Battery Question?

Having problems with your vehicle? Or need advice on repairing or servicing your Hilux? This is the place to ask for help
BenRich
LR 4WD Rear Locker
LR 4WD Rear Locker
Town: Boksburg
Vehicle: Hilux 4.0 V6 4x4 BF Goodrich KM2 MT Old Man Emu Suspension, ONCA Rocksliders, Safari Snorkel, Stofpad Bashplate's National Luna Duel Battery System, Engel Fridge

Battery Question?

Post by BenRich »

When it come's to the volts and Amps I am the first to say I'm NO expert.

I managed to get my hands on this T-Max 8500lbs winch (Brand New) for a bargain :yahoo:
T Max.jpg
(36.56 KiB) Downloaded 254 times
Question is will my current deep cycle battery work with the winch. According to the specs of the winch they talk about minimum 650 CCA.

My battery is a Discover EV Traction Dry Cell - EV24A-A (As sold by Safari Centre) Specs say cranking amps at 0 degrees Celsius of 630 Amps.

Will this be enough or am I gonna have to get a bigger battery. I hope not because this one is just over a year old and always on the C-Tek when not in use!
WayneSchalk
Monster Truck
Monster Truck
Town: Krugersdorp
Vehicle: 2019 Toyota Hilux 2.8 GD-6 4X4 DC Auto
Club VHF Licence: X117

Re: Battery Question?

Post by WayneSchalk »

I would like to see the experts opinion, I am not sure myself but would think it must be connected to the main battery and used while the van is idling.

I'm sure under load it pulls quite a bit :think:

but lets see :subscribed:
CasKru
Town: Benoni
Vehicle: '94 Hilux Raider 2.4i (22RE) DC 4x4
Club VHF Licence: B15

Post by CasKru »

It is not advisable to use only a battery. You have to have a power source such as an alternator (engine running) that supplies most of the current.

The winch roughly draws about the same power as a starter motor and if you think about it, how long can you crank a vehicle before the battery is dead.
To God be the glory
BenRich
LR 4WD Rear Locker
LR 4WD Rear Locker