Compact Car Shopping, prices, experiences... Aygo... then..

kfxnando
Town: Germiston
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Re: Compact Car Shopping, prices, experiences. . . Aygo

Post by kfxnando »

Kaspaas wrote:Manne ek wil nou nie lelik wees nie maar my 2ton diesel Cruze gee 19km/l plus. :problem:
Moet daai klein karretjies nie meer gee nie? :think:
Don't you mean 19l/100km

Wow on the distance you have done Piet

My one is on the16 000km
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Kaspaas
Vehicle: 1998 Land Cruiser 105series GX

Post by Kaspaas »

Fernando, If I remember correctly the 2012 2.0D LS MT has a combined cycle of 4.8l/100km(110kw)
I tried searching it on google but could only find the 2013 spec witch is given as 5.4l/100km (120kw)

http://www.chevrolet.co.za/cars/cruze-s ... trims.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

http://www.chevrolet.co.za/cars/cruze-s ... gines.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I know when comparing the options available they had the same consumption as the VW Polo 1.2 Blue efficiency.

:surrender:
1998 Toyota land Cruiser 105 series. 4.2 D

"I am human, I make mistakes, and that is okay, I have my own permission."
kfxnando
Vehicle: Ford V6 3.4 Courrier soon to be powered by Yamaha!! Jeep GC 4.7 V8, Aygo broken traded for a Kia Picanto.2ex, 2012 Jeep GC 5.7 V8 Ovrrland

Post by kfxnando »

so today should have the results of what I think could be the best fuel consumption of my little Aygo

the last stripe started flickering after having done over 717km
that should give me over 21km/l

this is with the aircon off summer long gone, and driving like a decent human being!! mostly!! :laugh2:

will post after filling up!! :cooldude:
http://www.youtube.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://community.webshots.com/user/kfxnando" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
http://s538.photobucket.com/albums/ff343/kfxnando/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I can only dream of that.
Once did a run on flat road, from one petrol station to the next, no stops in between, with strong wind from back and doing 100km/h on the gps and I got something like 20.6km/l

Normal driving if I drive nice is 17, if I drive hard about 15.5.

Fernando, is your Aygo engine also very noisy when it is cold? Sounds almost like hydraulic lifters, but the difference is the noise is only there when engine is under load.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

pietpetoors wrote:I can only dream of that.
Once did a run on flat road, from one petrol station to the next, no stops in between, with strong wind from back and doing 100km/h on the gps and I got something like 20.6km/l

Normal driving if I drive nice is 17, if I drive hard about 15.5.

Fernando, is your Aygo engine also very noisy when it is cold? Sounds almost like hydraulic lifters, but the difference is the noise is only there when engine is under load.

yes on the noise!! have taken it up with the dealer!!
need to leave the car there overnight, so they can hear the noise!!
however
it boils down to too think a oil that toyoya is using for services!!
and the work shop manager has a greed to use a thiner oil!!
just have not had a gap to leave it there overnight!!
and now now doing some suspension work on the jeep, so it wont be this week either!!

:cooldude:

need to leave the car there overnight, so they can hear the noise!!
Got exactly the same reply

Whot concerns me, if the oil is too thick and it makes this terrible noise while cold, dont it damage the engine?
So now they just say "dont worry it is normal" but once out of the warranty the engine only lasts 101,000 km instead of 300,000 km and they just get away with it because it broke down after the warranty expired.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

The dealer that Im dealing with say there was some other Toyota motor that had a similar problem, and has agreed to use a thiner oil on my one once I have left the car there overnight for them to examine

Then on the lighter side
728.3km

34.22 L and me made double sure it was filled to see if I can get better

Comes to 21.282876km/l

Think i can squeeze a bit more out of it :lmao:

Wow that is amazing!

