Please help with 2.4 to 2.7i conversion

Discuss modifications on your 1979 to late 1998 SFA 4x4 Hilux here.
hilux hilife
Town: gauteng
Vehicle: '97 hilux D/C 2.7i 3RZ

Please help with 2.4 to 2.7i conversion

Post by hilux hilife »

Hi All
I have some problems fitting a 2.7i to my 2.4 SFA lux.

I don't think that it's something that can't be sorted out, so but let me relate the whole story.

I bought a 3RZ motor with ECU and harness that was removed from a SFA in Pretoria. Assuming the motor is good I had it fitted by a Toyota specialist in Ermelo, he did all the mechanical fitting, but when he couldn't get it running he took it to CC dyno in witbank to fit a Spitztronics ECU.
They kept the bakkie for about 6 weeks without being able to get the motor to rev past 4000 they replaced fuel pump, changing valve timing, removed the exhaust, changed fuel pipe diamaters and even different ECU.

After a total of 13 weeks and no real progress I took the bakkie back from witbank, it runs, but not well with many problems as I list below.
So now PLEASE I'm hoping that some of you specialists will be able to give me some advice assistance in recovering this disaster.

Probelems:
no power, I can feel that she wants to go at idle but anything past that, it lacks power.
Excessive fuel consumption ( not confirmed, but more than half a tank for 100kms)
Currently it won't even start
A bad vibration on pull away ( I think the exhaust is fouling a suspension member)
numerous smaller issues with the dash like Speedo and rev counter not working and the temp gauge climbs and falls like a yoyo.

PLEASE HELP
Toybox
Vehicle: Hilex
Club VHF Licence: X100

Re: Please help with 2.4 to 2.7i conversion

Post by Toybox »

Afraid I've had nothing but bad experiences from CC dyno in the Banks. They're a bunch of cowboys who, in my opinion, dont fully understand the Spitronics system and its workings :evil:

HOWEVER given that the engine had problems prior to the ECU change I would guess that there is a mechanical fault, maybe timing out a tooth or three? :eh:
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Interesting news about CC dyno and it a round about way it might be good news in that they are just don't know what they ae doing and that makes me think that we should check all their work.
Thanks for your input
Toybox
Vehicle: Hilex
Club VHF Licence: X100

Post by Toybox »

Thing is, I'm sure they can install the unit without any problem, but so can just about anyone.

The wiring of the Spitronics is very simple; the trick is in the dynoing and software setup, for that I would see Schalk. However that is not to say that the software is the problem in this particular case.
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Thanks but who is schalk. Bearing in mind that I'm in Benoni

Schalk is DynoLogic, location is somewhere in Pretoria... to date he has offered many of the forum guys excellent service and has fixed/repaired many gremlins on EFi systems. He also specialises in dyno tuning of 4x4's and knows how to dyno the 4x4's for offroad low rpm performance... not just high rpm like the go-fast street racer gang! Bennie will give u his number and address!

On your power issue... I tend to think the valve timing is out... happened to me with a pro rebuilt engine... had no power... turned out to be 2 teeth out of the cam gear... I think the engine must have been assembled by an appi... no EMU will solve your proble,... take it to someone who knows the 2.7i well to have the valve timing checked properly and corrected if need be... if it's not the valve timing... check the state of the cam, while to timing gear covers etc. are removed... badly warn cam lobes can also cause poor power... heavy consumption...

B :thumbup:
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Good advice
thanks I will do

Book your vehicle in at Schalk and let him sort it out for you. He has already done quite a few Spittronics Installations and even more dyno's on Spittronic that was installed by other guys as well.

Schalk van Niekerk
Dynologic Repairs
Doornpoort Pretoria
082 880 6116
012 547 1261
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Thanks Bennie I spoke to Schalk yesterday and I've booked the bakkie in for next week. It won't even start now so I'm going to have to tow it to him, I hope he has lots of patients

Actually, it would be better if Schalk had fewer patients, but more patience... :P

Gotta just luv spell-checkers... :mrgreen:

Eric... isn't it 'spell checkers'... not 'spell-checkers'... no hyphernation?

