luxi is always the one taking the lead.

Let me know how things go this week, and what I can do to assist the electronic side of things please.

Thanks again!
redhummer

Post by redhummer »

Hi Mark..
There is no way it can cost 30K to get things running.. We sell running 1UZ VVT-i engines complete with transponder, ecu, transmission, transponder coils, air flow meter, wired (fused and relayed in a fuse box) with on board diagnostics for 21K so ims not sure where you are getting your pricing from. There are a lot of people that try and do there wiring and all good for them but when they do not succeed we end up trying to fix what they have changed in there harness and it costs time and a lot of frustration. This is what we do every day and thus know it backwards. Bottom line, it isn't worth doing it yourself unless your time inst worth much as we do not charge a lot to do the wiring as we rely on doing volume.
We have moved hundreds of units and generally all our clients are happy.
You cannot connect output speed sensors or temperature gauges to your engines management sensors as this will effect the running of your vehicle. There are independent speed pickups that are on the market that you can use. As far as I know they are known as "electronic ratio adapters". Not sure where to purchase them from but I have been told all the guys with the AC Cobras use these units. I would suggest getting on the phone with the AC Cobra club and find out where they get these units from. Unfortunately we do not deal with clusters at all, only engine management.
We are always prepared to help out clients but we cant be expected to give trade secrets out as this is not in the company's best interest.
I can tell you if you are doing a manual there are things that will bring your system into a limp mode as the computer will not pick up the transmission and will go into a safe mode to prevent damage to the engine and gearbox that it thinks is there.
Transponders and ecu chipping is of no worry.
There is wiring required as the transponder in usually on your keys and thus has a transponder amplifier connected to the system to read the chips.
The 5 speed auto has an ideal ratio for a 4.55 or a 4.88 diff ratio. If you go with the four speed then you should rather remove the box and go manual. The four speed does not have an ideal ratio for the hilux as you would need to end up at a ratio of around 5.3 at least. which is not available for the hilux.
If you would like the ratios for the various transmissions let me know.
Regards..
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

hey whoa timothy , first this is just what ive been told by various people and what ive read , it was not meant that you guys charged that - by no means , make no mistake i am not stupid when it comes to wiring as i am a qualified instrumentation technician so yes we would talk the same language , i just dont want to get into rut where to get this lux going its you have to buy this and this and this , not looking for a horror story , yes i was chipped of the other day as i received a mail saying my request was being attended to and voila 10 days later nothing until i phoned you , i am not expecting any trade secrets as that would be like shooting yourself in the foot , all i want is the immobiliser removed ( i will send you the numbers as promised ) , i have all the diagrams so wiring is no problem , my only concern is - is there a way around not using the electronic pedal and feeding the tps sensor signals ( x2 ) back into the pedal position input on the ecu ,
as for running with a manual , maybe we should get together and see what we can do.
in no way am i shooting what you do down timothy not at all , just wanted some answers the other day , did get your quote and i will come see you as i think it will be the solution for naas's bakkie , but i still have the fj42 that we have to complete , the 4lv6 hilux that has the vvt in is running with the spit system and the v12 is up and running as well with the spit
but some customers want the original so we endeavor to give them what they want.
but will be seeing you soon
cprinsloo
Vehicle: 1998 D/C 4x4
Club VHF Licence: X52

Post by cprinsloo »

Uhm, does somebody have the gear ratios for the various boxes?

What I found on Wiki was 0.753 5th gear for the 5 speed, and .705 4th gear for the 4 speed, just want to calculate refs vs km/h for the various options, as well as 31" vs 33". Don't know if I got the correct ratios...

Cheers,

C
1998 Hilux D/C Lexus VVTi
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

seems right from what I have heard from Spitronics. They recon the 4 speed is better geared because of 30% Over drive vs the 25% on the 5 speed. But Timothy recons the 5 speed is better.

I also run 33" tyres, which is best with the 33" on the lexus v8? 4 or 5 speed?

Hope you guys can help
cprinsloo

Post by cprinsloo »

96-Luxi 4x4 wrote:seems right from what I have heard from Spitronics. They recon the 4 speed is better geared because of 30% Over drive vs the 25% on the 5 speed. But Timothy recons the 5 speed is better.

I also run 33" tyres, which is best with the 33" on the lexus v8? 4 or 5 speed?

