33%
2 Oceans
33%

Total votes: 12

Re: Winter's Trail : Tierkloof/2 Oceans 22Aug-B a Blessing

:?
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Pumba
Vehicle: Toyota Hilux 3.0 D4D 4x4
Club VHF Licence: HC112

Post by Pumba »

Atlantis is definately only if we have to :!: :!:

Sounds like Two oceans will be more of a risk when it's wet than what Atlantis will be?

Thanks Shaun. will let you know :thumbup:
Jesus was blunt: "No chance at all if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you let God do it." Mark 10:27(Message)

Pumba wrote:Atlantis is definately only if we have to :!: :!:

Sounds like Two oceans will be more of a risk when it's wet than what Atlantis will be?

Thanks Shaun. will let you know :thumbup:
Two Oceans in the rain:

Red Route will be Closed by Trail Owner if it's too wet, the Blue Route will remain open - 100 x safer than Atlantis in my books

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Afraid I'm only in if the venue is any place other than Atlantis (more safety reasons) :shifty:

It didn't have anything to do with that precarious position you managed to get yourself into last time? :twisted:

Bucket is having some "directional" repairs done at the moment... I hope to have the repairs completed before the day, if I can source parts at a reasonable cost... I'll find out tomorrow what the damage is...

B :wave:

:?
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
King Rat

Post by King Rat »

snipes wrote:
Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Afraid I'm only in if the venue is any place other than Atlantis (more safety reasons) :shifty:

It didn't have anything to do with that precarious position you managed to get yourself into last time? :twisted:

Bucket is having some "directional" repairs done at the moment... I hope to have the repairs completed before the day, if I can source parts at a reasonable cost... I'll find out tomorrow what the damage is...

B :wave:
Simple, don't reverse down an incline :clap: :lol: :lol: :shifty:
Datsun GX Coupe 1200
99 Subaru Legacy GT
07 Alfa Romeo GT 3.2 V6

Lampropeltis getula californiae, Orthriophis taeniura friesi, Morelia spilota, Python brongersmai, Epicrates chenchria maurus, Python regius

Regret that I'm unable to be a part of this one
Pixel
Vehicle: Toyota.... ahem... Prado

Post by Pixel »

Going to two Oceans tomorrow so can give you a trail update later in the weekend.
Rooikappie
Town: Table View - CT
Vehicle: 4x4 3.0KZ-TE 2002

Post by Rooikappie »

Is it 2Ocean OR Tierkloof on 22 Aug ??

Where and when do we get the details or do we just go there early and see??
Thx
Lourens
Pixel

Post by Pixel »

Two Oceans update: Did the blue route yesterday + 1 of the red sections. The blue is fine, slippery in places but the Rav with us handled it fine. (actually the Rav easily made one climb where the isuzu double cab 4x4 had to use rear diff lock). Did not do the final Red climb as it was too slippery to walk. Soil has a high clay content. I would say the trail needs 2 days of sun after rain before all Red slopes are safe to do unless you are running Muds and like Clay slopes ;)
Great views from the trail though and nice picinic spot at the Dam.

Useless without pictures_1_.jpg
Useless without pictures_1_.jpg (56.63 KiB) Viewed 3722 times

Pixel

Post by Pixel »

Just for you FD:

View from top of Blue Route

Ok, so the smog does suck but other than that
Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Rooikappie wrote:Is it 2Ocean OR Tierkloof on 22 Aug ??

Where and when do we get the details or do we just go there early and see??
Thx
Lourens
Hi Lourens.

We have moved the date to 29Aug and the venue to Two oceans. just read further up the thread to see all the details. Hope you will be able to make it :?: .
Jesus was blunt: "No chance at all if you think you can pull it off by yourself. Every chance in the world if you let God do it." Mark 10:27(Message)

Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Pixel wrote:Just for you FD:

View from top of Blue Route

Ok, so the smog does suck but other than that

Thanks Pixel :!:

Looks like a great spot. Now we must just trust that the rain will stay away over that time...

Beee-Yuuu-tii-ful!

Love that greenery, everything is rustic brown up here at the moment, but there's already a feeling of Spring in the air!

Piesang
Town: Grabouw
Vehicle: '99 Hilux SRX d/c 4x4

Post by Piesang »

On 14 Nov, if God will, we will go a bit higher from the Grabouw side to the overhang where you can see this view and more. All from G/bay to Simons Town an B/berg.