Is this after they changed to a thinner oil
Do you think too thick a oil can have a influence on performance?
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

My one still needs to go for the engine noise thiner oil issue

Howeber I do believe that the thiner oil will make a difference as well

Tyres pressure makes a big difference, running 2.4

On the down hills, I take my foot off the throttle
Couz on modern fuel injected cars it then switches off the injectors, hence saving fuel
And have stopped the pushing it hard on the downhills for the next uphills

Do you know that on a downhill it gone to 175gps
Then fuel consumption goes out the window :lmao:

Fernando, you asked about more power for the Aygo
Check this out, if it can fit in the 107 it can fit the Aygo
http://www.citybugblog.com/2013/03/peug ... 6-20v.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Engine swap, Toyota 1600 Twincam 4A-GE 115Kw/165bhp
Max speed: 207 km/h (128mph)

Can you imagine doing 207km/h in such a small car?

Have you ever considered a K&N filter? But not the cone thing, I am thinking of this one:
http://www.knfilters.com/search/product ... od=33-2131" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

pietpetoors wrote:Fernando, you asked about more power for the Aygo
Check this out, if it can fit in the 107 it can fit the Aygo
http://www.citybugblog.com/2013/03/peug ... 6-20v.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Engine swap, Toyota 1600 Twincam 4A-GE 115Kw/165bhp
Max speed: 207 km/h (128mph)
thanx Pieter!! :laugh2:
not quiet what I had in mind, although when i was searching, did come across similar suggestions!!
was also on that citybug site

as for the K&N filters, Eish, they do flow more however they dont filter very well

might only do a full exhaust, foam filter and chip when the warranty is over

used up another tank, and got very similar fuel consumption
was hoping to improve
on the 1st stripe of the fuel tank indicator did 205km
on the second 265
then on the 3rd something went wrong and only did 110
however got to 718,x before the last stripe started flashing, need to find my recite and post

the new tank, know from my driving so far that it wont be as good!! :laugh2:
been winding it a bit more!! :laugh2:

goeie genade !!! 200+ op n motorfiets is lekker, maar in so klein kar ......

Fernando what about "cleaning out" the cat ? Power Flow unbolts the cat, then removes the inside bits, bolt it back on. Mini free flow = better power (also bit more fuel ....)

I wish you would stop talking about your fuel consumption. Only way I can almost get there is to drive on a flat open road with no stops. Driving on my best in town still only gives me 17km/l and Toyota just pull up their shoulders and say "sorry, we canot do anything about it, we cannot adjust the timing or anything"

I wonder what can cause mine to be so heavy on fuel?

I saw on the UK sites that most guys who installed the normal flat K&N filter says it made no difference to power. The guys who had better power all installed those ugly cone filters.
But now I wonder, is it really the filter or is it the thick inlet pipe that goes with that cone filter?

Our cars' inlet on the airbox is very small. I would love to get my hands on a second hand airbox so that I can cut the inlet bigger and see what difference that will make.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

@Pieter, like the way you think!!

when I get some time will try see if I can find one in the scrap, even a 107 or a C1, they are after all the same
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

hopefully tomorrow is the day that the little aygo goes in for the noise on start up!!

workshop manager, say he knows how to sort it out, other toyota molders have also had similar issues, and sounds like a thiner oil is in the pipeline!!

that will also help with fuel consumption!!

wonder how far I will be able to push that fuel consumption!! :laugh2:

kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

The last tank, there was a little bit more reving involved
A bit of roadrage :laugh2:

Got 19.87km/l
The car still hasent gone back to Toyota for the oil/noise
Maybe next week, believe that the thiner oil will also make a difference

So Fernando, did you take yours for the noise?

I took mine and I told them I heard that it might be a oil problem.
Left it there over night, they called me early next morning to say I can collect.