Hope you guys can help
My uninformed opinion is that the 5 speed with 33's will be fine! I guess the 5 speed will give you more "options" (closer gear ratios) so that the gearbox will not "hunt", it can select a more appropriate gear and stay in it. But that is just me guessing!! Also closer ratios will be smoother, not as big a ref range between shifts.
PERS KERS
Vehicle: HILUX,CRUISER,FORTUNER

Post by PERS KERS »

Hi daar manne, ek het al heel in die begin gese die auto's se ratio's is nie reg nie, ek het nou onlangs die 3UZFE in die Vigo ingesit. Selfs met 4.5 ratio, is ek en my vriend nie happy nie maar ons aanvaar dit nou so. Met 33 sal selfs 4.875 nie genoeg wees nie. Soos Tim se 5.3 sal ok wees. Jou reverse ratio van die 5 spoed is n probleem hy is te lank en so kan ons aangaan. Ek voel as jy waarde vir geld en performance hou by manual tensy die autobox vir 4x4 bedoel is. Iewers het ek die ratio's van die autobox sal bietjie opsit. groete
cprinsloo

Post by cprinsloo »

PERS KERS wrote:Hi daar manne, ek het al heel in die begin gese die auto's se ratio's is nie reg nie, ek het nou onlangs die 3UZFE in die Vigo ingesit. Selfs met 4.5 ratio, is ek en my vriend nie happy nie maar ons aanvaar dit nou so. Met 33 sal selfs 4.875 nie genoeg wees nie. Soos Tim se 5.3 sal ok wees. Jou reverse ratio van die 5 spoed is n probleem hy is te lank en so kan ons aangaan. Ek voel as jy waarde vir geld en performance hou by manual tensy die autobox vir 4x4 bedoel is. Iewers het ek die ratio's van die autobox sal bietjie opsit. groete
Dit raak al interessanter...
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Eish I dont know anymore :wth:

But I must tell you anything is better than that 2.4. I have driven a 4 speed auto with 33", felt fine, but did not try it off road, and also did not really concentrate on the reverse either. So its difficult to say.

The over drive on the 5 speed will result in higher revs with the .75 over drive, than the 4 speed with the .70 over drive if i understand it correctly.

So Should I go for the 4 speed? or 5? It may not be perfect, but these are my options. My manual is shot so no option there.
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

naas in my opinion , with a 5 speed and you load it , the gears are closer spaced so it will select 5th , 4th more easily than the 4 speed as the 4 speed as you need a larger change in throttle position and speed for the 4 sp to change , but thats what i have in my lux and i was happy , with the spit you can modify the profile to suit your driving style whereas on the original ecu you are stuck with what is in the ecu , i would love to do the 5 speed for you and see what happens , make no mistake i am like a pitbull i have this by the leg and im not letting go until we are proven otherwise. if you are happy my lux will get the same when we change to 4x4. as i said to jan with the v6 i dont let anything beat me. as my oldman always used to say 'cant' is not a word its just for people who dont want to or dont know how , granted elke brommer op sy drol , but then dont take on things you cant do or are not confident you can do , thats why i like the automation side as the guys tell me you cant do this and hell ill build a machine that can ( have done for the likes of hullets,denny,sappi,twt, etc )
mark watson

Post by mark watson »

oops for the slang sorry mods , wont do again.
Gunta
Vehicle: 1996 80 series Land Cruiser VX 4500 EFI UK Import. Long range tank, Iron man suspension, ARB Bullbar, Front and rear diff locks, 33" BFG muds, Snorkel and attitude.

Post by Gunta »

How would the 6 speed auto gearbox do with the 3 uz?
Worry about the things you can do something about, If you can't don't worry.
Live life to the fullest with no regrets.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Sounds good Mark,

lets give it a go. I hear what you are saying, but I'm more interested in the shorter gears because of 4x4, should have better torque in lower gears with better pull away, im looking for good torque and revs in 2nd Low range crawling. I'm never pulling anything, and the heaviest will be the Indel-B 65L Fridge with 2 cases of beer and if there is space some eggs :)

I Must say my dads 5 speed 4L V6 Hilux Auto (Like Jan's old motor), loves to kick back to 4th on the slightest incline, specially when you have the cruise control on, so it may be true what you say, but when it is in 5th the revs drop down to +- 2300 on 120km/h, so that saves fuel. Only thing is on these gearboxes Timothy said the 5 speed has a higher overdrive gear, so revs will in fact be higher I think than the 4 speed, do no :think: :think: :think: .

