Saturday drive.
- Froll
- Monster Truck
- Town: Vioolsdrift
- Vehicle: 2010 4.0 V6 Fortuner 4x4
- Club VHF Licence: N/A
Saturday drive.
Went for a drive today to look for a spot to go and camp for a weekend and to do a bit of fishing. Took a few pics but there was not many flowers yet as it is still a bit dry in the area where I went. Some pics of the river and some rock formations.
- Attachments
-
- 1.jpg (80.73 KiB) Viewed 8728 times
-
- 2.jpg (90.21 KiB) Viewed 8728 times
-
- 3.jpg (93.27 KiB) Viewed 8728 times
-
- 4.jpg (132.94 KiB) Viewed 8728 times
-
- 5.jpg (138.4 KiB) Viewed 8728 times
-
- 6.jpg (126.03 KiB) Viewed 8728 times
- Froll
- Monster Truck
Re: Saturday drive.
Some more pics.
- Attachments
-
- 7.jpg (111.19 KiB) Viewed 8727 times
-
- 8.jpg (120.84 KiB) Viewed 8727 times
-
- 9.jpg (107.1 KiB) Viewed 8727 times
-
- 10.jpg (89.7 KiB) Viewed 8727 times
-
- 11.jpg (89.77 KiB) Viewed 8727 times
- gavin
- Low Range 4WD
- Town: vredenburg western cape
- Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux
Maar die plek lyk mooi en eensaam waar is dit..En moet n ou 4x4 om daar uit te kom
- Froll
- Monster Truck
Yes Gavin, it is a very isolated place in the Richtersveld, the road there is not too bad. Some places the sand is a bit thick but a 4x2 bakkie will drive it. Today I saw a sight that I will never forget. A young man with a lot of klipdrift in him took part in a fishing competition and drove a few month old Nissan Juke down that road, I could not believe my eyes when I saw the car there. Spoke to the chap and he said he was also supprised to get there. took his number plate no to make sure that I never buy that car second hand. The spot is about 35 km from the main tar road at the border post, about 40 km from my house.
- Oupa Stig
- LR4WD, Lockers, Crawler Gears
- Town: Johannesbug
- Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"
Magnificent scenery, wild Collies and all.
You are fortunate in so many ways.
Enjoy it!
You are fortunate in so many ways.
Enjoy it!
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.
- gavin
- Low Range 4WD
- Town: vredenburg western cape
- Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux
Dankie ja die vrou soek ook een van daai nissan jukes maar ja .Hoe lank se ry is dit dan van die kaap af die plek lyk sommer baie lekker dis die soort plek wat n ou kan lekker omtspan
- Stef
- Monster Truck
- Town: Pretoria
- Vehicle: '98 LTD
- Club VHF Licence: X107
Nice Roger...up here I have to pay to go fishing anywhere...
What species are you targeting? I presume there to be Carp & Barbel...what about yellow fish and the rest?
- Thunder02
- Town: East Rand
- Vehicle: IFS Hilux
- Club VHF Licence: HC105
Ok Roger,you have to stop with these fantastic photos
You are killing me,tar and plastic bags are the order of the day here
Looks great
Post the pics of your camp and the beauties you catch
You are killing me,tar and plastic bags are the order of the day here
Looks great
Post the pics of your camp and the beauties you catch
- yotaman
- LR 4WD Full Lockers
- Town: Hartenbos Western Cape
- Vehicle: '99 2.7i Hilux 4x4 S/C
You are truly blessed Roger to have this part of the world so close to you. I envy you
Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited, imagination encircles the world.
Albert Einstein
- Niel
- Town: Cape Town
- Vehicle: 2014, DC, D4D 3.0, 4x4
Blikskottel ek sal darem self daar wou uitslaan - jaloers is ek nou
- Haboob
- Monster Truck
- Town: King Williams Town
- Vehicle: Hilux
- Club VHF Licence: HC129
Hi Roger, The pictures of Haboob are taken near those kranses(Rock formations) in your photo's, but on the main gravel road during August, 2011.
- Froll
- Monster Truck
Hi Stef, there are mainly yellow fish and barbel in the river here. I am not a great fisherman, I just catch what bites. For me it is more about getting out into nature and enjoying the peace and quiet, not that I dont have peace and quiet at home as well. Its just more relaxing next to the river with good company and a few captains. I will post some pics of the camp and fish if I catch some.Stef wrote:Nice Roger...up here I have to pay to go fishing anywhere...
- Mud Dog
- Town: East London
- Vehicle: '90 SFA Hilux DC 4X4, Full OME, 110mm lift. Brospeed branch, 50mm ss freeflow exhaust. 30 x 9.5 Discoverer S/T's on Viper mags. L/R tank. (AWOL) '98 LTD 2.4 SFA, dual battery system. Dobinson suspension, LR tanks, 31" BF mud's.
- Club VHF Licence: HC103
Beautiful, and those rock layers are fascinating!
- CasKru
- Town: Benoni
- Vehicle: '94 Hilux Raider 2.4i (22RE) DC 4x4
- Club VHF Licence: B15
Thanks for sharing Roger. As Andy also said, those rock layers are really fascinating
- pietpetoors
- Town: Langebaan
- Vehicle: 2.7 Hilux 4x4 DC
- Club VHF Licence: X27
Beautiful, is my favorite part of the country.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
- Danman
- LR 4WD Full Lockers
- Town: Pretoria
- Vehicle: 2009 Fortuner 4.0 V6 aka "BosBuffel"
Sjoe! Roger.Froll wrote:Hi Stef, there are mainly yellow fish and barbel in the river here. I am not a great fisherman, I just catch what bites. For me it is more about getting out into nature and enjoying the peace and quiet, not that I dont have peace and quiet at home as well. Its just more relaxing next to the river with good company and a few captains. I will post some pics of the camp and fish if I catch some.Stef wrote:Nice Roger...up here I have to pay to go fishing anywhere...
I went up Dec last year, wanted to give you a call to meet up somewhere but never got to it.
This seems the perfect place to get some rest, have a yellow tug on the line, sink a captain whilst listening to the black and white on the radio.
Might just have to cancel a few trips to go back your way.
- Donkey
- Monster Truck
- Town: Johannesburg
- Vehicle: 2002 3.0KZ-TE 4x4, Eazyawn RTT, Snorkel, NudgeM Bumper, 38mm Ball Joint Spacers, 35" Maxxis Bighorns, Dastek Unichip, 60 ltr Snomaster fridge/freezer, 40mm body lift, Mikem front/rear with extended shackles, Bilsteins shox rear
- Club VHF Licence: X122