"Onderwerp julle dan aan God; weerstaan die duiwel, en hy sal van julle wegvlug." Jak 4:7

Piesang, if I look at that magnificentr view, I figure you'll be at a higher altitude than I am here - ±1330 metres!!
What altitude is the koppie/mountain...?

Rooikappie

Post by Rooikappie »

Baie dankie PUMBA.
Dit sal die eerste keer wees dat ek saam met HILUX4x4 se mense kan gaan en die datum verandering gaan my nie afskrik nie.
Ek kyk elders vir die inligting en hou maar hierdie thread dop vir verder info.
Ek is seker die tye, ens sal later hier iewers duidelik raak.
THX

^
NS: Wonder of hierdie Kappie rooi is??

On Sunday we did a Private Trail on a wine farm that directly neighbours the Helderberg Farm (2 Oceans Route) :mrgreen:

It basically mirrored the 2 Oceans Trail in format :wink:

Conditions were good; a bit wetter than I've seen it and a bit slippery with axle deep clay holes in places, one such hole got the better of a VW Tow-Rag :o: :shifty:

But hey, I wasn't driving on this occasion, all the guys were relegated to the back seat :eh: :eh: :wth:

It was Women's Day after all :o: :o: :o:

If this 1st time Low Range Driver can take DadzToy to the top without a hiccup, and master a clutch-less steep incline ascent start, any newbie in an SFA should handle the 2 Oceans Trail :thumbup:

(the Views were stunning, despite all the Landies obscuring the view :roll: :lol: )

See Peekchaz Eric :wink:
P8094349-SWAMBO in charge.jpg
P8094348-Back Seat Driver Bliss!.jpg
P8094352-View from the Back.jpg
P8094355-Can't quite make out the Tow Rope!.jpg
P8094381-A Rose amongst Many Thorns.jpg
P8094405-Dadz Ladz.jpg
P8094373-Splendid Views.jpg
P8094408-Splendid Views2.jpg
Piesang

Post by Piesang »

Family_Dog wrote:Piesang, if I look at that magnificentr view, I figure you'll be at a higher altitude than I am here - ±1330 metres!!
What altitude is the koppie/mountain...?

Ek is nie seker van die 'altitude' nie.

But 4 thouse in Cape Town if you travel from S/west on the N2, just before you staart the pass and look up to the mountains rich right infront of you, thats where this foto was taken, and you can cet there with your lux from Grabouw side.

"Onderwerp julle dan aan God; weerstaan die duiwel, en hy sal van julle wegvlug." Jak 4:7
Piesang

Re: A Winter's Trail : 2 Oceans 29th Aug -Be a Blessing Program

Post by Piesang »

I would say the trail needs 2 days of sun after rain
Ek was vanoggend voor 6 in die berg en dit is sopnat aan die kant en dit reen hard, en ons moet ingedagte hou dat ons nou in die reen maand is.

Ek wil nie ouens afsit van die trip nie, wil net sê "Ons vertou op Die Here vir mooi weer en sien uit na 'n lekker uitdaaging!" :thumbup: :thumbup:

Buff
Vehicle: D-4D Hilux Raider 4x4

Post by Buff »

Hi Gents, could you please give me a bit more info on your intentions for this day? Is it just to take the less fortunate kids out for a spin and give them a bite to eat or are you combining it with some sort of Christian mentorship program with message on the day and maybe even a team build type session?
Hilux 2.7 Raider D/Cab 4x4
Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Gents,

We are speeding towards the 29th and things are looking good so far. I just want to appologise :oops: for all the date and venue changes and if you are still confused :? , see below.

If I look at some of these views, I can't help thinking how it will impact the children. Currently I have more Kids that keen to go than what I have bakkies :cry: .

Just a reminder: this is for everyone, not just for Toyota's. If you have a friend that would like to go, please invite them and put their name on the list.

1. Kobus - Pumba - 29 Mhz
2. Rich - Dadz Toy - 29 Mhz :?:
3. Shaun - Noob - Radio Sponsored
4. Bretton - Snipes - 29 Mhz :?:
5. Pieter - Piesang - Radio Sponsored
6. Stephan - Boeta Steve - Radio Sponsored
7. Lourens - Rooikappie - Radio Sponsored

To Clarify:
Date: 29 August
Venue: Two Oceans
Meeting time: 07h00
Meeting place: Parking lot of the GM(Opel) motor dealers(they closed down). C/o Bird street (R403) and Adam Tas street(R44) Stellenbosch

Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Buff wrote:Hi Gents, could you please give me a bit more info on your intentions for this day? Is it just to take the less fortunate kids out for a spin and give them a bite to eat or are you combining it with some sort of Christian mentorship program with message on the day and maybe even a team build type session?