Lets see Mark, take it as it comes

Other Mark :D: , the 6 speed I also don't know, ratios should even be shorter, keeps you in that optimum torque curve I think with shorter rev ranges between gears.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

O Yes Mark

I put that fan in tonight, just finished now, seems to be the business. Must say the 16" is almost to big for that radiator, think the 14 would have been a perfect fit, but its better to go bigger on the fans I think right.

One small issue, took that ugly yellow fan off, but left the pulley obviously. under torque the bolts on the pulley is just catching the fan, but after a few pull-a-ways it shaved away the plastic a bit and seems fine now... :shock:

Dont know if the engine mountings are also done maybe, they look home made.

I think later I would let this radiator be checked, maybe only a few vanes are still working after almost 30 years :think: , then I would maybe replace it with a proper alli one, move it more forward for space between the engine and fan, and take out that pulley completely with another belt, once I have manifested a bracket for that power steering pump I want to install.

I let the engine idle and heat up much further than it ran normally, then I put the fan on, and in seconds it starts to drop, so it seems like its working good, will see this weekend though :boss:

Any how. Keep me posted on Luxi please and what you have managed with the management. Our last resort is the spit way with the 4 speed, But I know we can get it going. Talk to Timothy again and lets see who can help with what. I have all the faith in you :thumbup:
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Just for interest:

1990-1994 Lexus LS 400 4.0L V8
4 speed Gearbox - A341E (30-41LE)
1st Gear 2.531 2nd Gear 1.531 3rd Gear 1.000 O/D Gear 0.705 Reverse Gear 1.880 Final 3.916

1995-1997 Lexus LS 400 4.0L V8
4 speed Gearbox - A340E (30-40LE)
Ratios 1st:2.804 , 2nd:1.531 , 3rd:1 , 4th:0.705, Reverse: 2.393

1998-2000 Lexus LS 400
5 speed Gearbox - A650E
Gear Ratios: 1st 3.357 2nd 2.180 3rd 1.424 4th 1.000 5th 0.753 Reverse 3.431 Final 3.266
cprinsloo

Post by cprinsloo »

96-Luxi 4x4 wrote:Just for interest:

1990-1994 Lexus LS 400 4.0L V8
4 speed Gearbox - A341E (30-41LE)
1st Gear 2.531 2nd Gear 1.531 3rd Gear 1.000 O/D Gear 0.705 Reverse Gear 1.880 Final 3.916

1995-1997 Lexus LS 400 4.0L V8
4 speed Gearbox - A340E (30-40LE)
Ratios 1st:2.804 , 2nd:1.531 , 3rd:1 , 4th:0.705, Reverse: 2.393

1998-2000 Lexus LS 400
5 speed Gearbox - A650E
Gear Ratios: 1st 3.357 2nd 2.180 3rd 1.424 4th 1.000 5th 0.753 Reverse 3.431 Final 3.266
Dis die wat ek ook gekry het, besig met spreadsheet sodat mens km/h vs refs kan sien, sal later pos.
96-Luxi 4x4

Post by 96-Luxi 4x4 »

Cool dankie. Dan kan ons mooi sien
TheoM

Post by TheoM »

mark watson wrote:..
as for running with a manual , maybe we should get together and see what we can do.
Sounds like a good plan :thumbup:
Agteros
Vehicle: Toyota FJ Cruiser

Post by Agteros »

If manual would that then be the original Toy 5-speed?
2020 FJ Cruiser
1986 Hilux DC 4x4. Sold to the Boss :cooldude:
sir shrek
Vehicle: '09 Hilux D/C 4.0 V6 AKA 'BULLET' Hilux D/C 7M-GE aka SIR SHREK(SOLD) Jetta MK5 2.0TFSI

Post by sir shrek »

I would also like to know what manual box you guys would suggest as this is very interesting
3" suspension lift 31" bfg muds dual fuel tanks custom bushbar 7M-GE
Rear Diff Lock Custom made snorkel
UGLY LIKE SHREK,STRONG LIKE RUSSIA

Return to “Engine conversions (Lexus/7M-GE/3RZ-FE etc)”