For those who enjoy Red wine,

Klonkies
Vehicle: 1996-Hilux 2.4 D/C - 33 Kuhmo`s -rear difflock

For those who enjoy Red wine,

Post by Klonkies »

I recently visited AVONTUUR wine estate in Stellenbosch/Somerset-west with some friends to do some wine tasting and a bite to eat. Ok, they did the wine tasting i was more interested in my friend`s cousin who visited from Windhoek! :lol:

Well - they have a nice selection of wines and the restaurant is reasonably priced with a nice menu offering for every taste. More importantly, they stock a 2006 Merlot which was a export batch they now selling for R15/bottle. The bottles are not labelled and has a screw top, but makes really good drinking considering the price.

So, should any one be looking for a mid-week red wine to enjoy while chatting on the forum and dont feel like opening the "good stuff" for just a glass - give it a try. Trust me, it beats the Swartland or "cheaper" Durbanville hills wine sold at Pick & Pay.

Re: For those who enjoy Red wine,

Klonkies wrote:i was more interested in my friend`s cousin who visited from Windhoek! :lol:
I suppose those peekchaz ain't gonna be on the Forum then :roll:

R :wink:
Klonkies

Post by Klonkies »

HO NO?!.. :P :angel:

Let me just say - im packed and racked for Windhoek end of the year!

Seriously - the Namibians are CRAZY over the Hilux or Toyota bakkies. Apparently the year end compititions at Swakop is a must for any sand-lover with their dunes being soo unique. Will have to start saving for the petrol bill now already hey? :lol:

Klonkies wrote: Let me just say - im packed and racked for Windhoek end of the year!

Seriously - the Namibians are CRAZY over the Hilux or Toyota bakkies. Apparently the year end compititions at Swakop is a must for any sand-lover with their dunes being soo unique. Will have to start saving for the petrol bill now already hey? :lol:
Cheaper on the St.Helena Ferry: Cape Town to Walvis Bay; :idea:
Less petrol (as long as you don't leave it idling at 2000) :wink:
Klonkies

Post by Klonkies »

What if the pirates hijack the ferry? :wth: :lol:
Arno
Town: Durbanville CT
Vehicle: 1997 Hilux DC

Post by Arno »

Ferry is a nice idea ?
How much ?
But then you dont have wheels in Swakop. Fortunately son in law has a 2.7 DC 4x4.
It is good entertainment watching the different 4x4's in Swakop. Most are visitors. Nicest place to watch is to sit in parking area at the only mall. Everyone stops there to stock up. Overlanders etc. But Toyota is king there. Cruisers are as common as Tazz'z on N1.
Best biltong and meat in the world at the butchery opposite the mall.
Kry sommer lus en ry NOU.

Kry jou daar Arno.. by Woermann en Brock... :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

Arno wrote:Ferry is a nice idea ?
How much ?
But then you dont have wheels in Swakop. Fortunately son in law has a 2.7 DC 4x4.
It is good entertainment watching the different 4x4's in Swakop. Most are visitors. Nicest place to watch is to sit in parking area at the only mall. Everyone stops there to stock up. Overlanders etc. But Toyota is king there. Cruisers are as common as Tazz'z on N1.
Best biltong and meat in the world at the butchery opposite the mall.
Kry sommer lus en ry NOU.

You take your 4x4 on the Ferry :wink:
Arno
Town: Durbanville CT
Vehicle: 1997 Hilux DC

Post by Arno »

How much for the ferry trip ?
Do they have a site ?

Arno wrote:How much for the ferry trip ?
Do they have a site ?

See:

http://www.rms-st-helena.com/ :wink:

Mehl have you tried Checkers' Odd Bins? It's a bit of a lottery, but I've had one or 2 good bottles from there...

And the rest goes in the Lux's tank?
Klonkies

Post by Klonkies »

With that wine in my fuel tank i might just melt my pistons... :lol:

Oh, i tried the famous AEW pies - ended up having it for supper last night.. :thumbup:

Klonkies wrote:With that wine in my fuel tank i might just melt my pistons... :lol:

Oh, i tried the famous AEW pies - ended up having it for supper last night.. :thumbup:
and the culprit was:

animal or mineral :?:

R :wink:
Klonkies

Post by Klonkies »

:lol: not sure yet, need a few more pies before the root cause will be known.. :thumbup:

Klonkies wrote:I recently visited AVONTUUR wine estate in Stellenbosch/Somerset-west with some friends to do some wine tasting and a bite to eat. Ok, they did the wine tasting i was more interested in my friend`s cousin who visited from Windhoek! :lol:
Ag jitte tog! Get over yourself!!! :mrgreen: She can most likely out drink you!!!!!And without a doubt, me aswell...

hentey
Town: worcester
Vehicle: 2700i 4x4

Post by hentey »

Well - they have a nice selection of wines and the restaurant is reasonably priced with a nice menu offering for every taste. More importantly, they stock a 2006 Merlot which was a export batch they now selling for R15/bottle. The bottles are not labelled and has a screw top, but makes really good drinking considering the price.

Nah,cheap wine leads to cheap woman leads to....................headache.......... I will drink white wine with a screw top,but not red.Daai merlot moes nog op sy prop le vir nog 2 jaar.Maar hedendagse wynmakers maak mos wyne vir die oorsese mark.Come visit me in Worcester and we do some wine tasting at all the botique cellars. :thumbup:
Klonkies

Post by Klonkies »

She can most likely out drink you!!!!!And without a doubt, me aswell
:shh: Yep she did.... :lol:

Come visit me in Worcester and we do some wine tasting at all the botique cellars
Sounds like a plan - maybe i bring her along.... :thumbup: