9 October 2010 - AAWDC CAPE INTERCLUB TROPHY 2010

Gysie
Events Coordinator
Vehicle: Toyota

Re: 9 October 2010 - AAWDC CAPE INTERCLUB TROPHY 2010

Post by Gysie »

Nugget - they said we must only put over the ones thats close to the vehicle and might touch so if I am correct 1 lenght should be fine.
Life does not consist of the cards you are dealt but in how you play the cards you are dealt!

http://www.gomad4x4.co.za
the BuTch3R
Vehicle: '89 Hilux SFA - SOLD; '95 Hilux - STOLEN; '67 Series 2A Land Rover; 3.5 V6 Pajero; 120 Prado VX 4.0

Post by the BuTch3R »

.....and don't forget your hacksaw :boss:

Looks like Bolt may be taking part... Allan's half loaf may not be ready in time... the guys are trying their best though to get the machine ready!

Please note, the discussion of this event is continuing here:viewtopic.php?f=8&t=14617

Not sure why... but that's the way it is... :mrgreen:
the BuTch3R
Vehicle: '89 Hilux SFA - SOLD; '95 Hilux - STOLEN; '67 Series 2A Land Rover; 3.5 V6 Pajero; 120 Prado VX 4.0

Post by the BuTch3R »

Mr_B wrote:Please note, the discussion of this event is continuing here:viewtopic.php?f=8&t=14617

Not sure why... but that's the way it is... :mrgreen:
That thread is mainly for the Team Discussion as I understand it.

This thread will still continue and is where you, Mr B (as nominated klaskaptein) will be posting the report and photos post event :D:

Shaun, Ciske is still klaskaptein! :thumbup:

But if he gets outta hand... I'll overthrow him and steal the crown...
Gysie
Events Coordinator

Post by Gysie »

Mr B last when I check you the one who needs to be kept in tune - and you weigh in on the light weight. :lol: :lol:
Life does not consist of the cards you are dealt but in how you play the cards you are dealt!

the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

Looks like it might get a little more interesteing.......
weather.jpg
(41.84 KiB) Downloaded 832 times
Gysie
Events Coordinator

Post by Gysie »

To confirm 10 Hand Helds just delivered to me so we will have our own HILUX coms. :clap:

:evil: Might even help with some spy work :evil:

The Tannie is busy with the embroidery of the shirts, I should have it by tomorrow morning
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

OK, All participants and marshal please concentrate:
Hi There

Well it is only a couple of days left now so please read this e-mail carefully and pass it on to your team members.

I am going to briefly tell you about the program and what is expected of each team/club: (It is a bit long but at least you will know exactly what is happening)

Friday

The planning committee will be at Ou TrekPad from about 08h00, we are going to be putting up signs, tents and laying out the parking area’s etc.

After that we will position the event’s caravan near the obstacles and put some finishing touches to the various gates/obstacles.

Clubs are welcome to come through on Friday to finish their gates.

We will then receive the toilets and do all the last minute things like make up prizes and so forth ….

If you sleep over and you have spectators with you please ensure they pay their entry fee as this is our indemnity and cover for them being there.

Saturday

08h00

We want to start scrutinizing vehicles and checking indemnity forms, entry forms at 08h00 sharp.

Please be organized and have your drivers and co-drivers indemnity forms separate to your marshals. Declare your family connections here as well.

We will have spare forms if necessary but remember if you cause/create hold ups it is going to affect our whole event.

08h30

We want to have the marshals briefing, here we will hand your items to be used at your gate to you as well as envelopes with score sheets for each team.

So if you are at a gate as the chief marshal you will receive 8 envelopes with team names on, inside each envelope will be 6 six score sheets for that gate and time slot.

Write the number of each team and the drivers name or reg. on it. Once they have completed the gate, hand all six sheets and the envelope to the allocated radio operator

The radio operator will add up the scores and transmit the individual as well as the team score to the radio control where it will be entered on the laptop.

The radio operator will put the team’s 6 score sheets into the envelope and seal it. This will be collected and kept for verification and moderation.

