Cookie Monster's Hilux

Tell us a bit more about your Hilux (or other 4x4) and show off with some pictures.

Cookie Monster's Hilux

Shot with X100,D540Z,C310Z at 2007-06-29

Hilux

What engine, tyres, etc?
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

A little more detail

Its a 1990 model 2.2 4y on Cooper STT I have fitted central locking, Sony Xplod sound visa4 alarm imobalizer, gearlock,Hella spots and Nokia bluetooth.
List of things I still want to do
1.) Fit electronic ignition
2.) Change the front seats need ideas on what seats to use though.
3.) Change the dash lighs from the standard green to the more funky blue
4.) Bit worried about the rear diff as it is slightly noisy
5.) Overhaul the carb
6.) Have a canvas canopy made
7.) Front bumper must go! To make way for new home made one :)
8.) Sort out the rims as they are a bit rusted and the R/R is buckled :cry:

Re: A little more detail

Hi CM,

Interesting, I have made some comments in-line with yours, regarding my 1987 Hilux.

Cookie Monster wrote:Its a 1990 model 2.2 4y on Cooper STT I have fitted central locking, Sony Xplod sound visa4 alarm imobalizer, gearlock,Hella spots and Nokia bluetooth.
List of things I still want to do

1.) Fit electronic ignition
I have fitted the Chinese engine, which features electronic ignition, pretty sure my old 4Y also had this
2.) Change the front seats need ideas on what seats to use though.
Mine has separate bucket seats fitted, I believe the BMW 3-Series seats are a direct fit
3.) Change the dash lighs from the standard green to the more funky blue
I can't remember what colour mine are! Now I'll have to venture out in the cold to go look
4.) Bit worried about the rear diff as it is slightly noisy
Be wise to check that your propshaft is not out of balance too
5.) Overhaul the carb
I have just fitted a Weber 36. Second-hand, but reconditioned. Perormance is good, still have to test for consumption
6.) Have a canvas canopy made
Last price I got was around R1800 fitted, complete with frame
7.) Front bumper must go! To make way for new home made one :)
The 'standard' Toyota BB was annoying: Far too heavy and reflected my headlights from the top bar at night. Fitted a NudgeM at about R5600
8.) Sort out the rims as they are a bit rusted and the R/R is buckled :cry:
I paid R4000 for four new Coopers with new 15" rims. To powder-coat and balance the old ones would have cost the same as for a new set!
It's a great vehicle and very trusting! They just seem to want to go anywhere :D

diff

A little bit of Pro Long in the rear diff should buy you couple more Kilos.
1999 Hilux 2.7i 4x4 Raider DC with 3.4 Prado V6. Rear diff-lock, Bull Bar and rock sliders, 31" Cooper ST Maxx, Snorkel, Alu-Canopy, VHF Motorolla radio, West Coast Rust, Mikem Suspension, Ball Joint Spacers in front and Mikem extended shackles at the rear, 25watt LED Spots

Cool FD

Looks like I have got some major saving to do :shock:
Anyway I do beleive that the SFA Hilux is truely the best 4x4!

Cheers

Another Photo of my Hilux

Shot with X100,D540Z,C310Z at 2007-07-01

This was after todays play :lol:

Hi CM,

You can order clear (transparent) covers for those Hellas. I have got clear covers on all my vehicles spots. Protects the lenses, and you don't have to remove them for use!

Got the covers at our local Midas.

Thats really cool FD I must check that out after I have sorted out my speedo cable that has started acting up :( Is there any way to to sort out all the rattles and knocks on rough roads? I have always driven BMW`s which are really quiet even on scraped gravel. I bought a Hilux because I want to do some serious of roading and I have always been a Hilux fan. My DC needs alot of work as you can see that bumper and bull bar has to go and the diff makes a little noise too but I am not sure if I shoukd worry about that what do you think?

Justin

Hi Justin,

Simon might be the best person to give you advice on sorting out problems. I guess I am lucky, mine has no rattles & squeaks to speak of, even on rough roads. Might be your suspension that needs sorting out? Other than that, these cars seem to be very rattle-free!