What was wrong? "Noooo, they must sound like that, it is because it is a 3 cylinder"
So we all learn something new every day. Remember that if you have a 3 cylinder engine it will sound like it has hit the bearings while it is cold and the noise will remain for about 8Km until it heated up. :shock2: :mocking:

By the way, I installed fog lights. I connected it to a "ON" wire so they always come on when the car is switched on. I also used LED globesin it.
Since I could not get the right thing for the Aygo I used the 2006-2008 Yaris lights. They fit exactly, precisely, 100% on the brackets in the bumper. BUT the plastic cover in front don't fit at all. Luckily the whole saw I used 5 years agao to fit my snorkel was the same diameter so I used that to drill holes in the existing covers. Does not look perfect, but does not look too vrot either.
Aygo Fog light
aygo-fog-light.JPG (37.5 KiB) Viewed 7876 times
Aygo fog light
aygo-fog-light-2.JPG (31.8 KiB) Viewed 7876 times
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Like the front led lights
Great info

As for the noise, have not tacken it in yet, will most probably do it next week

As for the noise, did they actually drive the car on an uphill under load??
Couz the dealer me dealing with said me can leave the car there take the keys with me and we will then drive the car when I get there in the morning

Will let you know what happens

Dont know what they did. Mine makes the noise even on a flat road under a little bit of load.

I decided I will mention it each and every time it goes for a service.
It sounds terrible, it really sounds like an engine with bearing failure. I nurse it every morning under 2,000 rpm until the noise goes away.
I know it cannot be bearings because I already added 20,000km since I got it and there is no way a failing bearing will last that long.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

As fuel is going up, went and filled up before the wild rush tonight

491.1km traveled
Used 24.36L
= 20.160099km/litre
Or
4.9602931l/100km

Difficult to beat
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Pieter, car is in
I have the key, and will be there early tomorrow morning
However I dont expect any issues from them will keep you posted

Will be interesting to hear their version of the problem. :thumbup:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Morning

Well showed up with the key
Workshop manager called hisdiagnostic guy
Started the car, remember the car was there overnight
Start , give a little rev, and there it was, with the bonnet open, it sounded even worst
Diagnostic guy, said bearing, however bearing dosent go quiet when hot, it will get worst
So the thick oil got the blame
And they undertoock to do an oil change and use 10w-40 instead of 15w-40

Tried to push for them to use a 5w-40, however they said, lets see how it goes with the 10w
Car is ready, washed, it was dirty

And will see how it goes

Will be interesting to hear if it helped.
Maybe me must just be more harregat and do the same, takes keys with me
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Fortunatly there was no need to be difficult, and me can be diff

They were very helpful

Making my 1st Toyota experiance a good one

kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Correction
They now tell me that they out in a 10w 30

The guy who does the diagnostics, we had quiet a long chat

Very helpful

And if this dosent help, Cant remember if he said even thiner or straight to Toyota technical help/department
We had a long chat, about many Toyota products

Will see tomorrow when I go to work, what it sounds like

kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

noise was a bit better, however far from right!!

so after their courtesy call, told them so, and went past!!
yesterday, they put in a bottle of engine flush, and this morning I took it back!!

they drained the oil again this morning, and filled up with 05w-30
they were just doing oil changes, and was not in the mood to argue and fight, paid self for a new oil filter, and they also changed the oil filter

will see what it sounds like over the next few mornings!!

however they tell me that all those motors sound noisy, even the ones in the Yaris!!

will see what happens and will post on here again!!

the oil filter, after chasing for a 20% discount, was R123.71
Jeep oil filter also dealers without discount R105.95

kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

with the 5w-30, it does sound quieter

just give me a few more days!!
maybe my ears are blocked or something!!

with the thiner oil, am expecting a little better fuel consumption

so far, think, and it could be just my imagination, or no wind, that its a little better on the hills!

Fernando how is the Aygo?

Some feedback on mine:
I had to replace one tyre because it had puncture on sidewall which a plug did not fix. That was on 38,000. Was one of the fronts which still had 2mm to go.
The rear ones are still good, now on 43,000 and I am sure one will easily get 50,000 on those tyres if you rotate often. They odd size so damn expensive to replace.

The engine noise is still there and getting worse, the brakes are still soft, but it goes for service again on 45,000 then I will complain again. Still get only between 16.5 and 17km/l

Mine now has a TPMS system in, new product I am testing.

Still love the little car.

pietpetoors wrote:Fernando how is the Aygo?

