what is an economically viable bakkie

Discuss anything here as long as it is clean. Having a hard time with your Skoonma, tell us about it here, or discuss the Rugby. Whatever you feel like talking about.
Hunter26
Low Range 4WD
Low Range 4WD
Town: King Williams Town
Vehicle: Isuzu

what is an economically viable bakkie

Post by Hunter26 »

Hi All,newbie here.

At the moment I am driving an Isuzu 250D 2003 4x2 donkey. I want to upgrade in the future to a 4x4. Sorry if this has been asked before. But these are my requirements :

1) double cab diesel
2) fuel economy is 10 - 12km per litre
3) cheap parts and easily available ( my injectors cost R2k per set, new Isuzu costs R 8k each )
4) bullet proof engine
5) non electrified computorised engine ie with new vehicles if a dog pees on wheel engine cuts out :D: )

My budged if I speak to the bank manager could hit R80k plus if I sell my bakkie It could cut my payments down on my future 4x4. I only know Isuzu so I am a virgin to other brands. I have been told to buy Land Rover,colt,pajero etc. Reliability and economy plays a part as I use the vehicle for work and pvt and only get given a set amount for travel allowance. ie only paid at AA rates for a 1000km per month.

Please put your heads together as I am tired of being that person that has to sit on the side line watching everyone playing on 4x4 grounds. :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :boredom: :boredom:

Thanks
Regards
Craig
Isuzu 250D 4x2 with diffy lock
1 x Humorous Driver
GPS,Dashcam,tyre levers
I don't live in Africa, Africa lives in me - Kyle my son.
Wurmscooby
Low Range 4WD
Low Range 4WD
Town: Cape town
Vehicle: 1996 2.4 SFA

Re: what is an economically viable bakkie

Post by Wurmscooby »

its simple.buy a hilux. :thumbup:
ôita
High Range 4WD
High Range 4WD
Town: Piet Retief