Introduce yourself and Meet the rest of the crowd
Ivanov
Town: East London
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 2.2
Club VHF Licence: N/A

Introduction

Post by Ivanov »

Hi Guys

I am new to the 4x4 Forum and would like to tell you about myself. I am a teacher from East London and have always been interested in "Rooten, Tooten and Shooten". I love the outdoors and have just recently straight-swapped my little Nissan 1400 "Potsotso" for an SFA 1989 2.2 Toyota Hilux 4x4 Double Cab. I'm quite a big guy and people always ask me how does such a big person get into the little bakkie and I just ask them how a warthog goes down it's hole. Backwards, of course!

The Toyota had recently had rust removed by a worker on my friend's farm. Well, what do you expect from a worker on a farm? The Nissan was in good running order, but also full of rust. I've started fixing my beloved Toyota "MEERKAT" by doing the whole suspension, shocks, propshafts, noisy hydraulic lifters, getting rid of the stupid cone filter the guy before me put on for better performance (have you ever?), new lights, power steering pump and hoses and a host of other things. I am actually enjoying the work as it reminds me of the good old days when I had an old Series 3 2.6 Land Rover. I had good fun with the old Landy, but the oil leaks got the better of me.

I have now got my Toyota and just love it to bits. I can now go to all the farms I hunt on and ride where I want to and not be exhausted at the end of the day. I know the Meerkat is a tad thirsty, but so are all other off-road vehicles anyway. One of the previous owners fitted a second fuel tank so you have to be careful when stopping at a petrol station and telling the attendant to "Fill her up!".

I desperately need a Manual for this vehicle. Is there anyone out there that can possibly sell me one or give me a lead on where to get a manual for the 4Y engine and the SFA 4x4.

Thanks

Ivanov
Tarquin
LR 4WD Full Lockers
LR 4WD Full Lockers
Town: Plettenberg Bay