Please Help with 2700i Suspension and Lift Advice

Having problems with your vehicle? Or need advice on repairing or servicing your Hilux? This is the place to ask for help
Jackal
High Range 4WD
High Range 4WD
Town: CTN
Vehicle: Hilux 2700i D/C 4x4 2002

Please Help with 2700i Suspension and Lift Advice

Post by Jackal »

Hi Guys,

I'm very new to 4x4 and took my 2002, 2700i, D/C 4x4 for my first drive offroad in the dunes in Atlantis Cape Town. The previous owner said that when he took ownership of the bakkie it had a full OME suspension set up on it but when it was time to replace the shocks he fitted Monro and returned the suspension to a more standard set up because he wasn't doing any serious off-roading.

The bakkie also has an ARB front bumber, after market rock sliders and rear bumper, Firestone air shock at the back and almost brand new Continental AT tyres which are apparently the same model tyres the bakkie came off the factory with.

Also keep in mind that this was my first time ever driving a 4x4 so my driving ability and skills need serious improvement and my approach to the big dunes wasn't very scientific. Tyres at 0.8, H4 engaged, 1st gear, hit the dunes as fast as I could, steering wheel straight, followed the previous tracks and kept my foot flat until I ran out of revs.

If I look under the front of the bakkie it seems like the profile is very flat and the ground clearance not very high which I think may have been part of the problem on the bigger dunes. See attached picture.

Problem 1

I found that when I got to the top of the bigger, steeper dunes my bakkie would beach itself and bog down in the sand at the crest of the dune in the deep sand. The revs would rapidly drop right from the top down to stalling point and when I reversed back down the dune I could see the big flat patch of sand where the under-carriage of my bakkie had been resting.

Problem 2