B :twisted:

snipes wrote:Eric... isn't it 'spell checkers'... not 'spell-checkers'... no hyphernation?

B :twisted:

Dunno.... wot's "hyphernation' mean? :mrgreen: :evil:

My thing wot checks for spelling mistakes doesn't like that word either! :P

hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

I can spell Checkers! ....... Shoprite Checkers
Castos
Vehicle: Ry die vyand
Club VHF Licence: B01

Post by Castos »

Hi there,

Sorry to read about your 3RZ problems. Did you speak to to Peet from Spitronics? He is very helpfull and generally very friendly and helpfull. Sorted out all my problems with took him 2 days for free. :thumbup:

His also refered me to Schalk to have her dynoed to get the best out of her. According to him, Schalk is the best in the country. :clap:

I just need the time and tollgate fees to get to him.

We had a problem with my starting, it turned out to be that one of the coil wires was connected incorrectly. my overfueling was due to the water temp wireing be swopped around.

Get her sorted out, it's the best investment on a SFA next to OMU and ARB lockers. :twisted:

My wife and myself are now always fighting to see who is driving when we venture offroad. :roll:
97 Hilux Raider D/C With some exstra's
Elands4x4
Ons gaan dieper en bly langer!!!
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Thanks for your words of encouragement I need it at this stage the bad experience has left a sour taste in my mouth but I know there are some very knowledgeable people around that will easily sort out these problems.
I am taking my bakkie to schalk tomorrow and I will leave it there for him to sort out- I hope1
Thanks again

Schalk for President :thumbup: :thumbup:

I wish he was in Kaapstad :roll:

Hope your mouter is up and running soon mate :wink:

Hey Richard,

Sakkie of DynoTech may be a little on the go-fast side of the line... but he still did a really sweet job of dyno tuning my lux!

B :thumbup:
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Well guys i dropped of my lux at schslk yesterday and i expect that when I get it back it will be running so sweeet. Can't wait

hilux hilife wrote:Well guys i dropped of my lux at schslk yesterday and i expect that when I get it back it will be running so sweeet. Can't wait

Eish, he's the Local Butcher, go back and get it quick :o:

then take it to Schalk's ne :wink:
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

One day I'll get the hang of this tyopping thing
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Well I got the bakkie back from Schalk last night and after only driving it back from his house to the east rand I must say what a different vehicle. I expected some improvement but I was pleasnatly surprised with the performance. I was pushing 120 - 130 up the long hill to Rigel ave off ramp without any hassle in the traffic as well. This is exactly what I was looking for and the main reason why I ditched the 2.4. I don't want to do any speeding with the bakkie but I do want to be able to travel comfortably up hill.
It seems that I haven't lost any torque at the lower revs either so I expect that the off road performance will be similar to the 2.4 plus more torque - Wow
I still have to go through the bakkie and sort out some of the damage done by the guys in witbank, but the bakkie is back home and I am happy. When I've completed this modification ( if ever) I will post some pictures and give costs and the lessons I learnt albeit costly.
3RZ
Vehicle: 2004 Legend 35 Hilux 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by 3RZ »

Do you know what the problem/s was ?
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

The problem came down to just SLAPGAT work the okes from cc dyno just twisted loose wires together without even soldering them never mind insulating them, so obviously the signal to and from the Spittronics box was compromised. Also some of the wiring was so tight that it broke the resistors. I will still go through the bakkie checking all the wiring.
So ultimately the problem was bad choice of installer
3RZ
Vehicle: 2004 Legend 35 Hilux 2.7 DC 4x4

Post by 3RZ »

Great, glad your Lux is sorted out. Don't forget to give us feedback on the fuel consumption.

I think the 3RZ-FE and the SFA is a great combination Enjoy :thumbup:

Glad to hear your sorted bru :thumbup: :thumbup:

I agree:

SFA + 3RZ + Aftermarket ECU = Winning Combo :P
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Well i certainly have to agree with you and I will be sure to monitor the fuel consmption, Schalk reckons if I drive lightly I should get 8km /l but we'l see when I can afford to fill the tank again

Glad to hear you are sorted now.