Some feedback on mine:
I had to replace one tyre because it had puncture on sidewall which a plug did not fix. That was on 38,000. Was one of the fronts which still had 2mm to go.
The rear ones are still good, now on 43,000 and I am sure one will easily get 50,000 on those tyres if you rotate often. They odd size so damn expensive to replace.

The engine noise is still there and getting worse, the brakes are still soft, but it goes for service again on 45,000 then I will complain again. Still get only between 16.5 and 17km/l

Mine now has a TPMS system in, new product I am testing.

Still love the little car.
And how is the testing going on the TPMS? I have to invest in systems for my vehicles but don't want to buy a dud

So far good. Is very interesting to see how tyre pressure and temperature changes when you drive. I now saw that reason why front tyres run down quicker is not only because there is traction on front wheels (aygo) but also the front wheels tend to run hotter than th rear wheels. I think it is because of 1. brakes, 2 more weight (engine)and 3 maybe some heat from engine.

The system I am testing is nice and small and easy to install.

pietpetoors wrote:So far good. Is very interesting to see how tyre pressure and temperature changes when you drive. I now saw that reason why front tyres run down quicker is not only because there is traction on front wheels (aygo) but also the front wheels tend to run hotter than th rear wheels. I think it is because of 1. brakes, 2 more weight (engine)and 3 maybe some heat from engine.

The system I am testing is nice and small and easy to install.
Tell us more
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Aygo still going well

On tyres
Expecting 70 000km, self do a lot of highway travel
Yep strange size, wont be cheap

As for engine noise dealer advised that I call Toyota customer care and lodge a complain that way

Fuel consumption
Still getting between 18 and 21 km/l
Depending knowledge aircon and driver mood :laugh2:

You have my attention on the tpms

kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Have started the prosses with Toyota to solve the engine noise when cold, will see how that goes
So now as advised past the dealer

Am going to be my normal persistent self
Dont have money for legal games, should it come to that
So if things go wrong and dont get resolved, will jump ship, maybe a Honda brio

Lets hope for the best, love the little aygo

ETIOS ..... :)

NOT the same spec level, but man that 1500cc motor is lively (by comparison) :)

but let's hope you are saved the fight, and that they can solve the noise.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

The power ofa Etios would be nice
However
There is the fuel consumption of a smaller motor
Filled up this week, got just short of 20km/L with plenty of aircon

Then if Toyota dosent come to the party, then no way I can support them further
My jeep, 200 000km plus, lifters make a little noise when cold, however before I leave my gate, its quiet
Aygo, under 30 000km 2km later, its still noise, and when I back off the throttle its quiet, in otherwords load dependant

Now I have read somewhere that the Corolla model coming out next year will have a revised diesel derivative. Instead of the 2.0 D-4D they will now have a 1.4 diesel (not sure if a D-4D). They are talking of figures like 3.8L/100km. Now that is impressive. And the best... it is evidently more powerful than the 2.0 D-4D.

I can live with 26km/L any time
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

That would be impressive

Here are the numbers from last fill up

718.5km traveled
Took 36.058L after shacking the little Aygo
Works out to 19.92623km/L or 5.0185108L/100km

Toyota claims 4.7L/100, however it takes a whole different attitude to get those numbers, hence why I only got it once

Fernando we must keep on fighting about the noise. I heard today that the Toyota agents did receive a "bulletin" that some Aygo's suffered piston slack, exactly what I think the problem is with that noise. I was promised that when the guys from factory visit our area again they will warn me beforehand so that I can take my Aygo there the night before. I did tell them today that my worries is that they keep on doing nothing and one day when it is out of warranty the engine packs up and then I have to pay.

They only have to keep us happy for the first 100,000km, after that it is to their benefit if the engine packs up.
I also thought the solution to put in thinner oil is also not good idea. That will increase the wear on the engine. Again, it will keep you happy for the warranty period but afterwards you will be worse off.