There will be a ninth 9 envelope with spare score sheets in case you make a mistake. Only use this in emergencies.

Attached will be the revised time schedule please do not make changes and note that we will only work off our one. ( I have since protected it)

Marshalls remember to add the family connection to the scoresheet- The Clerk Of The Course will provide more details on this.

When you are free at the gate the photographer will come round to take a team photo of you and your gate.
Marshals are to control their gate and surrounding area, please try to avoid letting spectators park too close.
Have your recovery vehicle ready for action, shackles and tow strap ready, please only let experienced people do recoveries.
Have fie extinguishers ready.
Safety First

09h00

Welcoming and Drivers briefing

We will have a short welcome and drivers briefing.

Drivers should stay together in their teams and move smartly from one gate to the next.

There will be a designated area near the event caravan where you must report for your team photo session.

Obviously we can’t run after you so read your time schedules carefully.

If you don’t finish a gate in the allocated time slot for the team, 30min you will be stopped and moved on to your next gate.

Obey all the marshals and watch out for pedestrians
Wear your safety belt at all times- penalties will be imposed for not wearing it, driver and co-driver.
You will receive a booklet after scrutinizing which will have all the instructions in it as well as a history of the farm.

Please read the booklet carefully.

No arguing with Marshals please, refer any disputes to the Clerk of the Course.
Remember we are trying to promote our sport and build inter team relations.
As slow as possible as fast as necessary.

Your team number and marshal number is your entry into the draw, drivers and co-drivers will each have a separate number in the draw.

You must produce your team number to claim the prize.

Please study the time schedule beforehand and make sure you know where to go, keep your team order according to your numbers i.e. 1 goes first and 6 goes last.

Lunch 12h30-13h00 for all
Last gate ends at 15h55 if all goes to schedule.

We hope to start the prize giving at 17h00 or sooner.

Spectators will receive spot prizes as well as lucky draws, you must produce your ticket to win the lucky draw and be there.

List of team awards, on some we will ask for input from spectators, drivers and marshal as well as have roving judges.

Ist Place Overall Winner- Floating trophy and Certificate
2nd Place – Certificate
3Rd Place Certificate
Team Awards - Certificates
Team with the most Gees
Team with the most Support
Best Dressed Team
Best Set Out gate
Best Marshaled Gate
Most Fun Gate
Fair Play Award

Due to the numerous changes that are taking place on a daily basis it is not feasible to pre-print the participant’s certificates and it will be an impossible task on Saturday.

So we will print them after the event and give them to the team representatives to hand to the team members.

You will all however receive medals on the day.

I trust all makes good sense, and please pass it on to your teams so that they know what is happening.

Many Thanks

See you there

Kind Regards
Ashley
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
Gysie
Events Coordinator

Post by Gysie »

Team Awards - Certificates - HILUX 4x4
Team with the most Gees - HILUX 4x4
Team with the most Support - HILUX 4x4
Best Dressed Team - HILUX 4x4
Best Set Out gate - HILUX 4x4
Best Marshaled Gate - HILUX 4x4
Most Fun Gate - HILUX 4x4
Fair Play Award - mmmmmmmmm

the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

Some belated pics of the setup........to wet the appetite.

Strategy Team
Team
Team

Mr_B se gat
Die Gat
Die Gat

Small wheel test run - Ciske
Ciske
Ciske

Big wheel test run - The Bolt
Bretton
Bretton

Hi All,

Official news, Allan is not able to participate... he is sick with flu... we need to a new driver+co-driver!

Wynand any chance you would be interested? Anyone else interested?

Mr B
the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

Ag nee man Allan! Don't let the photo's put you off.
Mr_B se gat is nie so erg groot nie. :mocking:

Gysie wrote:Team Awards - Certificates - HILUX 4x4
Team with the most Gees - HILUX 4x4
Team with the most Support - HILUX 4x4
Best Dressed Team - HILUX 4x4
Best Set Out gate - HILUX 4x4
Best Marshaled Gate - HILUX 4x4
Most Fun Gate - HILUX 4x4
Fair Play Award - mmmmmmmmm
Ciske, wie gaan sing en te kere gaan? So liedjie voor elke obsticle :thumbup:

What a day!
I would like to thank everybody who attended and participated. I would like to say a special thanks to our marshals. They held the Hilux4x4 name high last weekend, some of the other teams did not pitch up to build their obstacles and our marshal team jumped it and did it.

