Page 1 of 1

Please sign this Petition

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 4:43 pm
by Family_Dog
LM Radio needs you to sign their online petition to bring music back to the airwaves of South Africa. Please take the time to sign this petition:

Bring back LM Radio

The petition is required in terms of their licence application to ICASA, so the more signatures there are, the greater the chance of it happening.

Re: Please sign this Petition

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:00 pm
by OOOOMS

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:02 pm
by ChrisF
done :)

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 5:30 pm
by Family_Dog
Lorenco Marques Radio was the local "pirate" Pop Radio station that saved us all from the music that the then SABC elected to play back in the days when anybody over 40 was still a youngster. Those days they broadcast on 927kHz AM radio and also on the 42M and 90M Short-Wave band. When Moz gained independence, the radio station was bought by the then radio 5 (forerunner of 5FM) and many of the DJs moved over to the SABC. It was probably the most successful Pop music radio station on the African continent, if not in the entire Southern Hemisphere.

Chris Turner, a Jhb-based Radio enthusiast, decided to resurrect LM Radio, and the planning stage took four years. LMR has now been broadcasting since December 2009, firstly by menas of Internet Streaming (refer web page by clicking on the image below) and Satellite Free-To-Air broadcasts, but lately on VHF/FM in and around Maputo, and for the past month or two on 97.2MHz in the Jhb West area as a Community-based radio station during their test phase.

The station may also be heard on 1197kHz on Medium Wave (the old "AM" dial of your radio) during the day throughout much of the Free State, the transmitter being based in Maseru, Lesotho. During night time, the transmitter is used by a religious organisation, although I did hear LM once again last night on this frequency at about 23:00 hours, with an exceptionally strong signal using a portable radio inside the house with its built-in ferrite antenna.

Chris has put much time and effort into restoring this once so very successful radio station and he now needs our support.

ImageLM Radio Home

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 6:43 pm
by 0000DS

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 7:03 pm
by Black Sam
Done :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 8:56 pm
by Royco
I'll try again. But when signing from my phone, I get this:
Zip Code not recognized

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:14 pm
by Royco
Guess I should read more carefully!
Stellenbosch does not have a ZIP code in Gauteng!
Oh well... I tried...

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:40 pm
by jacques kotze
+1 :thumbup: :thumbup:

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:04 pm
by Family_Dog
Roy, use 2001 for the zip code if the Stellies one does not work.

LM is currently doing test transmissions on the 1197kHz AM (MW) band, I would like to hear if any of you can receive it. Using a portable radio from inside my house I can just about pick it up but you need to rotate the radio for a better signal and keep it away from CFL lights and computers. Outside is a very different story, the signal is very loud and clear.

Please let's hear your impressions on the AM signal which will be reasonable at night but weak during the daylight hours for those far from Maseru.

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:32 pm
by Blackadder
Im not getting anything in my car

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Posted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:44 pm
by Family_Dog
Might be a lot of outside RF interference where you stay? I would have thought the signal would reach Centurion - but the signal will be fairly weak with all the interference generated by streetlights and shopping centres etc.

Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:59 am
by Tiger7
+1 :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:17 am
by Family_Dog
Sad news this morning. One of the cornerstones of LM Radio passed away yesterday afternoon after falling ill two-weeks ago. Reg de Beer will be sorely missed, his evening show was always bright and breezy.

RIP, Reg.

Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:54 pm
by Donkey
just did it :thumbup:

Posted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:17 pm
by Rolbos
Voted for :yahoo: LM radio, VIVA !! Hope it will come to the Western Cape too soon !! :clap:

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:53 pm
by Family_Dog
Come guys, please sign this petition! We need to be rescued from Tannie SABC!!

PETITION

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:08 pm
by Blackadder
Signed...

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:45 pm
by JohanM
Signed

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:34 pm
by Adventures4Christ

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:21 pm
by Barrie
Geteken

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:22 pm
by Andre du preez

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:30 pm
by AM Racing

Posted: Tue Jan 24, 2012 10:49 am
by Sebata
Done :thumbup:

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:08 am
by pietpetoors
Uncle Erik...... Thanx a mil, I started listening LM Radio after you posted this, it really is a nice radio station to listen to.

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:27 am
by GI Jane
Sjoe Pieter, this is a blast from the past. think I must see if I can find LM

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:37 am
by pietpetoors
http://www.lmradio.net/streaming.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Ha Ha Val, talking about a blast from the past... good to see you here again.

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:02 pm
by GI Jane
Yip... its good to be back amongst friends again...