By the way, check out the Ford EcoSport's stats
1000cc, 92kW and 170Nm of torque at just 1500rpm
Amazing what they do with these small engines recently
The Ford is almost double the price of the Aygo but the stats are impressive.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Thanx for the feed back
Have only had feedback from the call centre telling me that they are still waiting for the agents

Yep and agree that it could be piston slap, as when I back off it goes away
My bakkie also started with small knock, now bad!! Havent fixed it couz the lexus needs to be fitted

As for oil thickness, self prefer thinner oil, as most of wear and tear happens on start ups, and its easier to pump thin cold oil up, then thick cold oil

Yep that ford 1000cc is double the price of our Aygos

Then for my 1st Toyota, and my 1st brand new car out the box, am disapointed with the motor problem

Yep, my V6 also has piston slap, howerver, that motor took big abuse when it was in the Sierra, dicing, towing, big millage and then into the bakkie towing overheating, and I think the final straw was cpf patrolls at extreme low revs, too low revs to get proper lubrication onto the sleevs

If you get something in writing, pls grab it!! And will do like wise from this side
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Just had an idea

There is currently an international motor show on now in jhb

And believe that Toyota is a big part of it

Either I get someones attention there nicelly of I make a big spectacle of my self and get everybodys attention and get kikked out

:boss:

Mine was inspected by the factory guy last week and he said it is normal engine growl.

I told them I still disagree with them, still waiting for reply

After the test this was their reply.
Just to confirm that customer's concern is that this vehicle's engine sounds noisy when cold but that the noise disappears once normal operating temperature is reached.

Vehicle was left at your Dealership overnight.
We drove the vehicle on Thursday, 24 October 2013 for testing purposes.
Normal "engine growl" (normal on Aygo motor) was heard, especially under load conditions.
Engine does become quieter immediately after required oil pressure is attained and operating temperature is achieved.

I am 100% satisfied this vehicle's engine meets all Toyota requirements and that no defects are currently noted. My sincere thanks to Pieter for affording his Aygo for test purposes.
Kind regards,
Peter M Stevens
Field Technical Manager: West Coast Region
Cell: 074 892 5062
pstevens2@tsb.toyota.co.za
Genissie
Town: Hartenbos
Vehicle: LC 80, 4500
Club VHF Licence: X254

Post by Genissie »

i rented an ayego last year for a while and loved it, for a city car i think it's awesome. I didn't felt that I was "renting" a car and wasn't shy to be seen in it, like in a spark for instance....
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Right some feedback
wend morning Toyota technical service adviser showed up, car had been standing there since the night before, so all was cold
he took a pic of the oddo
workshop manager, and main mechanic were also present, started the car with the bonnet open, just gave the throttle a little tough and the noise was there, no arguments, no ifs and buts, the noise is clear
Peter, sounds like you guys went for a drive, making it more difficult to hear and isolate the noise
so let's see how this one gets solved/resolved
they Said they would get back to me, they mentioned a few Friday Monday, they said
no rush
did explain to Them my reason why I chose this car and long term plans and pchoice, so let's see what happens
and once once my one gets solved, it might be easier to solve others

my ideal would be a complete motor replacement
As if they repair, me believe it will involve a re bore, and the correct size pistons and me don't think they want me snooping around and checking on progress and doing my own measurements of bores and pistons. Lol

so time will tell :cooldude:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Só the little Aygo motor is stripped
and it does look like piston slap

however, the little Aygo has spoiled me with the fuel consumption
as I get just over or just under 20km/l
that makes every thing else look heavy on fuel

been looking at the kia Picanto, that looks very nice and attractive, full of features
been looking at the Etios with all the upgrades, improvements in a few departments, including different seats, radio

however despite that I have already paid 19 months on Aygo, giving up on those 20km/L is very difficult

You are lucky, the factory guy who inspected mine needs hearing aids as he said it is normal "engine grunt"
They gave me an extended warranty to 5 years or 180,000km.