This was a fun filled day and was much more fun what I could ever have dreamed it would be.

I do not know what all the results was but I do know that our marshals won the price for the best marshaled gate, congratulations :clap: :clap:

The driver team did not end under the top 3, but I am sure we must have been very clse. I think we did very well with vehicles with a turning circle of an ox wagon.

I appreciate the fact that our team had no problems or arguing, only good Hilux spirit throughout the day.

There was not much time for photographs but there were many photographers so I am sure we will get more photographs later on.

Above pic was taken at our Club's obstacle.
At this one they put 5 tennis balls in a tray on the bonnet and you then have to go trough some big holes without loosing your balls. It went very well we only lost 4 balls for the whole team.
Another tennis ball pic
At this one you had to negotiate a rather easy trail and then stop with the nose of the vehicle above a tyre
Oom Louis concentrating
The Team :clap: :clap: :clap:

Nice and well done, Hilux Marshalls :!: :!:

Look forward to some more pics!

Thanks from my side for all that made it an exceptionally lekker day... well done to the marshals, we did it!

A special word of thanks to Shimano(Wynand) for stepping in, for a sick Allan(Hoppy), at the last moment... it paid off beautifully... Wynand won, in my opinion, the best prize of the day! I'll leave him to tell you all more about that one... yes I'm jealous!

Mr B

yes I'm jealous!
I think we all are but he deserves it for stepping in at the last moment
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

:thumbup: :thumbup: Lekker & well done Hilux Team! ;-)

Very nicely done, Guys!!

More pics would be welcome! ;)

May I comment as an "outsider" ?

I was roped in to assit at the 4x4Community gate. We were about 20m from the Hilux gate.

NICE !

The Hilux team were well organized and did a nice job! The two ACTIVE advertisers also did a LOT to add flair to your gate.

Congrats to your Marchalls and drivers !
Shimano
Town: Strand Cape Town
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC125

Post by Shimano »

Now what can I say - Luck of the Draw.
I won a set of Good Year Wrangler MTR tyres -- thank you Good Year. :yahoo:
Congratulations to all our marshalls, you have done a brilliant job at our gate and the span gees was tops.
:clap:
Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4

Shimano wrote:Now what can I say - Luck of the Draw.
I won a set of Good Year Wrangler MTR tyres -- thank you Good Year. :yahoo:
Congratulations to all our marshalls, you have done a brilliant job at our gate and the span gees was tops.
:clap:
Now that's very nice, lucky you :thumbup: :thumbup:
Traveler
Vehicle: Pathfinder 2.5 LE AT
Club VHF Licence: X81

Post by Traveler »

Well done Team Hilux.

Know what you don't know.

Makes me feel extremely proud to be part of this Club and this Forum! Great stuff guys, it is good to hear you had a good day and that there was good team spirit. :clap: :clap: That is the Hilux4x4 way :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Turbo
Town: Brackenfell Cape Off-road Country
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic 3.5 V8

Post by Turbo »

Ek en my gesin het dit baie geniet.Die organisasie was puik. :yahoo:
Die Hilux span en ons marshalls was 'n lekker klomp bymekaar. :dance1:
Eugene ons radio sponsor het sommer ook middag ete help maak.
Hilux Marshalls
Greed vir die tennis bal challenge
Coenie besig om balle te ballenseer
Ou Trekpad 038.jpg
Ou Trekpad 048.jpg
Ou Trekpad 057.jpg
Ou Trekpad 061.jpg
.Only when we are no longer afraid,do we begin to live
www.capeoffroad.co.za
the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

What a lekker day!
It was great to meet you all and to be part of the team for this awesome event.
Well done fellow marshalls, for winning the "Best Marshaled Gate" award.
And to the drivers, thanks for flighing the Hilux4x4 flags high.