I used to have the full-height BB, there's a photo of a red Hilux in one of the threads that has the same one. I threw it off because it is very heavy and the headlights reflected off the top bar at night, very distracting. To me, anyway, it doesn't seem to bother anyone else.

I think the noises are because my Hilux has spent it whole life on a farm as a working van anyway I am working though them slowly and its already 100% better

Playing at Jag Vlakte :lol:

Two More
d4d
Town: Brackenfell Cape Town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4P Raider DC Hilux

Post by d4d »

On the seat issue.

Seen a Lux the other day with new RunX front and rear seats, works like a charm.
Apparently small mod. They oke Bought front and Back for R1800 from a Rolled Runx,
no damage to seats, loook brand new and looks very cool in the Lux, complete
with rear headrests.

On the Dashboard light: I just took my Dash apart over the weekend and the light
for the
vents are easy to change if you want to, just one clear globe with a Green transparent
Rubber (condom-pie) over it.
On the Dash side it has transparent globes to clip in from the back, but dont know
what changes the colour to green.
I think just
behind the lettering on the Clocks is a permanent Green layer, so you'll have a hard time changing it.
But maybe
its a Green hard plastic cover thats removable, then you can have White light.
To make it Blue, you'll have to have very Dark Blue otherwise its going to be very light
Blue when lit. I tried this with a Beetle I customised. Only way to get close to the
Blue of the new volkswagens is to have a very Dark Blue transparent Plastic with
Hi Watt Bulbs, but then you run the risk of the Bulb to be to hot and start to melt the
surounding area. I have been through this though.

But give us some feedback on the Clocks, would be interesting to know what makes
it Green. Maybe when you take it out to sort your Speedo Cable you can Check ? and give some Feedback.

What is the KM on the Clock at the Moment ? Mine also have a slight Hum on the Rear
Diff, but mine got the Gearmax Diff, your should still have the Imported one, if bit
better than the Gearmax, but I'm led to believe that you can fit a G/max locker in
the g/max diff and cannot fit a locker in the imported one ... :? Might be wrong.
1996 SFA Hilux DC 2.4P 4x4
2005 D4D 2.5 SRX DC 4x4 - SOLD
1988 Land Rover Defender 110 V8 HT - SOLD
1993 SFA Hilux SC 2.4D 4x4 - SOLD

Hi D4D

I have stripped out the cluster and it is the same as the vent lights a little green cover over the bulb which there are 2 of.

As far as the diff goes I am not to worried about the whine as the diff does have oil in fact I changed it the other day and I used a GL5 Castrol SFXO synthetic which is a long life oil we use in the BMWs I have 269000km on the clock. I think also half the noise I am hearing is comming from the Cooper STT`s which are muds. And you are quite right you can not use the gearmax locker in the imported diff you have to use a ARB locker.

As far as seats go I have a guy here in P.E. who can get BMW seats from the e36 3 series (dolphin shape) but I am waiting till he has Sand baige ones which will match my van.

I also want to redo the floor covering is the raider floor capet or vinal as in my van?

I am busy trying to get a new clutch master as mine is leaking but the one I got from Midas today is wrong :( At the same time I am trying to get hold of another 15 inch pro white wheel to replace the R/R which is buckled.

Well this weekend I will be replacing my clutch master :D no more topping up yippy. I got a complete new mater cylinder for R90 :wink: I think I am going to try and strip the dash and clean everything really lekker. I was hopping to sort out the wheels by this weekend however I have replaced the buckled wheel on the left rear. I have yet to drive it so I hope that was what was causing the noise at 110km/h! :?

Well

I have fitted the new clutch master. So at least I wont have to top up the clutch once a week :D After replacing the right rear wheel the vibration at 110 is now gone too :D . I need to still center the steering and do the dash lights. Does anyone know if one can get after market speedo cable :?: :?