Keep us updated

Mike where exactly do you stay? Please update your details.
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

I will update my details with pleasure - but where -how?
please advise
thanks

Hi Mike,

At the top left corner of the page, click on "User Control Panel". Then look for your Profile, and edit accordingly.

hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Thanks FD i updated my profile

A quick question on the conversion. After installing the 2.7 bell housing there is a gap where the front of the flywheel is exposed and I was thinking of making a 3mm plate to ccover it but is there a more elegant solution that wont let water in - the more I close things in the more water will stay inside? do I need an escape hole for the water that does find it's way into the bell housing?
What is the common wisdom on this one?
cheers

Normally that hole is just covered by a "dust plate".

It is more to keep debris and mud etc. out but is not sealed with a gasket so it would not retain water
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

I managed to order one of those plates frm toy spares - pricey at R250 for a small flat plate
Spartan
Town: Vanderbijlpark
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

hilux hilife wrote:Schalk reckons if I drive lightly I should get 8km /l
Those motor gave normally 8Km/l, I think you might get a little better, I had a single cab that gave me that with the standard ECU so I think you will get better with the aftermarket ECU, but let us know. I also heard some models on the 3RZ did give up to 10Km/l but I have not seen it myself. :wink:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

I was hoping to get 8km/l which will be almost double the consumption of the 2.4.
I'm going up to Botswana, Makgadigadi pans, next month for a short trip so I'l have a good opportunity to check it out and give some feedback

Spartan wrote:
hilux hilife wrote:Schalk reckons if I drive lightly I should get 8km /l
Those motor gave normally 8Km/l, I think you might get a little better, I had a single cab that gave me that with the standard ECU so I think you will get better with the aftermarket ECU, but let us know. I also heard some models on the 3RZ did give up to 10Km/l but I have not seen it myself. :wink:
But remember the aerodynamics on an SFA is not as good as on an IFS you will have to drive very economically to get a low consumption figure
Spartan
Vehicle: 98 LTD Hilux 4x4 SFA, 2JZ GE L6 VVT-i 3.0i, Bilstein shox, OME and a Land Cruiser 79 series

Post by Spartan »

BenHur wrote:But remember the aerodynamics on an SFA is not as good as on an IFS you will have to drive very economically to get a low consumption figure
That is very true, it is like dragging a billboard around :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Especially mine with roofracks canopy and RTT with lift - I'll be lucky if I see 6.5 km/l
Spartan

Post by Spartan »

hilux hilife wrote:Especially mine with roofracks canopy and RTT with lift
Sounds like the Boeing going to bhoputatswana on the runway :lol: :lol: :lol: joke net
MOBILITATE VINCERE
Spartan
Castos

Post by Castos »

I'm so glad you got everything sorted out. Like they say, Welcome to my worlds, now when you drive past any 4x4 bakkie..... you can just smile and wave as you drive over anything.

I've pickup a small problem this weekend, my front diff smacked a dent into my oil filter. Lucily nothing serious, it looks like I can just unbolt it and turn it 90 degrees and mount it again. it's attached with 3 bolt in a triangle.

i\I see you where also suprised with the lowdown torque, I'm still getting use to it. :twisted:
Elands4x4
hilux hilife

Post by hilux hilife »

Castos I firmly believe, of course I haven't driven any of the other popular conversions, that this 2.7 conversion makes the SFA a very useable bakkie in both road and off road conditions. I actually prefer driving my bakkie to my 2.5 tdi T4 combi as an every day vehicle.
I still have one niglling problem and that is I cannot get my rev counter to work. I followed the advice on the website in your thread i.e. putting a 10Kohm resister on the board and wiring the rev output signal from the Spitztronic to the instrument cluster but I still get no revs on dial.
maybe my gauge is broken?
How did you wire yours?
Castos

Post by Castos »

We had to fit a 56k ohm resistor to solve the problem. i just need to dubble check on the wattage. It was 3 or 5w.
Elands4x4

Return to “1979 to early 1998 Hilux (Gen 3&4 aka SFA 4x4)”