The Hilux HQ
HQ.jpg
The Hilux Fleet
The Fleet (from left to right)<br /><br />Ciske; Andrew; Bretton; Jaco; Pieter; Coenie; Wynand; Kobus; Louis; Shaun &amp; Anthony
The Fleet (from left to right)

Ciske; Andrew; Bretton; Jaco; Pieter; Coenie; Wynand; Kobus; Louis; Shaun & Anthony

Here is da score
The Score
The Score
Turbo
Town: Brackenfell Cape Off-road Country
Vehicle: Range Rover Classic 3.5 V8

Post by Turbo »

Hier is nog so paar fotos :thumbup:
Ou Trekpad 088.jpg
Ou Trekpad 106.jpg
Ou Trekpad 109.jpg
Ou Trekpad 116.jpg
Hilux hindernis
Ou Trekpad 122.jpg
Wielle in die lig
Ciske met die Marshalls se prys
.Only when we are no longer afraid,do we begin to live
www.capeoffroad.co.za
Gysie
Events Coordinator

Post by Gysie »

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Guys - Thanks for the great team spirit and just being a bunch of cool people !!!
I am proud to say I am a HILUX member and will take anybody on he says anything about us.

Next year we are bringing home all the prizes !!! But the best prize is still owning a HILUX

Cant wait for the end of the month to meet all the other members and have a braai.

WELL DONE

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

King Rat

Post by King Rat »

First of all, a big thank you to Ciske and the guys for an excellent obstacle! :clap: There was a lot of hard work put into it and you could see that. And it was a joy to behold Ciske’s face after the event and he could crack the first frosty! :razz:

I also want to thank all the other gate’s marshals who treated all of us very well and somethimes kindly. My co-pilot dropped the egg in the spoon and egg obstacle before we even started off and we got another chance, :banned: I haven’t laughed that much in a long time.

I think this event was one of the highlights of the Hilux4X4 Club and the camaraderie between the Hilux guys has now been cemented. :yahoo: And a big thank you to our sponsors to make the day that more special. I HAD A BALL!
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius

Geluk manne.Dit lyk of dit groot pret was :goodjob:

I need a list of the real names who participated this weekend, this is for the certificates.

Sorry, I do not know all of your names and cannot remember all of the names of the people I met on Saturday :oops:
Could me help me complete the list below and also give me the surnames
Drivers
1) Coenraad Matthee and Francois Du Toit?
2) Wynand Fourie and Pierre Retief
3) Cobus Erasmus and Christine Tredoux
4) Pieter en Elmi Pretorius
5) Louis en Kobus Botha
6) Jaco en Isabel Terblanche

Supporters/Marshals:
1) Andrew Kemm
2) Shaun Butcher
3) Anthony Marola
4) Bretton Eveleigh
5) Ciske van Gijsen
Gysie
Events Coordinator

Post by Gysie »

Ciske van Gijsen
Jaco Terblanche
Isabel Terblanche
Wynand se co driver - Piere Retief

Bretton Eveleigh - Mr B
the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

pietpetoors wrote: 2) Shaun Butcher?

CORRECT :thumbup:
Shimano
Town: Strand Cape Town
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC125

Post by Shimano »

Wynand Fourie & Pierre Retief
Toyota Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4
the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

en Anthony Marola :)

Thanx for the prompt replies, now we only need Conrad's co-pilot's details and we can send it off to Ashley for the certificates.

Coenie se co-pilot - Francois de Toit. Klaar die lysie ge-update. :thumbup:

waars daai lepel .... hier kom n groot stir .....

You DO realise that they are still waiting for a club to step up and volunteer to host next years event.

Isuzu has been hinted at, but have not replied yet.

now just imagine .... a GOMAD obstacle ..... a BURNCO obstacle ........... (can think of a few others as well )
the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

DriveOut reported on the event. :yahoo:

Quite a few Hilux4x4 pics in the article.

http://www.driveout.co.za/barnie/aawdc- ... 0-feedback" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.

I can reply (TEST) .... :think:

Testing...