Hi All

I took the Hilux on my first long trip with her about 180km she went very well small vibration from prop though managed to drive at about 100-130km/h 100 up hills :o)

Hi all A few more pics of my Hilux 8)

The chains I put on during the week for a little more security

Shot with X100,D540Z,C310Z at 2007-07-15

All clean :D

More photos

Thes seats that need to go :evil:

Andries
Town: Dordrecht
Vehicle: '94 2.2 4Y Hilux S/C, '87 2.2 4Y Hilux D/C

my hilux

Post by Andries »

Hello Cookie Monster!

To what exstreme measures will mankind go to protect his TOY? I like your chain around the diff and wheels. :evil: I think the best way to protect you Toy is to sit in it with your shotgun as company and let your wife do all the shopping. :roll:

What are you planning on doing with your old seats, i might be interested?

Andries :lol:

I was planning on just putting them in the store at work so if you are keen on them you can have them. I will let you know when I have done the swop. :D

BMW Seats

I see TopHilux has BMW seats in his Hilux
See
viewtopic.php?t=136

Cookie

Can't see your pic with the security chain :?

benhur wrote:Cookie

Can't see your pic with the security chain :?
Nor can I, although I do see the other pictures.

Hi guys sorry you cant all see the chain :(

I have a bit of a problem and any advice would be really great! As some of you read I took my baby though to J-Bay and saturday after I had replaced the buckled rim on the R/R and replaced the other 3 aswell. However I felt a bit of a vibration which starts at around 100km/h goes away slightly at about 110km/h and the comes back at 120km/h. I know it is not a wheel because I fitted and balanced the wheels myself. Now here is the thing I thought it might be the propshaft so I had it overhauled today 3 new joints plus the center bearing, however it has not solved the problem :( :?: :!: :x Now the diff is a little noisy underload this whine starts at around 60km/h and continues on at higher speeds. My concern is that this vibration is comming from the diff :shock: And I really dont have the money to fix the diff now if this is the case :roll: I have inported diffs on my van has anybody els had the same problem :?: And what sort of money are we talking :?: I AM REALLY WORRIED NOW coz I love driving my van :!:

Sounds like your Propshat if out of balance. Replacing universals won't cure the problem of imbalance, but are a good thing to do anyway. I take it you are driving in 2WD and not 4WD? Don't laugh - when I got my SFA back from a service, they had locked the front hubs and I never realised this. Also had a mild shudder at speed, even when in 2WD.

I would suggest having the PS balanced, doesn't really cost that much. But you might have spline damage too, the PS people should be able to confirm this.

Holding thumbs for your part.

Hi FD

The propshaft guys did do the job for me and they did balance it do you think they did a bad job?

And by the way I did check that they did not lock the front hubs I remember you metioning it before

Hi Justin,

Simon will be able to give you some good input here (Syron Conversions). He has loads of experience with problems such as this.

I would suggest taking it back to the PS guys and telling them there is still a vibration, did they balance the prop before re-fitting it?

Yes they did coz I removed and refitted it myself at work. I did PM Simons as well as he has always been very help full

Thanx :D

I was going to suggest what FamilyDog has said about balancing the propshafts, but some other items that you can have a look at.

Are the U-bolts tight?
What are the slip joint splines like, is there play?

If you climb under the vehicle with the gearbox in neutral, move the rear propshaft up and down at the transfer case side, has it got play? And then do the same at the diff side?

Are there arrows on the rear section of the propshaft, if so are they lined up and have you checked that all the yokes are in a correct line.

Somtimes the pinion or tranfer case flange nuts come loose, maybe there is a problem here. When they are removed new ones must always be fitted and torqued to a specail torque, you cannot just tighten them, must have a pre-load.

if you have a locker fitted in the rear, is it disengaged? Or is it an auto locker?

If you think it is the rear diff, drain the oil and have it tested by Oil Check.

Did you put it back exactly in the same physical position as when you removed it? I have found that this does make a difference, if you fit it "out of phase" to its original position.

Hi Simon and FD

I did check that the yokes are lined up however I did not check that there is any play in the drive flanges of the diff or transfer case How fine is the splines on the prop?