Hi Brett.

This day is really to give the people in our church, that are reaching out to these schools, a chance to build relationships with these children. the kids going are chosen and we don't just take anyone, if there is space, we will take as many as we can. On the day we don't really plan for anything but seeing that this is such a short rout we could do something...

As far as the food is concerned: I have managed to get a Pick 'n pay sponsor for the boerewors for an amount of R200-00. I'm not sure how much wors that is but will negotiate the price with them. We also have a sponsor for the buns and some fruit from Cape Gate Spar and Fruit & veg city. You will have to take some snacks and drinks for everyone in your bakkie please. we normally take Skottels to braai with but seeing that this is such a great venue, maybe we should take some wood and stuff. Will let you know...

If everyone that will be going could PM your contact details so that I could contact you if needed and to phone through more details and directions on the day if needed.

Buff

Post by Buff »

Thanks Kobus, you can pen my name down as well. A friend will be joining me in the bakkie so I can accommodate 2-3 kids in the back. I have a 29Hmz in the vehicle.

2. Rich - Dadz Toy - 29 Mhz :?: - Pending repairs to suspension
4. Pixel - Bryan with a Y - Radio Sponsored
8. Brett - Buff - Radio Sponsired
9. Gary - (Friend Of Rich) - from Land Cruiser Forum - Pending he doesn't murder Bretton his Co-pilot
10.Marius (BananasMate) - Radio sponsored
11. Andrew and Richard - Rangerous Frod - Radio :?:

Keep them coming asblf Manne, we only have NINE Confirmed :thumbup:
Last edited by Dadz Toy BFI on Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:22 pm, edited 8 times in total.
Piesang

Post by Piesang »

Rich you can add Marius Voigt, allso from Grabouw, but he can only stay till 2 o'clock. No radio.

Buff

Post by Buff »

Rich, I don't need a sponsored radio, I have one in the toymotor.

Cheers
Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Hi Brett

The sponsored radio's are not 29mhz, so we will give one of the sponsored ones to all of those that are coming and if need be some will work on both.

Pixel

Post by Pixel »

A few more 2 Oceans pics, also if you are short of vehicles keep me posted I might be able to make it.

they are not kidding:

but the trail is great:

The RED bit that the RAV did:

Nice pics Pixel :thumbup: :thumbup:

Shame photos don't do justice to gradients nê :roll:

There was a river running down that last climb the last time I was there, moenie wori it's bark is worst than its bite :twisted:

Please come along the more the merrier and hey you're a 2 Oceans Veteren nou so you can teach the greenies a trick or two :P

Well guys, Bolt will not be ready for the event... :(

Replacement parts for the 'stoofed' steering box will only be shipped to Cape Town on the weekend of this event... many thanks to ToyBox(Jonathan) for his generous help... :thumbup:

I will though be open to co-pilot/navigator/technical advisor/rubbish talker/braai assistant invitations... I will behave... most of the way! :angel:

B 8 )

snipes wrote:Well guys, Bolt will not be ready for the event... :(

Replacement parts for the 'stoofed' steering box will only be shipped to Cape Town on the weekend of this event... many thanks to ToyBox(Jonathan) for his generous help... :thumbup:

I will though be open to co-pilot/navigator/technical advisor/rubbish talker/braai assistant invitations... I will behave... most of the way! :angel:

B 8 )
My Pal Gary might appreciate some Technical Advice, those 4.2ltr 60 Series Cruisers need careful positioning mos :twisted:
Piesang

Post by Piesang »

B 8 )
Net soos in die Army, ons los nie 'n gewonde makker agter nie, daar sal vir jou plek wees, al moet ons jou op 'n dak vas maak.

Pixel

Post by Pixel »

Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Nice pics Pixel :thumbup: :thumbup:

There was a river running down that last climb the last time I was there, moenie wori it's bark is worst than its bite :twisted:

Please come along the more the merrier and hey you're a 2 Oceans Veteren nou so you can teach the greenies a trick or two :P
Put me on the list 8 ) No radio though and could someone post directions or gps co-ords to the meeting point. Agree'd photo's dont do climbs justice. Hmm, veteren... Not so sure, have done blue route and some red in the damp and have done boom-slang in the very dry but thats it. Looking forward to it.

Pixel wrote:
Dadz Toy BFI wrote:Nice pics Pixel :thumbup: :thumbup:

Put me on the list 8 ) No radio though and could someone post directions or gps co-ords to the meeting point. Agree'd photo's dont do climbs justice. Hmm, veteren... Not so sure, have done blue route and some red in the damp and have done boom-slang in the very dry but thats it. Looking forward to it.

Cool Mr. Pixel :thumbup:

consider yourself IN :P

Ps.. what's your real naam asblf

Pixelation :think: :wink:
Pixel

Post by Pixel »

LOL :clap: , thanks, see you there.
Will be myself and a mate, Brett, which leaves space for 2 or 3 pax.
Found the meeting place earlier in the thread.
Bryan :wave: . (aka Pixel)

Pixel wrote:LOL :clap: , thanks, see you there.
Will be myself and a mate, Brett, which leaves space for 2 or 3 pax.
Found the meeting place earlier in the thread.
Bryan :wave: . (aka Pixel)
"Bryan with a y", that's my Dad's name :mrgreen:

Great Bryan your in (y enol) :thumbup:

R :wink:

ps... will one of your Google Earth/Geocaching Fundi's give me a GPS Fix on Kyamandi please :?:
Pixel

Post by Pixel »

With a Y is how it should be spelt ;)
Forgot to ask, what time are things likely to wrap up?

Pixel wrote:With a Y is how it should be spelt ;)
Forgot to ask, what time are things likely to wrap up?
By 2pm ish :wink:
Buff

Post by Buff »

Hi Rich,

You can add another vehicle to the list. A mate of mine and his boet will be joining us in his Ford Ranger. Andrew and Richard. He will have space for 2 kids.

Cheers
Brett

Buff wrote:Hi Rich,

You can add another vehicle to the list. A mate of mine and his boet will be joining us in his Ford Ranger. Andrew and Richard. He will have space for 2 kids.

Cheers
Brett
Cool, I'll bring extra recovery gear :lol:
Pumba

Post by Pumba »

See I missed a lot over the weekend :( .

I'll post the GPS coordinates later in the week. Please plan till round about 4pm. I went to two oceans on Friday and had a long chat with the owner of the place. He is willing to let the kids pick some strawberry's for R10 per person and we can do the hiking trail which is 1,8 km long. We should be finished with the 4x4 trail more or less by 10h30 - 11h00(if we start at 8am and due to the long convoy) then go to the braai area, light the fires and have some lunch, games etc. After lunch we can walk the trail, +/- 1hour and then go strawberry picking. Should finish more or less by 15h00(or maybe even earlier) and then take them all home...

Hope this will suit everyone.

Pumba wrote:See I missed a lot over the weekend :( .

I'll post the GPS coordinates later in the week. Please plan till round about 4pm. I went to two oceans on Friday and had a long chat with the owner of the place. He is willing to let the kids pick some strawberry's for R10 per person and we can do the hiking trail which is 1,8 km long. We should be finished with the 4x4 trail more or less by 10h30 - 11h00(if we start at 8am and due to the long convoy) then go to the braai area, light the fires and have some lunch, games etc. After lunch we can walk the trail, +/- 1hour and then go strawberry picking. Should finish more or less by 15h00(or maybe even earlier) and then take them all home...

Hope this will suit everyone.

Great :thumbup:

I'm bringing along a friend from Germany; he's gonna do the hike "on my behalf" :wink:

I don't walk anywhere that I can drive, I'm a lazy dude

SWAMBO has already insisted on Strawberries ie.. "don't you dare come home without......!!!!" - they are mooi :P

GPS Co-ords for meeting point are: S33*55'29" E18*51'19"

R :wink:
Piesang

Post by Piesang »

Pumba as ek van Grabouw kom met die outjies wat ek saam bring is dit seker nie nodig om tot in S/bos te gaan nie, waar in S/wes kry ek julle?