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 7:03 pm
by Family_Dog
Well, the petition worked, I'm happy to announce :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate:

ICASA granted LM Radio an AM operating licence which will be broadcast on 702kHz with a 100kW transmitter, hopefully before year-end. Mark Williams stated a few days ago that he was at the site watching the Sentech technicians install the very large antennas. Although this will be heard practically all over Gauteng during the day, listeners further afield in KZN and the WC should be able to receive the transmission at night, as Medium Wave has a tremendous broadcast footprint and more so during the night.

Now Val, let me help you:

DSTV channel 821
Open View HD decoder: Channel 602 (Radio section)
Internet: http://www.lmradio.net/streaming.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Website: http://www.lmradio.net" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

...and soon:
On AM (MW) radio on the frequency of 702kHz.

I listen to LM practically 24/7, no other radio station :)

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:10 pm
by pietpetoors
Who still listens to AM? if you have Internet.
Will check if I can get them in the trokkie on AM. So they will be the new Radio 702?
The Chev will still get AM.

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:54 pm
by Family_Dog
Yep, but not broadcasting yet on AM yet. I will post when they do. A lot of the fun is listening to AM radio, especially for us young 'uns who used to do this every night, in spite of SABC broadcasts on FM at the time. LM was just so much more fun!

Just think:

"Ag Pleez daddy won't you take us off to Durban,
It's only eight hours in the Chevrolet
There's spans to see and lots of fish in the aquarium
That's a lekker place for a holiday.

Pop corn, chewing gum, peanuts & bubble gum
Ice cream, candyfloss & eskimo pie"

- back on LM on AM Radio!

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:40 am
by Mud Dog
"Ag pleez daddy won't you take us to the drive-in
All six, seven of us, eight nine ten.
We wanna see a flick about Tarzan and the ape-men
And when the show's over you can bring us back again.

Pop corn, chewing gum, peanuts & bubble gum
Ice cream, candyfloss & Canada Dry

Ag pleez daddy ......

Voetsek!"

What was his name? Jeremy Taylor or something like that .....

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:57 am
by Family_Dog
Yep, indeed! I was listening to it as I typed the above out. Missed a bit here and there - the Pepsi Cola, Ginger Beer & Canada Dry bit, although I suppose I could have typed it in. Would not have made it too long.

"Ag but Daddy, what the heck else can we do-
But go on out and moer the okes next door!"

(Chorus)...

Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2016 9:49 am
by Mud Dog
Ah yes, got the pepsi cola, ginger beer bit wrong, knew there was Canada dry in there somewhere ...... but after all we're talking about a 40 to 50 year old memory. :D:

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 3:46 pm
by brianc
We get LM Radio on 104FM here in Ladybrand, broadcasting from Maseru.
If travelling on the R26 between Ficksburg & Hobhouse or N8 up to Tweespruit depending on weather conditions reception is good.

Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:08 pm
by Family_Dog
Good stereo FM! But LM is still perfectly listenable - or will be - on good old steam kettle AM! ;)

Posted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 8:04 pm
by ChrisF
Mud Dog wrote:Ah yes, got the pepsi cola, ginger beer bit wrong, knew there was Canada dry in there somewhere ...... but after all we're talking about a 40 to 50 year old memory. :D:
stadig oorie klippies "oom".

Die jong man is nog nie eens 50 nie, en ek onthou die lied uit my skooldae .. :thumbup: :mocking:

okay, nie "skool" nie, maar daai lekker kamp parties saam met my ouers.

Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2016 2:29 am
by Mud Dog
It still figures Chris ..... somewhere between 40 to 50 yrs puts your preschool yrs into that time line. Maybe the 'young man' is a bit in denial about ageing! :D:

Re: RE: Please sign this Petition

Posted: Sun Aug 07, 2016 10:38 am
by malwheat
Family_Dog wrote:LM Radio needs you to sign their online petition to bring music back to the airwaves of South Africa. Please take the time to sign this petition:

Bring back LM Radio

The petition is required in terms of their licence application to ICASA, so the more signatures there are, the greater the chance of it happening.

I listen to LM Radio on the Android cell phone application called TuneIn Radio. It is used for listening to internet streaming radio stations. I have a MiFi device in my Hilux, that has 3gb data from Vodacom. When I am in the vehicle my phone picks up the WiFi connection and uses that cheaper data. I open the TuneIn Radio app, and select LM Radio.
I also have my cell phone linked to my car entertainment system via bluetooth, and listen to it whilst driving around the Eastern Cape on my business travels. You can also listen via DSTV or Openview at home any where there is satelite signal.
Very chilled station Image

Tac Vector Optics supplier