Must say I am rather cheezed off with Toyota. Besides the engine noise the brakes are still spongy even after I complained about it at two services. Guess I will have to fix it myself if I want it fixed.
Fuel consumption dropped from 17km/l, the last 3 tanks I only got 15 to 15.5 km/l and I guess the piston slap can play a role.

As for the piston slap I will just keep on driving the car, some time or other it will become so serious that they have to fix it.
The closer to the end of the warranty period they fix it the better deal it is if I intend to keep the car for that long and of course if I can stand a Toyota workshop for that long.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

At the risk of taking this thread in a whole different direction
and this has been discussed here before

the dealer can make or break a brand

we have a perfect example here

then with the jeep, the dealer by the Glen, was great, then management became difficult, and made staff life difficult
so the main teck in the workshop and the one very helpful spares guy all left in a short period of time
so that experience went great to bollie
lucky a new jeep/Chrysler/Fiat dealer opened up in Medodale
great to deal with, better prices and willing to discount further
workshop guy also willing to give good advice

you having a bad experience, my experience not perfect however they have been great and even organized me a loan car

a long time friend, his wife drives a FJ, reported some issue with the dealer

maybe the group that the dealer belongs to has an influence
both the new jeep dealer and the toyota dealer are part of imperial grop
believe the Dakar hilux has been in workshop a few times, not for repairs though LOL

will update as things go on
the Etios was nice to drive on the way home

will see how it goes over the next few weeks

WATCH that Etios ..... it may well find a spot in your heart ..... :) :)

the way you drive, I would hazard a guess of 17km/l ..... AND a bit of ooomph when you want it.

Chris if you get 17 he should get 20. They told me I get 17 and not 20 because I am down by the coast ???????????
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

If the etios gives me 17-18km/L, then it's only the obstacle of restarting the payments from the beginning

as believe that I can live with the 17-18km/L for the extra pennies, saw on the way home, that it took no effort on hills

At the risk of loosing money
And believing that the Aygo is going to stand for a while, going to fill up and see what fuel consumption it returns

find at low revs, it takes very little throttle to jump forward

I travel mostly highway and have very little traffic partly due to my working hrs only start at 12 most days, main reason why I believe I get the fuel consumption that I get
from work to highway about 3.5km, with only two traffic lights, and often get on the highway with out having to come to a stop

so yes am fortunate to have a good set of circumstances for good fuel consumption
except
With the jeep V8
wife with bumper to bumper traffic get better fuel consumption then what I get on my work route
I say it's couz she doesn't appreciate and use the V8 properly :lmao:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Só like I said earlier
etios filled up
and due to savages trying to rob wife today, have done some extra driving
125.5km and yes, this afternoon it was hot, and now a bit cooler
drove nicely, a little traffic, nothing bad

used 7.82l
meaning 16.05 km/L
6.23l/100

edit
aircon on all the way

I get around 14,5km/l with the Etios - but that is a LOT of short trips and town driving.

One tank of 600km included a 200km round trip of open road driving - the average for that TANK was 16,2 km/l !!

steady foot and open road at about 110km/h it would be VERY interesting to see where the fuel economy comes in ..... Fernando are you doing a test for us ? :)
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Yep am sharing the tests, as the fuel consumption will help me decide what direction we go in

speed, yep around 110 up and down

the dealer said they are going to get me a rented car, and I will need to bring back the etios
told them no way, have already filled the etios and will be testing it!! Lol
so they will be using the rented car, have no idea what the rented car is
Lol :cooldude:
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Só here is a little update