Me

Re: My Hilux

Hi Guys

I had a look at my diff pinion drive flange and a found no play at all. However there is a very small amount of play at the transfer case out put drive flange. I will bring the van to work on Friday and I will make sure that the flange is torqued correctly. And while I am at it I will send the prop back to the Prop guys and ask them to make sure that the prop is balanced properly :roll: One of my Techs recon he had a similar problem with a 160i bantam and after replacing side shafts and the like traced the problem to the exhaust and after fitting a flex coupling the problem was solved. Now on my van the only thing holding the exhaust is the flange and the rubbers in the center and at the rear silincer what do you guys think :?:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

Hi CM

I see the driving lights on your bakkie are strategically placed. :D It reminds me of my previous bakkies driving light placement. :D :D :D It helps a lot with flashing cameras and lurking men in blue (at least they wear blue in CT). It has saved me a lot of money in the past. Intentional or accedental?

Hi Neil

It was kind of a accident that it turned out this way but it does have its advantages however you will not be beating any land speed records with a SFA Hilux :mrgreen:
2006 Hilux DC 4x4 4.0 V6 Old Man Emu suspension, Long Range Fuel Tank and a LA Sport Sump Guard, Natko railings with spade and high lift brackets, LA Sport high lift jack mounts, Powder coated Hilux Nudge Bar, Hella LED light bar, LED Work Light

Very true. Similar story bought a bakkie (2.7 DC,4X2) that had the strategic lights and decided to do this one in a similar fashion.

Cool Niel :mrgreen:

Hi Guys

Took a ride out to Jag Vlakte today and had a little fun playing in the mud and climbing obsticals it is really amaizing hwat the SFA Hilux can do even without front or rear diff locks. :mrgreen:

Cookie Monster wrote:Hi Guys

Took a ride out to Jag Vlakte today and had a little fun playing in the mud and climbing obsticals it is really amaizing hwat the SFA Hilux can do even without front or rear diff locks. :mrgreen:
Nou praat jy. With a SFA Hilux you can go many places where other vehicles need lockers etc to go. It is all about getting to know your vehicle and then it is a fine balance between driving as slow as possible but as fast as necessary to get over obstacles and axle twisters. The only time I believe a locker will really help you is in nearly vertical climbs or climbs with multiple cross axles close to each other or in heavy mud.

See this video of me climbing a almost 40 deg slope which was very sandy. A week earlier a few guys even with modified vehicles could not make it due to lack of traction as this slope was extremely dry and sandy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zadNUhdVgfY

Very Cool Video Benhur

Please could you mail that clip to me so I cand quieten down one of the guys at work who keeps telling me his landy is better then my DC :?: :?: :mrgreen: justinPUNTlawrenceBYbmwdealerPUNTcoPUNTza

Edit: I changed your email address as above. You do not want to publish your email on a public forum where SpyBots can harvast it and add it to their spamming lists. - Bennie

I will email it a bit later when from my other PC. You can also show him this one. It is a buddy how showed us how quickly you turn a 4wd Landy into FWD Landy. Listen for the clunk on his very first attempt when the stripped some gears inside the rear diff. He then continuous to try this obstacle blissfully unaware that his Landy is only pulling on the front wheels

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9GlAleRA2o

CM,

I use Firefox as a web browser, and FF has this very useful add-on which allows you to download a Youtube film directly from the web site. You will then require a Player to view the video.

Links:
Firefox - http://www.mozilla.org/products/
Video Downloader: - https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/2390
FLV Viewer: - http://flvplayer.tv/flvplayer/?src=GFLV_PLAYER

All the above are FREE!

I even have a video of Bennie's son somewhere, singing the praises of the CHEETAHS!!Image

That child is too good to be true :D

Hi Thanx Bennie :mrgreen:

I was not thinking clearly :lol:

Eric you are right. It would not help me emailing the clip to Justin since it is a .FLV file which Johan Engelbrecht (Jengel) posted so I do not have the avi or mpg version either.