2. Rich - Dadz Toy - 29 Mhz :?: - Pending repairs to suspension
4. Pixel - Bryan with a Y - Radio Sponsored
8. Brett - Buff - Radio Sponsored
9. Marius (BananasMate) - Radio sponsored
10. Andrew and Richard - Rangerous Frod - Radio :?:

Keep them coming asblf Manne, we only have NINE Confirmed :thumbup:

Maximum of 15 Vehicles allowed on Trail :shock: :wink:
Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Gents, please indicate how many kids you can take. This will be the easiest for me to keep track :D:

1. Kobus - Pumba - 29 Mhz - 3 kids & Snipes
2. Rich - Dadz Toy - 29 Mhz - Pending repairs to suspension -
3. Shaun - Noob - Radio Sponsored - 4 kids
4. Pixel - Bryan with a Y - Radio Sponsored 3 kids
5. Pieter - Piesang - Radio Sponsored - Grabow kids.
6. Stephan - Boeta Steve - Radio Sponsored -
7. Lourens - Rooikappie - Radio Sponsored -
8. Brett - Buff - Radio Sponsored -
9. Marius (BananasMate) - Radio sponsored -
10. Andrew and Richard - Rangerous Frod - Radio - 2 kids
Last edited by Pumba on Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Rooikappie

Post by Rooikappie »

7. Lourens - Rooikappie - Radio(VHF+29Mhz) - 2kidz
Piesang

Post by Piesang »

Marius sitplek vir 3 kidz

2. Dadz Toy - Rich - 3 Kidz
Buff

Post by Buff »

Brett & Terron - Buff - 3kids
the BuTch3R
Vehicle: '89 Hilux SFA - SOLD; '95 Hilux - STOLEN; '67 Series 2A Land Rover; 3.5 V6 Pajero; 120 Prado VX 4.0

Post by the BuTch3R »

Kobus, daar's plek vir 3 laaitjies in my trokkie. :thumbup:

I'm starting to feel a little forgotten, I really don't mind sitting in the load bin on this one, can attend as official photographer and braai-er... assebliefies... someone... anyone... I will bring pictures with of my 4x4... :wink:

snipes wrote:I'm starting to feel a little forgotten, I really don't mind sitting in the load bin on this one, can attend as official photographer and braai-er... assebliefies... someone... anyone... I will bring pictures with of my 4x4... :wink:
We love you B - :thumbup:

moennie wori there'll be a seat for you here boy; we need you (for the peekchaz) :mrgreen:
Piesang

Post by Piesang »

Piesang wrote:

B 8 )
Net soos in die Army, ons los nie 'n gewonde makker agter nie, daar sal vir jou plek wees, al moet ons jou op 'n dak vas maak.
Soos reeds gesê Snipes daar sal plek wees.

Wie sal vir Snipes op laai of kom hy met sy plat kar tot daar en ons skweezzz :lol: :lol: hom dan in.

Pumba

Post by Pumba »

snipes wrote:I'm starting to feel a little forgotten, I really don't mind sitting in the load bin on this one, can attend as official photographer and braai-er... assebliefies... someone... anyone... I will bring pictures with of my 4x4... :wink:
Jy kan saam met my ry!

Piesang

Post by Piesang »

Pumba wrote:
Jy kan saam met my ry!
Nou toe sien probleem opgelos, ag sorry watter probleeeeem :?: :?: :?: :?:

Pumba

Post by Pumba »

Piesang wrote:Pumba as ek van Grabouw kom met die outjies wat ek saam bring is dit seker nie nodig om tot in S/bos te gaan nie, waar in S/wes kry ek julle?

More Pieter,

Jy kan ons sommer by Two Oceans kry as jy wil, die GPS goetis op hulle web tuiste. Dis andersins baie maklik om hulle te kry.

Pixel

Post by Pixel »

Just if you are driving from Somerset west side, watch out for the turn off, its sign posted just before (helderberg farm) but not at the turn off. Of the three times I have been I have only made the turn off once.
There's a farm stall and the road is just to the left of it.
the BuTch3R
Vehicle: '89 Hilux SFA - SOLD; '95 Hilux - STOLEN; '67 Series 2A Land Rover; 3.5 V6 Pajero; 120 Prado VX 4.0

Post by the BuTch3R »

Pumba wrote:
Jy kan saam met my ry!
Bretton, let me know if plans don't work out and you still need a lift. I'll also gladly collect you along the way. :thumbup: (Just in case I need someone to help push-start Roy) :shock: :wink:

Return to “Western Cape”