Aygo is still in, and haven't heard anything this week
been driving the etios, and nope it did not grow on me
etios has nice power, however find the interior noise then the Aygo
will most probably fill up today again, have done around 550km and see that I have two little stripes left over
have been driving it like I drive the Aygo
will post results as soon as I refill

have been shopping and trying to decide what to do once the Aygo is back
have looked at chevy spark, been driving the etios and been to a dealer to sit in the latest one as the seat has been upgraded
and been looking at the kia Picanto
we actually took a picanto for a test drive this morning

and that has us hooked!! Not as much power as the etios however more then the Aygo by far
similar fuel consumption!!
and a lot more car then the etios for a similar price

find the etios needs more steering input to keep where one wants it go and to keep it in its lane, and wheel alignment is fine
picanto is similar to the Aygo in keeping it where one wants
we drove the picanto about 30km on my daily route, with the steep hills
picanto has an onbord computer with fuel consumption details
has econo Mode and normal mode, and even a shift light for best fuel consumption
Seating feels good
fuel consumption could be very close to the Aygo, and with a slightly bigger motor, and still a small body could be close with the route that I travel

oh how could I forget
the picanto has blue tooth for the phone on the steering
and the radio controls also on the steering, like my jeep!! :laugh2:

think that toyota has dropped the ball on these 1000cc motors, as my one is not the only one, some of the yaris 1000cc also had the same problem
:naah:

will post as and when I change my mind or decide

just need to get over the few extra rand for the picanto
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Filled up the Etios

traveled 537.5km
used 36.12L
aircon on 98% of the time

14.88km/L
am disapointed, as this puts the final nail on the etios
miss my aygo . . . . .

Fernando a VERY good comparative report !! YOU should consider free lancing as a motor journalist .......

On the Kia Picanto - this vehicle has "grown up" over the last decade. Been almost 8 years since we test drove one - at the time it was really not a nice vehicle - SHORT gears to compensate for the lawn motor motor .... At the time my mom bought a Daihatsu Charade ,also a lawn motor motor, yet for the era it was better value for money ... sorry going off topic.

TODAY's Picanto - what size is it ?
engine size?
cab space/size? Is it close to the Aygo, or the Etios in size? Space wise my options were Etios, Figo, Polo, Chevvy.

Intersting that you are having issues with your "straight line steering" - mine goes straight ... only in strong cross winds that it needs some correction.

fuel consumption :( :( REALLY hoped you would see better. Maybe less power due to the altitude ??

think that toyota has dropped the ball on these 1000cc motors, as my one is not the only one, some of the yaris 1000cc also had the same problem
:naah:
The Aygo is mos the mixed match car with the Citroen and Peugeot
From where does the engine comes from, does this engine has a mother?

What worries me if they had this problems way back since the Yaris why have they not fix their problem yet.

Good report, I like non-official reports like this far more than the reports you read in a magazine.
Well done!
Oupa Stig
Town: Johannesbug
Vehicle: Hilux KZTE 4X2 "Stagger Lee", Hilux IFS 2.7 4x4 "Loretta"

Post by Oupa Stig »

So the Mother-in-law sent us a pic today, she's traded her Corsa in on an Etios. Haven't heard her moanin' the whole day, so she must be happy with it....
I feel a lot less wise at 45 than I did at 15.
kfxnando

Post by kfxnando »

Peter
the motor and gearbox js Toyota
one of the reasons why I felt comfortable in getting one

to every one on here
not knocking the brand, however it is what it is from where I sit
and I enjoy it here, and plan on being here for a long time still :surrender:

However
toyota is no longer what it used to be
heard from a reliable source, and do not wish to mention names as it could have employment consequences for those talking
toyota is an established brand, with the word reliability going hand in hand, hence why toyota is willing to take chances with cutting costs to the point that customers end up having issues
other brands also have issues with similar setups, however I don't drive those other brands :naah:

however these Aygo motors are not the only motors in the toyota range with such issues
believe, some of the new 1.3s have similar issues
and believe that some of the replacement sub assemblys come with similar issues as they come off the same production line, in some cases the presses has had to be repeated of replacing the sub assembly again

besides all thatI
Me is most likely going to jump ship
we have looked at a few cars, and took the Kia Picanto for a test drive
Couz both dealers are from the imperial group, looks I can get a deal done even before the Aygo is finished
yes its more money
however similar fuel consumption, and couz it's a 1.2 and a 4pot, fuel consumption could even get better as less foot lat on the hills
and a lot more car

so
if anyone has anything to say about the kia or the picanto
SPEAK NOW or forever hold your piece