Justin

I use video downloader 2.0 in Firefox to download these files http://javimoya.com/blog/youtube_en.php
and FLV player to view the downloaded files http://www.martijndevisser.com/blog/flv-player

PS Eric you mean this one of the little traitor :wink: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KrUyhno0648

Well now lets not get into a argument about rugby :lol: We all know the bulls are tops :mrgreen:

Back to Hiluxes you got any more cool Hilux vids Bennie :?:

Bennie,

Corne' is my favourite kid. You must bring him down here some time. Image

I see the video features a response! :mrgreen: :D

<Faithful_Dog>

Hi Guys

Some more pics :mrgreen:
The High Lift Jack and the second spare
P6240144tttttt.JPG

Re: Cookie Monster's Hilux

Justin

Did you come right with downloading the videoclips from BooBTube :lol: :lol:

Hi Bennie

Will give it a go over the weekend :mrgreen: and I will keep you informed

Just a quick update on my van it looks like I have found a set of BMW seats for free :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I dont know what condition they are in but if the leather is good I will only have to dye them to match my interior. :D However if they are in bad condition I will need to have them recoverd and if so do you think I should cover them in cloth and do the back to or just stick to vinal :roll: :?:

Hi CM,

Congratulations! Please update us on whether they will fit your bakkie, and what mods you did, if any.

If you re-cover them, think about vinyl on the sides of the cushion area, and material for the seat & back rest, to prevent sweating in hot conditions.

If I have to fork out money to re-upholster seats I will rather fork out a few bucks more and have it done in decent (modern style) leather. Wearing short pants on weekends my legs and other parts of my body tents to sweat and get irritated way more on the Hilux' cloth seats then on my Pajero's (or my previous BMWs') leather seats. This is not true of vinyl though. Leather also cleans much better then any cloth type material.

The best layout I ever saw on a 4x4 toy was on a Little Zookie. The guy had the seats, door panels and dash redone in a combination of black leather and a strong vinyl type material like they use on Tonneau covers. He then ripped out all the carpets used some of these water based rubberising to cover all the metal parts that was previously covered by the carpet. Now he can get in with muddy feet and clothes without worrying much about cleaning the vehicle afterwards.

Well the weather was terrible today and i did not feel so good today so my project with the front bumper was kind of ignored coz I dont have a garage :( I hope to start tomorrow :mrgreen:

Hi Guys

Got the seats today they dont look like much but they need to be built and the leather needs to be repaired and dyed and considering they cost me R0 at this point I am happy as a pig in S**t :mrgreen: I will post photos a little later

Photos please, in particular the mounts and hardware. We can worry about the cosmetics afterwards!

Have you measured to see if they will fit?

I spoke to Hilton today. He is a bit busy but he said he his needed new holes on the inside. But he will drop in here as soon as he gets a chance.

Ok Guys Just so as you know the seats will fit and I will make them fit and it will be easy :mrgreen: :D

As you can see the seats I have are the early type E36 316i-325i 4 door around the 94 year model with the solid backrest cap and has height fore and aft and of caurse back rest ajustment.

Once I have removed the bench I will take measurements and I will take the outside front mounts as my fixed mount points the inside points will have to be drilled and fabricated I just want to make sure that once the seat is lined up with the outer front mount point is that the seat is in the correct mid position. If that makes sence :?: If not I will have to rethink but I am sure they will be great :mrgreen: I have already fitted these type of seats to a E30 box shape there and there mounts are totaly diffrent
P8070212tttttt.JPG
P8070211ttttttt.JPG
P8070207tttt.JPG

I WILL NOT ACCEPT DEFEAT :wink: :!: :!: :!: 8)

I think this thread is going to be watched very closely now :)

CM, please take photos as you go along, specifically, the existing floor pan holes in the Hilux and their measurements, how far apart, etc. It will make it considerably easier for the rest of us to look for new seats without first stripping the bakkie in order to get these measurements.

Are you going to fit the seats first before re-upholstering them, to ensure that they do actually fit?

Look forward to your progress!

Return to “Members' Vehicles”