Shaun.... I am posting this using your user permissions. So you should be able too.
the BuTch3R

Post by the BuTch3R »

cool. Thanks guys.
So, as i was saying...
the BuTch3R wrote:DriveOut reported on the event. :yahoo:

http://www.driveout.co.za/barnie/aawdc- ... 0-feedback" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Ashley
Vehicle: Hilux Raider 3l DC 2010
Club VHF Licence: D04

Post by Ashley »

the BuTch3R wrote:cool. Thanks guys.
So, as i was saying...
the BuTch3R wrote:DriveOut reported on the event. :yahoo:

Thanks Butcher

I received an email from the organizer of the event. We need somebody to go collect the certificates and stuff next week.

Ciske are you busy next week? Or anybody else who can represent us?
See message quoted below:
Good Day All

I trust everyone is still well and that you had a great past 4 months.

Yes it has been so long already since the event.

Unfortunately the printing of certificates got a bit held up due to end of the year commitments and although they were ready early December it was decided to rather hand them out early in the new year.

So the plan is meet at Bobby’s ( Upstairs Pub at Northern’s Rugby Club in De Grendel Road) at 18h00 on 17th February 2011 where we will hand to you, the Club representatives or anyone you nominate to be there the certificates for Drivers and Co-Drivers as well as all the Marshals that assisted, as well as a DVD with photo’s on it.

The invitation is obviously extended to the drivers and marshals as well if they wish to attend.

Please let me know if you can attend
Kind Regards
Ashley

Who of us are going to this tomorrow evening?
Hi Everyone

Thanks to all that have responded, this is a final friendly reminder to collect the certificates tomorrow evening at Northerns Rugby Club in De Grendel Road, Parow.

Time 18h00 , there will be drinks and food for sale if anybody in interested. See attached picture for directions as well as below.

Venue:

Northerns Rugby Club, De Grendel Rd, Parow ( Known as Bobby’s)

Directions : Coming from Paarl side take the Parow/McIntyre turnoff keep left onto McIntyre. Move over to the far right hand side lane, turn right at the robot , keep left and follow the road(De Grendel) all the way down to the end, by the circle keep left and go through the steel gates. The main pavilion should be in front of you. Choose your parking and come to the middle of the pavilion, go through the wooden door keep left and up the stairs.

GPS :S33 53 32.9 E18 34 59.2
Kind Regards
Ashley

Piet ek sal daar wees. As die Lux manne nie kom nie kan ek dit optel.

Nie presies seker nie, maar ek glo ek bly naby aan Thys ... so dan ek die materiaal op die manier by die Lux manne uitkry. (?)

Laat weet maar as jy dit so wil he.

Dankie Chris, ek sal dit baie waardeer, ja jy kan dit sommer by Thys los as hy naby jou is.

maak so, en as ek regtig vas draai kan ek dit direk by Ashely kry. :)

Chris, ons kan mekaar erens ontmoet, miskien weer by die garage.. kom met jou platkar, dan kom ek met myne... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Thys miskien moet ek n slag met my bakkie kom, net dat jy darem kan sien ek het nog n 4x4. :)

Gaan nou soontoe.

Thys ek sal jou more kontak om die aflaai te reel.

okay gents, I have your certificates and will get it to Thys shortly.

Nice certificate of attendance for all that took part - this can be used for your Portfolio of evidence when doing your 4x4 unit standards .....

3,3 GIG DVD with photos of the event.

Vele Dank Chris

so paar van die fotos op die DVD .... :thumbup:
team (Small).jpg
hiluxe-tafelberg.jpg

To all those guys who competed in this event. I have all the certificates and stuff at my house, but I am not going to hand deliver it to you guys. Please give me a ring so that we can arrange pick up. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Participants:
Wynand/Pierre Retief
Andrew Nugget
Jaco/Isabel
Pieter/Elmi
Cobus/Christine
Louis Botha/Kobus

Crew:
Bretton
Ciske
Shaun Butcher
Anthony Marola

Alternatively I am going to drop it off at GOMAD4X4 sometime during the week and you guys can collect it there. :thumbup: :thumbup:

Will collect at GAANMAL!

Return to “Western Cape”